Sony Cyber-shot DSC-WX7 Review

4.0
July 18, 2011 | Matt Grayson |

Your Comments

31 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 WMU

I like your tests and the quality of the pictures that the camera make is one of the main argument to buy it. But why are you using nearly only 100 ASA exposed Pictures in the “sample images”? 3 Pictures or more of the same motifs with the same Film speed say nothing more. One with 400, the other with 100 is more meaningful!
Thank you.

8:57 pm - Monday, July 18, 2011

#2 Matthew Bamberg

A resolution of 16 MP is not very useful in a camera that has such a small sensor. I don’t understand why they don’t make the sensors bigger when they add so many megapixels.

10:50 pm - Monday, July 18, 2011

#3 Simon

The test shows the WX7 cameras takes some of the worst pictures among ultra compacts. Even compared to TX5 or TX7 much worse. The WX1 wasn’t a stellar, but reasonable perfomer with each generation of the WX series getting worse. (mainly due to the bad lens I guess? Other Sony’s with the same sensor perform much better).

So why still give it a “recommended”? I think sometimes one should be brave and say not-recommended. I know, Sony wouldn’t like it…

1:22 pm - Tuesday, July 19, 2011

#4 Jemin Joseph

Good camera with amazing features…

8:49 am - Saturday, July 23, 2011

#5 mattgrayson

I understand what you mean, Simon, but it’s not like that. If I don’t think a camera makes the grade, I will mark it as such. However, the overall score for me is an average of the other grades combined with how much I actually enjoyed using the camera.
I hope that helps. :O)

5:36 pm - Sunday, July 24, 2011

#6 Erik

I don’t understand why getting the video’s of the sd card would be a nightmare, it just like with the WX5 in a AVHCD format and directly playable in wmp or mediacenter. I sometimes feel that the expectations are unrealistic for this kind of digital cameras, this camera is smaller than f.e. my “old” WX5 and gives comparable picture quality. For dailly use it suits it’s purpose.
If I want better pictures, than I take my NEX C3. Simple as that.

6:12 am - Saturday, August 6, 2011

#7 Sharmila S. Meena

I got this camera. I find that it is unable to take clear pictures of my computer keyboard and text, etc. What settings do I require to use for a clear picture of each of the keys in my keyboard or any other such items?

10:10 am - Wednesday, October 12, 2011

#8 gino r.

By the way ! How can I choose/change/see ISO in the WX7 ?  I am pretty lost by the quantity o f proposals all around. I am sorry there isn’t a
BW option too !!! Bought one hour ago… a bit diceived already ... gadgety !  But the iso ? Where to change/use them ?  Thanks

4:15 pm - Sunday, December 18, 2011

#9 Joe

@gino r.

I got my camera today.
You can only change the ISO when you use “Program”. (Change it by selecting “menu”)

I sort of dislike the color taken with the camera. It’s too bold.

5:47 am - Saturday, January 7, 2012

#10 Joe

It seems like I’m unable to adjust the ISO when shooting in low light. It automatically chooses an ISO based on the brightness of the environment. Most of the time, it goes up to ISO 3200 at low night which I take a picture in low light, which makes the picture pretty fizzy.

On the “Sample Images” for this camera on this website, the second last picture it’s shot at it’s lowest ISO (ISO 100). I’m not sure how they got the ISO to it’s lowest…Which setting did the photographer use???


Thank you.

6:13 pm - Monday, January 9, 2012

#11 Mark Openshaw

I have just bought this camera to replace another Sony pocket camera… for the price I am more than happy with the pictures, at low light they seemed a little washed out, but easy to work with.

Its not a DSLR but it fits in my pocket and easy to use, for a point and shoot pocket camera in this price range its a good buy and you have to start zooming in and looking for faults in my view.

12:40 am - Tuesday, January 17, 2012

#12 JL

@ Joe use “Twilight portrait (has flash)” or “Twilight (if you have use a tripod)” to get ISO100 pictures.
Yes, the color does look “bold” on your camera display, but you view it on your computer, it looks normal.

5:42 pm - Tuesday, January 17, 2012

#13 Bart

good camera all around for the average shooter. impressed with the video. could of used some more options. i rate it an 8 out of 11!  thanks

12:51 am - Friday, February 24, 2012

#14 hades

does this camera have time/date stamp? i make a lot of photos and i really want this feature. ty

10:07 am - Wednesday, February 29, 2012

#15 noname

Menu, choose setting icon (like a briefcase),  Shooting Settings section and finally Write Date

6:37 am - Sunday, March 4, 2012

#16 sina

hi. how i can rotate my foto in computer . becuse rotate option in all poto player is deactive and no posible.

4:39 pm - Monday, March 19, 2012

#17 JL

@sina

Go to one of your pictures on your camera. Then click on ‘menu’ on your camera. Scroll down, there will be an option to rotate your picture.

To rotate you picture on your computer, just right click on the picture and click on the picture icon, then click on rotate clockwise. (For Windows OS)

12:16 am - Monday, May 28, 2012

#18 amaan

I really dont understand what all u people want…u cannot get everything perfect..each person has its own views I AGREE..i have not seen any single disadvantage of this camera & for me this camera is best among all if we look at the price and compare it with other cameras and company..!

7:39 am - Friday, October 19, 2012

#19 Angie C

I’d love to know how to have the entire photo in focus!! Just looked at what I was hoping were going to be some great Fall color pics and around the outside edge of the shots it’s very grainy. I have it on Superior Auto setting. Could you please tell me exactly what the setting should be to have a landscape/distance photo entirely in focus so I can print off decent enlargements without cropping off the out of focus bits?  Thanks!

10:13 pm - Saturday, October 27, 2012

#20 JL

@Angie C

Ya, you can’t actually set the focus to macro, normal, and distance for the Superior Auto setting. It auto-focuses on what it sees. (You can lock the focus though).

If you want to focus it at a distance, go to the scene selection setting and select landscape. That will focus at a distance.

You can’t change the ISO in the Superior Auto setting. The darker the environment, the higher the ISO. I like how it has anti-blur.

To remove the grain, you can use a photo editor and increase the contrast. (your picture will be slightly darken)

If you don’t want the grain, use the slow synchro flash.

6:53 am - Sunday, October 28, 2012

#21 Guest

Great Camera!

7:16 am - Sunday, October 28, 2012

#22 Anne F

I bought this compact camera a couple of months ago, and I’m terribly disappointed with it for several reasons. I bought it because it seemed to be a great choice for low light conditions, but I regret my choice.

The video quality is outstanding, but the format is unusable & unrecognised by Mac computers. My computer always struggles to detect & launch iPhoto when I connect this camera (no problem with a Canon).

The second big downside is how slow it is to process pictures when taken at 16 MP resolution.

The third downside to it is that the little control wheel at the top of the camera is very sensitive. At the slightest little touch to it as you want to reach for the shutter, it goes into settings mode. That’s very frustrating. PS: I have rather thin fingers.

I hate it so much that I’ve reverted back to using my (slightly defective due to over-use) Canon IXUS 970is.

I would not recommend the DSC WX7.

6:32 pm - Saturday, November 3, 2012

#23 JL

@Anne F

Ya, if you use the Superior Auto, the camera takes multiple pictures to prevent anti-blur and takes about 5 seconds to process. That’s ok with me.

If you use the Auto, that would not happen.

Takes nice pictures in low light.
Ya, sometimes I rotate the wheel by accident, but I’m more careful with it now.

3:47 pm - Monday, November 5, 2012

#24 Donna Stefanson

how do you set date & time on this camera?

10:33 pm - Monday, November 5, 2012

#25 JL

@Donna Stefanson

Press menu button, then go to your menu selection. You’ll see a clock icon on the left hand side. Go to it and change the time.

1:22 am - Tuesday, November 6, 2012

#26 sidshri

You have no technical knowledge regarding cameras…either photography…stop taking reviews…...I’ve been using this camera for 2 years…it’s just perfect in it’s segment…only 5x opt Zoom should be 10x…and the video recording is just awesome really…quit this job you’ll collapse the website/company whatever

11:39 am - Wednesday, March 13, 2013

#27 Coleman

@sidshri
Who are you referring to?
What job?
Stop taking reviews….?


I got this camera at the end of 2011.

Cons:
-The battery life is sort of short.

-While recording a video, you’ll notice a buzzing noise during playback.


Pro:
-Nice quality photo in low light.

-It has Anti-blur feature.

8:20 pm - Wednesday, March 13, 2013

#28 donald

all the pics on my site minus in the sample pics are with this camera, it works just fine if you know what you are doing,oh the very last pic on the sample page with the guy with the white guitar is with the wx7 as well :)

2:59 pm - Tuesday, March 19, 2013

#29 donald

it works fine as is if you know what ur dong, all the pics on my site minus all but one in the smaple pics page are with the wx7 :)

3:01 pm - Tuesday, March 19, 2013

#30 Dr.Amit

Hi!! ur blog is really amazing..helped me to decide over which cam to buy.
this cam is really awesome….worth a price.
I am very happy with the pictures and its quality.

6:55 am - Saturday, May 11, 2013

#31 Alan pougher

I have had this camera for nearly 2 years and have several issues that are forcing me to replace now.
1). Over saturated images
2) slow start up
3) slow to start video.  Very slow.
4). Poor battery life
5). When zooming out there is a small zoom in at the end, which makes a real mess of video shooting.

I notice Sony have not issued any new firmware for this, which leaves me to believe either the problem is on my camera only or Sony don’t care about this type of camera user.
It’s not As if this was a real cheap point and shoot.

2:01 pm - Monday, May 27, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, compact, review, 16 megapixel, beginner, full hd, 5x zoom, 1080i, 2.8 inch LCD, 5x, 5x lens, dsc-wx7, wx7, Sony WX7, Sony DSC-WX7, Sony Cyber-shot DSC-WX7