Canon PowerShot D10 Review

4.0
May 8, 2009 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

35 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Artseenchicago

Columbia College Chicago’s MFA Photo Department adds two more Guggenheims to its faculty. Check it out at http://theloop.colum.edu/s/644/staffWide.aspx?sid=644&gid=26&pgid=252&cid=6455&ecid=6455&crid=0&calpgid=437&calcid=1132!

5:43 pm - Friday, May 8, 2009

#2 cheap

how come the Panasonic TS1, which is also shock proof and water proof, is not included in the Main Rivals section?

10:06 pm - Friday, May 8, 2009

#3 Adventurer

Can you post some underwater pictures?

5:41 pm - Saturday, May 9, 2009

#4 Anthony

Lots of waterproof cameras are showing up lately.  Seems like a new market.  The unique thing about this Canon is that it doesn’t use a folded optics lens, thus the bulky body.  Maybe Canon didn’t want to deal with the usual optical compromises that folded optics creates.

3:11 pm - Monday, May 11, 2009

#5 P.oster

An underwater pictures can be found here. http://www.canoncompact.com/sample-images#d

5:50 am - Tuesday, May 12, 2009

#6 John

I’ve owned 4 digital elph cameras from Cannon and LOVE their manual settings and ease of use. The one major draw back has always been how fragile they are (hence owning 4 over the years). I’ve always wanted to go with an Olympus or similar because of the more rugged build but keep coming back to Cannon for the quality of the shot, the user interface and the manual options.

This is GREAT news! The only major boo boo is the size… 5cm thick is about 2x as thick as my current digital elph…

12:19 am - Wednesday, May 13, 2009

#7 jeremy

seems very expensive to me

6:27 pm - Wednesday, May 13, 2009

#8 allen

is it a fixed price ? or an aution price?

a little expenxive for me

here is my album http://www.jerseyfaves.com

pics there are taken by canon camera

10:03 am - Thursday, May 14, 2009

#9 Cody

I purchased my Canon D10 online from FOTOCONNECTION and paid $279.00!! I received it within 3 days and have enjoyed crystal clear underwater pics and video in our pool and fabulous land photos. I will take it with me next week on a dive in the lower keys and will know then the quality while in the wild. So far…great camera. Versatile, easy to use both on land and underwater.

12:24 pm - Monday, June 8, 2009

#10 Best Digital Camera

Best waterproof I’d like to choose among others, Like the colour too..

2:07 am - Wednesday, June 24, 2009

#11 hh

just a warning to anyone who read comment #9 and is thinking about buying from fotoconnection, i’d google “fotoconnection review” first.  apparently bait and switch is their standard operating procedure (plus posting the occasional bogus, obviously over-the-top 5-star review).  after reading various reviews (of the camera), i think i may go with the D10, but i’m going to go with amazon (that’s the cheapest i’ve seen so far) when i do.

9:39 am - Tuesday, June 30, 2009

#12 Josh

Following up hh:

Google the the of any camera store you are thinking of using. I like the search “[name] review scam.”  I originally ordered from Delta Camera - another standard bait and switch shop. The $269 they advertised was going to run almost $400.  No thanks.

I paid $319 at Beach Camera. Maybe a bit more than some of the stores, including Amazon (which said shipping times were 2-5 weeks), but I got the camera in 2 days, no bait and switch attempts.  Good store - do your own google search.

As for the D10.  Feels good out of the box.  I am waiting on an 8gb card to show up in the mailbox (I ebayed that separately) but I’m looking forward to testing it out on a cruise in a couple weeks.

3:13 pm - Saturday, July 18, 2009

#13 Jake Styles

Excellent Camera. i bought one in Grand Cayman after my Olympus failed on me. I was almost happy that it did because the Canon has much better viewing. The pictures came out awesome under and above water! made some 8x10 that are proffesional quality. In Olympus defense they are replacing my old SW with the new Tough 8000. Now I get to compare!

5:33 am - Saturday, December 5, 2009

#14 Trisha

It leaks! This camera is not VERY waterproof at all. BECAREFUL. I have never taken it below 10 metres and the camera is water damaged.

7:30 am - Wednesday, December 9, 2009

#15 KM

How about housing? I’d like to buy this camera, but I want to get some pictures below 10 m also. The rival number one Olympus mju 8000 could be possible too and they have housing which can be used to 40 m?

12:18 pm - Sunday, December 13, 2009

#16 Deb

I’ve picked a D10 for our waterproof adventures.  I’ve been trying it out at home & am not happy with the time to take a picture.  The camera takes the shot, which is usually delayed - my subject quite often moves out of the screen & then stays busy while saving the pic & displaying it.  Does anyone else have this happen or is this a defect?

6:33 am - Tuesday, January 19, 2010

#17 buy dsi r4

I bought this for my wife for her Birthday and because we were going diving in Bermuda! I have a Canon SD800 and a diving case for it! While my case fogged up for some apparent reason. My wife took pictures from the top to 30 feet below of me trying to de-fog my camera somehow and the pictures came out crisp! Very impressed at 5ft and 30ft.

8:52 am - Monday, January 25, 2010

#18 TP-Cali Surf

I took this camera out in big surf (cause I surf) to take some pics of my buds and this camera buckled under pressure, the cheap leash it comes with snapped but I luckily held onto it. Both the battery and external video seals leaked under pressure. The pics I was able to take initially with the camera looked nice as well as the video, but this camera simply didn’t hold up under pressure. I am curious to try out another one, maybe I had a defunct one, or maybe this camera isn’t suited for big surfing conditions? Either way I’m interested in hearing any and all stories of users putting this camera to the real world test, not just floating in the bathtub taking pics.

8:47 pm - Wednesday, February 3, 2010

#19 TP-Cali Surf

PS…I looked at the competition that’s out there and NONE of them would do any better, they all looked a lot more flimsy and cheaply built in comparison. I don’t care that it’s big, I’m not a small little girl with tiny fingers. I’m big and need bigger buttons! I want good quality with a rugged true tested design.

8:50 pm - Wednesday, February 3, 2010

#20 KA

Dont bother buying this camera.
I have had it 7 months now and have LENS ERROR MESSAGES COME UP AND THE CAMERA FREEZE.

THE MANUAL TELLS YOU TO CONTACT CANON IF YOU GET THIS MESSAGE WHICH I DID THEY WILL NOT FIX IT UNDER WARRANTY AND WANT ME TO PAY FOR A NEW OPTICAL LENS.

I HAVE ANOTHER CANON CAMERA WHICH I AM NOT HAPPY WITH AS WELL AND WILL NEVER BUY CANON AGAIN.

11:04 am - Friday, February 26, 2010

#21 Laurent

Just do not buy it!

it is NOT WATERPROOF!
First time in the water, it filled up!
It is not my first waterproof cam, so I didn’t do anything wrong.
Add the poor image quality, and you have a very bad product,

2:22 pm - Tuesday, March 2, 2010

#22 Jules

Purchased this camera only for the underwater features. It’s amazing! Scared at first to take it too deep so hung in the recommended limit and some more 45’ -50’ it performed flawlessly!
So I went for the real test and down to 100’ everything worked perfectly :-) !
So why not go a little deeper I thought and off I went to 125’ It just didn’t turn on :-(  but the moment I got back in the 90’ depth it turned back on ! AMAZING!!!
Of course it’s at your own risk and why would wan’t to push the limits? Well in my case I wanted to be sure I could easily bring it down in the 60-70’ range without constantly being afraid of it breaking.
I do take care of it, by carefully cleaning all seals and lubricating them before each dive :-) So far so good ! And at a fraction of the cost of an underwater housing and camera this little beauty makes every dive a real blast !

7:21 pm - Sunday, March 14, 2010

#23 Rob

I purchased a Canon D10. This camera is rated to 10 meters underwater. It is endorsed by most diving organizations and diving magazines, internationally. I purchased this camera brand new and on first use it leaked in one meter of water.
I have been to canon, written emails to customer care, canon SA and canon America. The response is pathetic as not to be expected from a ‘professional global company.’ I have invoices and all necessary documentation and see no reason why this camera is not immediatley replaced.
I thought I was dealing with a reputable company and am deeply dissapointed in their response (or lack thereof!).
That their camera is not tested and shold leak in the first case is wrong, their response to this is criminal.

7:00 pm - Saturday, May 8, 2010

#24 Andrew

I love this camera.  I bought mine around June 2009 and have taken it on several beach vacations to Mexico.  I have taken quite a few underwater pictures and videos and they come out pretty good.  Above water pics are great! 

My wife bought an Olympus Tough underwater camera and it broke after a few months.  I have had my camera for over a year and have had no leakage or underwater issues at all.

Despite the size, this camera is extremely rugged and durable (I have dropped it on concrete several times) and takes great point and shoot pictures and videos.

I have had several point and shoot Kodaks in the past, but none rival Canon’s picture quality.  Highly recommend this camera.

1:49 pm - Friday, August 20, 2010

#25 Nikodem, the Son

The major reason why your camera leaking, is putting it into salted water. Salted water can enter into an absolutely sealed container. I don’t know about the Ocean, bu Mediterrian water can damage all waterproof things

9:03 pm - Wednesday, October 20, 2010

#26 dex

had a problem with my camera with flickering verticle lines when submersed in water. I sent it away the first time and it took nearly a month for them to change 3 seals and send it back to me. When it came back, the screen started flickering with the same lines while NOT in water. The product was in a worst state than when sent for repair!!. I contacted Canon and told them about the situation, they said to send it back to them again. I insisted that the retailer which I purchased the Camera from be credited back so I can go to them and get another product from a different manufacturer. This was the reply they sent me;

“Moving and focussing the camera the screen did flicker and lines showed up on the LCD. We then obtained another D10 and checked and tested this under the same situation and again the LCD showed a flicker and lines as your camera.

This phenomenon is to be expected. Due to no fault being found on your camera it will be returned to you.”

still want to buy one? expect to get a camera with problems, backed with rubbish service from the manufacturer..

2:45 am - Wednesday, August 24, 2011

#27 Rica

The lousiest camera ever! DO NOT BUY THIS CAMERA! Less than six months down the line it stopped working. I took it to canon and they would not budge. The worst buy EVER! Wasted our money on this crap. This is no way WATERPROOF! I was in Canon Singapore, Thailand….......they were super hopeless. Would not admit any fault and wouldn’t even fix it even though it was way within warranty. Please do not waste your money on this crap!

3:26 am - Thursday, September 15, 2011

#28 Ed Grant

For those who had their D10s leak… either you had a faulty seal or you did something wrong (like maybe not confirm that the hatches were securely closed and latched?)  Did you also rinse it well in fresh water and let it dry before opening it?  (to keep dried salt crystals from messing with the waterproof gaskets?)  Of course you did <wink>.

I’ve had mine underwater up to 3 hours a day for 5 days in a row on a recent trip to Belize and before that, 2 different trips to Curacao.  It has not leaked once.  It also manages to handle skiing in sub-zero temperature in the Rockies and sitting on the deck of my kayak off Vancouver Island.

Yes, I did get the lense error message once.  To cure it I simply turned the camera off and then on again.  As it fired up I gave it a rap with my knuckle; problem solved.  It hasn’t happened again.

It is bulky: but the lense is hidden behind a solid piece of glass rather than one of those silly “moving leaf” covers which tend to jam up with sand, dust and/or dried salt crystals and give you endless headaches.

For my purposes it is the 99% “perfect” outdoor pocket camera…I took 1% off for it’s size.

4:03 am - Friday, September 30, 2011

#29 Jordan Drapeau

I just received my canon powershot d10 from B&H and looks good. One thing that I am afraid of; IS THERE A WAY TO CHOOSE THE SHUTTER SPEED MANUALLY? because this is really important to me. The specifications say that the shutter speed can go up to 1/1500 sec. OK thats nice, but is there a way to choose it? We can choose the slow shutter speed, but I don’t see how to choose the fast shutter speed. Someone can help me please?

I shoot some shots in bright light and the highest shutter speed that I see is 1/40 sec; that’s not really fast. It’s impossible to shot action shots (somebody diving) with this shutter speed.

I can’t imagine that Canon have not include a mode where we can shot with a fast shutter speed.

PLEASE HELP ME! THANKS A LOT!

Jordan.

4:31 am - Thursday, November 3, 2011

#30 St. John

Do not buy this camera.  I received this camera as a gift in June of 2010.  I used it in August 2010 on my annual snorkel trip to St. John USVI.  It worked great.  Then I tried to use it a second time – in August of 2011—- it just leaked and was worthless.  I sent the camera back to Canon – they said they would send me a repaired camera – or perhaps a new camera for $161. They know this camera is not right – so do I.  When it works it is great – but it doesn’t work for long.  Don’t buy this camera

1:48 am - Sunday, November 27, 2011

#31 lorema

It definetly is a very good underwater camera.I’ve been using for underwater photography for nearly one year many times a week , no problem of leakage whatsoever as with the Olympus. One thing to deplore the display screen which is easy to scratch.

4:37 pm - Monday, December 19, 2011

#32 phil

i liked my camera canon D10 ,until i lost the screen while snorkling in Cozumel ,it went black out….  bought it in aril,2011 and it broke in feb 2012. it worked for 3 snorkling trips 2 in jamaica and 1 in south africa and broke in Cozumel in 4 ft of water,  just bought a new Nikon AW 100 for my next trip to Brazil will see if it works better than the Canon D10 in the long run.

7:43 am - Sunday, February 19, 2012

#33 phil

had a Canon D10 always took great care,rinsed it with fresh water everytime after using it, was good for 4 trips 2 in jamaica ,1 in thailand and 1 in south africa, last week in Cozumel, it broe and lost the screen…. just bought a nikon aw 100 will see in the long run if its better than the the Canon D10

7:48 am - Sunday, February 19, 2012

#34 greg

mine worked great for 2 years then drowned in 3 feet of water. How disappointing.

1:15 pm - Friday, May 4, 2012

#35 Jerry

Has anyone found an external light that fits the Cannon D10?

4:22 pm - Thursday, August 22, 2013

Entry Tags

compact, 12 megapixel, beginner, waterproof, dustproof, shockproof, freezeproof, 2.5 inch LCD, 3x zoom

Tracker Pixel for Entry