Tamron SP 150-600mm F/5-6.3 Di VC USD Review

March 6, 2014 | Mark Goldstein | |

Your Comments

7 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Stine Lise

Hi, first of all thanks for a very informative review, the kind I like to read :) One thing I really is missing in all reviews of the lens is a short little section with some video test. It would be lovely to see how it would preform - specially for video on a Canon.

Kr
Stine Lise

4:52 pm - Friday, March 7, 2014

#2 Martin

Have had the lens for two days and done some testing. Excellent images at 600mm, but first at f11. The issue I have is the autofocus. I can get a razor sharp image, but then next image is often slightly out of focus, even during high speed shooting. Most tests were taken free hand, and AF Servo. But it seems like it is not locking to the subject very well. The tests by http://www.the-digital-picture.com/ seems to confirm this. I believe this is the one major draw back on this otherwise excellent lens. The reach and quality bests my old Canon 100-400mm, but the AF issue is annoying, and the chromatic aberration can be bad at 600mm (even in non challenging situations).

12:19 pm - Monday, March 10, 2014

#3 Tony

Hi Martin was wondering if you had any comparison shots of your 100-400mm Canon and your 150-600mm Tamron especially at max range.
Thanks.

9:58 am - Saturday, March 29, 2014

#4 Jamie

On your sample images, it would be very helpful if you could indicate the focal length used for each picture.

8:58 pm - Tuesday, May 20, 2014

#5 Marco

As Jamie mentioned previously, it would be useful when focal lengths would be mentioned with the sample photo’s.
Also the Exif data of the images seems to be stripped out, so no way to find the camera/lens settings in an alternate way..

2:32 am - Thursday, July 3, 2014

#6 KC

I have a Canon 60D and I would like to see some photo’s taken with a Full Frame vs Non Full Frame (like my 60D) to help me decide to purchase this lens (without my wife’s knowledge) I love shooting pic’s out doors of all types!
I appreciate if you could provide some samples at the different focal lengths.

Thank you
KC

7:55 pm - Monday, February 16, 2015

#7 john holland

looking at this lens vs sigma lens would be nice if one compare each a each other at the same time and compare 4 lens at the same time.

9:12 am - Saturday, March 14, 2015

Entry Tags

review, samples, photos, lens, sample images, full frame, 4x zoom, sports, portraits, tamron, wildlife, nature, ultra zoom, f6.3, f5, 150-600mm, 600mm, tamron 150-600mm, Tamron SP 150-600mm f5-6.3 DI VC USD, tamron 600mm

Tracker Pixel for Entry