Canon EOS 700D Review

June 18, 2013 | Mark Goldstein | |

Your Comments

10 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Alissa

We currently use the Canon T3i, is it worth the upgrade to the T5i or should I just upgrade to the 7D or 5D? Is there much of a difference between T3i and T5i?

3:10 pm - Thursday, June 20, 2013

#2 Business Photos

I’m still using the Canon 50D. It seems the newer cameras are no longer using compact flash cards. Those cards seems a lot easier to use and seem more reliable.

6:14 pm - Friday, June 21, 2013

#3 jure

don’t you publish prices also in €?
It is funny that anybody from EU who read tests of yours, must look for prices elsewhere. Is it so difficult to get prices in € from ?

9:33 am - Wednesday, July 17, 2013

#4 Paul Molloy

Good review, agree with almost everything, but you imply auto focus in video mode requires the new stm lenses. I bought body only, and it works fine with all my lenses - auto-focusing in video mode if af is selected on the lens. I also have found the touch screen much more useful than I ever expected. And the two special “scn” settings which do a kind of auto hdr have also been very useful at times. I actually set out to buy a second 550D to supplement my current one and to save me having to change lenses between my two most frequently used ones - 70-200 2.8 and 17-55 but at a pawn shop I lucked onto a 700D with a Tamron lens, bought it and sold the Tamron and ended up with a 700D body (with two batteries) for less money than I expected to pay for a used 550D. It’s mint. And of course the batteries, chargers, grip etc are all fully interchangeable. The 17-55 tends to live in the 700D now because that’s what I mostly film the grandkids with. The 70-200 lives mostly on the 550D. I’m absolutely rapt in the combination.

4:21 am - Tuesday, October 8, 2013

#5 Paul Molloy

Alissa, some of my comments above will already answer yours. Dollar for dollar I wouldn’t recommend upgrading. But if you were buying today, the 700D has some specific advantages.

6:03 am - Tuesday, October 8, 2013

#6 Ron

I really enjoy your expertise in digital cameras , I have an Cannon Eos Rebel T1i . I love it so much even thou it is an older model . I will be in the market for a newer model soon . The amount of effects that you can do on a upscale digital camera is priceless . There is no way I can go back to a regular camera .
I will be book marketing this site , if that is ok with you guys .

Thank you ,

10:38 pm - Monday, February 23, 2015

#7 Andy

Hi, the size pictures(jpeg) is between 5mb - 7mb, are so small…. why?
Nikon d3200 8mb-11mb is good…

My compact camera Nikon coolpix l830 make pictures (jpeg) with size 4mb - 6 mb…..but Canon 700d just 5mb - 7mb…

7:06 am - Saturday, June 6, 2015

#8 Andy

I think Nikon 3200D is better then Canon 700D….

7:09 am - Saturday, June 6, 2015

#9 s mookherji.

I want a comparative study betweem nikon5399d amd canon700D highlighting all features and price.

8:58 am - Saturday, June 27, 2015

#10 Alaistar Huge

Canon EOS 700D 18MP Digital SLR Camera has amazing features. From this camera you can Shoot high-quality Full-HD video with your EOS. Fine control over depth of field allows cinematic-style shallow-focus effects. Image quality is superb, even in at high ISO settings. For more features visit

12:30 pm - Friday, August 28, 2015

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, review, 3 inch LCD, samples, 1080p, jpeg, 720p, movie, canon, DSLR, touch-screen, touch screen, tilting, raw, touch, digital SLR, 18 megapixel, 5fps, vari-angle, lcd, hybrid af, Canon EOS 700D Review, digital rebel t5i, eos 700d, t5i, 700d

Tracker Pixel for Entry