Sony NEX-5R Review

4.5
November 28, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

10 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Matt

I think there must be a bug in the software creating the scoring stars - every review is coming out as 4.5 starts

6:26 pm - Wednesday, November 28, 2012

#2 JS

Excellent IQ, 5 stars from me!

7:52 pm - Wednesday, November 28, 2012

#3 Frank Stanton

Ooh, Matt, you so funny!

8:50 pm - Wednesday, November 28, 2012

#4 mario_lem73

No wonder of equal rating given to different tested cameras, as almost nowhere will find so bland and pointless reviews. I don’t know why the website does and who gives them cameras, but these reviews do not give any practical information either beginners or advanced users. Around 80% of the texts are identical, there are no serious comparisons of photos or analysis. How a serious site can say “The Sony NEX-5R has an antishake mechanism built into the camera body” when NEX cameras using in-lens stabilization and the person testing the camera supposed to use it during review period!?

9:42 pm - Wednesday, November 28, 2012

#5 Fred Shamootsin

I’m puzzled by your IQ scoring system for myriad of cameras with different sensor sizes and makes.For example Canon G15 , Olympus XZ2 ( both with 1/1.7” sensors )Fuji XF-1 ( 2/3” sensor),Leica Vlux 4 ( 1/2.3” sensor) all have been given score of 4.5 for IQ and Olympus E-PL5 and E-PM2 ( Micro 4/3 sensors ) have been given score of 5 for IQ ( let alone Sony’s RX-100 with 1” sensor has also been given 5 in IQ department) and Sony NEX-5N and NEX-5R both with 1.5” sensors have been scored 4.5 in image quality.
Would they all produce the same picture qualities and yet they cost so different ?
Would you please shed some light on your IQ scoring which will be highly appreciated.

7:40 am - Thursday, November 29, 2012

#6 John-e-boy

This is £499 on the Currys website as of today and still can claim the new Sony £50 cash back deal on this too making it £449 for a superb camera, bargain!!!!!

11:14 am - Thursday, November 29, 2012

#7 Tim

The above comments have a point, I love this website but the reviews do need some thought and development.  It’s impossible to make a comparison between different cameras…. presumably the IQ score factors in the price of the camera, hence two cameras being able to score the same despite having entirely different performance (compact vs DSLR). But that makes it very hard to make any serious comparisons.

How does this camera perform compared to full DSLRs of a similar price? Actually I have no idea from this review.

10:23 am - Sunday, December 2, 2012

#8 dj

Nice camera. Well done Sony. I actually dont look at the scores too much but i do read the reviews and check out the images samples. I like this web page a lot. It does reviews on everything photographic and it comes out with camera reviews quite regularly. I give it 4.5/5 stars.

7:09 am - Monday, December 3, 2012

#9 Alex

In my opinion the NEX 5R is a great camera, just in low light situations it perform very well. For all german Users, I wrote a german review about the camera, with some testshoots on low light. Look here: http://www.stroica.com/sony-nex-5r-im-test-erster-eindruck/

11:38 pm - Wednesday, December 19, 2012

#10 Paul Edwards

I decided that I wanted a small high quality DSLR like camera which I could put in my jacket pocket (with a small lens attached course)  after months of reviews and soul searching I finally purchased this camera couple days ago and I have to say I’m a bit underwhelmed by it.

Probably because I’m using the supplied kit lens I’m not all that impressed by the image quality - but you wont find me paying out £600 GBP for a 200mm zoom lens btw!

I have purchased a fast 30mm E fit lens and I’m going to wait to see what that offers, but I have to say the that pictures my old Fuji Hs10 bridge camera took are far Superior to this! They were sharp, clear with vivid colors, these are nothing like.

The worse thing about it is the touch screen especially when trying to download the camera apps - putting in my email address and password was a nightmare! Of course like smartphones the rear screen is soon covered with greasy finger prints making it even harder to see it in daylight.

Ill wait to try it with other lenses but if no improvement its going back!

By the way I don’t know why the reviewer thinks this camera has a ‘pop up lens?? ’ I assume its because they use reviews from other similar cameras as a template simply to edit….

10:28 pm - Saturday, July 6, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, 16 megapixel, compact system camera, hdmi, wi-fi, wireless, sony, mirrorless, csc, tilting, 10fps, tilt, wi fi, android, iphone, apps, playmemories, nex 5r, nex5r, nex-5R, Sony NEX-5R, Sony NEX-5R Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry