Canon Digital IXUS 95 IS Review

4.0
May 25, 2009 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

26 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 matthew Bamberg

A 10 MP camera for under 200 bucks…not a bad deal. Pretty color too.

—Matt Bamberg, Author,  http://www.amazon.com/Quick-Secrets-Create-Winning-Photographs/dp/1598639021

8:26 pm - Monday, May 25, 2009

#2 Nexpider

I would recommend this mattress to anyone. Unless they want to know when their significant others

5:42 am - Saturday, July 18, 2009

#3 Best Digital Cameras

Great colors… suitable for most people,  and affordable price too.

2:22 am - Thursday, August 27, 2009

#4 siddharth

thanks….that’s the detailed review in layman language….thanks

5:39 pm - Thursday, September 24, 2009

#5 Ozymandias

There is a problem with the link in Sample Movie, it pops a ‘404 not found’...could you fix it..?

4:40 am - Wednesday, November 11, 2009

#6 an owner

Good review.  I bought this camera and find it to be a very good piece of equipment for the price.  It is my backup travel camera.  Very handy.

6:44 pm - Friday, December 25, 2009

#7 Mayur

hay i brought this camera its awesome it the best in all modes n quite cheap price too!

8:02 am - Monday, December 28, 2009

#8 Full Lace Front Wigs

What a little stunner!! I am thrilled with this gorgeous camera, and still coming to grips with some of the finer points of the manual modes, but to be honest, I’ve got some really great shots using the Auto mode!!! The zoom is excellent, almost no quality loss on a real close-up, and the macro is very good, true and faithful. I love the idea of the viewfinder, though the lcd screen is so bright, I haven’t had much cause to rely on it, whatever the conditions. Considerable battery savings by switching off the monitor. The only problem I’ve had is finding a suitable case…one with pockets for additional battery and memory card. I use an 8gb card, and the battery life is fantastic, so just a small niggle.

7:50 am - Friday, January 22, 2010

#9 tejas

best value for money….......this camera was the right choice for me…..great sharp pics .....superb macro mode…..good color quality…..only flaw is that they should have provided a larger zoom (at least 4x).....

4:10 pm - Wednesday, January 27, 2010

#10 sam

great camera, fantastic features, very reasonable price, stylish design, mind blowing specifications, i love this camera..hats off to this IXUS 95 IS.

1:38 pm - Wednesday, February 3, 2010

#11 32gb micro sd card

I’m migrating from a Kodak Eayshare DX3900. It has 3.2 megapixels, this kodak line is known for ease of use and image quality but how amazing are the images with Canon. I don’t know if it’s the company or the 5.0 mpx but it’s really great. It has a wide range of features and it’s easy to start from all automated and then gradually make your own settings. I can’t see something this camera can’t do.

1:08 pm - Saturday, February 6, 2010

#12 Andrew

I am a die-hard Canon fan over many years, with 3 Canon digital cameras. I bought the IXUS 95IS for my wife, thinking that I would be getting the same quality product. Unfortunately I was mistaken. The camera is cute, but the image quality is extremely poor. I got rid of it after 1 week. Think twice before buying this camera if image qualify is important to you.

10:21 am - Sunday, February 7, 2010

#13 Amateur artist

I use this camera all the time to take reference photos for my “art” and am able to zoom into detail via Picasa which is great.  As I live in Spain I find the viewfinder invaluable due to the bright sunlight and wouldn’t consider buying a camera without one. I’m thrilled to bits with it and consider it great value for money.

8:59 am - Saturday, February 27, 2010

#14 natalia

great little camera but for some reason my zoom has stopped working,i can zoom in a small amount but not as much as i used to. i havent changed any setting and have only had it a few months, not used it that much so can anyone help me on this issue?

6:30 pm - Wednesday, March 3, 2010

#15 Indranil

I have recently purchased this camera. The built quality is good and so is the ease of handling. However the zoom could have been better. Still to get aquainted with all the features, however the auto mode is hassel free. Only at times the zoom focus and motion pics looks blurred…thanks

5:55 am - Tuesday, March 16, 2010

#16 lisa

this camera sucks
it does not do good pics
i had the sd 1100 and it was much better than this one.

5:14 pm - Tuesday, March 30, 2010

#17 Priyank

I recently purchased this camera for our college trip. I am very much satisfied with the image quality. I did an extensive review of all the cameras out there in the market. The biggest mistake people do while buying a camera is going for more megapixels. Since the size of the sensor in a 14Mp as well as 10Mp camera are same, it means to fit all 14 mp in the same sensor the size of each pixel has to be reduced which increases noise. Noise is inversely proportional to the square root of the size of a pixel. If you will see two pics taken by a 14 mp and a 10mp you’ll find that 10mp’s picture quality is better. Go for better lens and image quality rather than more megapixels. Canon is always better than Nikon and Sony.

5:53 pm - Wednesday, May 5, 2010

#18 stewme

This camera is compact & relatively easy to use, but the image quality simply sucks.  I guess my expecations were higher.  I have a G2 that I’ve had for 9 years but it’s dying, so I thot I’d replace it with a smaller P&S and an SLR. But if this is what a small P&S does I’m not interested.  Numbers don’t say it all, my G2 is 4 megapix, this is 10, and the G2 far outperforms it in image quality.  I returned it.

4:23 am - Friday, May 21, 2010

#19 don micky xavier

great value for money..
macro photos give nice quality…


cool features…

i like it…

8:26 pm - Sunday, May 30, 2010

#20 govsharma

nice camera…
gud macro mode..
easy to use..total value for money…

7:15 am - Thursday, June 10, 2010

#21 Danica Santos

Hey, I’m planning to buy a digital camera and I feel like buying this Canon Digital IXUS 95 IS. I really have difficulty which one to buy because I’ve been comparing digital cameras of different brands ranging the same price. I don’t have idea which one is better for it will be my first time to buy one. Would you please give me any suggestions? Badly need it. Thank so much! :))

5:52 am - Thursday, October 28, 2010

#22 Bikash

It is best one. But I want to how it can be used while I am vedio chatting by this cam

2:56 pm - Friday, December 3, 2010

#23 Priyank

@Danica: Canon Ixus 95 is a very nice camera. If you can get Canon Ixus 120 (12 MP) then get it. Its the best camera you can get right now. Its image quality is even better than Canon Ixus 130 (14 MP). Don’t ever go for any 14 MP camera, they perform poorly at night or high ISO. If you want to compare two cameras compare their pics at night. If you can’t afford Ixus 120 then go for Ixus 95. Ixus 95 has better image quality but Ixus 120 has an HD video (720p) option.

6:25 pm - Friday, December 3, 2010

#24 ceeejay

i have been using this camera for 2 yrs now, and only this time that when im going to upload my pictures, i cannot but i got this message in the the camera ” COMMUNICATION ERROR”.. what do you think is this all about.. i cannot refer to the manual since it is written in Chinese characters, as it was bought in China by my nephew.. please reply.. thank you..

4:02 pm - Wednesday, June 15, 2011

#25 David Portmen

Bought this on December 2009

Almost 2 years later, it sill rocks on

I love this Ixus 95 / SD 1200 IS

Best USD 200 I ever spent

7:22 pm - Sunday, July 24, 2011

#26 bank-i-danmark.dk

The built quality of this camera is good and so is the ease of handling. However the zoom could have been better. Still to get aquainted with all the features, however the auto mode is hassel free.

11:30 am - Tuesday, August 27, 2013

Entry Tags

compact, 12 megapixel, beginner, 3x zoom, 2.5 inch LCD