Viveza 2 Review

4.5
March 25, 2010 | Jon Canfield | Software Reviews |

Introduction

Viveza 2 from Nik Software is a plug-in for Photoshop, Lightroom, or Aperture that allows you to easily adjust the colour and light in your digital images. You can quickly select areas of an image to adjust by pointing and clicking and then using simple to use sliders to adjust brightness, contrast, saturation, structure, red, green, blue, hue, and warmth. Jon Canfield finds out what what Viveza 2 has to offer.

When Nik Software first released Viveza in 2008, it opened a new way of making complex adjustments based on color and light with the use of U Point technology that had previously been available only in Nikon Capture NX. Rather than making difficult selections and masks, the U Point couple be placed on the area you wanted to adjust, and Viveza would handle all the hard work for you with very natural results. Since that time, Nik has added UPoint functionality to their other plug-ins and the technology has proven itself to be very useful, and make what would normally be very time consuming adjustments much easier and faster.

Recently, Nik released Viveza 2.0 with a number of new features, while retaining the same ease of use as the original version. In this review, I'll take a look at version 2 and see if it's worth the upgrade for existing owners, or a second look if you're not a Viveza user yet.

At it's most basic, Viveza is a plug-in for Photoshop, Lightroom, or Aperture that makes it possible to make adjustments to color and light in your digital images. Rather than having to paint adjustments on via adjustment layers in Photoshop, and making masks, Viveza works by placing a U Point on your image. This U Point affects the color and light values that are confined to the specific values that you want. You can control the size of the adjustment area to be as small or as large as you like, and then make various changes to hue, saturation, brightness, contrast, and individual color channels among other areas.

New to Viveza 2 is the ability to place multiple control points on your image and group them together. A very powerful addition, you can now use more control points, group them, and ensure that all your adjustments will remain in sync. Of course, if you change your mind, you can always ungroup the control points and adjust them individually.

Viveza 2 Figure 1

Along with the controls offered in version 1, Viveza 2 adds global adjustments that require no control points to be placed on your image, giving you a more streamlined workflow – you now need to do less work in your editing application before going into Viveza, or if you've already made adjustments, you can fine tune them while still in the plug-in. Also new is a levels and curves adjustment, improved color rendering and enhancements to the user interface that make the plug-in easier to use.

Viveza 2 Figure 2

Two new adjustments add a great deal of power to the plug-in. Shadow Recovery, which can be done either globally or with a control point, does an excellent job of pulling detail out of dense shadow areas without introducing noise. The Structure adjustment is based on the same function in Nik Sharpener Pro and does an excellent job of enhancing details in your image without adding artifacts or giving your edges a processed look.

When you install Viveza 2, you'll get the versions that match your system. If you have Lightroom or Aperture installed in addition to Photoshop, those versions will also be installed. Viveza 2 includes 64-bit support, so Windows users of 64bit Photoshop CS4 will be happy to find that Viveza works with this version.

Viveza 2 Figure 3

To get started, open your image in Photoshop, or in Lightroom and Aperture, select one or more images and then select the Viveza plug-in (with both Lightroom and Aperture, selecting multiple images adds a previous and next button to move between images).

Viveza 2 Figure 4

For a basic adjustment, I'm going to work with this sea lion image. The original has some highlight issues and could use a bump in contrast and structure. In Viveza 2, I can start with a global adjustment to the structure, as well as open up the shadows a little more. From this point, I'll add a control point on one of the brightest areas and pull down the brightness, giving the image a more balanced look with enhanced details.

Viveza 2 Figure 5

Viveza 2 Figure 6

Entry Tags

photoshop, lightroom, aperture, nik software, viveza, Viveza 2 Review

Your Comments

18 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Web Design Garland TX

I love getting down to the colors and bring out a picture a making a look polished. I have to say I am excited about it and look forward to trying it out. as I loved the first one I will look forward to the second version.

Samuel

9:19 pm - Thursday, March 25, 2010

#2 face lift

I was just looking for a new features of Viveza 2 and I think Viveza brings a whole new time saving dimension to image editing which is really good.Its seems accurate compare to Viveza.I like it very much.

1:04 pm - Friday, March 26, 2010

#3 Andrea

I use the previous version and have to say that’s really a time saver software :) I wish this kind of flexibiliy in the adjustment brush present in Lightroom, just for the simpler retouches :(

7:26 pm - Tuesday, April 6, 2010

#4 Joe Soap

Hi all,

I have looked at this software (and many other plug-ins) and yes they are generally handy if use in moderation, but they also de-skill your abilities to work in PS or Lightroom etc at the same time. To apply quick fixes like this makes things too easy and so people bypass learning the harder techniques, to then apply broad brush adjustments to get cartoon like results (need I mention Photomatix and HDR and the horrendous over saturated cartoonesque images flooding the internet???).

So yes, buy it and over use it, because everyone else will, until our eyeballs melt from the over saturated universe we seem to have a desire to reate.

1:31 pm - Thursday, April 22, 2010

#5 Cheap Cigarettes

Viveza 1 was a wonderful software and Viveza 2 is more than that.Viveza 2 brings global image adjustments and also grouping of control points, making ones work with the plug-in a lot more efficient and less time costly.

10:22 am - Thursday, July 29, 2010

#6 stansted minicabs

I have had a chance to try out the new version of Viveza and I found that it works very well and has some quite nice improvements such as a good shadow adjustment and a true global alteration mode.

11:39 am - Thursday, July 29, 2010

#7 Free Bingo

Viveza 2 is a wonderful plugin , It just does not bring global image setting but also provides grouping of control points making your work quite simpler and efficient saving lot of your time.

11:11 am - Saturday, July 31, 2010

#8 Office furniture

I think Viveza brings a whole new dimension to save time in image editor is really good. Its seem quite comparable with Viveza. I love fall colors and make a single image like a polish. Viveza 2 provides comprehensive image adjustments and consolidation of control points, making them work with plug-in much more efficient and less time consuming.

5:42 am - Monday, August 30, 2010

#9 Motorcycle Accessories

The Viveza plug-in displays a simple dialog box with a large preview of your image . You can zoom and pan about the image, or split the screen to show before and after previews.

2:26 pm - Wednesday, September 22, 2010

#10 dreambox hd

I tested the whole feature set, curious as I was to discover the changes between Viveza 1 and the new version. I found Viveza 1 an incredible tool, but it pales in comparison to version 2.

2:17 pm - Thursday, September 23, 2010

#11 shabby chic furniture

Viveza 2 is a addictive plugin. We can also give visual effect in the images. I have noticed that We can save more time to doing the work on the Viveza 2. It indicate all the informative function than soon. We know that All are awe about this plugin very well.

11:00 am - Wednesday, October 6, 2010

#12 MMichaels

As someone who has been using Photoshop for a very long time, I can only conclude that it’s an overpriced product, actually difficult to use for beginners when they’re dealing with more complicated photos and aits actually slower and offers less quality than what experienced Photoshop users achieve by only using Photoshop. I can prove this with any challenge that a Viveza 2 fan throws at me.

10:16 am - Sunday, January 16, 2011

#13 deepakv

looks pretty decent tool, will totally reduce the layering work in PS. need to try . this is the only tool i found in the net good work. thanks

10:34 am - Friday, August 5, 2011

#14 Kevin

MMichaels, you challenge is flawed. I too have been on photoshop since version 2 and have extensive experience with it. Sure any skilled photoshop user can create the same adjustments as Viveza 2 without using Viveza HOWEVER Viveza saves T I M E! It’s about speed and ease. When I have 100 images to individually edit, Viveza starts looking really good. So sure you can get it done with only photoshop just like thousands of other shoppers but how bout we tweak the same image and see who gets it done best AND far faster… THAT is the difference. Viveza is terrific and for a hundred bucks it’s a steal!

6:53 pm - Friday, March 9, 2012

#15 Martin

This is a great piece of software. I had a model in the studio this week wearing black, the shoot was low key. This software really helped me out when trying to differentiate the model from the background.

11:38 am - Friday, May 17, 2013

#16 nel

Bought Viveza2 software and tried to install in my window 7 computer but it was saying to me “no compatible host in my system” what else do I need to be able to install this software?
Anyone.. please help me solve my problem

4:55 am - Tuesday, January 14, 2014

#17 nelin

Is there anyone out there who can help me.. I am not a computer savvy .. my question is i finally was able to install Viveza 2 in my computer.. I do have lightroom but for the life of me.. I open the lightroom and opened a picture.. but I cannot find the viveza plug in.. does it say plug in?

1:46 am - Thursday, January 16, 2014

#18 Jo

Love this software for it’s ease of use!! I hadn’t used the Viveza for some time as my last Mac crashed (around 8 months ago) I then forgot all about the software until I had a marketing email from Viveza, I’m so pleased they sent one. I contacted support and they got me back up and running really quickly :-)

7:46 pm - Wednesday, February 19, 2014