Canon PowerShot A3100 IS Review

4.0
March 22, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

20 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 iedge card

I would personally wait a few weeks, and buy A3100. I’m just making an educated guess here, but I don’t think that the price difference indicates an image quality difference.Thanks for sharing its features here.

4:11 am - Tuesday, March 23, 2010

#2 abhishek

i got dis as my gift..bein a first tym dig cam holder,i find it pretty useful and neat..
verry handy and got decent pic quality,..
very easy 2 use..

12:59 pm - Thursday, June 24, 2010

#3 David

I am intending to buy a 3100 IS. Can any one recommend me this model.

2:49 am - Friday, July 9, 2010

#4 Peter

Fantastic camera for the money. It exceeded my expectations. Easy to use and awesome pictures. I would highly recommend this camera. I had an older Canon digital but it was lost or stolen, so I had to replace it. This camera is light years ahead of what I had, and at a fraction of the price.

9:29 pm - Saturday, August 14, 2010

#5 Sagar

Please anybody tell me shall I go for A3100IS or IXUS105…..........i found both more or less same. IXUS105 is around INR2000 expensive. Please suggest….........thnx in advance…....

5:23 pm - Monday, November 22, 2010

#6 marc

i just bought this camera.
i am finding it exceptional value for money and the quality of the photos are exceeding my expectations. the video quality too is great….
i am not a proffesional photographer and feel this camera will suit my needs for quite a while…

11:35 pm - Saturday, December 11, 2010

#7 Sagar

Does metallic body of the camera make too much of difference in terms of physical look of the camera over a period of time. I am under the impression that camera with plastic body may become dull or fade as far as looks r concerned…......?? Please advise.

2:47 pm - Monday, December 13, 2010

#8 saltwater43

I got this for my wife, who just wants a point and shoot. We’ve gone from the old Cannon AE-1 through the Panasonic series digital camera. She loves it; VERY simple to use, and easy to learn what the buttons do without having to pull the owner’s manual out each time.

12:50 pm - Sunday, December 19, 2010

#9 Latifa

The camera offers a good sharp quailty of pictures. I like the compact size of it(I like the grip of it) and it can fit into your pocket or purse etc. Some sites had given this camera a low rating and I disagree strongly. For a low budget its a superb camera with great auto focus plus it has a macro mode along with many different other modes. Also it offers an auto focus (AF) that can be controlled in so many ways in the menu. When taking a picture it detects people’s faces smoothly and the battery would last about 2 hours since I switch it off everytime Im done with it. Overall i chose this camera for the mega pixels (12.1) I dont need more than that, like for example a 14 mp is for very big print outs, so dont really need more pixels. Upon that it has 4x optical zoom which is just fine for me! I would rate this camera as 4.5 out of 5. You wont regret it!

7:20 pm - Thursday, December 23, 2010

#10 latifa

“Sagar .

Does metallic body of the camera make too much of difference in terms of physical look of the camera over a period of time. I am under the impression that camera with plastic body may become dull or fade as far as looks r concerned…......?? Please advise.”

The camera is built out of strong plastic. It really depends on the person itself and how she/he takes care of it. I bought a camera’s pouch (case) to protect the screen and the whole body. So even if im not going to use the camera for a long period of time, it wont dull or fade (bcz its kept in a case)and prevents any damages when ur camera falls. Whether your buying a camere with a plastic body or any other material its higly recommended to buy a case along with it. Then there is no worry realting the plastic body. Heres a link to the pouch i bought:
http://products.lowepro.com/product/Napoli-10,1967,27.htm

7:54 pm - Thursday, December 23, 2010

#11 Latifa

“Sagar .

Does metallic body of the camera make too much of difference in terms of physical look of the camera over a period of time. I am under the impression that camera with plastic body may become dull or fade as far as looks r concerned…......?? Please advise.”

The camera is built out of strong plastic. It really depends on the person itself and how he/she takes care of it. I bought a camera’s pouch (case) to protect the screen and the whole body. So even if im not going to use the camera for a long period of time, it wont dull or fade (bcz its kept in a case)and prevents any damages when ur camera falls. Whether your buying a camere with a plastic body or any other material its higly recommended to buy a case along with it. Then there is no worry realting the plastic body.

7:56 pm - Thursday, December 23, 2010

#12 Sagar

Thnx….....a lot latifa

9:50 am - Friday, December 24, 2010

#13 MARK STANSFIELD

I Bought this camera for my son..i charged the battery for 3 hours when i switch on the camera the menu and all the features come up on screen but everything onscreen is black. What am I doing wrong? Thanks 4 any help

6:14 pm - Monday, December 27, 2010

#14 Ice

My husband is going to buy me a dig cam as a gift… he wants me to choose either this model or the Panasonic Lumix DMC-FH1 model… can anyone tell me which one is better? thanks

3:29 pm - Friday, January 14, 2011

#15 misha

uhmmm.. need a little help here?? which camera is better?? A3100 IS, or SX30 IS??

6:05 pm - Saturday, January 29, 2011

#16 Miing

I got this cam for a gift, i do enjoy taking pictures and this would have to be one of my best cams yet! the picture quality is wayy too awesome , even when i take party pics in the night they look great. The video quality is good also not to mention the zoom. i love this camera.

5:21 am - Friday, March 25, 2011

#17 allister

Mark, very good review. I wonder whether I can ask for your opinion on the following issue. My Canon A3100 IS has so far been doing a fairly good job; I like the fact that it can take pictures in very dim light.

However, I notice that, the colors are not very realistic. There is a bias towards the blue. Green objects tend to appear bluish and terracotta walls tend to appear purplish. This bias is more noticeably indoors. Is there anything that can be done about this?
Thanks for your advice.

10:42 pm - Friday, June 10, 2011

#18 ruthsbluemarble

My son loved this camera until the lense became stuck in the open position about a month ago. We have taken it to a repair shop only to be told that the only repair available will cost more than the camera is worth.

And, yes, you guessed it, the warrantee just expired about two months ago. My only complaint for any of the smaller point and shoot cameras is that this is a common problem. This is the second of the Cannon brand that’s had this issue.

That said, I would still recommend the brand as the quality of the resulting images, for a low cost camera, is exceptional.

4:34 pm - Saturday, October 6, 2012

#19 jbarntt

Picked two of these about a year ago, 80.00 USD each, in like new condition. Bought a couple of memory cards, and soft cases.

Very good for the price, picture quality is good, and they are easy to use. Did not try them in low light conditions.

Excellent camera for the price, glad I bought them. My wife uses one, and she hates tech equipment, but she loves this camera, and took over 1000 pics in the UK this past Summer. She is happy with the results, and rightly so.

Highly recommended.

4:46 am - Monday, December 3, 2012

#20 Santosh

This camera is very good but it got some damage it dosen’t work properly it gets shut autometically. . .by showing some error. . .plz help me what to do??

3:45 am - Tuesday, January 14, 2014

Entry Tags

compact, review, 12 megapixel, beginner, video, 2.7 inch LCD, canon, 4x zoom, movies, powershot, VGA, a3100, Canon PowerShot A3100 IS

Tracker Pixel for Entry