Sony NEX-3N Review

4.5
June 10, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

20 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Vili

Would the author care to elaborate how

“... using a tripod with the NEX-3N blocks the memory card slot.”

Unfortunately it looks to me like a copy-paste issue and unfortunately casts some doubts about acuracy of other content as well.

8:18 am - Wednesday, June 12, 2013

#2 gorpalm

Good review, I’ve got the 3n bought when it first came out and considered it “reasonably priced” then, now its quite the steal.

One thing - the 3n has a simpler HDR and DRO function that its NEX stablemates - They’re “off” or “auto” - The review however hints via photos that these are adjustable on this model - They’re not.

12:29 pm - Wednesday, June 12, 2013

#3 Vili

Gropalm: I am looking at 3N for my next purchase so your info is valuable, so I want to double check as it differs from what is shown here:

http://sonyalphalab.com/2013/06/sony-nex-3n-shooting-modes-menus-and-camera-setup-explained/

How come?

2:10 pm - Wednesday, June 12, 2013

#4 gorpalm

Omg you’re absolutely right Vili - I never noticed the options button on the bottom of the menu - both DRO and HDR are adjustable, I gladly eat my words.

6:59 pm - Wednesday, June 12, 2013

#5 Giklab

Smallest ILC? Lolnope Sony.
http://camerasize.com/compact/#442,464,ha,f

8:47 am - Monday, June 17, 2013

#6 Armando

It is rated a “5” but there is no recommendation. Why?

10:09 pm - Monday, June 17, 2013

#7 A.Observer

To #5 Giklab - 1/1.7” Penatax ???
It’s just a different class…

1:00 pm - Wednesday, June 19, 2013

#8 Telefunk

This camera has a lot going for it. However when I compared its pictures at 200% with those of my Lumix LX5, the Sony was barely better, sometimes even less sharp. It proves that a big sensor with a lousy lens (16-50) is more or less equal to a tiny sensor with an excellent lens. Even noise doesn’t make much difference as the LX5 can work at 250iso at night due to f2 lens. I ended up returning it to Amazon, because the LX5 is more discreet (no shutter noise) and even more pocketable. Cannot understand why everyone always thinks big sensors are so much better…

1:08 pm - Saturday, June 22, 2013

#9 alina

It is definitely best camera for self camera maniac like me,,,

4:24 pm - Sunday, July 7, 2013

#10 Sam

Do I understand correctly that you can’t develop RAW files shot with the kit lens in Aperture as it doesn’t recognize it’s profile as being compatible? If this is the case is there another alternative RAW developer that will work with it at a reasonable price?

10:27 pm - Thursday, August 1, 2013

#11 Innersense

ISO 100? ...copy paste review?
Anyway, the camera is still ok

12:53 pm - Friday, August 30, 2013

#12 Toper | 1 Million Free Pictures

Works like Sony Nex C3. Small and dependable. I still use mine today after 2 years and still works fine.  I read Sony is releasing a Sony a7 but its too expensive.  I think they’re around $1900-$2,200.  Until I notice a huge difference, I may still my old SOny.

6:26 pm - Tuesday, October 22, 2013

#13 Eric

I’ve compared this camera’s images with those of the NEX-5T. Both cameras have the same lens and the same sensor.

I’ve noticed that the NEX-3N produces significantly worse images. The difference in detail at 100% is marked.

Comparing each camera’s ISO 100 bookshelf jpeg image, “the digital photographer’s notebook” (the brown book on the left) looks much more detailed in the image produced by the NEX-5T. In the NEX-3N’s image the book is simply a brown blur. This is consistant with all other jpeg images too. (I can’t compare the raw images, since I can’t view them.)

Have Sony deliberately crippled the NEX-3N, in order to encourage people to buy its more expensive cameras?

4:20 pm - Wednesday, November 13, 2013

#14 Eric

I meant “Comparing each camera‚Äôs ISO 200 bookshelf jpeg image”.

The NEX-3N can’t produce ISO 100 images.

8:02 pm - Wednesday, November 13, 2013

#15 Mels

So currently I have a sony cybershot point and shoot, nothing fancy. I’m in the process of starting a blog and YouTube focusing on fashion and life, and I’m really in the market for a better camera. I was thinking about this one, but video quality and auto-focus tracking is important to me and I was wondering how good or bad the video quality is in order to produce good quality videos, I have good content I just need the quality. I was just going to go with the shoot with what you have method but I’m not sure if that’ll be effective. I’m not really in the market for a dslr or a camcorder either, but if you have reasonably priced suggestions for either that would be helpful. So basically I’m asking if this would be good for making YouTube videos and if not what other cameras in the price range would be better. Thanks!

4:52 am - Wednesday, December 18, 2013

#16 swen

Giklab

Smallest ILC? Lolnope Sony.
http://camerasize.com/compact/#442,464,ha,f
————————————————————————-

Pentax, non APC sensor size…I am not Sony fan but pentax feel like toy compared to Sony.

3:05 pm - Thursday, January 2, 2014

#17 Joe Smith

You really need to correct this: “The Sony NEX-3N has an extensive and very usable ISO range of 100-16000. “

Sony gimped the sensor/IQ by limiting the 3N to 200 ISO. I’m surprised this is not addressed anywhere in the review…...

4:32 am - Saturday, January 4, 2014

#18 hame

Can i use this camera with external monitor?

9:24 am - Sunday, May 11, 2014

#19 Chandrasekar.P

Sir good review if you don’t mind please add some more picture.I am really looking forward to buy this camera.

2:00 pm - Monday, August 11, 2014

#20 Ravindra kathale

I’ve recently bought this camera. I find that the histogram is available in display, but not in the shooting mode. Baffles me. Or is it availablein some menu other than Menu—>Camera—>Display? Can someone help?
Thanks and regards.

9:04 am - Wednesday, September 17, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 16 megapixel, compact system camera, hdmi, sony, mirrorless, csc, 1080i, tilting, tiltable, 4fps, 25p, 50i, tilt-shift, nex 3n, nex-3n, nex3n, Sony NEX-3N, Sony NEX-3N Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry