Tamron SP 24-70mm F/2.8 Di VC USD Review

4.5
September 6, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

7 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 JS

Great lens, I am missing page #6, sample images!

12:49 pm - Thursday, September 6, 2012

#2 Dave

Thanks for the review.  The get the sharpness we want, most people will stop down to F4, but not many of your sample photos were at F4, so it is hard to judge the bokeh. 

The flower shots, for example, were at 2.8, and had great bokeh, but it is hard to judge the sharpness (as you mentioned, this is not a macro lens).

I would be interested in your opinion of this as a portrait lens, and, if possible, a few more shots at F4 at portrait lengths.  I am sure we can pull them off the web elsewhere, but it would be nice to have it all in one review.

It would also be nice to know how this compares in size to the Nikon and Canon competitors.  Again, I am lazy, and could just Google it, but it would be nice if you did the work for me.

10:03 pm - Thursday, September 6, 2012

#3 diaa

world’s first image stabilized standard zoom lens for 35mm sensor cameras that was released in April of 2012. I have been shooting with the Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G for a while and although I love it for its super fast and accurate autofocus and durability, it has its share of problems. It is huge and heavy, has rather poor corner performance at fast apertures and suffers from field curvature issues (where sharpness is not uniform across the frame). In addition, it lacks image stabilization, which I am a huge fan of. So when I found out that Tamron released a professional 24-70mm f/2.8 lens with image stabilization, I knew I wanted to test it out and compare it head to head to the Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G.

11:39 pm - Thursday, September 6, 2012

#4 Laguna Beach Photographer

Looks like a great lens, comparable to the Canon for a little less $.

5:53 am - Friday, September 7, 2012

#5 Alex

Great lens.

6:58 am - Monday, September 10, 2012

#6 Ujwal

I had a very good experience with this lens. I am a wedding photographer based in Sydney, Australia.

I bought this lens to replace my Canon 24-105mm F4 L IS which was my favorite and most used lens ( it died of the common ribbon failure syndrome after 3 years of work)

I was pleasantly impressed with this lens, its very good wide open and the only issue is vignetting ( which I adore on this lens ). I have written a short non technical review of this lens to share my experiences with other photographers who are still not sure if the tamron is worth the money.

http://halophotos.zenfolio.com/tamron-24-70mm-f2-8-vc-review

Cheers!

Ujwal

9:13 pm - Monday, February 4, 2013

#7 George

I agree with you Ujwal I am a Toronto Wedding Photographer I bought this lens and have it as a great Wedding Photography lens, its super sharp the image stabilization is a saviour in really dark churches and reception halls. I would highly recommend this lens for more then Wedding Photography its a great walk around lens also. Wedding Photographers Toronto

9:50 pm - Sunday, December 15, 2013

Entry Tags

review, lens, 24mm, zoom, f2.8, standard, 35mm, 50mm, image stabilisation, anti-shake, 70mm, vibration compensation, tamron, 24-70mm, vc, 24-70, Tamron SP 24-70mm F2.8 Di VC USD

Tracker Pixel for Entry