Canon Pixma MP980 Review

4.0
July 3, 2009 | Jon Canfield | Printer Reviews |

Conclusion

I still haven't changed my opinion on All-In-One devices. They're great if you're tight for space, or you only do casual photo printing. For the best quality prints, a dedicated printer is still going to give you better results. This latest generation of devices is very close though. The photo print quality of the Canon Pixma MP980 exceeds anything you could have gotten from a dedicated photo printer a couple of years ago. I use an AIO for general printing tasks, the quick photo print or two, and the occasional scan. For $299, you're getting a heck of a lot of quality. For many people, the Canon Pixma MP980 will be all that you need for photo printing or scanning. Print costs are on average with a small desktop printer - you'll be spending about $0.25 for a 4x6 print.

4 stars

Ratings (out of 5)
Design 4.5
Features 4
Ease-of-use 4
Image quality 4
Value for money 4

Entry Tags

wireless, canon, printer, scanner, bluetooth, all in one, pixma, AIO, mp 980, mp980, Canon Pixma MP980

Tracker Pixel for Entry

Your Comments

15 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 erica mueller

Looks like a pretty good little printer… an amateur photographer’s dream.

Personally, I have to have the document feeder. I also need speed since I run a short run printing business. For me, the Epson Artisan 800 fits the bill.

2:51 am - Saturday, July 4, 2009

#2 Shawn Michael

A nice blog containing full information of quality cartridges. Please see our website .. thanx for visiting this blog.

1:27 pm - Monday, July 6, 2009

#3 Glenn Fernandes

Canon Pixma MP980 printer can print, scan, copy, and e-mail.The Canon Pixma MP 980 printer is designed very well with a silver and glossy black body.The printer also does well on graphics. The text prints are of average quality. For more details refer http://www.etechreviews.net/canon-pixma-mp980-printer-reviews/

8:13 am - Wednesday, July 29, 2009

#4 Marie K.

Thank you for this informative past.  I purchased one of these on the advice of my camera shop guy, and have been very happy with it for the most part.  I am glad you mentioned it could print on the heavier art papers, as I am a painter, and will probably be printing occasional artwork. Mostly I use it for printing photos that I am going to paint from.  I have noticed some (very) faint lines when printing-this is my only fault with the printer.

6:58 pm - Wednesday, August 12, 2009

#5 Roger Andersen

Be adviced!!! This printer is eating your ink really fast.
Best tip to save ink is to leave the printer with power on at all time. This is becase of the printers excesive head cleaning.

2:33 pm - Saturday, August 15, 2009

#6 nintendo dsi r4

I have now been using this printer/scanner for over two weeks. This replaces an old HP multifunction device which had problems with my Mac when printing over the network.

6:58 am - Monday, December 21, 2009

#7 Davo

I had a R310 which was an exellent printer but struggled to feed the heavier photo paper

8:27 am - Wednesday, May 25, 2011

#8 les wollam

will you be review in new printers soon? i realize the big demand is for cameras, especially compacts, and lenses, but i’d love to see more printer reviews, esp. low end ones. i’m going to have to replace my r-1900 soon

5:48 pm - Saturday, August 27, 2011

#9 Conrad

To be avoided!!!
Although it prints very nicely and scans well, it drinks your inks very quickly…
Furthermore, when your out of black/grey ink it won’t even let you scan a document without printing. Pretty disappointed.

8:10 pm - Sunday, September 9, 2012

#10 Kathy Blackmore

A bit pricey but great quality and the scanner works extremely well. If I could afford to get a more expensive printer I would defiantly consider this.

Thanks for the review!

Kathy Blackmore | Cartridge Shop

1:47 pm - Wednesday, November 28, 2012

#11 Matthew

My MP980 is drinking ink as of late, inks don’t even last a week from new. I’ve been a big fan of Canon for over 12 years and have printed many pictures on these machines, I bought 4 over the years.  This one is going in the trash. I am looking into other brands now.  Thanks A ton Canon!

12:29 am - Sunday, January 20, 2013

#12 Lewis

I know that printing photo or a document using the Canon Pixma MP980 is highly cost effective. All the manufacture recommends using the original ink cartridge for quality printing. It’s really good news anyone can use ink refill to reactivate the original cartridge with its smooth work and lower the printing cost.  Check this how.

12:41 pm - Wednesday, March 27, 2013

#13 Jo

I’ve had this printer for several years and love it but the document feeders have finally stopped working . Is there a newer model that is comparable with the same functions?

10:54 am - Wednesday, January 29, 2014

#14 Keith

Bought my MP980 in April 2009 still working beautifully, so well I’m buying another for a different location.

7:45 am - Friday, June 6, 2014

#15 Princess

The product is very cost effective and still works on our company. Although there were a lot of new existing inventions these days, I am still recommending the deployment of this printer.
You might also try reading this blog : Cheap Ink Printers : GOOD or Bad? if you have time. Thank you!

12:41 pm - Thursday, September 18, 2014