Tamron SP 70-200mm F/2.8 Di VC USD Review

4.5
December 7, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

17 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 JS

Great lens and review, I just wonder where you Mark live, there isn’t usually any sunshine in you shots..:)

2:57 pm - Friday, December 7, 2012

#2 Fausto

You’d think the main rivals of a constant aperture f/2.8 70-200mm zoom lens were other constant aperture (f/2.8 and maybe even f/4) 70-200mm zoom lenses.

3:11 pm - Friday, December 7, 2012

#3 Randy Banovz

Your conclusion states that this Tammy is unusually higher priced than the Canon/Nikon alternatives; yet ,comparable lenses are actually $500-700 higher. The Tamron lens is much cheaper than Canon/Nikon. Am i missing something here? Great review nonetheless

9:00 pm - Friday, December 7, 2012

#4 Sergey Skleznev

Hi! Have you compare new Tamron 70-200 with old one? Is new optics better/worse than old one?

And main rivals choice seems strange - is new Tamron 70-200 non-comparable with Sigma/Nikon/Canon 70-200`s?

1:13 pm - Sunday, December 9, 2012

#5 Eugene

I think your comparison is flawed. This lens is in the same league as the 70-200 f2.8 offerings from Canon and nikon, and less expensive, not more.

6:40 pm - Monday, December 10, 2012

#6 Anson

Was the conclusion copy pasted from somewhere else?
It states the Tamron is priced higher than the canon nikon equivalents. How is this possible? Canon one retails for $1000 more.

8:42 pm - Monday, December 10, 2012

#7 rob

Another oddity of this review. You contradict yourself in this statement:

“The Tamron SP 70-200mm F/2.8 Di VC USD is not a macro lens. The close-focus point is at 1.3cm from the film/sensor plane.”

I guess, you meant 1.3m. Nevertheless, this kind of a mistake hints of non-professionalism in what you do for a living…

10:42 pm - Thursday, December 13, 2012

#8 Dan S.

1. The lens is competing with the
CANON 70-200mm 2.8, the CANON 70-200mm 2.8 IS and the CANON 70-200mm 2.8 IS II being the main target. Even the CANON 70-200mm 4.0 and the CANON 70-200mm 4.0 IS are closer than the 2 70-300 lenses in the review.

2. The Tamron is cheaper than the Canon 2.8 IS II, sure it’s more than the Canon f/4s, however with its f/2.8 and IS / VC it rivals with the 2.8 IS II.

As others I believe this review could be more professional (terms, errors, comparisons, etc.) but mostly I think it was afraid to anger the Canon crowd or the advertisers…

10:10 am - Friday, December 28, 2012

#9 Zoran

I have new Tamron SP 70-200 f2.8 Di VC USD for more than two weeks on my Canon 60D. It is very sharp and with very quiet, accurate and fast focus. 9 of 10 photos are in focus. Very good manual focus. I have a bit of hunting in very low light but Canon EF 70-200 f2.8 IS II that I borrowed from my friend for a few hours did the same so problem is probably related to the limitation of my camera.

Only difference I noticed between two lenses on 60D body are:

- Canon is a bit sharper at 200mm f2.8 and has a bit sharper extreme corners, but Tamron is a bit sharper at 70mm.Everything between looks the same.

- Tamron has more pleasing back ground “bokeh” on other side canon has better build quality.

3:07 am - Tuesday, January 1, 2013

#10 Brent

Zoran, thanks for the post, I’ve got a 60d and considering this lense.  Can you tell me whats the bokeh like at 200mm at F4 in a portrait setting?  Any sample photos of this would be greatly appreciated..

9:10 pm - Saturday, January 12, 2013

#11 Anup

is the lans sigma 70-200 f/2.8 vr is comfortable with D7000 or crop sensor camera.?

3:23 pm - Saturday, February 23, 2013

#12 Hochzeitsfotograf Essen

Thank you for this review and the pictures of the new tamron.
Can’t wait to put my hands on it!

Hochzeitsfotograf

10:00 pm - Monday, March 4, 2013

#13 Nebojsa

Hi Zoran,

Thanks for your opinion. I’m considering this very lens and your comment means a lot to me. At the moment of this writing I’ve got offer for this new lens amounting 950 euros.
Now, a few months later, are you still satisfied & any additional remarks?

Kind regards,
Nesha

12:49 pm - Monday, March 25, 2013

#14 Carl

I think it would help if you listed the focal length of the lens along with the ISO and F stop on the sample photos. Otherwise Thanks for your excellent reviews.

3:38 pm - Wednesday, April 3, 2013

#15 ELehming

As already stated, this lens is actually quite a bit less cost than it’s main rivals. I have been toggling back and forth between this lens and the Sigma equivalent. The biggest difference to me is that the Tamron is weather sealed and the Sigma is not. Since i spend most of my time outdoors, this is a significant difference. Tamron it is.

9:02 pm - Monday, April 8, 2013

#16 Wallis

I had a brief go on this len’s predecessor which was in a second hand camera store. It was very sharp but the auto focus wasn’t great and there wasn’t any image stability. This new lens appears to have addressed many of those problems. Thanks for the review.

5:22 pm - Saturday, June 8, 2013

#17 Zoran

Sorry for late replay.
I’m very happy with the lens and now I have a Canon 6D and Tamron SP 24-70 f2.8. The Tamron SP 70-200 vc works perfect with my new camera

11:52 am - Wednesday, October 23, 2013

Entry Tags

review, lens, zoom, f2.8, telephoto, image stabilisation, 200mm, 70mm, vibration compensation, anti-shake, tamron, tele, 70-200mm, vc, 100mm, 135mm, 70-200, Tamron SP 70-200mm F2.8 Di VC USD

Tracker Pixel for Entry