Canon PowerShot A810 Review

4.0
January 25, 2013 | Matt Grayson |

Your Comments

16 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 JS

Great vlue for the money!

2:58 pm - Friday, January 25, 2013

#2 Albin

I owned A1200 and broke it - the build flimsiness is a real issue.  I don’t know why anyone would buy this model instead of A1300 or A1400 with an OVF.  As you say, acceptable IQ, good color and excellent Canon button/menu system including “P” settings - can’t be beat for the price.  The CHDK enhancement for these cameras is in beta I believe.

3:23 pm - Friday, January 25, 2013

#3 JS

“VALUE”

4:48 pm - Friday, January 25, 2013

#4 Gautam Narayanan Photography

looks like good value for money ! I have a few more expensive Canon cameras and lenses and they are always top quality.

9:58 am - Saturday, January 26, 2013

#5 Mad Hungarian

I really hope that Canon will stick to Japanese manufacturing and won’t sell out. This camera is a cheap Chinese joke with a Canon sticker.

10:59 pm - Saturday, January 26, 2013

#6 max

you can see from the video file that it doesn’t have optical zoom when you make a movie.  It only has a bad digital zoom.  It’s bad.

6:36 pm - Tuesday, March 5, 2013

#7 har

CANON A810 IMAGE QUALITY IS BAD, LIKE 2 MPIX PHONE CAMERA / 16 MPIX INTERPOLATED CAMERA

4:36 pm - Saturday, March 30, 2013

#8 paul

Not impressed.This camera is slow to detect non typical settings in macro or artificial

light and the button is harder to press or doesnt take a picture at all when it

beeps.Instant photography or action photos are not possible.My previous Sony had half the

Mp rating and had much sharper macro photos without the confusion.Grainy images are seen in

viewfinder.Although it was a recent purchase,Walmart and Staples dont even sell this model

anymore.Canon has gone downhill from when I owned and used the AE1 and Program for ages.

7:00 am - Sunday, April 14, 2013

#9 anon

@har, I have had 650D with kit lens, and believe me, if this camera is not worth that $80, than 650D more so (ISO sets only in 1 stop increments (!), also other “bonuses”). If you want good camera, than buy Olympus, Panasonic or Sony for >$1000.

9:06 am - Saturday, April 20, 2013

#10 muhammet

@har, are you sure you know photography?

3:54 pm - Monday, May 13, 2013

#11 nishan

friends,
DONT PURCHASE CANON 810 POWERSHOT CAMERA…IT IS SIMPLY WASTING OF MONEY…VERY BAD CAMERA..WORST AND WASTE ONE AVAILABLE IN THE MARKET…

10:45 pm - Wednesday, May 22, 2013

#12 steg

It is horses for courses, this camera for the price takes decent photos and is a good click and shoot camera.

7:34 pm - Wednesday, June 19, 2013

#13 David

Got this little pocket camera back in Nov 2012, I’m not sure why people are moaning about this camera especially for the price you give for it, I am used to big SLR film and Digital SLR camera’s, Yes compared to a 3K DSLR this feels cheap plastic, however this is not a 3K camera it’s less 100 quid and in some cases less than 50 quid, I use DSLRs for my professional photo work, I needed a compact pocket camera for holiday’s etc something small and fairly light, this fits that perfectly it has turned out stunning results lovely clear sharp pictures, quality that you would expect from more like a 200 quid or more compact camera, overall I am very pleased with this product, this is my 1st ever Canon branded camera, I usually have Nikon, Sony and Pentax , I rate this camera 4.5 out of 5 the only reason for this is battery door seems a little flimsy and 2AA alkaline batteries seem run out quick compared to my previous compact camera. Otherwise I would have rated 5 out of 5

10:14 am - Friday, August 9, 2013

#14 Beverly

I purchased the canon A810 over a year ago, bought it right before i went to England and France and i was very disappointed, as all my photos came out blurry, and i cannot figure out why???out of over 100 pics i would say i got maybe 30 decent ones, i was gutted as i may never go to france again, can u please advice what i did wrong, or how to use the darn thing….in laymans terms.

7:37 pm - Tuesday, February 25, 2014

#15 kingsley

The macro image on this camera is kinda weird…it takes like forever to focus

1:19 pm - Tuesday, May 6, 2014

#16 Jim

If you are a gear junkie looking for something to get you attention or make you interesting to the other sex this is not it.

If you want a light weight, stuff in your pockets camera which works on any good AA battery power (2 x AA) that delivers excellent pictures with easy and when set on Automatic allows you to think more about the image composition you are striving to catch than settings. Yet still lets you record video with good sound at HI definition this is it.

Yes it can catch the noise of you using the zoom during movie recording or the zoom jerks between zooms so not smooth video recording. But at 30 - 50 pounds in your pocket, supply your own SD card you cannot knock it and the pictures do not go to mushy pea look when zoomed into like some expensive gear.

So if you want something to frighten the expensive gear attention seeker purchase this camera today !

7:17 pm - Thursday, July 3, 2014

Entry Tags

compact, 720p, 16 megapixel, beginner, 5x zoom, 2.7 inch LCD, canon, movies, powershot, Canon PowerShot A810 Review, a810

Tracker Pixel for Entry