BenQ G1 Review

3.5
December 24, 2012 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

14 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Christy Harper

fun little camera, I love the name too :)

8:27 am - Tuesday, December 25, 2012

#2 JS

Not bad, we all hoped it would give a harder time to all major manufactures…

10:11 am - Tuesday, December 25, 2012

#3 Crix Madine

Right. Enliven the market with joyful but good reliable product.
It’s a lovely move.
Previously, I’ve known the Brand in my country as a company that produce computeer peripheral equipments, like the mouse and keyboard I use now.

10:39 am - Tuesday, December 25, 2012

#4 Dan

Nice to see them start to improve the quality. I like it.

1:13 pm - Tuesday, December 25, 2012

#5 Vladimir

I have this one for 3 months and like it: very capable little camera.

4:41 am - Wednesday, December 26, 2012

#6 Nicole

Looks like a great little camera!

4:27 pm - Thursday, December 27, 2012

#7 Joe Prete

For every camera Review we gain a few more friends. Sometimes
we disagree, and even argue, but in the end we’re still friends. From Photographyblog.com we wish you all, a very Happy New Year!!!
... Joe Prete

8:10 pm - Monday, December 31, 2012

#8 Pine Vrly

I like f1.8 and I read all review on all websides wha I found and finaly I found smallest price 79,99 euro in Slovakia, so I’m going to buy it.
http://www.electroworld.sk/product/fotoaparaty-a-kamery/kompaktne-fotoaparaty/BENDSCG1BK/benq-dsc-g1-cierny-fotoaparat?scid=PRICECOMP_HEUREKA

6:42 pm - Tuesday, June 3, 2014

#9 Mojo

F1.8 and a swivel screen for under $300? Where else are you going to find this? Adjustable screens on cameras smaller than a tank these days are very hard to find, and while I wish it could shoot slower than the one-second max, how often do we really use that? The fast lens and optical image stabilization sounds like it will go much farther in giving you good low light performance. Besides, it’s not like you can shoot anything other than a still life at speeds slower than 1/30th anyway ;-) This camera has got me excited!

7:05 am - Wednesday, July 9, 2014

#10 Joe Prete

Mojo,
Calm down, the Aperture is a variable F1.8-4.9 So there is nothing special here. Variable aperture cameras are littering the market, and a span like 1.8-4.9 is absolutely nothing to write home about.
I suggest you do your homework before buying.
… JP

8:05 am - Wednesday, July 9, 2014

#11 mahler76

And now that it only costs 69$, it is a bargain!

2:42 pm - Monday, July 14, 2014

#12 Joe Prete

Okay, if it’s $69.00 I’m sure it’s worth it, even if it’s a camera to leave in the car, you’ll always have something with you. BUT, there is the Canon A1400 and at about the same price,  you’ll have an Optical Viewfinder, 5x Optical Zoom 28-140mm, +4X Digital zoom,
16MP, focusing down to 3cm. a 2.7” LCD, with 100% coverage and ISO 100-1600 Exposure compensation in 1/3 stop increments, Flash w/10 foot range, two dozen shooting modes and it runs on 2 AA’s that can be bought anywhere in the world. You’ll get 150 shots but if you use NiMH AA’s you’ll get 1,100 pictures.  Also Canon has repair facilities all over the world. Not hat you’ll need one, but it’s good to know they’re there. Find a BenQ Repair facility. The A1400 is one of Canon’s best kept secrets. Good Luck with your Bengay G1
Oh, you can put the A1400 in your sock. I guess a pocket too, but I’d keep it hidden. Your friends will want one. … JP

4:01 pm - Monday, July 14, 2014

#13 mahler76

I din’t know this optional Canon you mentioned. Thanks for the info. I need though a pocket camera with manual controls over aperture, iso speed that’s why they recommended me the Benq one. I will check the canon one and see. By the way, in Greece (where I live) the Benq is 99 euros, and the canon 66!!!

9:12 am - Tuesday, July 15, 2014

#14 naseer

About a couple of weeks ago i created a beautiful video of 1515 (1diot 5tate of 1nsanity and 5tupidity) by using benq g1. And yes i took some pics of 1515 guys. The vidio is clear and so are the photos

5:04 am - Wednesday, August 6, 2014

Entry Tags

review, compact, 1080p, samples, images, test, jpeg, video, 14 megapixel, 24mm, tilting, movies, 3 inch, tilt, f1.8, 6fps, lcd, 4.6x zoom, screen, 3-inch, benq, benq g1, BenQ G1 Review, g1

Tracker Pixel for Entry