Sony Cyber-shot DSC-WX350 Review

May 20, 2014 | Jack Baker | |

Your Comments

13 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Derek

An interesting camera, but the image compare function at imaging-resource.com (under “camera reviews”) suggests image quality suffers compared to rivals and isn’t all that good in and of itself.
A slight concern is that the images at that website are for its predecessor-the WX300—which the reviewer suggests has very similar image quality to the WX350.

3:12 pm - Tuesday, May 20, 2014

#2 Otto Au

LIGHT CLUTCH!

3:48 am - Friday, May 23, 2014

#3 Tom

Bought one and returned it after 2 days. Centers of images were OK, but right side of images total disaster (unclear). Far from 4 and half stars as here rated (more like 2-3 stars)

7:22 pm - Friday, July 11, 2014

#4 Danny Pearl

Bought as a portability ‘upgrade’ from an HX50, which is OK, but slightly bulky. Boy was this a let down. Image quality about the same - marginally sharper sometimes, but features: poor. No aperture mode?? No option to adjust sharpness or noise reduction and I’ve never had any images look as good as the ones in the review. Noise everywhere on every image under all conditions when you zoom in just a little. The WiFi control is truly pitiful. Take a photo. That’s it. Even the QX10 has touch focus and the HX50 does photo and video modes. But that’s now gone on the HX60, so no point in upgrading there. Basically Sony is cutting corners and the older cameras have better features. Weird way to do business.

11:41 pm - Wednesday, July 16, 2014

#5 Lokesh

Agree with Danny…i bought 10 days ...hoplessly searching net to sell this off.Image stabilization will work on all modes.
Wx60 the cheapest earlier camera is better than this.

2:48 pm - Sunday, August 10, 2014

#6 Martha

Have just purchased this camera, and can’t work out how to attach the strap - nothing in the rather basic instruction leaflet .

5:45 pm - Saturday, September 13, 2014

#7 Chris

My sony WX-350 ....the touch screen just started to blurr after two months use…any suggestions.chris

5:44 pm - Friday, October 10, 2014

#8 p collins

Just got a wx350 as a replacement to my w300, not sure that the image quality is as good. It doesn’t feel as solid as its predecessor and after taking a few photos in low light I’m am very disappointed so far. may return it soon.

9:07 pm - Thursday, December 25, 2014

#9 Phil Bean

Same issue as Tom. Left and centre of photos super sharp, right side edge very blurred. Sending mine back.

Otherwise..

PROS
Video quality is very good. Slightly overexposed but otherwise excellent.
Apart from blurring on right problem, still image quality excellent.
Wifi worked well for me even though range is poor.
Very compact and pocketable.

CONS
Screen is COMPLETELY useless in any kind of sunlight. Its just point and hope.
Auto mode seems to select ISO80 outdoors and ISO1600 indoors (terrible) with nothing inbetween.
Port cover for USB (charging) doesn’t open very well. Tricky to get cable in.
Your finger naturally goes over the flash.

3:20 pm - Monday, September 14, 2015

#10 Dede

I bought it for 250USD last year.
Its really compact yet has a powerful optical zoom feature 18x.
Check the quality of the zoom here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DE2_uKRlW58

2:47 pm - Monday, October 12, 2015

#11 davz

What a great little camera.  Image quality is excellent even in low light conditions and zooming in, graining is barely noticeable…..very impressed. Video quality is also excellent and sound is fine with the wind noise reduction switched on. The wifi is really easy to set up and worked faultlessly with my sony tv and my xperia phone. The camera screen is fine but could be more highly detailed.  The ergonomics are fine even if you have fat fingers.  Menus are straight forward and are quick and easy to navigate.  Highly recommended.

9:03 pm - Wednesday, October 28, 2015

#12 tracy

I need a new camera as my Panasonic DMC-ZS8 has gotten dust on the sensor when the zoom lens retracts.  I like the long zoom for wildlife photos but it seems to distort faces close up and when shooting indoors it takes forever to take a shot and then the flash washes a lot out.  I won’t buy another Panasonic.  I am trying to choose between a Sony and Canon.  I want undistorted faces indoors but a decent zoom (don’t need more than 20x optical) for wildlife.  Can anyone suggest a camera for under $300?  Thank you!

3:05 am - Wednesday, December 30, 2015

#13 Vidar

I got this camera after i unluckily dropped my beloved Canon Ixus 220…  I am very disappointed with this camera in low light! My Canon 220 did amazing low light shots, everything was crisp clear and you could see every star and at the same time get a city in focus. With this however, it’s like they took the camera out of my old 2008 mobile phone and inserted it. The quality for night photos is so bad i am ready to bet that the quality is worse than VGA.  In low light, it can’t find focus and the pictures get so blurry that you can’t see what is in the picture. Like for an example, i tried to take some pictures of rabbits at a distance of 100m, 20x zoom.. Nope didn’t work at all, i tried all settings, P, auto, Auto S, Scene. Only thing that worked was the Movie. This is THE worst camera on the market, never buy SONY, buy proper camera brands like Canon or Nikon. Sony have no idea what they are doing and all their markets are false, many of these comments here are payed comments!

8:04 pm - Saturday, May 7, 2016

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, review, 3 inch LCD, compact, 1080p, wi-fi, wireless, beginner, wifi, full hd, 10fps, 18 megapixel, 20x zoom, 20x, 20x lens, Sony Cyber-shot DSC-WX350, Sony WX350, Sony DSC-WX350, dsc-wx350, wx350