Canon Digital IXUS 990 IS Review

4.0
April 27, 2009 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

19 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Jimmy Floyd

I was thinking of buying this camera, but I waited for a good review first. It seems that you don’t get bang for buck with this camera. Maybe I should search a little further…
Could you please put a camera capable of recording HD-movies on the “Main Rivals”-page? It’s still a big selling-point for the ixus 990.

9:46 pm - Tuesday, April 28, 2009

#2 Pam

Have bought it, wish I had read review first. Love the camera but accept it may be overpriced for features.  Big complaint….... no printed manual to take out with me to enable me to learn how to use it to the full whilst out and about!
Would not have bought it if I had known this.

4:09 pm - Sunday, May 3, 2009

#3 Jimmy Floyd

You can find a manual online at Canon.com

4:17 pm - Sunday, May 3, 2009

#4 Pam

Hi Jimmy, thanks for your reply.  What I really want is a paper one which I can take out with me.  Not an online one or one on a disc.  A nice neat little book such as i have had with my other 2 IXUS cameras in the past.  I thought about trying to print of the manual on the disc but 136 pages!!!!!

4:44 pm - Sunday, May 3, 2009

#5 Dee

anyone recommends this camera? am very interested in its features.  Another option was IXUS 110.. any other suggestions?

thanks :)

11:18 pm - Monday, July 13, 2009

#6 Dana

I have an IXUS 990 and I wouldn’t trade it for other models. Compared to other digital cameras available in the market, the colour quality of the ixus 990 is way better. Good features too.

4:23 am - Friday, July 24, 2009

#7 Mat

Have the Ixus 750 (990 IS ancester)for years now, and took more than 13000 pictures so far! I brought it in the arctic ocean islands, in central africa, in the mountains for hard hiking in summer and winter and I can say it is a very strong camera!

Pictures are simply wonderful. The price is definitelly worth it.

I am thinking about buying the 990 IS as I am interested in the IS feature, I didn’t have with the 750. The G10 is also impressive to me…

8:32 am - Saturday, August 15, 2009

#8 Rayner

i bought this camera a month ago.. im very satisfied with the quality plus its features. easy to use. the battery can last long .thanks canon. i recommends this camera to you.

6:10 am - Monday, August 24, 2009

#9 mkspecial

i want to buy this camera but i want to read more reviews about it;)

5:46 pm - Wednesday, September 23, 2009

#10 mkspecial

and the negative thing its that it doesnt have wide angle:(

5:47 pm - Wednesday, September 23, 2009

#11 nijo

bought this camera,have good image quality, very nice lcd screen,i luv dis camera

8:09 pm - Saturday, October 3, 2009

#12 Azad

I’ve got a Sony T50, now I’m seeking for a newer camera.
My main choices are this Canon I990 and the new Sony T900 (Not sure if I can find rival in ultra compact series).

T900’s specification overcomes this one, but the the rating here says something else.
Any suggestion?

10:03 pm - Monday, October 26, 2009

#13 bettina

Help please!!!!  I’m looking to get a new camera.  Already sold on Canon because of the punch in the colors.  I’d like a compact camera with big lcd, 10 megapix or more, ideally with wide angle.  Can’t decide between IXUS 870 (came out last Nov 2008) and the new IXUS 990. Appreciate your thoughts, comments on the two cameras.

5:27 pm - Saturday, October 31, 2009

#14 laesa

Could you tell me which are the main differences between canon digital ixus 990 is and canon digital ixus 120 is?? I+m going to buy a new camera and these are know the alternatives.. I haven´t find any big differences. Mainly I would like know which one takes pictures faster? I have nikon coolpix 550s and it´s way too slow to my use.

7:29 pm - Tuesday, November 10, 2009

#15 Peni

Pam, mine came with a user manual go back and demand one.

6:11 pm - Wednesday, January 6, 2010

#16 buy dsi r4

Purchased for a European holiday and what a great camera this is. It produces superb bright vivid colourful results every time no matter what you try to do and in all weathers and light situations as well. I can’t fault it. It comes with excellent software to download pictures on to a PC which even works with Windows 7

8:55 am - Thursday, January 28, 2010

#17 sam

i have reviewed almost all Canon A series and IXUS series so far. I am very much impressed by two IXUS models 95 IS and 990 IS.
990 IS has got more features then 95 IS.But its more expensive. 990 IS is the perfect camera One can have according to the specifications and features.

2:39 pm - Tuesday, February 2, 2010

#18 T

The price is a bit overpriced, but I LOVE it.
Mine came with a Manual (in paper), and a disk. 

I got mine over the summer.

It’s perfect if you’re trying to do some photography as it has built-in macro setting and digital macro.  It got the quality of an SLR (in terms of macro) but in a lesser degree.

Viewing images can’t get any easier.  I love how you can turn the dial to view the images AND use the zoom in button to view like, 30 or more thumbnails.  The colors are vibrant but don’t get deceive, the image quality is a bit lower when viewed on your computer than your actual LCD camera screen(because it’s very bright, even if the lowest setting of LCD brightness… so don’t get deceived!)

—-
(By the way, did you know if you click on the FUNCTION setting in the middle for about 1-2 seconds, you will see a time/clock? And if you turn the dial, you can adjust the background of the timmer ;) )
—-
It does has a few less settings than any other cameras, and a few other neat settings with it. (Slow slyncro, digital macro, (and macro), Stich assist, Creative Light Effect, ISO 3100, etc)

But I love it, nonetheless<3

1:27 am - Tuesday, March 16, 2010

#19 prasanth.T.V

I just brought this camera before 1 week and I love this one, I already used some many other camera this one is very interesting one. The zooming level is amazing and using in night mode it really gets sharp pictures and nice flash too. Thanks to share your commands and reviews.
Its really a nice camera.!!!

1:12 pm - Friday, April 15, 2011

Entry Tags

hd video, 3 inch LCD, compact, 720p, 12 megapixel, beginner, 5x zoom

Tracker Pixel for Entry