Sony NEX-F3 Review

4.5
July 10, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

17 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Kevin Le Vu

I love the Sony NEX-7, i’m considering on upgrading to this!

6:14 pm - Tuesday, July 10, 2012

#2 gadge

If you have the nex-7 getting the f3 would be a downgrade

11:09 pm - Tuesday, July 10, 2012

#3 OneillNataliaf

like Thomas said I cant believe that a student able to earn $5252 in a few weeks on the computer. did you look at this site link(Click on menu Home more information)  http://goo.gl/s2Ldc

1:15 am - Wednesday, July 11, 2012

#4 Steve

I think Sony have now released more NEX bodies than lenses. And only 2 decent lenses too. What a shame.

5:17 am - Wednesday, July 11, 2012

#5 Dave

@Steve

Not only has Sony released more lenses than bodies, they are almost all of good quality. And there are more still on their way.

What a shame that people are still misinformed about the best mirrorless system available today.

11:01 am - Wednesday, July 11, 2012

#6 Steve

@ Dave the 50 and 24 are good glass. the rest are below average to poor. the 18-200 is pretty good for an 18-200 but average by any other standard; it’s a super zoom. You can find many tests online confirming this. Sony have released 3 nex3 bodies, iirc 2 or 3 nex5 bodies and 1 nex7. They have released 7 lenses - 16, 24, 30, 50, 18-55, 55-210, 18-200. It is widely joked that nex is an interchangeable camera, not interchangeable lens, system. it’s a shame, because the bodies are decent.

4:08 pm - Wednesday, July 11, 2012

#7 Dave

@Steve

With the exception of the 16mm and the 30mm, all Sony NEX lenses are widely regarded as at least as good as their equivalents for other mounts. And the 24mm and the 50mm are exceptional.

Do they have to make more lenses? They sure do, but don’t diminish their current line-up, because you favourite focallength-price-quality combination is not available yet.

Photographers need to be able to keep perspective.

1:40 pm - Thursday, July 12, 2012

#8 Peter Harris

Please don’t use the phrase “retro charm” again - maybe the phrase unctuously derivative” could replace it. 

Sadly the minimal aspect of the NEX line - best exemplified by the 5 and 5N -  is gone.  Just add a mirror and be done with it. 

But I’m not totally bitter.  The NEXs (NEXi?) have great sensors and produce wonderful images.  They are much better than the m4/3 and better than the canon aps.  The sensor is also used by Nikon for their 16mpx aps dslrs and by pentax.

I have the 5n and love it.  If you set the custom functions properly you can work quickly. If you have to dip into the menu system sayonara mon amour. 

The camera are smaller than you think and light .  Build quality is very high.  If sony lowered the price on accessories by about 25% they’d do very well indeed.

3:47 pm - Thursday, July 19, 2012

#9 uroura

The price is a deterrent. I rather buy a Canon DSLR for this.

1:51 pm - Monday, July 30, 2012

#10 uroura

Sorry Sony, your cameras are too expensive.

1:53 pm - Monday, July 30, 2012

#11 Grace Huang

I got this camera a few months ago and I’ve gotta say this camera is amazing. I got many compliments on this camera. It takes super clear photos and makes your skin look really smooth. Worth the buy! :)

12:32 am - Friday, November 23, 2012

#12 Demie

I need some advice! Cannot decide which camera to go with the Sony nex-f3 or the Samsung nx1000? Both have good reviews the lack of built in flash bothers me on the Samsung but it and its lenses are cheaper…, am I right in thinking the Sony has more in the way of creative effects? Any advice gratefully received!

7:42 pm - Sunday, December 2, 2012

#13 ANg

I Love this camera.  I wanted something easy to use for my kitchen business.  This nex f3 takes Amazing extra-sharp pictures even in low light without noise.  Flash is barely even needed and the adjuster for that is so easy to use.  I love that there’s a pop-up available and can attach a hot shoe too, which attaches very securely. Auto works so surprisingly well and yet it has the ability to adjust everything manually too (when I am ready to learn more about that).  I can’t believe I got this quality without having to buy a dslr.  Too many awesome qualities to mention.  Excellent outdoor pics as well. Having lots of fun with it.

2:35 am - Sunday, January 27, 2013

#14 Leonard Aas

I have had this camera for some months now, my wife and I did buy it to take photos of our dogs without having to care too much about the price of it. Must say that my wife love the inteligent modes as she could not care about taking time to adjust settings.
(still must admit that the manual-mode gets the best pictures)

Uses it mostly outisde and it takes really good pictures, only thing I need to get now is a better lens.

I doubt that anyone are going to comment more here but, is there any cheap lens reccomended for multipurpose?

7:58 am - Monday, June 3, 2013

#15 ANg

I posted above previously.  Now that I’ve had the camera a while, I’m having a little trouble getting the crisp pictures I need for my business. I do see some noise indoors and using the flash attachment on top does help, but I haven’t had the time to meet with someone more than once for a little lesson and I can see I need to.  The person I met with was really impressed with the camera though but for an amateur who needs perfect pictures I do need to be familiar with how to make the adjustments.  As for outdoor pictures, I can’t see the screen in the sun.

11:26 am - Monday, June 3, 2013

#16 Peter

I already owned an NEX 5 but wanted a second body as I tend to use that particular camera with adapters and legacy lenses. I saw the NEX F3 at a good price and was interested enough to get it. I have not regretted it. Its image quality is excellent and, matched with the SONY 50mm f1.8 OSS lens (an excellent lens for sharpness even wide open although sometimes slow to focus) this camera is great for natural light shooting in dim conditions. I have shot it at sensitivities up to 3200 ASA with good results in candle-light like conditions. This means sensitivity can be set to auto and effectively forgotten about if you are of a mind to. It is a fun camera and it is pleasant to think that such great shots can be had from one as inexpensive as this.

A shot taken at ASA 3200: https://www.flickr.com/photos/life_in_shadows/9476880419/

And at ASA 1600: https://www.flickr.com/photos/life_in_shadows/15099090849/

11:57 pm - Thursday, October 16, 2014

#17 Peter

This is an afterthought to my post above. I have found all of the zooms I have tried for the Sony NEX system to be something of a compromise, image quality wise. The standard lens for the NEX F3 is the 18-55mm zoom. This zoom needs stopping down somewhat to optimize image quality. This is not unusual with kit zooms but it can compromise the image outcomes available from this camera body and certainly makes it harder to get great results in low light even at AS|A 3200. Hence my suggestion that this camera be matched with something like the Sony 50mm f1.8 which is a much better lens, IQ wise. That is a fairly expensive bit of kit though, so if money is an object an alternative is the Sigma 30mm f2.8 which is rated extremely highly in reviews. It is very inexpensive but performs well - I liked this lens so much that I bought one for my NEX system and another for my micro four thirds cameras as the lens is available for both systems.

12:05 am - Friday, October 17, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 16 megapixel, compact system camera, hdmi, mirrorless, sony, tilting, 1080i, 25p, 50i, 5.5fps, Sony NEX-F3, nex f3, nexf3, nex-f3, Sony NEX-F3 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry