Canon EOS 60D Review

4.5
October 14, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

36 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Matt

“that challenges the likes of the Nikon D90”
Well those words are effectively redundant.
When the D7000 hits the shelves this month, the 60D will be shown to be lacking. Unless video is more important to you than pictures.

1:38 pm - Thursday, October 14, 2010

#2 Frank Stanton

Great sight, but you either have too increase your bandwidth or, better yet, sneak over to dpreview.com and check out their slide show format for showing sample pictures. It took severalminutes to see one of your 18 mb sample pics.

3:21 pm - Thursday, October 14, 2010

#3 C.Y.Leow

My first DSLR was a Canon D60, the “60” came a full circle ;) The low noise (at ISO 100) RAW images of the old D60 still look great compare to the double resolution of the newer offer!

8:09 pm - Thursday, October 14, 2010

#4 Mustafa Ajlan Abudak

60D seems a real hybrid and hails the videographers mostly. IQ as good as 7D and video is near the level of 5D mark II at 100-1600 iso range. That is a bargain combo for amateurs and pro-sumers alike.It is necesarry to use it with fast primes to get the most of from the sensor.Still I do not like the motion jpeg compression and so does the video quality of nikons.If You have money to invest some superior Canon primes and wish to get best of both worlds (video&stills;) without bankrupt it seems 60D is the right decisio?n to go for..

1:04 pm - Friday, October 15, 2010

#5 Jim Scarff

You state at the bottom of page 1: “Unfortunately Canon have decided to cut their costs by only including it on the supplied CD-ROM, which isn’t much use when you’re out shooting with the camera.”

I bought a 60D in the U.S. last week, and it came with not one, but two 323 page printed manuals (one in English and one in Spanish).

I own a 7D and a 50D. I am selling the 50D and using the 60D with an 18-135mm lens ($300 in the kit) as a second camera.  I am liking the size, weight LCD and functions of the 60D a lot.

One feature I strongly welcome is the lock on the mode dial. I hate it that on the 7D and all previous Canons, about 14% of the time the mode dial would have shifted as a result of incidentally brushing the dial, and I would often not catch the change until the wildlife I was photographing was long gone.

For me, the 60D is a significant improvement over the 50D.

5:18 am - Monday, October 18, 2010

#6 Ron I

@ Mustafa
“Still I do not like the motion jpeg compression”

The video is H.264, not MJPEG.

5:06 pm - Tuesday, October 19, 2010

#7 Mustafa Ajlan Abudak

@ Ron

Thank You!Had to check before wrote it. sorry

This is good for Nikon but let us see how it works..and also it seems to me especially autofocus sound may efect sound reacording.Do you have any information about it also ?

5:33 pm - Tuesday, October 19, 2010

#8 Ron I

Mustafa,

Are you talking about the Canon 60D or the new Nikon D7000?

As for the D7000, I have no idea. The only reports I’ve read about it so far are in regard to hot pixels in video mode. I’m on the Nikon/Canon fence right now myself.

9:03 pm - Tuesday, October 19, 2010

#9 Mustafa Ajlan Abudak

@ Ron

Talked for D7000..I read a feedback about it on dpreview..and before that I assumed same problem when I read full time autofocus about HD video..

Hot pixels may due to overheating problem which was seen on Sony SLT-A55.I do not know they share same or not but guess so..

Fo a videographer 60D seems a better choice…and for stills I may use s-raw options for most situations.(for better IQ and easy post-process) No limitation for mounting EF and EF-S lens collections are out there. After I see numerous footages from 7D, I am sure about video quality also.(Guess based on same sensor)

But magnesium alloy chase will be better for journalists I still prefer light-wide body to grip. Of course all these above just for my taste.Nikon is also a good machine too.

9:50 pm - Tuesday, October 19, 2010

#10 David B

I got this camera on Sat 20/11/2010 and it’s awesome after breifly owning a Canon 7d which had a front focus problem I deliberated for ages on whether to get another 7d or or 60d, am glad i went for it now, with a 17-55mm f.28 lens this baby rocks bigtime, when i compare the footage from 7d it is essentially the same plus the ability to monitor audio is a real decision maker if using for video production and it apprears from numerous posts on vimeo the overheating issue has been cured on this model when shooting video, as for stills performance I am extremly happy.

A lot of people dont like the lack of joystick, this was something that had me worried and even tho the navigator thing around the rear dial is rather unresponsive to touch it does work flawlessly and the body is a lot tougher than i was led to believe.

Peace.

9:41 am - Monday, November 22, 2010

#11 Bryan Loh

Just got Canon 60d with 18-135 kit.I’ve been using DSLR since 40d, 500d, and some L lens.

I did a hands on test between, Canon 7d, Nikon D7000 and Canon 60D. 7D shutter fast enuf but out of budget, Nikon D7000 39 focusing is really makes me happy…^_^, but when comes in the buttons and dials, Im lazy to find it and the body + lens is heavy….Canon 60D, just nice while holding and the grip is so comfortable, easy to find button & dials, shutter speed sound just nice too. 

I did comparing between 550d, 60d and 7d, which 60d in between 550d and 7d, with the sensor, functions, buttons, etc…and the price just nice

3:40 am - Monday, November 29, 2010

#12 michael

when i go into manual mode and take a picture, it just comes up blank. What am i doing wrong or is it the camera

5:45 pm - Monday, November 29, 2010

#13 Darwin T

@michael: It’s you, Michael. It’s you.

7:22 am - Wednesday, December 1, 2010

#14 Kurt J

I tried the 60D and I didn’t like it at all…it felt like a toy in my hands.
The shutter was also very clunky and noisy. Not the type of camera you want to get wildlife photos…you’ld scare them off before you got a good frame.
I’ll stick with my 7D.

6:25 am - Wednesday, December 29, 2010

#15 Marco C

I am new in photography. My passion started 4 months ago when I bought the very capable Canon Powershot S90. I started playing with manual exposure, and now I do have a lot of fun going around with this compact camera, trying the best I can capturing everything with manual controls. On my way to my workplace, trains, whatever, I can’t go out without this camera.

I bought the 60d (kit, with 17-85 USM lenses) two weeks ago, it is my first DSLR. I really love it, I started comparing the pictures I took in manual mode with the S90 which has a very good image quality. It is absolutely stunning, extremly high detail at low ISO, it looks like pictures are coming out from the monitor. Very very sharp images, good automatic white balance. I am very very satisfied. I am not a professional obviously I am an enthusiast and I’m glad I didn’t spend money for higher level semi-pro DSLR. In fact, in my opinion it is a product that doesn’t have to be compared with a wide range of cameras because it is self-consistent as it is. It is definitely something different, and I think that Canon engineers known it from the beginning. It is very fast, buttons layout si very good. This camera has everything an enthusiast needs, including the in-camera RAW processing option which is very useful if you don’t have time to process each 22.5 Mbytes RAW image on the computer after you spent 3hrs shooting at -5°C. You sit there, switch on the camera and process each of the best RAW you get, you convert them to jpeg with a sufficiently large set of options and you’re done. The camera is a very good compromise between capabilities and price. The tilty swively LCD does a good job helping capturing things with really creative angles even if the auto-focus in live-mode is pretty low.
One thing that it is really good is that you do can shoot without using the LCD (you close it up) and this is a very good exercise if you need to train on manual mode and learn how to cope with all the different exposure conditions by yourself.
Of course you can do it with all the other DSLR but the fact of having the LCD closed stops the temptation of looking at the LCD continuously.

One thing that I was complaining about was the material, polycarbonate, I would have really like it was magnesium alloy but in the end it makes the camera lighter and it still feels very solid though. After all they use this polymer for helmets and it is very robust, even if it is not marked as “metal”. I think that from a research point it is very interesting.

The built-in flash does a grand job even if manual mode to enlight the scene the best. The flash blinks a little before the shot, I think it’s due to the exposure metering that is very efficient though, because with the flash in manual mode I didn’t get a single image too dark or too bright.

The AF micro adjustment is something that I’ve never used and I don’t think I’ll never use because I’m going to use manual focus only.

Overall this product in my opinion is very good, and I am really satisfied, It’s amazing. I am glad I don’t have more than 18Mpixels it would be too much for me, too much data, Nyquist is far enough for my needs.

I’ve always bought Canon, not Nikon but I don’t think it’s an issue saying that one is better than another. One has to buy the camera that really feels, no matter what it is. The best is not defined because it’s a metter of weight you give on a particular feature.
If I go back I’d buy again this camera. This DSLR is an amazing system and as electrical engineer I appreciate the effort the manufacturers put on these products no matter if this is better than another or not.

1:42 pm - Wednesday, December 29, 2010

#16 Chris Burger

I’ve loved my 40D but Santa brought the 60D and I’ve been playing with it. Results are good but I miss the Depth of Field position on the dial and really do not like the location of the Depth of Field preview button on the right side of the barrel vs the left as on the 40D and other cameras I have owned.

2:44 am - Sunday, January 9, 2011

#17 Gustav Glans

hi!

I think regarding to your test pictures that the 60d produce less colour and sharpness than both the 50d and the 7d…. is it just me or what?

im standing in thought of maybe upgrade my 1000d to any new camerahouse (in the canon family)

but after reading miles of reviews have I some thoughts left that I ask you guys to help me with.

As far as I knoew, the 1000d shares the typical same sensor as the 60d,50,550,450 w.m
And, the only real thing i the lack of high iso and better autofokus.

but with my sigma 30mm 1,4 i get quite good pics in low light with the 1,4 aparture without going over 800 iso. and well, sometimes the camera struggle to cath the fokus, but after some new positions it works off well.

So the thing is, will it be that big difference with an 60d or an 50d compared to my 1000d, if we astick to the high iso and the autofokus, for as long as I know, this is the big difference between the cameras. I dont mention the meeter, the moviepossibility, the size (why so bad with a more lightweight camera), the weatersafe house (why keeping the camera still photing in rain weater), and so on.

is there just a “hunting of new things” going one, will I be Sooo happy with a more expensive house. By the way, I compared the 5d, and the 450 d with the results of my 1000d and my sigma, the 5d with the 1,2 L lins were striking good :) but in my eyes, it were not miles away from my pictures. the 450 with the same sigma procuced even worse pictures than mine. But it was a bried test done by me :)

sorry for taking your time. and sorry for my bad english.
and thanks to anybody by giving your opinion!

// Gustav

7:11 am - Saturday, February 19, 2011

#18 Ron

I think my Sony A290 took better pics than the Canon 60D. Very dissapointed with the 60D. Its my first canon. Except the titling screen and in camera filters my Sony A290 was way better with both low light and daylight….

8:55 am - Saturday, February 26, 2011

#19 Vlad

I bought 60D after having Olympus and Sony Alphas digital cameras and quite happy with it. I simply forgot about high ISO noise - just put in most cases ISO to auto 100-3200 and concentrate on picture taking - that’s why we all buy cameras for. Plus, it’s pleasant to hold in my hand and bundled 18-135 lense is very competent. I added 50/1.8 and now they cover all my needs. before I made this decision I worried about 18MP in it thinking tha it will lead to compromise in quality but luckily the pictures are outstanding. I even tried green Auto mode while shooting on my nephew’s wedding (not that I don’t like him)just for extra speed and got 100% of good to excellent pics. So, all in all I liked the Canon 60D and feel a great potential in it for myself.

11:30 am - Tuesday, March 8, 2011

#20 Tom

Nobody’s mentioned the extra weatherproofing compared with the 550D. Lots of seals to provide dust and shower protection (up to a point of course). And the electronic leveling is really handy for landscape shooters.

12:19 pm - Saturday, April 23, 2011

#21 KingCast

My only hard core complaint is the shutter is kind of clunky-sounding and loud which might be a hassle in some of my courtroom activity but I’m running more vid than stills, if I need to I can always pull a vid cap if the Judge gets pissy over the noise. For a video person who also likes stills, this camera rocks.

Can’t wait to pick up some fast primes, start with the not-so-fast 50mm 1.8.

2:41 am - Thursday, September 8, 2011

#22 Michael

I bought a 60D with a Tamron 18-270 PZD lens yesterday, my first DSLR. I have upgraded the firmware to 1.10 before I used the camera. I am having trouble selecting Raw pictures. If I am reading the manual correctly I select Menu, then quality, then for Raw I use the round dial to secect which size I wantand the L & R arrow button to select JPEG, however on my camera the rotating dial and L & R both scroll through JPEG only not RAW. Please tell me what I am doing wrong.

11:50 am - Sunday, September 11, 2011

#23 Tom

Hello MIchael,
You have started correctly and selected the right menu page. But when selecting RAW, use the top dial. The back dial will select the JPEG size you want. Or use the rocker switch instead of the back dial.

8:26 pm - Sunday, September 11, 2011

#24 Michael

Hi Tom. Thanks for the reply, I have just found the dial you mention and it works!! I will read the manual again as it now makes more sense.

1:40 am - Monday, September 12, 2011

#25 Tom

You’re welcome Michael. You will find that quite often functions are split, with the top dial doing some things and the back dial doing something else that’s related. For instance, if you hit the Q button, you will see the shooting parameters come up on the LCD. Toggle to exposure and the back dial gives you over or under exposure while the top button gives you exposure bracketing. If want exposure bracketing, dial the amount you want and the toggle across to shooting mode and select 2 s delay. That will allow automatic firing of 3 shots with normal plus one under and one over exposure for HDR. Fun! Or you can use autolighting optimiser - strong - to shoot high dynamic range shots pretty well too without using HDR. That’s also in the window when you push the Q button.

2:42 am - Monday, September 12, 2011

#26 Mark

The 60D has been mostly a wonderful experience for an amateur like myself.  Using it for the first time on a vacation in Provence France.  Only one big issue so far and that might be due to operator error;  on a bright moonlit night a huge rock escarpment called out to be captured by the 60D, but I could NOT GET THE dang CAMERA to take the shot, it just utterly refused !

I’ve shot 1300+ photos with it over the last 14 days and this was the first time it just would not allow me to take the shot I wanted.  I tried full manual mode, auto without flash, iso at 6400 and lots and lots of other settings but the camera just would not attempt a shot at all, nada, neyet.  Several days earlier in a mountain top chapel in Moustiers (central Provence), in light so dim I could hardly see 8 feet in front of me and my eyes took minutes to adjust, the 60D took amazing photos on high iso and wide aperture settings.  Playing back the photos revealed detail barely discernible to my eyes in the darkness, yet the brightly moonlit clearly visible to my eyes huge rock escarpment was for reasons unknown to me not something the 60D was willing to spend SD card storage space on, and yes there was plenty of room on the card, lots of battery power..yada…yada.  Extremely frustrating.  I hope there is an explanation that cites operator error.

11:02 pm - Friday, October 7, 2011

#27 Bob

Mark,

Low light, camera not budging - sounds like it couldn’t focus (my 400D doesn’t especially tell you it can’t, it just doesn’t click the shutter). If it happens again try setting to manual focus. Try focusing too close for the lens and you’ll get a similar effect.

Bob.

5:50 pm - Friday, January 6, 2012

#28 diogo

Well you are complaining that the pictures are soft out of the camera but you are using the 18-200 lens to test the camera. That’s a joke.

11:43 pm - Wednesday, January 11, 2012

#29 Dougbm

I usually have my 70-200 f4 IS L attached to my 60D but it has been sent away for servicing and I have been using the 18-200. Surprisingly sharp when used within it’s limitations.
As per this review…“The Canon EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Lens is relatively sharp in the center even wide open. Stopping down to f/5.6 brings nice sharpness to the center of the image through 50mm. Use f/8 from 80mm through 200mm for best center sharpness. Corners are soft wide open and need f/8 for good sharpness over most of the focal length range. Corners are decent at f/5.6 at 18mm and prefer f/11 at 135mm. Sharpness out of this lens definitely exceeded my expectations.”

12:43 am - Thursday, January 19, 2012

#30 Dougbm

When comparing the 18 Mp 60D to my 12Mp 5D MK1 there is no comparison for detail. The 5D wins hands down. My 12Mp Fuji x100 also has more detail and is much better in low light. I suspect Canon have had to use more noise suppression due to the higher MP. More is not always better.
The metering and colours from the 60D are excellent. I enjoy the ease of use, the clear swivel screen and bright viewfinder info. The menus are Canon’s best yet - no down scrolling to items you can’t see - only side scrolling through tabs. Would like a 7D for sports and wildlife but the swivel angle screen is actually more useful to me. Worst point is the loud and cheap sounding shutter which after about 6months I am now used to. It is loudest to the operator, not a big deal for your subjects or observers. I like the fact the 60D is light but not too small (todays tiny Nikons do not fit my, average sized, hands - they used to be wonderful).

12:57 am - Thursday, January 19, 2012

#31 Phil

I find the comments criticizing Canon for using polycarbonate instead of magnesium alloy for the body material quite amusing. I used to have a 500D which was made from the same material. Dropped it twice, first from a car seat down to the side walk. Second, from a dinner table to linoleum covered concrete. It survived both falls with only minor scratches the first time.

I also have a Canon 1Ds which is cased in magnesium alloy. That thing is heavy. Not fun to bring around when I’m out on vacation, which is why the 500D accompanied me most of the time.

So when I decided to upgrade the Rebel, choosing between the 60D and the 7D, it really came down to what I would have more fun bringing with me. Easy choice.

Being an amateur, I’ve never really bothered with micro focusing for me to miss it, though I have to agree that it really wasn’t something Canon should have taken away, if only to appease many semi-pro users. After all, if back or front focusing is an issue, having the ability to correct it in-camera would be very convenient.

What bothers me more is the clunky sound from the shutter. It makes even more noise than the Rebel. Dunno if that’s a hardware issue or can be fixed with an update, but it wasn’t a deal breaker in any case. Canon’s pro lines have very nice, feather light shutter buttons that would work well on all their other cameras but I guess they’re holding it back for the guys that pay the big bucks.

I have several heavy lenses and they don’t balance well with this camera which is why I plan to get a vertical grip. When I first got a vert grip for my Rebel, I always thought it was for the extra battery life and the extra shutter button, but I now realize that using the bigger lenses without the grip is more difficult for me. Drawback of light bodies, I guess, but again, not a deal breaker.

I have yet to use the speedlite control or the electronic level but those were features in other cameras that I was quite pleased to have in this camera, along with the articulated screen. I was kinda hoping that it would allow for exposure bracketing with 1 shot of more than the 3 shots it offers, like what Nikon offers, but that wasn’t enough to make me wanna shift.

Overall, I’m very happy with the 60D and what it has to offer. It’s a very nice upgrade from the entry level, offering a lot of features helpful to both advanced enthusiasts, as well as photographers leveling up from entry level DSLRs and point & shoots.

6:44 pm - Sunday, February 19, 2012

#32 Michael

Hi Phil
Which lenses are you discussing when you say heavy? Is there anyone using a Canon 28-300L? If so how do you find it> Is the sliding zoom a problem?

2:15 am - Tuesday, February 21, 2012

#33 mohammadjack

hi. i have one question!dose canon 60d or 60da have panorama taking picture? or not? if not please tell me some model on sony or nikon or canon have bulb mode and panorama system with best resolution.

6:23 pm - Saturday, July 14, 2012

#34 Jan Joseph George

I own this camera and i have to say Canon have given a perfectly balanced DSLR for photography and Video(HD) with regard to the price. I have been experimenting with it and man I LOVE IT.

7:05 pm - Monday, September 10, 2012

#35 JoAnne

Thinking of buying 60D.  I am just getting into using a DSLR. What lenses should I add?

1:10 pm - Monday, June 10, 2013

#36 Jan Joseph George

50mm f/1.8 prime…. sigma 70-300mm telephoto are all gud options.

6:47 pm - Saturday, June 15, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, hdmi, DSLR, 1080i, tilting, 18 megapixel, vari-angle, stereo sound, Canon EOS 60D Review, EOS 60D, Canon 60D, Canon EOS 60D, 60D Review, Canon 60D Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry