Canon PowerShot A4000 IS Review

4.5
June 19, 2012 | Matt Grayson |

Your Comments

31 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Shane

I looked at just 3 of the sample outdoor photos (with the trees, fountain, and grassy fields), and thought there was something wrong with either my eyesight, or my computer monitor, or the camera (faulty unit)....

The images are worse than even my old Powershot which came out 3 years ago. For such a small camera like this, you simply cannot fit in a 16MP sensor and hope to get a good result from it. Sorry Canon, but cameras do not work that way….

And Photography Blog, how can you give the image quality 4.5 stars? It should only be 2 stars at best, that’s how bad it looks to me.

7:26 am - Wednesday, June 20, 2012

#2 Subho

When viewing at 100%, details are horribly missing!

11:02 am - Wednesday, June 20, 2012

#3 JS

Don’t blow it to 1:1 and you’ll be fine…This isn’t DSLR so don’t expect miracles! It’s a good camera.

6:50 pm - Wednesday, June 20, 2012

#4 FF

Shane is completely on the money with his review of this camera. Don’t waste your money. I tried it and was heavily disappointed - there is a lot of noise for what the product is, it has trouble focusing, and is going right back to the store tomorrow, a day after I purchased it.

I too, cannot believe this camera got a 4.5 rating, but then again advertisers may have something to do with that.

6:39 am - Sunday, June 24, 2012

#5 oomiwan

wow, every picture is captured at ISO 100, what’s the use of ISO 1600 if we don’t see the sample, is this an ad or what

7:26 am - Monday, June 25, 2012

#6 julio battaglia

Hello

But what a strange thing to have given picture quality 4.5?
It has a CCD sensor 1/2.3 “with 16 Mpixels, is absurd!
Should not have given 4.5 for image quality.
If it was a CMOS sensor would be much better quality photos.
I have a Powershot A495 with a much better picture than this one.
This camera does not deserve “Highly recommended”
I think you need to review this camera again.
I do not buy this camera.

7:09 pm - Monday, June 25, 2012

#7 matt grayson

Hi guys,
thanks for all your comments. Let me give you a little insight into what I look for when grading: Yes, the image quality isn’t that good but I don’t only take that factor into consideration. I also look at the colour reproduction, noise reduction, sharpness, exposure, white-balance and - most importantly - cost of the camera. This is a camera at a little over £100. It doesn’t need a full indepth technical test. It needs the pictures to be looked at as a person who might buy it will look at them. That’s what I try to do.
People buying this camera won’t be interested in IQ - half won’t even know what a “camera’s IQ” means.
So all the pointers I set out above are bang on. Noise is a little dubious, so I scored it down. I’ve tested a lot of cameras at this price point and this camera has produced some of the best pictures.

I hope that helps. :O)

4:44 pm - Thursday, June 28, 2012

#8 Go Pro Cameras

Hey, thanks High quality information.Please keep on doing this. However, I have a Sony Cybershot and I enjoy clicking it.

1:26 pm - Wednesday, July 25, 2012

#9 Tobs

would you recommend this camera good for making hd youtube videos ??

10:49 pm - Saturday, July 28, 2012

#10 Ruwan

This is my first camera, seems ok with me since i`m new. But we should not except DSLR from a compact camera.

5:51 am - Tuesday, September 18, 2012

#11 Sabbatha

I got this camera three weeks ago the worst purchase ever!
Sadly my old camera got a breakage to usb port,was still under guarantee so i returned back my loyal Fujifilm Finepix JX250 and got a full refunds cause was not avaible anymore from the store,what a shame i got instead this poor Canon Powershot A4000 IS.
No matter in which size you shot the pictures,no matter in what ISO,no matter anything: you will have as final results a Monet painting and nothing near to a decent picture cause the noise is simply surreal.I’ve sent back once again to the store and i will get a Fujifilm Finepix JZ100,do not waste your money and do not buy this camera,it’s a poor camera and will not take a decent picture!

2:20 am - Wednesday, October 3, 2012

#12 Petert

Im sorry, but you people must be retarded when it comes to using a camera. I just bought mine today, and the pictures ive taken so far look great, especially with the macro mode. Its really a good camera

3:21 am - Sunday, October 7, 2012

#13 Patrick

Sorry, I don’t seee where these pictures are that great, even for the $125 price range. Lots of bells and whistles, but the proof’s in the pudding.

Also, there was complete omission of the fact that this camera does not have a view finder (unless it was hidden real well). The LCD viewer is horrible in bright sunlight. IMO, the absence of this feature alone is a deal breaker.

The review reads more like a sales pitch than a review.

5:24 am - Sunday, October 28, 2012

#14 ronpovey

i got this a 4000is as a present and
and found it brill and very fit for purpose

12:06 pm - Monday, November 12, 2012

#15 VL

Help!  My boss just handed me the Powershot A4000 IS camera she bought and wants me to get a memory card for it but I can’t determine which SD card will work.  Pls provide the brand and model number.  she bought one but it didn’t fit.

5:45 pm - Tuesday, December 11, 2012

#16 VL

Help! My boss needs a memory card for a PowerShot A4000 IS.  I can’t determine which brand and model# to order.  We already bought one but it didn’t fit.

5:48 pm - Tuesday, December 11, 2012

#17 Brian G

Bought one on 19Jan 2013 cost 273 k/marks (Bosnian currency equiv to 119 GBP) ...in the past few days we have marveled at the simplicity and clear display coupled with the info button….we got this after a bad experience with a Casio Elixim EXZS100 10x zoom which could not be used as it froze…. This canon has switched on and off effortlessly a couple of hundred times so far without a similar reaction.
The optics of the 8x zoom have quite good reaction times forward and backwards and I felt the picture action was not marred by any noticeable shutter lag with quick switch on to taking a picture in a matter of a second or two.
The pictures we have taken with it have out of the box slightly warm colours (which we like) and the wide angle to me is great at 28mm even though we enjoyed 24mm with the Casio that fell off in quality at the corners fully wide open ..so a great replacement which in our case came with a dinky little canon bijou case and Bisera my wife is very happy with the item in practice and sat at the bottom of her handbag..! It does what it says on the tin..!
ALSO very pleased with WWW:canon.ba who have got all the software ready for download in lieu of a CD disk which is withdrawn from this market (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
Thank you for the review which I read twice including some of the above comments..it swung my decision.

8:19 pm - Tuesday, January 22, 2013

#18 Morrow C.

I replaced a Casio Exilim 100S with this A4000 IS and the first thing I noticed is the size of the pictures - about 4M. If you e-mail a dozen pics, and your carrier has a 25M limit(as Yahoo does), you are up the creek. With the Casio, you can cut the size down for e-mailing. This one, you can’t. I bought it at Sam’s and they won’t take it back. Trash can.

4:07 am - Sunday, February 10, 2013

#19 Brian G

A great all round item for varying the sizes quickly in a batch environment (if working on a windows environment is ´light image resizer´ and it will do them ultra fast (free usage) and another option is a very good programme I use called paint.Net (not the one supplied with windows but also a free for use download. Hope this helps C. Morrow if it does the Turkey gets spared execution ha ha

12:19 pm - Sunday, February 10, 2013

#20 Rufus linton

It is good to buy canon A4000 or not

5:15 am - Friday, February 22, 2013

#21 CannedZ

Like a user above who commented, my previous camera was a Canon A495 (which mechanically failed). However, I found the photo quality of my new A4000 to be the same as the A495, i.e. very good, with sharp detail and faithful color reproduction (unlike the P.O.S. Olympus VG-160 which I returned for a refund the day after purchase)

5:56 am - Wednesday, March 13, 2013

#22 Jason

Nice, I had been looking for somewhere to buy a quality camera online for a good price, I have been thinking of replacing my camera for a wile now!

2:27 am - Wednesday, May 22, 2013

#23 Mohammed Al-sharafi

I bought my camera canon powershot A4000 IS from America , and when I reached to my country (Yemen ) I found that flashlight doesn’t work any more.
Please help me

5:59 am - Wednesday, June 19, 2013

#24 Cliff Greening

I always read the comments and reviews here and find it one of the best sites around. Keep it up.

Come and get a bargain at mydigitalslr.co.uk

12:50 pm - Monday, August 19, 2013

#25 priya

Thanks for the information… Genie shop

10:12 am - Thursday, August 29, 2013

#26 andrija

bed camera…do not by cannon 4000is

9:56 pm - Wednesday, September 11, 2013

#27 prashant

Hi, i am feeling lucky the i got this camera. Its great camera and captured very good images when I have visited heaven on earth-Kashmir region. Good thing about this camera is that it takes no time for starting and taking pics. So i took pictures which were unable to take by DSLRs.
Dont even think, go for this camera….

11:31 am - Wednesday, October 23, 2013

#28 Ankit Garg

Slow in low-light. But, this can be overlooked given its pocket-friendly size as well as price.

5:41 pm - Wednesday, December 4, 2013

#29 maria

My worst camera ever. Very low quality. Pictures made after darkness are very bad. I paid 99 euro at Schiphol Airport in the Netherlands, and I think that there are better basic cameras for that price.

1:22 pm - Saturday, January 4, 2014

#30 rocketeer

When looking for a low cost camera, you cant go wrong with Canon. I’ve had A3300, now A4000 and cant complain. Yes, thay cant even remotely compare to my DSLR and Lumix-G m43 systems, but hey, these cameras are there for a few bucks, you can carry them in a pocket and get a new one if one breaks without much regret - I mean its very inexpensive hardware that is capable of taking very nice moments. I could not find viable alternative to these cameras in a sub-hundred price category, not even close, every other manufacturer struggles with noise and color reproduction much more than Canon imho. This one is a treat! I carry this camera in my pocket everywhere, running, hiking, construction sites, business travels, leave it freeze or melt in a car, drop on concrete, dog chew it etc. It’s my dirt camera and once it breaks (and every camera no matter how sturdy it would be I would eventually break in my work) I just buy another for a few bucks with same handling and that I just love! Wish others could make hardware this cheap and quality at the same time.

I switched it for S95 mainly because replacing broken Canon Sxxx set me back 3x as much as this little buddy and image quality-wise, the difference is definitelly NOT 3x that much. If I need photos for projects, I always go with DSLR or m43 (quality is elsewhere, but so is the price),but for fun and dirty work, this is my buddy I can throw or put or leave anywhere. As I already did a few times :))

7:12 pm - Tuesday, January 14, 2014

#31 Fred

Before I had a canon IXUS 750 and now compare to the canon 4000 IS this is bot a good purchase. The pictures indoor are not clear and have a lot of noise . I returned the camera back to the shop because it was still under warranty. Canon replaced the hutter now it is a litlle bit better but the pictures indoors are still not sharp.
I regret to have purchased this camera
Fred from Belgium

9:12 am - Tuesday, February 11, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, review, 16 megapixel, 720p, beginner, video, canon, movies, powershot, 8x zoom, a4000 is, a4000, Canon PowerShot A4000 IS review

Tracker Pixel for Entry