Topaz DeNoise 5 Review

5.0
August 27, 2010 | Jon Canfield | Software Reviews |

In general, you'll want to start with luminance noise reduction. Topaz DeNoise 5 helps with this by providing a Luma channel preview which masks out the color information and makes it easer to see the luminance noise. Working from a midtone, use the strength slider to reduce the visible noise to an acceptable level. Next, you'll move to a shadow area and work with the Adjust Shadow control, and then finish with the highlights (highlight noise is not common and you may find that you use this control seldom).

After making the luminance noise adjustments, use the Detail Adjustment controls to recover any details lost in the noise reduction process. Now, switch the preview back to RGB mode and look for any color noise problems – typically seen as red or blue spots in the image. Topaz DeNoise 5 also offers Red and Blue preview modes to assist with this part of the process. Start with Red and then move to the Blue adjustment. If you have large areas of color problems, you can use the Clean Color control to restore your image.

Topaz DeNoise 5

Finally, go to the Banding noise if you see any signs of banding in the image to clean this up. The last step is to correct the black levels with the Correct Black Level slider. This will remove the haze from your corrected image and restore a solid black point to the shadows.

Conclusion

Overall, I found Topaz DeNoise 5 to be the most logical and easiest to use of the noise reduction applications I've tried.  The ability to correct for black levels, and fine detail restoration is very good. Performance has improved greatly in this latest release. DeNoise 5 works with both 32 bit and 64 bit versions of Photoshop CS5 on Mac and Windows systems. If you use any of the other Topaz plug-ins the UI will be instantly familiar to you, making it easy to get up and running.

I've long been a fan of Noiseware, but with Topaz DeNoise 5 I'm a convert. The quality of noise reduction and level of detail retained beats anything else I've used, and the performance is excellent in both 32 bit and 64 bit modes. I like the ability to use presets and create snapshots, and the support from Topaz has been excellent. At $79, DeNoise 5 is excellent value. Purchased as part of a bundle with Adjust, Simplify, Detail, ReMask, Clean, and DeJpeg the price is $179. DeNoise works with Photoshop versions back to 7, and a free Fuzion plu-in is available to enable Lightroom compatibility.

5 stars

Ratings (out of 5)
Features 4.5
Ease-of-use 5
Value for money 5

Entry Tags

plugin, Photoshop, noise, topaz labs, reduce, reduction, Lightroom, ISO, remove, Neat Image, denoise, Noise Ninja, Topaz DeNoise 5 Review, Noiseware, de noise, high ISO, de-noise

Tracker Pixel for Entry

Your Comments

37 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 JRSisson

Hi

Whats the best stand alone software for noise reduction?

1:17 pm - Friday, August 27, 2010

#2 Richie

Good question, I’d also be interested in a standalone program particularly if it had the ability to remove banding and fixed pattern noise. I’m tired of the assumption that everyone works within Photoshop, I don’t need it and wouldn’t pay the ridiculous asking price anyway. I did try Lightroom but couldn’t get used to its awkward, dog-slow user interface…the only thing in its favour was its excellent noise reduction.

1:35 pm - Friday, August 27, 2010

#3 Joshua

Over at Topazlabs.com it only costs $79.99c - why the 3-times overprice on the PhotographyBlog at all?

2:50 pm - Friday, August 27, 2010

#4 spike

It also plays nice with Corel PaintshopPro for a less expensive alternative.

3:43 pm - Friday, August 27, 2010

#5 VanillaSeven

Noise reduction softwares can only solved little problem in noise no matter how advance they are. Picture with bad noise is like burnt pancake. you simply can’t un-burn it, but you can scrape off a bit of burnt parts.

3:02 am - Saturday, August 28, 2010

#6 Frank J

In terms of rescue high ISO noise photo, Denoise 5 is the best. You have to try it to see what it can do. 

For light noise reduction, noise Nanjia is faster.

6:03 pm - Saturday, August 28, 2010

#7 Corros

I’m also a convert from Noiseware to Topaz. I really like the software and the effects are great! Take a look at: http://cor-oskam.blogspot.com/2010/08/ruisreductie-met-topazlabs-denoise.html

1:47 pm - Monday, August 30, 2010

#8 Umesh

This has been a miracle software and has saved my a$$ several times…from that damn AutoISO…If you are a serious photographer - just get it. I converted from Noise Ninja, and have completely stopped using it.

2:38 pm - Monday, August 30, 2010

#9 London Escorts

The central panel has most of the window is the preview. The tabs at the top of the window let you quickly switch between original and adapted version. On the right side of the browser window and the settings are real.

6:50 pm - Monday, August 30, 2010

#10 translation services

Banding noise is very evident when you see in the picture - the model of strong models. Debanding new control system gives you the opportunity to correct such problems both horizontal and vertical correction options.

6:53 pm - Monday, August 30, 2010

#11 DAVID LAVERY

Personally i think Capture One is fantastic.
However i do like the look of this software.

1:06 am - Tuesday, August 31, 2010

#12 payday loans

Topaz is not a better job of LR with luminance, but not enough to justify its use. I had to work hard to get a more clean sound Topaz Lightroom more detail.

1:22 pm - Wednesday, October 13, 2010

#13 hp coupon code

Software noise reduction can be resolved only in the small noise problem, no matter how they are in advance. Image with low noise, is like burning pancake. You can not burn, but you can scrape a few parts burned.

6:17 pm - Wednesday, October 19, 2011

#14 Turkish Transalation

i think Capture One is fantastic.
However i do like the look of this software.

8:33 am - Sunday, January 22, 2012

#15 Wedding Photographer Cork

Honestly i would like to say that, i dont like any photographs.

11:36 am - Thursday, April 19, 2012

#16 Colin Nicholls

I like the burnt pancake analogy, noise reduction is useful tho, but not crucial.

10:07 pm - Sunday, March 3, 2013

#17 vlondon

excellent i loved the de noised photographs and post, i think this is also one type of expertise in photography

11:03 am - Wednesday, March 6, 2013

#18 Martin

Great review.
I’m a web designer and use Topaz denoise to clear pictures - its a great addition to photoshop and LR.
Its currently discounted to $39 - Grab your self a bargain

8:01 pm - Wednesday, March 26, 2014

#19 Bob L

My D4s can deliver absolutely clean images at ISO 4000-5000. At ISO 8000-10000 the photos start to show grain particularly if you zoom in. However, today I discovered even at those high ISO’s with post processing I can completely eliminate all noise!

Phase One Capture One Pro 7, which is highly rated by pro photographers, does a very good job but still leaves a little noise. Topaz DeNoise with the noise reduction set at the strongest with debanding completely eliminates all traces of noise with the very, very minimum loss of detail . Amazing!

I decided to try Topaz DeNoise because of their claims of noise reduction without loss of detail and some reviews by customers. Other than Capture One, I have found no software package that has noise reduction that equals it.

I will definitely be buying this software at the end of the trial period.

6:36 am - Monday, April 21, 2014

#20 Rimpi Malhotra

Great website, looks very clean and organized

4:14 pm - Sunday, May 11, 2014

#21 Aisha Patel

I like it most.Keep it up give more latest

4:16 pm - Sunday, May 11, 2014

#22 Rosie Hansen

Great post thanks, just purchased a camera for part of our ongoing branding strategy, still working on creating good quality images.

3:05 pm - Thursday, June 12, 2014

#23 Nilima Sharma

Your Planning Come To Hyderabad And Want To Enjoy Your Memorable Trip|Hyderabad Escort


Hyderabad Escorts
Hyderabad Independent Escorts
Hyderabad Escorts Services
Hyderabad Escorts Agency

2:10 pm - Monday, August 4, 2014

#24 Kritika Goyal

I am a hot and Beautiful Model and filling in as a Mumbai Independent Escorts. Welcome to all age enthusiastic honourable man who know accurately how to live and take pleasure in consistently. I essentially love to spruce up and pull in you with My Sexsual nature so let me bait you with my wide bunch of standard unmentionables and tights and other alluring configuration.

3:29 pm - Monday, August 4, 2014

#25 Pinki Verma

I read Your Article Very Good Post You Share

Thanks For Sharing…

I am Escorts Girl In Mumbai For Your Service

2:39 pm - Tuesday, August 5, 2014

#26 Riya Jacob

very nice blog post! cheers!!
Mumbai Esocrts
Mumbai Esocrt
Esocrt in Mumbai

6:58 pm - Tuesday, August 5, 2014

#27 Neeru Bhatia

Hi Guys My Name Neeru From Kolkata
I read Your article Good Post You Share to us and Lot Of useful For me and also Others

Nice…Keep It up

Thanks For Sharing…......

9:37 am - Wednesday, August 6, 2014

#28 PINKI VERMA

Each And Everyone Need A Companion, Pinki Verma Independent Escorts Services In Mumbai Would Facilitate Those Who Are Alone. My Escorts Services

Would Try Best To Make You Feel Good And Also Give You Good Companion

http://www.pinkiverma.com
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
Call Me +91-9769163846

Mumbai Independent Escorts Pinki Verma

Thanks

12:30 pm - Wednesday, August 6, 2014

#29 Saanjh Gupta

Well Done !!

Grate Post You Share | Lot Of Informative | Keep It Up

Hi Guys My Name is Saanjh Gupta independent girl in Kolkata
For More Information about me click here..

12:52 pm - Wednesday, August 6, 2014

#30 Aditi Sethi

Do you have to unwind, given up, and delight in a close experience with a lady who instinctively comprehends your needs? .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

6:52 am - Thursday, August 7, 2014

#31 Avani Roy

Are you searching for beautiful high class Independent Mumbai Escorts? Well, you have come to the best Mumbai model escorts available. We feature only real Mumbai escorts with genuine photographs.

8:27 am - Thursday, August 7, 2014

#32 Sejal Thakkar

Myself Sejal I am Independent Escorts in Mumbai,Mumbai Escort,Mumbai Escort Services,Escort Agencies in mumbai.

9:48 am - Thursday, August 7, 2014

#33 Komal Thakur

if you looking for Mumbai independent Escort service so book me now because i am sexy, gorgeous girl

10:47 am - Thursday, August 7, 2014

#34 Tanishka Oberoi

Hi, i am Tanishka Oberoi and that i want to start by welcoming you to my website

10:03 am - Saturday, August 16, 2014

#35 Tanishka Oberoi

Hi This Is Tanishka

10:06 am - Saturday, August 16, 2014

#36 Pooja Narang

I am Pooja Narang Independent Mumbai Escorts Girl not in connection with any agency that provide escorts services in Mumbai.I mostly offer out calls to escorts seekers in Mumbai Hotel..

11:34 am - Saturday, August 16, 2014

#37 Neha Basin

Helo Mumbai, I’m enjoy sex with my guests, i am treat as a GLF exprience. mumbai independent escorts, mumbai escorts, escort mumbai.

12:26 pm - Saturday, August 16, 2014