Sony Cyber-shot DSC-TX5 Review

4.0
May 19, 2010 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

27 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 SQ

I own this camera.  I think it’s an awesome little thing. Really good photos, quite crisp and nice colors, fairly easy to use. The only problems I have with it, if any, are the tiny little zoom button and its shape, and the battery/connector compartment.
That button is awkward in shape as well as placement. It’s fidgety.
Then, that battery compartment thing is a bit annoying. You have to lift the small flap to open the big flap, to get to the cable connector, which is also where the battery is. But I do understand - this is how they figured out the best way to keep it a little more water-tight, and shut.

For its price, it’s nice and compact, take great photos and drop-proof/waterproof feature makes you at ease about throwing the thing all over the place.

6:47 pm - Wednesday, May 19, 2010

#2 zebarnabe

And…. this is one of the cases where sharpening in post-processing does not benefit the image in any way… but the copy-paste slipped…

I find it a bit expensive for what it offers… but is a tough camera…

9:35 pm - Wednesday, May 19, 2010

#3 bmd

My wife and I have owned this camera for a couple weeks now and I must say that we have been fairly impressed with it overall.  It is NOT perfect but considering everything it is quite worth the price asked for.

Pros -

- very quick to the shot and responsive controls
- superb video for a digital camera
- good photo quality in most conditions
- great extras—panorama and HHT in particular
- waterproof and more durable than most cameras like it

Cons -

- poor to average battery life
- when taking flash photos shutter speed stays right at 1/30 which will lead to blurring if the subject moves
- no real control over saturation, color, sharpness, contrast, or A/S
- awkward media cable port location

I am a pretty picky person when it comes to cameras and I would have no reservation recommending this camera to most anyone.

4:16 am - Thursday, May 20, 2010

#4 Mark

Hopped over to sony.co.in, didn’t find this cam, only a TX7/S instead, though what the S stands for, I’m not sure. But it looks like its full 1080p HD capable. Searched PB, returned me TX5. Whatz going on here?

8:13 am - Thursday, May 27, 2010

#5 JAJA

I BOUGHT MY CAMERA IN JAPAN…MY PROB. IS THE LANGUAGE…ITS ONLY A JAPANESE LANGAGE…ICANT READ JAPANESE…IS THERE ANY SOLUTION FOR THIS…SET THE LANGUAGE IN ENGLISH..

5:05 pm - Tuesday, June 8, 2010

#6 zebarnabe

I don’t know about sony, but in panasonic cameras the firmware available languages varies according to local market, a Japanese GH1, for example, has japanese, chinese and korean languages…

Menu options should be in the same place, so download and read an english manual and check if there is a place where you can change it to english (or other more familiar language)

I don’t know if photography blog accepts asian characters, but language in japanese is something like:

??

but can appear as

?????

And, fetching a dictionary online this was what i could find,
noun
??
?
??
?????
??

Please note, that i barely know any Japanese…

Good luck, i hope you have english in the options ;)

9:26 am - Wednesday, June 9, 2010

#7 Gary

I purchased this camera recently and while it’s no DSLR image quality wise it is very responsive for a point-and-shoot. Image quality is above average for a camera of this design and the fact its water proof adds some interesting shooting possibilities. What I don’t like about it is it’s feel. It feels like you could easily drop it - too slick and smooth. The Nikon S series is much better easier to hold even though they are very similar in size. i also don’t like the sliding lens cover. It almost becomes a two handed affair to open it without But the photo is what counts and this little camera delivers in that department. Despite its few annoyances I’d recommend this camera to anyone.

5:32 am - Saturday, June 26, 2010

#8 Rob

Having read many reviews and trying out a few P&S cameras, I settled on the TX5.

My intention was to buy a P&S camera for the wife to use in addition to me using the A700, or to carry in the pocket when the A700 is just too bulky.

We already have a video camera, so the TX7 was not worth the extra to us, however the ‘toughness’ features on the TX5 made it worth the extra over the TX1 which shares similar features.

Picture quality is great, and it’s refreshing to use iAuto and let the camera make the decisions, which it does quickly and so far, accurately.

All in all, a happy buyer here.

5:19 pm - Thursday, July 8, 2010

#9 Jeff

I purchased this camera for our trip to Fiji. I must say I have not had this much fun with a camera in many years. Sweep Panoramas - Amazing. Burst Mode - the fish cant get away. Dark shots without flash leaves my Ixus And Panasonic FT1 for dead. My Pana died second time in the water. I met a lady in Fiji with her second Pana and it died on first attempt in water after having the first repalced for the same reason. There is no doubt this is the best waterproof camera available at the moment. I had it underwater for 11 days and even a couple of professional photographers wanted copies of my shots and said they were buying one when getting home. Sure its not perfect, but the photos are well above average,and the most fun you’ll have taking photos without a doubt.

11:36 am - Friday, August 27, 2010

#10 Office furniture

I like the camera of Sony because they are really nice and their quality is also good. The picture quality is excellent, and it is refreshing to use iAuto and let the machine take the decisions, which makes it fast and accurate so far. Really good pictures, pretty sharp, nice color, very easy to use.

5:48 am - Monday, August 30, 2010

#11 Andrew

We bought the camera for our daughter. Within days of using the camera the paint started to chip off it and with in 5 weeks of owning the camera the camera stopped working.
Water behind the viewer.
When we contacted sony, the service department was not willing to repair or replace the camera. Good job sony - we operate 2 hotels full of electronics, none of which will be sony products from this day forward.
Beware.

10:54 pm - Monday, October 4, 2010

#12 Tim

Can this camera charge via the USB cable?

9:18 pm - Thursday, October 21, 2010

#13 BENNUBER FRANKRICH

Hallo there, I am very much thinking about this comments above and thank you please for writting in. I feel that I am to buy about 50 of cameras in my school for the children. Sounds good yes. Anyway do you think that this camera here would last a few weeks or longer in my school, yes as i feel it would do greatly, no?

6:57 pm - Sunday, November 21, 2010

#14 Carla

Does anyone know is there a black&white; option at all?? I spent hours searching for it

11:23 pm - Saturday, December 25, 2010

#15 PL

@Tim: No, unfortunately it doesn’t charge over USB. Even if it could, it wouldn’t be a very good option as you’d have to have both the battery+SDCard and USB flaps wide open and exposed to debris. Not good for the gaskets…

@Carla: No B&W option as far as I can see, or any “alternate” color schemes. You can do these things fairly easily on the computer using free software s/a GIMP. It’s not as convenient, and there is a slight learning curve, but I’ll take my TX-5’s slightly better image quality (than most underwater/tough cameras) over extra gimmicks.

8:44 am - Friday, December 31, 2010

#16 Monica

@Andrew same thing is happenning to me bought the waterproof camera for my honeymoon we love it except for 2 days before we left it died in the water and thr film chipped off too! have been going back and forth with sony for 4 months they wont fix it! im doing a complaint with the better business bureau right now!!

1:23 am - Wednesday, February 16, 2011

#17 Mike B

Now the TX5 is available in the UK for £140 it makes this a very attractive tough camera.

I wonder if some of those with water damaged units have fake copies? Then again no device at this price is going to be perfect.

8:00 pm - Saturday, February 26, 2011

#18 Mike B

I see Sony have issued a bulletin about the paint coming off issue and will arrange a free repair.

Won’t help those with water leak damage but may provide evidence of manufacturing defects that could include the water seals so may give more ammunition for a FOC repair?

9:50 pm - Wednesday, March 2, 2011

#19 Robert

I bought this little camera after returning from an overseas trip where I had seen a different version of the Sony “clamshell” design. I wanted a compact camera without the shutter-style lens protection feature. Since receiving it I have had it in my pocket full-time— it goes everywhere with me. It’s ruggedness is very reassuring and considering its size its picture quality is excellent.

My only complaint about it (minor!) is that it is so small and the screen so large that I am frequently activating some touch-screen function or other and have to backtrack to get back to picture-making. Hardly the camera’s fault considering its intended design goal.

I definitely would recommend this little gem to anyone looking for a capable, rugged, extremely compact, go-everywhere camera.

9:22 pm - Monday, March 7, 2011

#20 Dani

My friend has this camera and it seems really cool.  She took some amazing underwater shots with it.  For my upcoming “milestone” birthday, my mum is giving me the option to choose a camera or a stereo. 

I’m definitely considering this camera, but what I want to know, is it any good for concerts?  How is it for long distance/backlit scenes?

3:58 am - Tuesday, June 14, 2011

#21 bobo

I bought this to try & replace a Kodak v705 with 23mm prime wide angle lens.  This is not a wide @ 25mm nor sharp (zoom, not a prime) so a definite compromise. Critically it took me a significant amount of time to turn off all the automaton ‘features’ and to get to the point where I understood the camera settings - like good old fashioned f-stop & shutter speed (doh!) That being said the water-resistance was a key consideration & the sweep panorama and low light multishot composite features were pleasant ‘techie’ surprises.  To be honest the jury is still out & I have been reluctant to part with the Kodaks (I own 2) just yet.

4:48 am - Sunday, July 3, 2011

#22 Spencer

I purchased this camera last year and with in several times of using it the slider cover started to chip pint like Andrew stated and make it look ugly but was able to get off the rest of it so its silver front with a pink everywhere else. I havent yet had problems with it leaking though. It also states in the manual not to use it under running water or with sudden impact like jumping off a diving board or something cause im guess that can make it crack and or leak or something. Its been a great camera but what I cant understand is the tx7 is exactly like the tx5 just its n ot water proof and can record 1080p so I dont know why they couldn’t make the tx5 rocord in 1080p.

I also noticed you can no longer but them new on the Sony website only refurbished ones so maby they were having too many problems with them or something.

9:10 am - Monday, August 1, 2011

#23 s

I’ve had the TX5 from the first day it was released. The reason i purchased it was because i wanted a camera i could take on holiday the that was compact, light, shock proof, new and most importantly waterproof.
I’ve been on about four holidays and used it for snorkeling, swimming and general pictures.

Its a great tough camera to take on holiday with because you can chuck it about without worrying about damaging it.

The only negative side is probably battery life. If you’re taking a lot of pics and videos then it would last a day or less. I always have two batteries with me.

Picture quality is good depending on your skills too. Videos are very good and in HD. Lots of functions you can play with. My favorite is back light correction.

I would recommend it if you don’t mind spending the money. In my eyes its a must have for holidays, especially if you like water.

4:36 pm - Sunday, February 5, 2012

#24 Rosie

Bought this camera just over a year ago and it has been very well used. Did a massive trip of Canada where I was taking hundereds of photos each week, many in the water as well as in the snow when I was up the mountains.

3:33 am - Wednesday, July 18, 2012

#25 Abu Sadek

i bought the camera in January 2011. Guess what? its absolutely works fantastically for me. I even record the video of water splash hitting my camera in sea beach. I also record several under water photo and video. i just love this pocket able camera. If i wish to upgrade my camera it will be another TX series camera.

8:50 am - Sunday, July 22, 2012

#26 lafon

lifetime : 2 years
medium quality pictures
didn’t resist to his last bath in sea (at the depth of 1 meter)...
touch screen not very responsive, and practical (hard to see something in the sun!)

11:10 am - Thursday, August 23, 2012

#27 Dave Bramley

I have a pink tx5 and after 18 months the paint is chipping off and its third trip snorkelling it sprung a leak and has packed up. This is my third Sony Dsc the first was dropped from waist high and stopped working the second dropped in a turkish toilet and stopped working . This was bought to avoid the previous disasters and guess what it didn’t. Clearly the Sony evolution of cameras is on the rocks just like the company

2:24 pm - Thursday, September 20, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 720p, wide-angle, touch-screen, touch screen, 10fps, 10 megapixel, 4x zoom, 25mm, waterproof, dustproof, shockproof, freezeproof, Cybershot, sony dsc-tx5, sony tx5, Sony Cyber-shot DSC-TX5 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry