Canon PowerShot A480 Review

4.5
March 17, 2009 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

46 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Mugros

A starting length of 37mm is not “versatile”.

10:20 pm - Sunday, March 22, 2009

#2 Pixellated

Just picked one up this morning to replace a broken Panasonic LS-60, and it’s done a lot to impress me so far. Definitely recommended, even at the slightly steeper launch price.

http://img5.imageshack.us/img5/116/img0023copyx.jpg

(Unedited auto macro shot)

12:10 pm - Wednesday, April 1, 2009

#3 Jaguar

So far so good.  i downloaded the pics into my laptop and found them beautiful.  BTW i bought it for 129 euros here in brussels, belgium…. only to find out that it was just 119 USD… WTH…

10:46 pm - Saturday, May 16, 2009

#4 Best Digital Camera

Very Complete Articles there…..  ^_^

But just wondering.. How many pic that can capture by using AA batteries?

4:41 am - Thursday, May 28, 2009

#5 JackHill

When authors kill off awesome characters?
I’ve just finished reading a book and the author killed off one of my favourite characters! He did it in a pretty epic way and the characters reason for the last resort plan was actually kind of sweet…BUT STILL!!

<a >My project</a>

5:56 am - Wednesday, June 24, 2009

#6 Kaylee

It’s a nice, simple little camera for a beginner like myself. It does produce some grainy shots, but like the article’s mentioned, you can always sharpen them further.

2:29 pm - Friday, June 26, 2009

#7 Lucas

Badly need your help. I don’t like composers who think. It gets in the way of their plagiarism. Help me! Need information about: Dodge dealers in oregon. I found only this - price utah Dodge dealers. Dodge avenger driver falls short of winning first canadian nascar race by anthony fontanelledodge avenger driver mark dilley failed in his bid to win the first nascar race in canada at the dodge dealers. Our davie, fl dodge dealership always has a wide selection and low prices. Thanks :-). Lucas from African.

5:04 am - Sunday, July 5, 2009

#8 BN

how do u set the start up picture that u will see when u turn on the camera?

Please help.

4:53 am - Thursday, July 9, 2009

#9 Glenn Fernandes

Thanks for the detailed information. This is quiet an impressive camera. All colors are good. Battery life is also good. For more in detail refer http://www.etechreviews.net/canon-powershot-a480-blue-digital-camera-review/

12:47 pm - Monday, July 13, 2009

#10 Sasha

????? ?????? ??????!!! ))) BEST!)))

2:28 pm - Monday, July 13, 2009

#11 jaguar

The camera is still OK however, i found out that when you have to do a continuous shot using the Flash, it must have to charge for a some seconds.  Not good if you are making a documentation or a scandal.

3:02 am - Tuesday, July 14, 2009

#12 VicromT

My bed times have been all over the place for the last year basically. When I was working last summer I had to get up really early (about 4.45am) because my job was an early start so I would go to bed about 9pm, 10pm at the latest. Then when I went to college and moved away from my parents house my bed times went crazy and I was going to bed at like 1am or 3am and now I’m back home for the summer but working a later shift in my job my bed times are pretty late, average about 1am.
What about everyone else?

6:12 am - Wednesday, July 15, 2009

#13 psevdolokulop

How many times you eat during a normal ... every day life?
are you the type of person who eats a bit and often?
or rarely and too much?

i usually have 3 and i’m the 2nd type of person (though it’s not that healthy)

8 am breakfast

3pm lunch

9pm a snack.

7:09 pm - Wednesday, July 15, 2009

#14 alkazaider

What would you do if the internet crashed for good? Would you get used to life with less communication and less “being connected” or would you be pretty bummed for the rest of your life?

This is assuming it was not fixed. Perhaps some largescale EMP attack or something that crippled it for the next 50+ years or so.

6:01 am - Thursday, July 16, 2009

#15 polkofinder

My father in law is a finalist in a KFC tshirt contest so I’m here to solicit votes on his behalf. If you want to help, please go here Chari-T Shirt Contest - Cast Your Vote - KFC.com and vote for #11. You can vote once a day if you remember. Thanks!

I’ll shall spread lots of love and positive rep to everyone that votes for him.

10:42 am - Friday, July 17, 2009

#16 Bim

They are selling this camera for £74.99 on play.com with free delivery (UK citizens only).

http://www.play.com/Electronics/Electronics/4-/8821305/Canon-Powershot-A480-10-0-Megapixel-3-3x-Optical-Zoom-2-5-LCD-Digital-Camera-Black/Product.html

11:03 pm - Thursday, September 10, 2009

#17 Mark

Thanks for a great review. I am getting mine delivered today. You answered alot of my questions, being a bit newbie when it comes to digital cameras. Seems like it was a good buy.

6:21 am - Saturday, October 10, 2009

#18 John Paul Favila

Nice Review! What is the max storage capacity SD card can this? camera support?

12:20 pm - Wednesday, October 14, 2009

#19 Stu

right now argos are doing this half price for £59.99

2:07 am - Thursday, October 22, 2009

#20 Chris

Bought one from Argos for £59.99 (and 4GB SDHC card from £9.99) to use on travel - cheap/light/inexpensive. Was also looking at £200-£250 cameras at the time.

Initial results are varied. Low light is pretty poor - you basically have to do some trial and error with the scene settings to get the best night-time hosts (I haven’t been able to get longer shutter speeds than 1.6 secs…).

In full sun it’s fine. Colours are good and true. Some odd artefacts do crop up though: on pictures of buildings the straight lines often end up as wavy lines at 100% crop - maybe not a problem if printing at byt 6x4 or 7x5, but annoying if doing slecteive cropping etc.

Overall, for the price it cannot be beaten. Like any other camera, get to know it first - ‘play’ with it, experiment with it. By doing so you’ll get to now it’s moods!

9:08 pm - Sunday, October 25, 2009

#21 dooldoo

seems pretty good. i found it being advertised in the newspaper on sale. i hope its good but this review made me less nervous abput its quality. ps: if you love nature visit http://www.naturesplendour.wordpress.com today.

5:34 am - Thursday, December 24, 2009

#22 Alda

It took very good pictures for a year..THEN..  all pink and distorted pictures…dissapointed ...so short a time…..

4:54 pm - Thursday, December 31, 2009

#23 Niki

I bought for Christmass an Olympus FE-46 (12MP)for 169 BGN (=85 Euro) and made pictures of the Christmass and New year’s parties. Awful, terrible quality! I took back the camera to the shop and replaced it today with Powershot A480 for 199 BGN (=102 Euro). By the moment I shot 4 pic’s and downlouded them to my laptop, the quality ai absolutely satisfying, the colors are true, I am happy with the quality of the pictures.
I recomend you this camera in the low price-range.

10:58 pm - Monday, January 4, 2010

#24 Diane

The instruction manuel doesn’t really specify how to use many of the features…i had a Kodak previously that was so simple to use…this one, albeit good price, is somewhat complicated…can you help>???

3:06 am - Tuesday, January 12, 2010

#25 Antonio

I found “Hot Pixel” in the sample images.
What about this? is because the camera is cheap?

10:34 am - Sunday, January 17, 2010

#26 Brever

I’ve used the A430 and the A460 before, but now that I’ve got this latest model I can’t find the driver mode.  You know - the function that lets you put the camera on a timer so you can run in front of it and be in the picture.  And as you’ve already noted, there’s no instruction manual.

11:31 am - Wednesday, January 20, 2010

#27 Antonio

The 480 model only have selftimer 10 s, 2s o custom.
This model doesn´t have face detection combined with selftimer


Today I bought my A480 and i found 1 pixel dead!!! new!!!

6:04 am - Friday, January 22, 2010

#28 john

Very pleased with the picture quality. BUT it’s cost me a fortune in batteries. When carrying around in pocket it is often switched on by accident so flattening the batteries

9:05 pm - Thursday, March 25, 2010

#29 Bboy G-Pau

My computer says “USB Device Not Recognized”
and “One of the USB devices attached to this computer has malfunction, and Windows does not recognize it. For assistance in solving this problem, click this message.” how do I work with this?

2:01 pm - Monday, May 24, 2010

#30 Rashid

i am using this camera when i print pictures date and time is not available on the picture. how can i put date on picture when i print?
plz any one who can reply me at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
RASHID KHAN
PAKISTAN.

11:29 am - Monday, August 2, 2010

#31 Pradip Telangade

I have purchased Canon Powershot A480 Model camera their function is found good in every use of photo making and shooting also.
I want to know the how many sd memory extend in this camara. please give info about and price list of sd cards. Thanks

6:50 am - Friday, September 3, 2010

#32 ror

Just bought at superstore $49.99 Canadian for the red model, black model is still $99.99

7:39 pm - Sunday, October 24, 2010

#33 Robin

Nice review. Thanks a lot, i need that.

4:03 am - Friday, October 29, 2010

#34 Kay

My A480 keeps telling me to change the batteries.  I change the batteries and it says it again and again and agin

11:19 am - Friday, November 19, 2010

#35 Lynx

I’ve had this camera now for about a year and a half and the photo quality for its price range is great. I’ve taken 3200 pictures for now. I think the ccd has a dead pixel, but it’s in the lower left corner and you won’t see it on pictures if you don’t look for at the full picture size.

Mounted on a tripod it takes excellent night pictures. batteries are lasting quite long because I use Niquel Metal Hydrade rechargables(at least 300pictures).

I also have a pretty old and pretty slow Powershot A400 that keeps giving great 3.2Mpx photos!

Now I think its time to move on up to a DSLR or a bridge camera.

I don’t think these cameras will brake any time soon, so it’s goig to take some time for that.

11:39 pm - Thursday, November 25, 2010

#36 shine

last Christmas i was still using my A480 camera., then when i was to use it again the lens was not functioning normally as it used to be when Im taking pictures before. and now when i turning on my cam the screen shows “lens error restart camera” so i turned off it again but surprisingly the lens wont back to its original position, it was stocked. the camera was turned off but the lens is still extended. what do I do? what was the problem of my camera? where should I bring my camera to fix the problem? i am from the philippines.

7:39 am - Sunday, January 2, 2011

#37 Lynx

Shine the problem yo are having might have something to do with the batteries you are using.

I’ve seen that happen a few times on some cameras, putting a couple of fully charged batteries in their place might fix the problem, but anyhows if its under the warranty I would go to the store where I bought it and fix or get a new one.

10:09 pm - Wednesday, January 12, 2011

#38 neeraj

I recorded video so many times .approx. 35 min. is being recorded. but in your specifications recording time is 1 hour. Alongwith full length video (approx 35min.) recording is not being copy into computer.
plz send me proper information .
why i m not recording 1 hour & full length movie is not being copied into computer.
NEERAJ PAAL

7:39 am - Thursday, March 3, 2011

#39 Latka

I just don’t understand, why this camera is more expensive than Canon A495?
All specs are the same.. but the A495 looks better!

4:02 am - Sunday, April 24, 2011

#40 Latka

I just don’t understand, why this camera is more expensive than Canon A495? All specs are the same, but the A495 looks better!

4:11 am - Sunday, April 24, 2011

#41 tintillon

nice camera - kind of like it - cons: looses date & time quite often; sometimes looses header information - what about a1200 as follower?

8:16 pm - Monday, May 23, 2011

#42 Lynx

Tintillon

I would try the 2200 or 3200 if there is no other newer model. The A800 is practically an A480 with new styling.

If you can go for an s model even better.

9:12 am - Tuesday, May 24, 2011

#43 Linda

I am getting a message when I turn on the camerathat says Lens error restart camera. I can’t take any pictures with it now. Can anyone help?

5:35 pm - Thursday, October 27, 2011

#44 Abdul Majeed Uqaili

I have Canon Powershot A480, last day it’s lense was broken & lost my all photos as well… Can you please guide me following;
1) How to get back my photos?
2) Is there any possibility to refurbish camera lense & what is the performance of camera after refurbishment?

Your response shall be highly appreciated.

Thanks & regards
Abdul Majeed Uqaili

7:40 am - Thursday, April 26, 2012

#45 Ron Gatland

Hey all, my power shot a480 I’ve had since 2009 has just developed a problem, like, lens error it tells me to restart camera but it makes no difference, the lens will not retract, any ideas.

1:53 pm - Thursday, June 6, 2013

#46 Jeff Hubbard

Excellent little camera for the everyday. I love the slow sync flash mode for selfies and for medium light situations.

2:48 pm - Thursday, January 2, 2014

Entry Tags

compact, beginner, 10 megapixel, 2.5 inch LCD, 3x zoom

Tracker Pixel for Entry