Canon EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM Review

4.0
July 5, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

8 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Poul P. Phillipsen

Dont forget:

AF System/ Points 9 cross-type AF points (f/2.8 at centre)

F 2.8 is usefull

3:48 pm - Friday, July 5, 2013

#2 Gerald Keil

I would think for that amount of money the lens would be sharper. Is it really an upgrade from some of canon’s kit lens?

3:51 pm - Sunday, July 7, 2013

#3 Akhil

Great post…very valuable information and thanks for a good one…I think i foung a good photographic blog…

4:14 pm - Sunday, July 7, 2013

#4 Tony

Is it really worth spending the money on this lens, having Tamron 17-50 f2.8(VC or non VC)available at 1/3 the price.

8:52 am - Monday, July 8, 2013

#5 Chris

Tony, I suppose it’s for what purpose you need the lens. Over the years I have used so many lenses and came to settle on Canon “L” series, a 28-70mm f2.8 and a 70-200 f4. Personally, I wouldn’t bother with non “L” lenses. These “L” lenses are just superb on my 1Ds, significantly superior to anything I have used. I don’t need IS and would recommend looking around for some second-hand “L” kit.

10:33 am - Monday, July 8, 2013

#6 zaakir abdullah

I completely disagree with your findings in terms of sharpness. I have some shots wide open at 2.8 that will knock your socks off.

Read reviews elsewhere on this lens. Its often referred to by many as the “hidden L series” lens. In fact it uses the same technology found in many of the L series lenses, ie UD/aspherical lens elements etc.

Either you have a bad copy, of the lens needs to be micro adjusted for your camera. In which case the 700d does not have this capability.

4:57 am - Wednesday, July 10, 2013

#7 Javier

I noticed that the books you photographed for your sharpness section were not in the same focal plane (some of the books are sticking out more than others). As a result, maybe only one of these is on focus. This can give the impression that using even the “best” aperture results in blurry and out of focus images, which is misleading because the objects were not on focus to start with. Great review though!

8:35 am - Thursday, November 14, 2013

#8 Nikolay Stoimenov

Really good lens, even for night or low light photography. I used once to take a picture of the Milky way and the result was surprisingly good. The only minus is that it is not compatible with full frame sensor cameras.

9:32 am - Sunday, February 9, 2014

Entry Tags

wide-angle, lens, canon, zoom, f2.8, telephoto, standard, image stabilisation, normal, OIS, usm, image stabilised, ef-s, 17-55 mm, ultrasonic motor, Canon EF-S 17-55mm f2.8 IS USM Review, Canon EF-S 17-55mm f2.8 IS USM, 28-88mm, 17-55mm

Tracker Pixel for Entry