Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 L IS USM Review

4.5
March 30, 2011 | Matt Grayson |

Your Comments

8 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Jackie

Great review, but I noticed a lot of your reviews have contradictory spec info.

Here, in the beginning, you talk around an eight bladed aperture, but later it specifies a six bladed aperture.

1:36 am - Thursday, March 31, 2011

#2 Adam

What’s the point in using an oil painting as the subject when assessing sharpness? How is the viewer supposed to know how sharp the actual painting is? All of the shots look very soft to me but that’s probably just the way the painting is. It’s a crazy choice of test subject - please use something more clearly definable for future lens tests.

9:09 pm - Saturday, April 2, 2011

#3 rob

For some reason, I don’t see any images except the product shots in the header. That situation lasts for quite some time now (it affected several of your latest reviews I was attempting to read). Your photos are only represented by rectangular placeholders with the blue question mark within. When I go to another site, all images are visible, so it is not a problem with my browser or its settings.

10:41 pm - Tuesday, April 5, 2011

#4 Stephen

Is it really worth the hefty price or would a far cheaper 70-200mm f/4 without IS suffice?

2:21 pm - Monday, June 20, 2011

#5 Paul

I’ve owned the 70-300 f4-5.6L IS for quite a few months now and rate it extremely highly. Very sharp and small for an ‘L’ series pro lens (at least when compared to other Canon lenses of the same quality). To me the standout qualities of this lens are it’s sharpness and the Image Stability improvements. I bought the tripod mount (it should be standard equipment IMO) and much prefer the handling with it compared to without, but that is something others might not agree with. One thing I still have trouble with is the reversed location of the zoom and focus rings. I like the zoom ring being further out when using the camera in AF, but when manual focussing, I often will turn the wrong one.  It AF’s well, but not quite as good as a 2.8 lens like the 70-200 f2.8L IMO. I like using the 70-300 with my 7D, but it works just as well with my 1DIII. When travelling I’ve started bringing the 70-300 over my 70-200 f2.8L IS, as it’s lighter, more compact and has the extended range. Great lens, highly recommended.

12:52 am - Thursday, August 25, 2011

#6 Jan

I’ve used this lens for my landscape photography and love it.  I do miss however the ability to open it to f2.8 like my other lenses.  I’ve read a few reviews that talk about it’s indoor performance and I would have to agree that this lens is built for outdoor use.  Great lens none the less.

12:09 pm - Saturday, December 31, 2011

#7 leo

Great lens, very sharp all the way, color, contrast, very nice and great bokeh. Fact autofocus and very nice modern IS. Build is top. No comparison with the Canon EF 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 USM DO IS.

The small but heavy lens has a great reach, also that is quit different from a 70-200 mm.

The price you pay for the small package is the that you do not have f2.8.

I bought this very nice lens second hand, as new, for 850 euro, with uv filter and everything that go with it. So I am happy. 1300 for a new one is somewhat hefty.

1:12 am - Thursday, July 12, 2012

#8 Foto Nunta Brasov

Hand held 300mm 1/8 second at 6400ISO on the 6D at twilight the other day just to check out the image stabilizer and was shocked at how good the photos turned out.Highly recommended even though a little pricey and heavy.

3:31 pm - Saturday, July 19, 2014

Entry Tags

lens, canon, zoom, telephoto, professional, pro, ef, IS, image stabilised, USM, canon 70-300mm review, 70-300mm, white, 70-300, L series, Canon EF 70-300mm f4-5.6 L IS USM Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry