Canon Digital IXUS 100 IS Review

4.0
May 11, 2009 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

44 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Terry Stick

I recently brought this camera for $249 dollars. My previous digital camera was the G2 4 megapixels I brought in 2001 for $849 dollars. I decided to buy this SD 780 as a backup camera and for traveling. The camera is wonderful.

6:05 am - Thursday, May 14, 2009

#2 Paul

Hi just bought this at the weekend, wonderful little camera, does everything I can ask of it and the size means I’ll actually take it places. 

Obviously the picture quality isn’t perfect but still very good, I can’t imagine any potential SLR buyers would be coming this way any how.  5 stars from me.

5:49 pm - Sunday, May 31, 2009

#3 Javier

I brought this camera a few month ago, and i’m very happy with it.

You can see example photos made with this camera in http://www.piraminet.com/galeria

9:44 am - Monday, June 1, 2009

#4 margaret catherine

I bought this camera yesterday , I thought a so small could not do so many things ,It is very easy to use , picture quality is very good , also on low light and battery holds forever . I love itb !!!

5:26 am - Wednesday, July 1, 2009

#5 Atul

Bought this camera few days ago. It’s compact n nice looking. Picture quality is nothing out of this world but its satisfactory. video recording is really good. It has good features n excellent speed. Overall its amazing and I’m loving it.

8:31 am - Thursday, August 20, 2009

#6 Jennie Creitzman

Hi there
Love the camera had teh older model from 2 years agoa nd basically the same but youc an really see the progress on colour enhancement…haven’t found any settings though…black and white etc…am I being stupid?

9:33 am - Friday, August 28, 2009

#7 Joe

bought the 100IS few days ago, and family love this camera, superb with picture quality and so easy to carry, compact and stylish.

5:23 am - Monday, September 28, 2009

#8 kartik

this camera is too good i like it very much….. buy it in US it will be more cheaper for u. i bought in UAE before few month. video quality is excellent. image quality is also good. u wont experience wen u take the photo once u put in laptop its brilliant.

3:06 am - Wednesday, September 30, 2009

#9 rohan

i am looking to buy this camera.

11:55 am - Sunday, October 11, 2009

#10 mehlam

hi ....i bought this camera 3 months ago…
i have problem and that is when i take pics without flash ..the moving image doesnt come clearly. should i change any setting for that?

12:28 pm - Tuesday, October 13, 2009

#11 salvador

Responding to mehlam. You need to increase the ISO and use Program to take action without flash. Experiment with ISO 400 to 1600 depending on lighting conditions.

5:32 pm - Friday, November 6, 2009

#12 salvador

Footnote for mehlam. You should aim for a shutter speed of 1/500 or faster for most action. You can check the shutter speed before taking by pressing the shoot button halfway.

5:45 pm - Friday, November 6, 2009

#13 Karan Singh

I bought this cam last week, later been to visit the Taj Mahal… I have got great images… i am happy to have this as my first camera…:)

4:43 pm - Friday, November 13, 2009

#14 Jen

Hello
Does the sound work on your cameras??  Mine doesnt and did on my last one…I checked the mute is off!

Jen

5:22 pm - Friday, November 13, 2009

#15 Garry

Can the noise reduction be turned off at all?
Thanks
Garry

8:23 pm - Thursday, November 19, 2009

#16 Mackbert

does it has video zoom?

8:49 pm - Thursday, November 19, 2009

#17 Garry

Forgot to ask, does the screen show B&W in live view, or only on playback?
Ta
Garry

8:55 pm - Thursday, November 19, 2009

#18 Karan Singh

Yes Mackbert it has video zoom and belive me its great!

2:25 pm - Friday, November 20, 2009

#19 Karan Singh

Garry: yes, the screen shows B&W in live view.

2:26 pm - Friday, November 20, 2009

#20 Jennie

Hi ya
Yeh you can turn sound on and off using function then tools.  Not sure bout the black and white though, have to test it out when i get home

Do you get sound on your videos? is it my camera or the memory stick I’m using? the sound works when pressing buttons (ie makes a beeping noise) but it doesn’t record/play sound for video?

2:28 pm - Friday, November 20, 2009

#21 Amlan B

want to buy a camcorder or a camera for family video recording. lower end dv camcorder or ixus 100is which will be good for video recording and taking photos occassionally? any user on canon ixus 100is’s video quality ?

5:47 pm - Sunday, November 22, 2009

#22 Placer Virtual

I brought this camera a few month ago, and i’m very happy with it.

1:16 pm - Tuesday, December 1, 2009

#23 Riki O

Got this camera 3 days ago for it’s size. Was surprised at the great photos even at low light. The video is HD at 720. Best travel camera to bring on trips and recitals…..

1:39 pm - Thursday, December 10, 2009

#24 vivek

hi,,

I bought this camera from jaipur this saturday :)
Well..I was initially considering Cybershot & Lumix instead of this one but when the showroom guy displayed the clicked image on the LCD (on my request) i could see a vast difference in pic quality & video quality of this cam vs Sony & lumix.

I’m happy & satisfied with it. 5 stars 4m me :)

11:58 am - Tuesday, December 15, 2009

#25 Anjum

I am planning to buy this camera in Karachi. And will touch the market Next month.

7:46 pm - Monday, December 28, 2009

#26 Joey

The last camera I bought (an ancient 4Mpixel samsung) had an unfortunate accident with the screen and was replaced with this camera.

Although it trumps my old camera in almost every way I am particularly pleased with the video quality. Sucky video resolution has always been a gripe for me and digital cameras. If you want to use this camera for taking videos frequently however I’d recommend a 16GB or 32GB (assuming prices drop) card which will give you hours of recording time. You’ll also really want > class 1, ideally at least 4MB/s write second. But you’ll probably want to consider faster (read) for copying big videos to PCs in a reasonable amount of time.

My only real complaint with this camera is the need for external charging. Most digital devices of this size are able to charge from USB using a standard cable.

7:40 pm - Friday, January 1, 2010

#27 Anil

I brought this camera last weeek.When I took the photo in the shop it was fantastic.I think I changed the setting unfortunatly. Now the pictures which I took is not clear.But video is very good. How can I reset it??How can i take clear pictures??

7:44 am - Tuesday, January 12, 2010

#28 V

got a red one last week. my old camera ixus i5 is still doing the job, bf just wanted to spoil me. originally we got a sony dsc-w180, had it only for the night! it was terrible!! ixus 100 is is better than my old i5, takes clearer photos, including at low light. especially with a tripod!! really awesome camera to take photos and videos of my kitty! you can see the fur, great to make desktop wallpapers!

the iso 3200 continuous shots is great. although the pictures are smaller and blurry, but good enough to look back and have a laugh!

the hd video is great! and i can take pretty clear snaphots from it. although i find the need to convert the video to avi to make them smaller.

i love the design, small and light. battery life is good (i have mute on if that makes a difference). i love the matte body, coz i hate fingerprints on my stuff.

awesome camera! very pleased!

5:24 am - Monday, January 25, 2010

#29 Avee

Can’t Decide whether to buy Canon IXUS 100 IS or Sony W320 . I have heard that IXUS 100 IS has poor auto flash & low battery life. Is it true ? Plz let me know.

11:21 am - Sunday, March 14, 2010

#30 123

shld i buy the canon ixus 100 is ??

1:06 pm - Sunday, March 14, 2010

#31 hf=0u

no the canon is much better ...
sony is just a name
battery life of canon is super ???

1:11 pm - Sunday, March 14, 2010

#32 thanhdx216

I havejust bought canon ixus 100is, the first i’m going by sony w320 but in the end i have already chosen canon because canon for beautiful photos.

3:57 am - Sunday, April 11, 2010

#33 Panasonic Lumix ZR1 or Canon Ixus 100IS

I CAN’T DECIDE BETWEEN THE CANON IXUS 100IS OR THE PANASONIC LUMIX ZR1.. I’M GOING NUTS!!!

3:24 pm - Thursday, May 20, 2010

#34 ryan clarke

i bought this camera on friday, up to now i am very impressed with it

4:36 pm - Tuesday, June 1, 2010

#35 jaru esnar

I bought this as a first camera but im not sure which is the best memory card for it… im thinking either the sandisk SD/SDHC class 2 or the class 4.

Will I still be able to record video with a class 2 card?

10:57 pm - Thursday, June 3, 2010

#36 Valentine M.

I have a DSLR (Canon 350D) which I use for semi-pro. photos.
I bought the Ixus 100is for travelling, hiking, partys etc.
The cam is very good looking, its tuff (metal case), its fast and easy to use.
Its fun to shoot with it, instead of the big, heavy 350D (which is a very small DSLR).
For sure, the picture quality isnt as good as with the DSLR, but its more than good enough for “normal people”, for snapshots… You know, if you just want to go out and have fun, this camera is PERFECT for you, but I wish, that they would go away from the “mor pixel is better”, because the chip is so small, more pixel means bad quality…

(sorry my english isnt good, im from germany)

2:22 pm - Sunday, June 6, 2010

#37 Capt Pravin K Singh

I have ordered for this camera but getting just 2GB memory card with it. I would like to use higher capacity memory card.
Can I buy 32GB memory card for this camera?
Will 32GB memory card compatible with this camera?
If not then whats the maximum capacity memory card I can buy for this camera?

6:49 pm - Saturday, July 10, 2010

#38 QAIS

I Will Buy This Camera Today

9:39 pm - Thursday, July 29, 2010

#39 wanna be photogropher

Hi

I’ve had this camera for a few months and just wanted to know if theres anyways i can control the shutter speed instead of it doing it autamaticly for you.
Also I like cool pictures where you take a picture of a face and the rest is blurred out. Can you do this on this camera and if by some hopeful chance - how? I can do it with flowers and stuff - but portrait pics - just not working.

Can someone please help?

12:56 am - Sunday, August 1, 2010

#40 June

Hi
I’m looking to buy this camera for underwater photography. I am hoping the slimness will be an advantage as I have enough bulk ( kit) to carry.
I am fairly new to all this and this camera looks as if it will be a good one to start with. I do need to make sure though that this camera has the option for ‘manual white balance.’ Does it?
I really found the full review very, very useful. Thanks.

11:57 am - Tuesday, August 24, 2010

#41 BiBsyel

I was actually going nuts about choosing the right camera,,and then i stumbled at this site and as i read the comments now i can finally breath freely,, keep up the good work

5:33 pm - Tuesday, February 15, 2011

#42 lee

Help!

I get no sound when recording videos and playing back.

The sound works when pressing buttons (ie makes a beeping noise when scrolling thru the menu etc)

Anyone help us out?

Thanks.

12:59 pm - Monday, June 6, 2011

#43 Heather

Well, the 100IS is getting on in age now, but that doesn’t stop it being a really fantastic wee camera. I’ve had mine for ages, and I love it. I also use a Canon 5D MkII but for carrying around everywhere, this is the one - if you don’t have a camera with you, you don’t get the photo!  Six months ago, I lost it and eventually replaced it with a compact Leica D-Lux 5, which I love; but have just found the Ixus 100IS again this evening, and am absolutely DELIGHTED! I use it mainly for close-up photos of moths and butterflies, and the quality is superb, for such a tiny camera, often better than I get when I set up a shot of the same moth on a tripod with the 5D, which is amazing. People can’t believe that my pictures, which I exhibit and sell, are frequently taken on such a camera. And these days you can get one really cheaply, which makes it superb value. I slip it into a light plastic bag to protect it, and it goes everywhere with me in my jeans pocket. Only thing against it is the lousy flash, but you can’t have everything. Someone said, why have a viewfinder…well the Leica doesn’t, and I can tell you I wish it did, when I try to take photos in bright light, even though the Leica’s image quality is otherwise superb.
The 100IS will NOT disappoint you, unless you’re after lots of longer distance flash photos, in which case buy a different camera.

9:51 pm - Thursday, January 12, 2012

#44 mina

hi, can anyone know here how could i put lights while taking a video?i cant take videos on dark places and it bothers me.thank you so much for your reply.God bless!

5:56 am - Wednesday, December 12, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, compact, 720p, 12 megapixel, beginner, canon, 2.5 inch LCD, 3x zoom, ixus

Tracker Pixel for Entry