Canon IXUS 510 HS Review

4.0
August 15, 2012 | Matt Grayson |

Your Comments

9 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 JS

Love the boxy design! Pics could be little sharper.

3:48 pm - Wednesday, August 15, 2012

#2 John Norton

I have this camera.  With the HS 510 I found that unless you use ‘P’ program mode the jpg is not saved as ‘fine’ compression, the quality difference is obvious, poorer in anything but ‘P’ mode.  I was looking forward to having the use of movie digest mode, but no wish to shoot photos sub par.

Basically the fine setting is only available in one shooting mode.

If I’m missing something here, please advise, also I checked out the My Colours (while in ‘P’ mode) but cannot see an option to save with different sharpening levels.

5:29 pm - Wednesday, August 15, 2012

#3 Atechreview

Very detailed review on a great camera. The design on the 510 is really nice.

7:15 am - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#4 gorpalm

Same sensor set-up as the 500 - its a 1/2.33 sensor @ 16mp, the camera only uses the centre 10.1mp, so actual useful sensor size is actually c62% of 1/2.33 - what’s that, around 1/3.3 or something? Mmmmm…

4:24 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#5 tracy

I was really exited when I got this camera, one main reason was for the WI-FI as I’m going travelling and wanted the hassle free option of uploading to the web and to my ipad/phone.

I was having some problems getting it set up and called Canon, after being put on hold three times and spending a total of 40minutes on the phone I was told that it does not work on Macs! I’m very disappointed that this is not made clear when you buy this camera as had I had known I would have got a Lumix instead.

Mac users be warned :(

11:34 am - Wednesday, October 17, 2012

#6 Louay

@tracy, was this fixed since you posted this? I want to buy this camera but I want it to transfer my photos to iPhoto on a mac wirelessly… I hope it’s working now.

11:37 pm - Wednesday, February 20, 2013

#7 Gazza

I have got a IXUS510HS We used our camera away on holidays It was brand new with a new sd card in it after taking about 200 photos on a 8Gb card which said we could take about 1200 photos it came up memory card locked then after that it said memory card error, when I took it into a camera shop and put into micro adaptor with the adaptor unlocked the computer could not find it at all,
Hoping somebody can help Gary

12:41 pm - Wednesday, July 10, 2013

#8 Aquariun

@tracy

It works flawless with mac. You hv to download latest software on mac. I transfer photos to iPhoto and iPad through wifi without trouble.

@Gary
Looks like you are victim of counterfeit card. Try with another card and another adapter. Should be fine.

11:15 pm - Thursday, November 28, 2013

#9 Pete

Thank you for the review!

4:53 am - Tuesday, January 21, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, compact, 1080p, hdmi, beginner, wireless, full hd, touch screen, 10 megapixel, touch, wi fi, 12x zoom, 3.2 inch LCD, elph 530, elph 530 hs, ixus 510, canon 510, touch-screen. wi-fi, Canon IXUS 510 HS Review, canon 530 hs

Tracker Pixel for Entry