Sony Cyber-shot DSC-TX10 Review

4.0
May 31, 2011 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

14 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Pat Nathan

This camera is an enigma. When I first got it three weeks ago, all it tried to do was to try and slip out of my hand and crash to the floor - as if it was trying to proof to me that it was shockproof. Luckily, I had the wrist strap around my wrist each time this happened and thus prevented a diaster(incidentally, the shock proof testing for this camera was carried out on plywood or something, so I was not sure how it would fare hitting a solid cement floor ). When I eventually got used to its slippery nature, I then had to contend with its touch screen and all its idiosyncrasies. I’ve never had a touch screen camera before, and this screen and its menus proved a steep learning curve. Well, I managed to master that too in about two weeks. I then went about testing its picture taking qualities. It was a mixed bag here. Night and macro shots were superb, as were landscape shots. Some other shots however, were far from perfect. I am glad to report however, with each passing day, I’m beginning to love this camera more and more. Some of its Pros are: compact size ( very pocketable ),weatherproof, takes fantastic low light shots and a beautiful looking camera. Its Cons are that it is too slippery ( I hope Sony fixes this ), the menu erratic ( Sony can probably fix this with a firmware update ) and some of the images it produces need to be binned immediately. All in all,I think this is a good camera, but takes getting used to. Make sure you get the screen protector manufactured by Sony exclusively for this camera. This camera now stays with me 24/7, ready for that one in a million shot - whenever that happens, or just to prevent me from saying, ” Oh how I wish I had my camera with me now.” It is definitely better and tougher than any phone camera. Though a bit pricey, it is a good investment.

6:04 pm - Thursday, June 9, 2011

#2 Rafael

Could you guys make a DSC-TX100V Review?

7:39 pm - Wednesday, July 6, 2011

#3 Yeo

I discovered a problem with the memory storage for DSC-TX10 (well, I’m not too sure if someone mentioned this before, but I would suggest that every buyer should be aware of this and don’t buy the wrong memory card).

When I bought my DSC-TX10 it comes with a Toshiba SDHC 8GB (Class 4) card. After using the camera for some time, I realized it is painfully slow - deleting videos and deleting multiple images (it takes 3 seconds to delete 1 picture!). Recording Hi-speed burst images are also very slow. I tried some experiment by using Sandisk 1GB SD (Class 2) card and also Memory Stick Pro 2 Duo Mark 2 2GB, both perform 50% faster in term of deleting images (you might wonder why Class 2 SD cards perform faster than Class 4 SDHC cards!). So I returned to the shop, asking for a replacement for the card.

I thought it was compatibility issue. I asked for Sandisk SDHC card, PenDrive SDHC card and even Sony SDHC card, but they don’t make any differences. Sony SDHC card is a bit faster, I would say like 10%, but hardly noticeable.

I asked for a 8GB Memory Stick PRO-HG Duo with HX Engine, and saw a 100% increase in speed, that’s the speed that I’m looking for. I ended up paying more for “upgrading” to the card, but I think it worths because I have learned a lesson: NEVER use Class 4 SDHC card for this Sony DSC-TX10 (the same goes to other TX series cameras - check before you buy!). I don’t know about Class 6 or Class 10, but I would be interested to know if anyone has tested these two higher classes. SDHC is simply a gimmic, make sure it shows you how fast it is in reality.

This is a problem that is common in High-End digital cameras - camera that can shoot more than 15 megapixels image or camera that promises Full HD video recording. You definitely wouldn’t choose a slow memory card for a powerful camera.

Ok let’s stop talking about the memory card problem, let’s get to some problems with the camera itself.

About the screen, I have no problem with it, except the playback button which is located at the right bottom screen. I am required to touch it for 3 or 4 times to get a respond. The startup speed and shutter speed are impressive - i mean really impressive - except that you just open any of the compartment; they need some time to show you the warning about the security measures when taking underwater photo - which contributes much to the “lagging” issue. It’s pretty inconsistent, I must admit.

It’s a great camera, but not for those poor people who can’t afford a luxurious way of taking photos. HDTV and 3D TV aren’t affordable by the majority - something that Sony should reconsider in their future releases of new camera.

2:48 pm - Sunday, July 24, 2011

#4 Sreejith

Could u please make a review about dsc-hx100v????

10:16 am - Friday, August 19, 2011

#5 Rick L

WARNING ** WARNING** WARNING** SONY does NOT Stand behind this product!!!  It survived only two trips into the water!!  I followed the instruction book to the letter.  I only opened the HDSD Card door once for fear of damaging the seals on the door.  I only opened the USB charging door once also—only to charge the DSC TX10 for its initial charge—again I was ultra careful to not damage the seals.  I sent it back to Sony LCSC Repain Operation for either a warranty replacement or a repair.  SONY blamed the damage on a damaged housing!! They blamed me for the damage!!  They sent it back without any documentation regarding their denial of repair! 
WARNING ** WARNING** WARNING** SONY does NOT Stand behind this product!!!  It survived only two trips into the water!! 

I followed the instruction book to the letter.  I only opened the HDSD Card door once for fear of damaging the seals on the door.  I only opened the USB charging door once also—only to charge the DSC TX10 for its initial charge—again I was ultra careful to not damage the seals.  I sent it back to Sony LCSC Repain Operation for either a warranty replacement or a repair.  SONY blamed the damage on a damaged housing!! They blamed me for the damage!!  They sent it back without any documentation regarding their denial of repair! 

Small Claims Court here I come.

4:21 pm - Saturday, August 20, 2011

#6 George Bush

“Sreejith

Could u please make a review about dsc-hx100v???? “

No.

6:46 pm - Saturday, October 1, 2011

#7 Sam

It’s been a year since this camera was released and I’m quite excited to see the new sony tx models for this year. any updates about them?

7:37 am - Thursday, February 16, 2012

#8 peter

Hi, I’ve a tx10, and I cannot manage to set shutter speed manually. I’d like to test if it can be set to 2 seconds, as it is written in the specifications on sony’s official page, but Ive found only automatic mode, and it takes a picture with 1second shutter speed, when it’s ‘blind-dark’. I wonder when it sets itself to 2seconds.. I think never.

3:34 pm - Wednesday, March 7, 2012

#9 Brian

I used to be a huge Sony Cybershot advocate, owned about 5-6 different models. Recently purchased the Sony Cybershot TX-10 as a gift for my wife and can now say I will never purchase a Sony product again.  First, I had charged the battery the week before in hopes she could use the camera for shots on Christmas day and it was mysteriously dead when she opened the box.  So we charged it again, took a few shots and put it away.  Picked it up a few days later and the battery was dead again.  None of the cybershot predecessors died after a few days.  I started assuming it was the battery, so I ordered a new one and had the same result.  Why did this one die so fast after sitting in the off position.  So I called Sony after reading this was a common issue and asked if it was covered.  They said yes so I sent it for repair.  After getting it back, it seemed to be no better.  A few days after it came back from the repair shop the battery was dead again.  I called again to report it was still defective and the CSR is now telling me that it’s normal behavior.  After spending time explaining this was not consistent with any other camera I have previously owned I continued getting disrespectful and ignorant excuses until finally they said there was nothing they can do.  I WARN anyone one considering this model or any newer model camera from Sony to BEWARE.  The quality of the TX-10 from Sony is a huge disappointment.  It won’t even hold a charge for more than 2 days.

1:00 am - Thursday, May 3, 2012

#10 un-happy

I agree w/brian’s post on 5/3/2012.  I have the exact same problem with the battery going dead when the camera is “off”.  Sent it back to sony once already and it was sent back “repaired”.  There is no difference in battery life after they “fixed” it.  I’m sending the camera back for a refund.  It is of no use of me if I can’t take my camera with me on trips and have to worry about charging up a battery every 3 days.  Also note that I only take pictures with the camera and don’t even use it for videos.  I’d stay away from this model.  I had the Tx5 prior to his and loved it.

1:09 pm - Monday, June 4, 2012

#11 Laura

This camera is HARDLY shockproof!! DON’T DROP IT!!I’ve taken good care of my camera and the case has cracked THREE TIMES!!!  Thank heavens I bought the extended warranty, but it’s at the shop more than I can use it.  This last time, it slipped from lap onto a laminate floor, not even 24 inches from the floor, and the corner cracked… the SAME corner that has cracked twice before.  NOW they don’t want to replace it, just have mee keep sending it back and sending it back… sucks.  I am SOOOOOO disappointed with this camera.  shame, because it took nice photos.  It’s no longer available on the website, either.  GEE, I WONDER WHY????

11:49 pm - Saturday, March 9, 2013

#12 Rodney

TX10 Zoom-in fault; it will zoom out (used in review mode) but zoom in, in any mode, has failed. Apart from that, it’s a great little camera - no battery or memory problems with mine and I am happy to rinse it in water but I don’t trust the under-water use! Have others had problems with TX10 zoom?

10:41 am - Saturday, April 13, 2013

#13 Rupack

Well, the camera is pretty decent…except for the fact that the battery life is pretty unfair for the cost of the camera itself. Sony provided with a 630 mAh battery only. So poor of them. They should have kept this in mind that the camera is capable of a 1080p video! The battery dies out too quickly when 1080p recording is done…otherwise the camera is one hell of a cam, when compared to its other digicam rivals.

10:46 am - Friday, May 10, 2013

#14 toyin

My sony camera is perfect and strong. The only issue I have now is that I lost my memory card 16g that came with it . No other memory card could be used instead . Can someone tell me what top do?

8:21 am - Thursday, April 3, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, wide-angle, 16 megapixel, touch-screen, touch screen, 1080i, 10fps, 4x zoom, waterproof, 25mm, dustproof, shockproof, freezeproof, 200mm, Cybershot, sony tx10, Sony Cyber-shot DSC-TX10 Review, sony dsc-tx10

Tracker Pixel for Entry