Sony Cyber-shot DSC-WX100 Review

4.0
November 5, 2012 | Matt Grayson |

Your Comments

18 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 JS

I agree with a reviewer…

4:02 pm - Monday, November 5, 2012

#2 JC

Overt noise reduction and image smearing, visible even at iso 100. Really don’t understand why Sony are so heavy handed with this.

5:17 pm - Monday, November 5, 2012

#3 Kulak Zari Ameliyati

I don’t like point and shoot machines. Cheaper DSLR is better than the best of them

10:39 am - Tuesday, November 6, 2012

#4 zebarnabe

I don’t like Sony, and I don’t really like this camera, but:

At pixel level is an horror story… however with so many MP to spare it looks somewhat acceptable for A4 sized prints, I would say that in detail resolve power this is like a 8 or 9MP camera…

It behaves quite well at high ISO (remarkable for such pixel density/size), assuming you won’t do any photo editing in the computer (there are lots of artifacts that come to surface if you do some stuff).

11:49 pm - Tuesday, November 6, 2012

#5 jse kerginaldo de paula

In others words, no so good like a Panasonic tz30.Final veredict.

1:17 am - Saturday, November 10, 2012

#6 Reality

you can not compare Lumix tz30 with wx 100, they are not in the same price range… you should compare tz30 with Sony hx series.. hx10 or hx20 which are both better then tz30… For this price wx100 is one of the best.. Yes it has some disadvantages its not perfect but if you want small compact camera with very good picture quallity and exellent video that can fit in pocket and has 10x zoom, cmos sensor for better perfomance in indoor condition it is great camera…
Anyway,great review…

9:38 am - Friday, November 30, 2012

#7 WorkerOfLead

I come to this site to get a great professional breakdown of cameras (which they do a great job of btw), I just purchased this camera for my wife for our anniversary. We use the camera for everyday shooting (kids, functions, parties, etc…) It takes phenomenal pictures and I think even better video. I think a lot of people come on these reviews and over-analyze a camera. IMO, you need to evaluate what you want to do with the camera, if your just using this for basic photos with minimal editing then this camera has all you can ask for, if you want to print 8X10 perfect wedding photos you might want a DSLR. The camera is tiny, which makes it extremely portable (again, very important to us). Like the reviewer stated you can go from off to taking a pic in a few seconds. The zoom works pretty good, not great, I got what I think is a high quality photo from about 100 feet away, outside of that it gets grainy (not sure of the technical term). In conclusion, for the money you can’t beat this camera for 4X6 prints, HD video, and portability.

5:53 am - Saturday, December 22, 2012

#8 Anders Bellis

Remarkably enough, it is impossible to delete photographs from the memory card of this stupid camera when it is connected to the computer as a USB-unit. One can, sure enought, “Select all” photographs in a folder, but the “Delete” function in the menu remains grey and unusable. Flabbergasting and surrealistic, since this basic function should be totally automatic. Anybody knows the solution to this bizarre and, one would think, unnecessary problem?

Thank you.

10:56 am - Thursday, January 31, 2013

#9 Uwe S.

I got this camera for a cheap price two days ago.

I cannot understand some comments here.
Guys, we are talking about a 150 bucks camera and the smallest one with a 10x zoom.

I am deeply impressed about this “toy”, the quality is impressive, and it is the perfect “always-in-my-bag” cam.

What is the reason for deleting pictures from the memory card? Put 16GB inside and you have space for +2000 pictures. Shouldn’t this be enough?

Comparison against a DSLR is nonsense.
Or are you also compairing a motorbike against a bus? Both has pros and cons.

For me it’s the perfect cam for the daily picture without carrying my heavy-weight DSLR equipment.

3:46 pm - Saturday, March 2, 2013

#10 Bellis

Uwe,

I have a 32GB memory card in the camera, where I can store more than 4000 pictures. Which is nowhere near enough for what I do. I have to delete pictures frequently.

I am not talking tourist stuff here, just so you know.

All the best,
Bellis

9:59 pm - Saturday, March 2, 2013

#11 Uwe S.

I fully understand this, but why not simply carrying different cards? With 4 of them you have space for more than 16.000 pictures.

And please be honest, when do you want to take that amount of pictures?

If you are on a very long journey you will have another device (computer) with you to simply copy the pictures. That’s a lot easier for selecting pictures as on that tiny display
You will really decide on that small display if a picture can be deleted or not?

If space is not enough, you have to delete hundreds of pictures which is a pain doing it on the cam.

12:26 pm - Sunday, March 3, 2013

#12 vipin

can I use SD Hc class 10 32 GB card with this Camera

7:08 pm - Wednesday, March 13, 2013

#13 Ramy

I am really confused between this camera and Canon IXUS 125. From the preview on this site Canon camera got low rating while Sony WX100 got high rating.
What i am understand that optical zoom of Sony WX-100 is not very great also the quality of the picture, although it has 10X optical zoom and 18MP.
Can any one who have deal with these two cameras help me ?

10:19 pm - Tuesday, May 21, 2013

#14 MTA

My memory card is full. I am trying to download the pictures on computer using Sony software but it says no new picture to download. I tried to delete the pictures using window utility but deleting is disabled. I am unable to use the Camera any more unless I change the SD card.

5:33 am - Sunday, June 2, 2013

#15 adonis

why this camera does not have a dedicated sports shot ... its real trouble ... thought its quality must be outstanding as at right angle in auto mode i can take steady clear nice shot of moving ceiling fan ... but auto takes some time to register ... so when i have to take pic of friend jumping, it wont register in time and pic gets all murky ... i have got no idea how to make it sure it gets in sports shot scene when i have to take sports shot ... please do help ME here ...

7:48 am - Sunday, June 2, 2013

#16 adonis

another problem is taking sports shot at night ... i tried different modes but could not get a clear pic ... this is my only problem with this camera ... why dont sony puts up an updated software for this camera with dedicated sports shot ... that would be relief ... an immature like ME has got not much idea about ISO settings and their workings ... even my xperia phone has sports shot settings ... its really exasperating when i dont find it in my camera ...

7:51 am - Sunday, June 2, 2013

#17 Radhakrishnan

I have purchased this WX100 from Extra-electronics shop today. I am very impressed within few shots and movies. Really nice snaps and picture quality is very good. I am satisfied for what I have paid for.

1:32 pm - Friday, July 12, 2013

#18 Anneliese

Have had this camera for a few years now with no mayjor issues, took this camera to new york as well as italy and ireland and can say it took some amazing photos. Captures great in low-light (I was able to take an image of a virtually entirely dark room to fully see what was inside) The different modes helped automatically changing settings for different environments i.e food, happy-snaps, landscapes etc. It all depends really on what you want to get out of the camera and what you want to use it for, as with any camera. But overall it’s really great as far with value for people who want a good compact, quality and versatile camera.

10:45 pm - Sunday, November 24, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, compact, review, beginner, full hd, 2.7 inch LCD, 1080i, 10fps, 10x zoom, 18 megapixel, 10x, 10x lens, wx100, Sony WX100, Sony DSC-WX100, Sony Cyber-shot DSC-WX100, dsc-wx100

Tracker Pixel for Entry