Canon EOS 600D Review

4.5
March 22, 2011 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

72 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 RaviRaj

Nice review, but I think 550D still rocks for its PQ & Specs. The good thing is the prices of 550D are reduces after launch of 600D. SO better go & grab it b4 its production is stopped.

BTW, Can you guys pls post a review of 1100D? more interested to compare it against Nikon’s D3100.

Thanks
Ravi

4:09 pm - Tuesday, March 22, 2011

#2 Mark Goldstein

Hi Ravi,

You’re in luck - we’ll be publishing our 1100D review very soon…

4:20 pm - Tuesday, March 22, 2011

#3 DaveP

Like many other reviews of this camera, you mix up the 600D and the 60D.

Very confusing for the reader, please edit it, soon.

4:35 pm - Tuesday, March 22, 2011

#4 Mark Goldstein

Hi DaveP,

We’ve found one inadvertent use of 60D instead of 600D, and corrected it.

5:48 pm - Tuesday, March 22, 2011

#5 Morse

How long before the 650D appears on the scene?

8:58 pm - Tuesday, March 22, 2011

#6 Lyle Bestbuy

Nice camera. I shoot with the 5D MKII and love it!

1:14 am - Wednesday, March 23, 2011

#7 Peter

I think you have made a mistake.

Page 2, Image Quality:“The RAW files were developed with Canon’s Digital Photo Professional (3.10.0.0), using the software’s default settings.”

I could not see any difference at all when comparing JPEG`s and RAW files. If the Tool Palette in DPP was set to “apply camera settings” there would be no difference. That would make the comparison useless. In order to show the difference you should post new images with DPP set to zero noise reduction.

There IS a difference between JPEG’s and RAW files. A huge difference.

2:40 am - Wednesday, March 23, 2011

#8 Mark Goldstein

Hi Peter,

We’ve updated the RAW crops as requested.

9:16 am - Wednesday, March 23, 2011

#9 Razman Razali

Thanks very much for a great comprehensive review!

I’m very much a newbie to the DSLR world and looking to upgrade from my Lumix FZ100 to a proper “big boy” camera haha. Think this might be the camera to take me there…

1:31 pm - Wednesday, March 23, 2011

#10 Joe Smokie

I looked at the 550(T2i), the 600(T3i) and 60D and the 2 things that made me go to the 60D were price and fit/finish. For only $100 more (for body only) I got a package that fit my hands better. The price for the T2i (currently $649 body only) is compelling but I wanted the articulating screen.

I think the T3i would be a good purchase as a first DSLR or a backup to the 7D or 5D.

2:22 pm - Wednesday, March 23, 2011

#11 Fred Peters

How about orienting the test photos correctly?. Would make a huge difference.

8:49 pm - Wednesday, March 23, 2011

#12 Snaps

Whilst other camera manufacturers have large gaps in their range, Canon’s over-saturation of the market verges on the rediculous. As the 500D is still widely available a year after the launch of the 550D with most reviews declaring the 550D “almost as good a spec.” as the 60D but at a much cheaper price, to now squeeze the 600D in between the 550D and the 60D seems to be a camera too far, especially as Canon stubbornly keep to the same sensor and processor making each new “tweak” of basically the same camera slower and slower.

12:34 am - Thursday, March 24, 2011

#13 Peter

@ Mark

Thanks for updating the RAW crops. Maybe it would be possible for you in the future to post bigger crops? The current ones is only 200 x 200 pixels and 6,3 KB. It is difficult to see how noise affects the RAW file when the crops are so small.

12:44 am - Thursday, March 24, 2011

#14 John Macpherson

Would love a 60D, (well a 5Dmk3 really when it comes) but my 550D will do for now. Good write up.

2:51 pm - Sunday, April 3, 2011

#15 sara,kuwait

thanks so much for this information

9:47 pm - Tuesday, April 5, 2011

#16 CAS

ALL THAT GREAT SPECS AND PERFORMANCE SPOILED BY DISMAL ERGONOMICS AND PUDGY-LOOKING BODYSHAPE .

1:15 am - Wednesday, April 6, 2011

#17 humphrey jepony

HI,I M TOO NEW FOR THIS CAMERA BUT I WAS WONDERING,WHATIS THE DIFFERENT BETWEEN 600D AND 60D…THE SHOPS TOLD ME THAT 600D IS FOR THE BEGINERS AND 60D IS FOR SEMI-PRO…DOES IT 60D HAVE MORE GADGET THANTHE 600D..? IF ITS ONLY BECAUSE OF THE LCD ARTICULATING SCREEN THAN BETTER I TAKE 600D….WHATS THE ADVICE PRO?

8:04 am - Saturday, April 23, 2011

#18 Shivank

Hey. Great reviews.
I am planning to buy a DSLR soon. But I am highly confused.  Nikon D5100 or Canon 600D. Which one should I go for?

12:05 pm - Wednesday, May 25, 2011

#19 trueblue

i’m trying to choose between sony a55 or 600d…....can u guys recommend me which is better as i’m totally new to the dslr world

10:34 am - Thursday, June 9, 2011

#20 rgmaldita

im confused too between nikon d5100 or canon eos 600d

11:53 pm - Monday, June 13, 2011

#21 cheezepop

hi, im completley new to dslr cameras and is looking for my first one would anyone recomed the 600d , for first time users

11:47 am - Wednesday, August 3, 2011

#22 dave

Both the Canon 600D and the nikon 5100 are very simmilar—basically the same camera realy. Ive handled both of them in the store and i find them both cheaply made cameras..far to flimsy , good specs but flimsy…

12:44 am - Friday, August 12, 2011

#23 Snaps

cheezepop - I agree with dave. There ARE other manufacturers out ther beside Canon and Nikon who try harder because they don’t dominate the market like the “big 2” do. Pick up a Pentax K-r and you will find it more solid than either the Canon or the Nikon. If you can live without an articulating screen and state of the art video you will find the K-r out-performs either of those cameras at just over half their price.

11:16 pm - Monday, August 15, 2011

#24 Gary

Hi, I’m new to photography and am fairly set on getting an EOS.  I want to get one that I won’t grow out of, the more I learn.  I’ve been looking at the 500D, 550D and 600D as they are all within my budget limit.  I believe that each model is a succession of the predecessor, but some reviews would suggest that the 500D is beter than the 600D, and so on.  Can anyone please advise which of these three is the best model?
Cheers.

11:28 pm - Monday, September 12, 2011

#25 Snaps

Hello Gary, If you are set on A Canon EOS then I would recommend the 550D. It is quite a step up from the 500D in spec. The only difference basically between the 550D and the 600D is the latter has an articulated rear screen. If you think a screen that rotates is worth £100 then buy the 600D, otherwise by buying a 550D you get the the same camera with a non articulating screen for £100 less.

10:24 pm - Tuesday, September 13, 2011

#26 Gary

Cheers Snaps. I will probably plump for the 600D in that case then. I have found the 600d for £552 which is only £23 more than the 500D at £529.  It’s the cheapest I’ve found so far and both have the standard 18-55 EFS lens. Thanks for the advice Snaps.

10:10 pm - Wednesday, September 14, 2011

#27 Gary

*amend
I meant 550D, NOT 500D

10:37 pm - Wednesday, September 14, 2011

#28 Balu

Hi folks,

After reading through all the reviews personally i feel 600D Canon is Excellent. However if u want more prof. u can go for 60D canon.

These are my personal views and comments.

7:20 pm - Tuesday, October 25, 2011

#29 Katie

i bought the canon EOS 600D 55-135mm lens today and it has amazed me all day. Before i was unsure of getting it because of its huge price, but it has turened out to me amazing and a light camera. So far i have used it for taking pictures of animals and the quality has came out perfect.

9:06 pm - Sunday, November 6, 2011

#30 Shima

Hi,
I like canon 600D but I need to know if it’s good for night photography. Since most cameras are not good for dark palaces and got very bad flash light. Could any one tell me how is Canon 600D on night?
Thanks

10:24 am - Saturday, December 17, 2011

#31 Tina

@Shima: For nighttime shots, I’d recommend a tripod with ANY camera. Regardless, I own the 600D and it performs very well in low light conditions. Grab a lens that enables large apertures, preferably 1.8 and below and you’re good to go.
I shoot a lot of interior settings, many of those being large, badly lit places such as churches, and have hardly ever been let down. The built-in flash is well, a built-in, pop-up flash and behaves just as you would expect. For better, more indirect results, an external flash is highly recommended (I personally love my Speedlite…).

Other than that: great writeup! The 600D is my second DSLR, after my 1000D, and I don’t regret the upgrade one bit.

6:26 pm - Sunday, December 18, 2011

#32 Moritz Schulze

Hey! I just wanna ask about the objective: With which one did you take the picture in front of the London Dungeon? The zoom in this picture is unbelievable o: If you zoom in you’re able to see the prices in perfect quality…

8:50 pm - Sunday, December 18, 2011

#33 Radovan Olle

Hi,
I’m new to photography and am fairly set on getting an EOS 550 , 600d or Nikon 3100. I most shooting my son at ice hockey game. Can you recommend witch one is right for me? Thanks

12:54 am - Monday, December 26, 2011

#34 Balasubramanian

Want to know Canon Eos600D made in Taiwan is Good or the one Made in USA/Japan is good. I want to know the true fact about the same before going for purchase. Any difference between Taiwan Vs USA/JAPAN for this model Canon Eos 600D

Cheeers
Balasubramanian

1:04 pm - Thursday, January 5, 2012

#35 Angela

hi everyone, this is probably a really stupid question but I’m also new to photography, very keen to get my hands on the 600D, but wondering what the 600 itself stands for? Does anyone know? Ange

1:12 am - Friday, January 27, 2012

#36 clark

When I preview the images on the LCD, and the LCD shows 4 or 9 thumbnails on the screen, the images are very blurry. In fact sometimes it is hard to say what’s in the picture. If I zoom in on one image and it’s shown in full screen, it’s sharp as expected. Why are the small thumbnails blurry? It makes the preview more or less useless.
any suggstions?

2:02 pm - Monday, February 20, 2012

#37 Ray

I recently purchased 600D and love it! Got with 18-55 and taking sharp photos beyond expectations. Also bought cheapo 50 1.8. Very light weight (cheap) but fantastic photos! Also recently bought SX40HS superzoom. It is more fun than I ever dreamed of! Also takes outstanding shots. The 600D with kit lens has very sweet colors and not much less than the L lenses that the snobs insist on:)

6:00 am - Friday, March 16, 2012

#38 gabi

can you take pictures and movies wit the following filters: grainy, toy camera, miniature etc?

1:09 am - Friday, March 23, 2012

#39 Ray

I meant to say the kit lens image quality is not much lower than L’s. With that said, I have still decided to order the lowest price L. 70-200L 4.0 :) I just have to!

Have not really used the video function yet.

3:02 am - Friday, March 23, 2012

#40 maxis

I have to say that the pic quality ain’t the best just taking a look at the sample pics. They are blurry for me (un-detailed pixels etc). I am not sure if this is because of shooter or camera.

7:16 pm - Saturday, April 14, 2012

#41 Ray

Well… I received my 70-200 4L and the performance is great. Sharper than I imagined possible with a zoom. It is mounted on my 600D and the resulting images are impressing our local wildlife pro photographers. I still like the 18-55 kit lens, and have never experienced the un-detailed images referenced by maxis. Here in the states, the 60D was over $300usd more, and didn’t offer anything to me warranting the additional expense.

2:29 am - Sunday, April 15, 2012

#42 vince baker

this review is very informative and useful.

But does the 600d (or any DSLR) have the facility to trim photos in the camera, as bridge camera have?

9:00 pm - Monday, April 16, 2012

#43 Rob

Bought 600D a week ago and im loving it!!
i used canon a620 and swtiched it to 600d!
but one thing im disappointed is when i take a photo using live-view….it s quite slow to focus ..takes around 3-4 secs not bcoz of shutter speed,iso,aperture whatever but it is just inside thing..
Other than, very good! good image quality, fast shutter speed.
Recommended

1:41 am - Tuesday, April 17, 2012

#44 Peter

would be interested in which lens for the Canon EOS 600d is recommended me?
Should also no longer cost like $ 300.

Greeting Peter

11:02 pm - Thursday, June 14, 2012

#45 AstroNuno

How did you take the 125 iso and 1000 iso pics in the sample images?
Thanks;)

10:48 pm - Tuesday, August 14, 2012

#46 fajar

unfortunatelly,...made in taiwan….
not JAPAN as well…

2 bad,...

6:44 am - Sunday, September 30, 2012

#47 fajar

those product made in TAIWAN????

2 Bad,.. I dont wanna buy it,..
otherwise made in JAPAN

6:46 am - Sunday, September 30, 2012

#48 Chenlee

Hi…. everyone well i’m just new user of cannon 600D and i just wondering that which lens would be perfact for zoom from long distance… can anyone suggest me thank you…

5:32 am - Saturday, November 10, 2012

#49 Julia

is it good for beginner??
and i never used digital or dlsr camera??
what kind of camera should i get??

Thanks,

Juli

9:02 am - Saturday, November 17, 2012

#50 Ian Palmer

I spent many years shooting with an Olympus both with film and eventually digital.  I was convinced by a colleague to buy in to Canon (this camera) as an upgrade and move on from my Oly kit.  I own the 600D with many lenses, and it is awful.  It focuses slowly inaccurately and the photos it takes are shocking at best.  With all the tech these pack in, I was hoping to see incredible results in comparison to my old E3 - WRONG - I would recommend anyone to research a system thoroughly before buying in to it, this camera is now a door stop in my office…..

7:44 pm - Tuesday, November 20, 2012

#51 Ray Gress

Ian, you obviously got a lemon. I am very pleased, and it blows E-Volts out of the water. Fast focus- at least with my 70-200L4 and Sigma 18-50. I am mostly a wildlife photographer. I get razor-sharp stop action birds-in-flight. Door stop? I doubt it.

12:49 am - Wednesday, November 21, 2012

#52 manutd1878

to julia
yes, it is very good entry level dslr, and I recommend canon 650d, nikon d3200, nikon d7000 to you.

3:21 am - Tuesday, January 8, 2013

#53 Matthew

I am new to dslrs and settled on the 600d after much research.  After a month and 1000s of shots I think it was great buy.  I got it with the 18-55is, 55-250is and the 50 f1.8 lenses.  If you are new like me and like to experiment I recommend the 50mm f1.8 lens, it’s cheap and you can get some magic with it.

11:55 pm - Sunday, January 27, 2013

#54 David

Thank you for such an informative review of the 600d since reading the article this morning i have gone out and purchased one in a twin lense kit with the 18-55is and the 55-250is along with al the acssesories you need to go with it. All this is for my 7 year old son who is progressing through the learning curve and is now keen to step up to a dslr. I feel after all the research that i did that this will suit him perfectly for a while at least until he is ready for the next step thanks again you made a big decision a lot easier

3:00 am - Thursday, May 23, 2013

#55 Ray

Well, just bought a 60D. IQ is about the same as the 600, but feels better in my jumbo hands. I keep both cameras with me at all times!

3:54 am - Thursday, May 23, 2013

#56 Aleisha

@Ian Palmer, Feel free to send it on to me! i’ll gladly take it off your hands!especially if its just used as a door stop! i’m looking for one, but may have to wait till they drop waaaay down in price! yay for student life! :/ haha

12:22 pm - Saturday, May 25, 2013

#57 Sharon W

Am torn between the Canon 600D and the Nikon Coolpix P520.  I want a camera which will take sharp shots of dogs running and jumping.  Do these cameras focus fast enough on moving subjects? Which one would be best?

6:20 pm - Thursday, June 6, 2013

#58 Ray

Get the 600D. I use mine all the time for action shots of my four Golden Retrievers. I have also used my SX40HS superzoom and can’t seem to get decent shots. For action, the DSLR is so much easier. I’ll probably catch flack for saying that:)

Oh, my new 60D is not any better than the 600 for action, although the FPS is a bit better.

1:47 am - Friday, June 7, 2013

#59 salman

iam really confused…..whether to buy nikon d5100 or canon 600d…pls help me

10:52 am - Tuesday, July 9, 2013

#60 Ray

Both are good. Good prices right now too. Check out lens selection, etc.

3:55 pm - Tuesday, July 9, 2013

#61 Thabet

please
i have canon d600 but i feel the color is too poor so any solution for that thanks

8:11 pm - Friday, July 19, 2013

#62 Matthew

Thabet, post processing using the software that comes with the camera.  But In the camera you can also change the picture style and even create your own with the color boosted.  Also make sure the color space is set to RGB not Adobe RGB in camera settings.

11:13 pm - Friday, July 19, 2013

#63 Thabet

many thanks Matthew for ur replay . i tray many settings.i increase the color tone and saturation but when i did that i didnot have a sharp pics also the sharp pics is my prob i feel like i didnot have enough sharp . i use canon 24-105 mm 1:4 l is usm i think it is good lens

11:50 pm - Friday, July 19, 2013

#64 Ray

Thabet,

I have never had a dull shot with 600D. You have a great lens too. Either you got a lemon, or your settings are off. Keep trying.

2:05 am - Saturday, July 20, 2013

#65 shardul

can i go for it as my first Dslr??
i read many reviews about it..but your opinion also will matter!

4:29 pm - Thursday, August 1, 2013

#66 Glen

Looking for a good one is a very difficult choice to made…i was really stuck between nikon d7000 and canon 60d pls help..

5:54 am - Sunday, August 25, 2013

#67 hirosingh

please suggest for new user,
550D or 600D IS better ?

11:46 am - Thursday, September 19, 2013

#68 Twister

Hi All,

What is the available lenses range respectively for Canon 600D & Nikon D5100 ?
Many sites have different opinions on this & it’s better to have the SLR that can show up a good list to select with those that are affordable.

4:01 am - Wednesday, October 16, 2013

#69 Ebony

Hi there,
I’m just wondering if any-one has an opinion on which would be the better starter DSLR camera, the Nikon d3200 or Canon d600?

10:00 pm - Wednesday, October 16, 2013

#70 KULDEEP SHARMA

I RECENTLY BOUGHT A 600D WITH 18-55 AMD 55-250 MM LENS:
I tried it for shooting butterfly,dragon fly, birds, landscap, potrait etc…all shot came good…
but when i tried to shoot a landscape or citypics during night all pics came blurred…when i tried to take pics of full moon with 55-250 lens…failed to get sharp clear pictures….Can somebody suggest me a way out…

9:19 am - Monday, October 21, 2013

#71 balwant singh mehra

Hi,
I have a fixed budget so Please can you suggest me the best canon or nikon DSLR in the range of INR 40,000 Please suggest me
PLEASE

11:00 pm - Saturday, December 14, 2013

#72 Matthew

For those asking for beginners cameras.  I can only speak from experience of Canon.  I got the Canon 600D with 18-55mm-IS, 55-250mm-IS and 50mm-F1.8 lenses.  This was an excellent starter set up (12 months ago).  Later on, I got the 100mmm Macro lens, and that is lots of fun. 

I have since upgraded to the full frame 6D.  I would not recommend the 6D as a starter camera (unless you have lots of money) because of the cost of full frame lenses.

8:33 am - Tuesday, December 17, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, 720p, DSLR, canon, digital SLR, 18 megapixel, digital rebel t3i, 600d, eos 600d, Canon EOS 600D Review, t3i

Tracker Pixel for Entry