Sony E PZ 16-50mm F3.5-5.6 OSS Review

4.0
February 13, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

8 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Mike Spivey

Thanks for the review. Since there is electronic zooming and there is an app that allows remote zooming, can you zoom remotely? This would make it ideal as a remote camera.
Thanks

2:15 pm - Thursday, February 14, 2013

#2 Zoltan Arva-Toth

Mike,

With the Play Memories Mobile app, you can control the (NEX-6) camera remotely from your smartphone via Wi-Fi, although in our experience the control options are quite limited for the time being. You can see the camera’s live view feed on your phone’s screen, set exposure compensation and take a picture remotely but that’s it basically. Perhaps Sony will update the app at some point to include remote zooming and some other much-needed features, but when we did the review, this was all you could do with it in terms of remote control.

8:25 pm - Thursday, February 14, 2013

#3 Mike Spivey

Thanks for the reply. I have uses for remote cams and even the basic features will be nicer than using current remote releases etc. But I always want more.

8:39 pm - Thursday, February 14, 2013

#4 PK

Way to go Sony.
I had my heart set on a Panasonic M4/3 (the Sony NEX lenses were just too big). But I needed an electronic viewfinder and I got tired of waiting for Panasonic to introduce a GX1 upgrade with viewfinder. Then NEX 6 came along with this lens and I snapped it up. Am delighted.

5:56 pm - Friday, February 15, 2013

#5 Patrik

In the section “Sharpness at 50mm” there is a 35mm picture.

2:39 pm - Saturday, February 16, 2013

#6 David

The NEX-7 firmware upgrade to 1.02 is necessary to have the lens automatically collapse when the camera us turned off. This upgrade also contains the information for JPEG distortion correction. Perhaps Lightroom 4 will eventually correct RAW ditortion.

3:03 pm - Tuesday, March 5, 2013

#7 Livingston

Here’s a basic question I haven’t seen addressed anywhere:

If you compare your distortion-corrected photos at the wide and of the zoom of this lens to the bug-eyed originals you can clearly see that the image is croppped.  So what is the effective focal length of the lens in ‘normal’, meaning automatically corrected mode relative to the distorted image focal length without processing?

Is the marketed focal length then correct?  Who would want to buy a lens sold as a 90 degree field of view that really is only good for 70 degree shots?? 

Is this cheating common today?

Also, since there is so much distortion, what happens to your video shots at minimum focal length?? Do we just accept the dizzying fisheye effect of panning on a wide shot? Do we have an added step based on focal length in post?  Oh, yes - how about zooming in video?

10:23 pm - Monday, June 2, 2014

#8 David

Lightroom now has a lens correction option for the SONY SELP 1650 lens. This does not cause any alteration in the width of the field, but internal processing of the image occurs to remove distortion. The focal length does not appear to change. I have not yet tried any panoramic exposures at the 16mm setting. Lightroom can also correct distortion for the 10-18 mm SONY zoom lens.

1:51 am - Tuesday, June 3, 2014

Entry Tags

review, samples, images, test, lens, zoom, standard, f3.5, nex, f5.6, 16-50mm, kit, nex-6, power zoom, power-zoom, collapsible, Sony E PZ 16-50mm F3.5-5.6 OSS Review, Sony 16-50mm review, 16-50mm oss

Tracker Pixel for Entry