Canon Digital IXUS 130 Review

4.0
March 24, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

20 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Mic

Certainly not the worst point-and-shoot camera, but not the best value for money. Looks like it’s all about the battle for the most megapixels…too bad, they should have added a little more zoom and improved the image quality instead. It’s not like a good old 3MP camera would make worse pictures if you aren’t planning to have posters all over your walls…

12:05 am - Friday, March 26, 2010

#2 m3 ds real

I have a previous model to these ones and the picture quality is poop (worse than my 4 megapixel fuji camera from seven years ago). I wish all these camera companies? would stop pushing the megapixels up and focus more on the quality of the image.

6:37 am - Friday, March 26, 2010

#3 Sam

You can get some sample images from a lab test here:

http://www.digitalversus.com/camera-test-canon-ixus-130-news-13376.html

2:41 pm - Tuesday, April 6, 2010

#4 Yasmin

I’m torn between this and the Ixus 120. I will just be using for general day to say snapping, eb uploads and 6*4 prints. Any thoughts?

4:31 pm - Tuesday, May 4, 2010

#5 Sam

Well the Ixus 130 is the successor to the Ixus 120, and as such, the two cameras are very similar.  You’ll end up paying more for the more recent model though.

4:39 pm - Tuesday, May 4, 2010

#6 Yasmin

Thanks for your response.

Weirdly, a lot of stores are selling the 130 cheaper than the 120. I’ve seen reviews saying that the increase in MPs hasn’t been a good thing for the image quality, which is why I’m a bit confused.

4:41 pm - Tuesday, May 4, 2010

#7 Sam

I would say that the extra two Megapixels haven’t really affected the quality of the photos, it’s just that they don’t really add anything for most users.

You can compare the quality of the two (and plenty of others) here http://www.digitalversus.com/duels.php?ty=1&ma1=1&mo1=1005&p1=7751&ma2=1&mo2=885&p2=6543&ph=4 and there’s not a whole lot of difference.  The prices show the 130 as more than the 120 in most places, too.

4:51 pm - Tuesday, May 4, 2010

#8 azurejasper

I use a canon DSLR as my main camera, and used canon film SLR’s before that, and have had a canon compact digital before (an “A-something” model from about 5 years ago, which I dropped and broke the battery/memory card cover off…)

I figured this was so small, and on sale at the time I bought it, that it would make a good little camera to always have handy. Well, it is really small, and it’s easy to have handy all the time, but the image quality is terrible… all images take under many different lighting conditions are horrible - they make very average 4x6 prints, and I wouldn’t even try to make enlargements any bigger.

Before I bought this little camera I read allot of reviews, some of which mentioned that the image quality wasn’t 100%, but I’ve had such good luck with canon cameras that I thought it would be ok, but I defiantly regret this purchase, even considering the “sale” price I bought it for.

To sum it up, the images taken with my old (5 year old canon “A-something” model) 4mp compact digital camera are WAY better than the photos from the new canon ixus 130 (rated at 14mp)

Don’t waste your money on this model - it may be small & stylish but isn’t the point of a camera to produce photos?

Canon failed on this one…

7:09 am - Monday, July 12, 2010

#9 Dee

My old digital died and I looked up some cameras and bought the 130. Its crap. My old 6mp Fuji takes better pics than this, and for some reason the salesman or the specs on many sales sites didnt mention the mov video file format. A big surprise to discover it at first pic download, no indication of mov file in the insert booklet in the box, and the outside of the box has the video format written in Japanese script (?) I bought it in Australia. If I had known it wasnt avi file I wouldnt have touched the thing as I travel, dont have administrator rights on internet cafes globally, so cant be guaranteed a quicktime download, and dont have the software to convert mov to avi. So it sucks, Canon say it is my responsibility to go to their website before purchase and read the specs, and dont care that they are not on the oustside of the box in English. Their attitude sucks. If i was a mac user,I could probably bear to have the thing. I used to pride myself on being a discerning shopper, reading all the fine print, in this case the fine print is only on Canons’ website and not with their products. Bull****

11:46 am - Friday, August 13, 2010

#10 AbelSmith

The Canon IXUS 130 is a pocket sized digital camera. It has 14 megapixels and a 4x wide angle zoom lens. The IXUS 130 can shoot High Definition movies. Other key features include image stabilisation and a 2.7 inch LCD screen. The IXUS 130 delivered a standard set of shutter lag times, although the camera is on the slow side when flash is used. It is available in black, silver, pink and orange. No memory card is supplied with the camera. There is no memory built into the IXUS 130 either. The camera is compatible with SD, SDHC and SDXC memory cards.

2:34 pm - Tuesday, August 17, 2010

#11 Mohit

Canon IXUS 130 is much better than IXUS 120. 14 mega pixel has added much to its image quality. But i am disappointed with its image stablizer claim.if you shake camera while taking photos , it will come blur,no image stablizer technolgy come here for effect.

there are many inbuilt s/w like minitaure effect & fish eye which adds to its features.You can make video in HD also..And The Most Important Thing About This Camera Is Its Focus….It Have Really Mind Blowing Focus. And It Somewhat Work Like Professional camera which come in the range of 30-40k…i m happy with this product.

11:33 am - Friday, August 27, 2010

#12 Paul

If you give it some time, the IXUS 130 is capable to take nice pics. The pics need after processing, especially when it comes to sharpness. It also helps to set “sharpness” at its highest level as default with the 130.
Missing only one thing; there’s no possibility to adjust time and aperture. At wide angele the 130 uses very often the full aperture: f 2.8. Pictures with a smaller aperture look much better. But for € 159,- (in Holland) it’s a nice point and shoot camera.

5:35 pm - Friday, September 17, 2010

#13 Suz

I am very confused, I want to buy this camera now because I love the features and didn’t think it possible for Canon to make a ‘poor image quality’ camera, what does that even mean? WIll this camera not take as good pics as the A1000 model? Please help!

2:39 pm - Tuesday, December 7, 2010

#14 Ian

@Suz. Don’t get it. By poor image quality they mean it is often fuzzy/blurry in even good conditions (auto or manual settings). My last camera was a powershot and 5 years old and takes much better photos than this p.o.s. Even my phone takes better photos to be honest.

I am very disappointed in Canon for this one as I always thought they were a safe bet. Not any more.

2:18 pm - Sunday, December 19, 2010

#15 Andrew

Some people say this camera has poor image quality, but I beg to differ. It’s not the best point and shoot I’ve ever used, but for the price its not a bad camera.

1:47 am - Friday, December 31, 2010

#16 Dave

Absolute rubbish, if I wanted pics as poor as this my mobile phone would be adequate. Going back to the shop tomorrow after a week of futile effort with it. Avoid.

4:35 pm - Tuesday, January 11, 2011

#17 antruth

I get it that many do not think the picture quality is very good - but it would be helpful to a novice like myself researching the camera to know which camera they think better. I’ve been looking at the cameras that are currently on sale at the moment and it seems that there is someone rubbishing all of them.

So what is the best point and shoot camera?

1:10 pm - Saturday, January 15, 2011

#18 Bill

Help, my IXUS 130 shuts off 30 sec after turning it on states erroe E32. I cant find any help to sollve the problem. Anyone?

8:45 pm - Sunday, January 16, 2011

#19 Ben

@antruth

Take a look at the Nikon s5100 for a similar camera. Compact, though less so than this, but higher marks for image quality - just a few complaints about purple fringing in high contrast.

It seems crazy to spend upwards of $150-$200 any more on this class of camera given how fast top end features trickle down.

5:18 pm - Tuesday, January 18, 2011

#20 ray.downes

looks good except the battery compartment rubberised slide grip used to release the compartment keeps coming adrift,should have kept to the ixus80is design it works ,and yes i agree the zoom should be better for the price of this camera

1:36 pm - Thursday, February 2, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, compact, 720p, beginner, 2.7 inch LCD, 14 megapixel, canon, 4x zoom, powershot, ixus, ixus 130, Canon Digital IXUS 130 Review, sd1400, powershot sd1400 is

Tracker Pixel for Entry