Sony Cyber-shot DSC-T99 Review

3.5
January 12, 2011 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

10 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Josef Salon

Good for kids…..that’s all…

2:19 pm - Wednesday, January 12, 2011

#2 Daniel

Josef is right, now this is a real camera http://www.growsunday.com/2011/01/the-lomo-lubitel-166/

12:16 am - Thursday, January 13, 2011

#3 Jaimie Dee - Atlanta Wedding Photographer

Does it come in pink??? Hahahaa

2:37 am - Thursday, January 13, 2011

#4 Jam 20

@ Jaimie Dee

sorry, i guess they forgot that version for wedding photographers like you.

hahaha


:D

12:44 am - Friday, January 14, 2011

#5 nakamura

hi,

i have a digitAL camera samsung st500 (like pl-150, tl220).

problem is:

sometimes when i take pics and upload to pc and zoom it i see 1 tiny green dot somewhere in pic and 1 blue dot somewhere else in same pic . it also happened in different photos and sometimes not.  i checked the objective and lens look clean. what is the reason ? is it malfunction? shall i take it back to service?

tanks
.


.

12:47 am - Friday, January 14, 2011

#6 The Wudman

If this camera were to perform on par with the early gen DSC-T30, that I have been carrying on my hip every day for the last four years, it would be a great point and shoot that has decent video quality to back up excellent image capture abilities. Folks here read and then share their opinion without anything but a review to guide them.

Four years and at least 30,000 images later, my Sony is finally trying to die. The DSC-T30 is heavier, older and less capable technology that I have been using for almost all photography and spontaneous video. It has been a outstanding camera. It was also very pricey when it was a “cutting edge” offering from Sony.

As I shop for a new camera, I include the newer TX series (Santa or Sony didn’t put a TX9 under my tree) as a replacement along with offerings from Panasonic and other companies. Two of the tremendous negatives for many of these cameras, especially if they have retractable lenses is that they either do not zoom in video or shut down audio. The other massive negative is that some don’t even have auto-focus in video mode. Nothing like either no sound or out of focus video!

In any case, these cameras have limits. There is only so much you can stuff into an “ultra-compact” frame. I do not expect it to take pictures like a similarly priced DSLR or even larger compact. On the other hand, having this camera in my pocket or belt has put me in a position to take pictures that I would have surely missed with a larger, more cumbersome camera.

Having such a tiny, capable camera ready to shot whenever is huge when the moment is now! What I will be shooting tomorrow might not be a Sony TX series, but it will be an ultra-compact because I’d feel quite naked without my camera ready.

John W.
Blogger - Web Design - Photographer - Chronicler

11:15 pm - Saturday, January 15, 2011

#7 Temir

Night Shot

The Sony CyberShot DSC-T99’s maximum shutter speed is 2 seconds, which is not good news if you’re seriously interested in night photography.

“8 SECONDS.”

7:27 am - Friday, January 21, 2011

#8 T. Wudman

Again, these are true pocket cameras. These are not designed for serious night time shooting. Myself, I am tolerating my older T30 till I see what my new compact HD video recorder will do.

8:01 pm - Thursday, January 27, 2011

#9 Santosh Kumar

I bought this camera just as it was launched without checking any reviews and god, its so disappointing.
interface is bad n very slow…takes time to load n the pics look blurry right on a 19 inch screen n there is no sharpness at all…..only good thing about this camera i would say is its body quality which is really good….rest and all is not at all satisfactory…
Pls dont buy this :(

4:38 pm - Thursday, November 10, 2011

#10 Wudman

First of all this camera is obsolete by most standards. Second of all, despite that, I would have no doubt that if you know how to take a picture, this camera is capable unless it is in low light. I absolutely guarantee you that there are few $170 cameras out today that offer ease of transport and good overall pictures in such a small package.

What good is a camera if you don’t have it. I will take this one and get a shot where you folks will wish you had your camera on you, but don’t because it is too big.

Using this camera, I shot video that made the local news. Whatever the news did with the raw footage (640x480), it looked good on HD TV. (St. Louis 2008 KCRA). That was at night, under a street lamp, from about 50 feet from a cave-in rescue. Since then I have been committed to having a camera on my belt 24/7. Caught a tornado a few years later.

I got awesome shots of Kevin Dubrow, the former leader of Quit Riot at a concert in St. Louis about a month before he died. It was fast enough to shoot 600 frames that night using high sensitivity and only stage light.

Are the pictures technically superior than a “real” camera, no. But this camera has gotten me paid quite well in the three years I have carried it. When YouTube was SD for most of us, I used this to shoot videos of bands. It allows for both zoom and focus while taking a movie. Try that with some cameras twice the price.

It is on it’s way out after 75,000 clicks since late 2007 when I bought it off a clearance table at Ultimate Electronics. It has taken hundreds of hours of video and pictures coast to coast.

I’d rate it exceptional for what it is and despite a known defect cropping up and slowing it down the last few years, it still takes a pretty good picture.

Learn to shot the camera you choose, understand it’s limits, use a tripod, learn how to breath and   this camera will perform nicely. Are there better cameras, absolutely. Are there any that can fit in your front pocket and can take 1000 pictures on one battery charge? Please share because I need a new one!

With HD video important in my marketing now, this camera is done. Still, comparably priced current model cameras don’t really offer much more in the way of features. HD Video is available at this price point, but that camera will not fit in your pocket!

If you don’t have it on you, an awesome camera really sucks when that killer shot comes around!

4:58 am - Saturday, November 12, 2011

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, review, 720p, beginner, 14 megapixel, touch-screen, touchscreen, touch screen, 4x zoom, 4x, 4x lens, t99, Sony T99, Sony DSC-T99, Sony Cyber-shot DSC-T99, dsc-t99

Tracker Pixel for Entry