Canon EF 40mm f/2.8 STM Review

4.5
June 26, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

7 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 San Diego Photographer

My husband really wants to pick this up.

10:14 pm - Wednesday, June 26, 2013

#2 abdullah

it’s realy agood lense to buy
ihave a one and it is so amizing one ihope you wil buy it with a full fram camlike 5d mark ii or 7d or 60d

11:38 pm - Sunday, July 21, 2013

#3 HaloPhotos

I bought one of these and have been surprised with the quality and usability. I even did an engagement shot with this lens and did a small review:
http://halophotos.zenfolio.com/canon-40mm-f2-8-stm-pancake-lens-review

My conclusion…..Its a steal! Buy it before canon changes their minds.

4:07 am - Friday, August 30, 2013

#4 Manish

Nice review. Read many good things about this lens and took the plunge. Mine will arrive in 10 days. Look forward to this lens.

6:40 am - Thursday, December 5, 2013

#5 John

Wow this has to the the smallest lens that i have ever seen! Looks nice and good value from the tone of the review. Thankyou.

12:03 am - Sunday, January 19, 2014

#6 Ari Landworth

This lens is a no-brainer. It’s cheap, sharp, and well built. If you are on a cropped sensor, the 10mm difference from the nifty fifty makes a substantial difference. Sure, you don’t get the 1.8 aperture, but you shouldn’t shoot the fifty wide open anyways! The pancake is totally sharp wide open!!!

8:04 am - Wednesday, June 4, 2014

#7 Kevin

Regarding ‘Main Rivals’. The options presented are bonkers. Who is going to consider a 24mm lens as an option to a 40mm? Two completely different beasts.
Likewise, the 24-70mm zoom, that costs hundreds more.

If you like this sort of focal length and you’re on a budget, rivals to this lens are used 35mm primes, a new or used 50mm 1.8 prime and on full frame, a used 17-40 zoom. Or for a ‘crop’ sensor any EF-S zoom that covers 40mm).

10:38 am - Saturday, November 29, 2014

Entry Tags

lens, canon, f2.8, prime, telephoto, standard, ef, normal, pancake, stm, stepping, stepper, 40mm, Canon EF 40mm f2.8 STM Review, 40 mm, 64mm