Canon PowerShot D30 Review

July 21, 2014 | Matt Grayson | |

Your Comments

8 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Fil

Sadly, to divers it’s just another teaser, as it still can’t be taken along on many a dive.

-25 meters is just about a third of what such a camera should be able to reach, regardless of the fact that this model now “leads” in the depth pressure resistability.

Also sad is the fact that a proper diver-usable camera can be made for about the same amount of money that Canon and other manufacturers spend on their underwater models development.

As the D20 looked outright silly, at least the shape of D30 shows some improvement. But this model still does not seal via reliable o-rings.

It seems nigh impossible to make manufacturers see the light and use simpler, cheaper and far more reliable sealing elements than those funny rubber thingies with time-restricted pressure exposure (!) that they insist on building-in now.

In short, this camera will be welcomed by water sportsmen which do not go deeper that the D30 depth rating, as it is sufficiently sturdy to withstand various kinds and levels of abuse.

However, the divers will have to wait (again), until someone out there among the manufacturers recalls that there once was a Nikonos system with models that were far more advanced in concept, design and water-related questions than all those “pocketable” boxes they dish out now.

12:49 pm - Tuesday, July 22, 2014

#2 Paul

Agree with the above, though was also a bit disappointed with the lack of underwater sample photos in the review. As one of the main selling points of the device, I wouldn’t have thought it’d be missed…

7:12 am - Thursday, September 4, 2014

#3 Bobster

Can a user expand on “The Canon PowerShot D30 has GPS built-in and can be adjusted in the Set-up menu”
How feasible/easy is it to toggle the GPS on and off?  The guy in the shop gave me the impression that you had to reset the whole camera to do it.  TIA

1:09 am - Friday, September 19, 2014



11:25 am - Tuesday, October 21, 2014

#5 VicJames

Turning on/off the GPS is a rather simple process in the settings menu. You DO NOT need to power cycle the camera to do this. You can adjusted in Menu > Change Camera Settings > GPS Settings ...

6:58 pm - Tuesday, December 30, 2014

#6 Craig Banks

This is the second of my underwater camera purchases I had previously purchased a Nkon Aw120 which leaked (probably user error) on an iconic swim with whale sharks.

This camera returned some wonderful underwater and beach images but the lens got scratched when I left in my dive bag.

Unfortunately “durable” or “tough"does not extend to the lens of these cameras as they will not cover it under warranty.

3:21 am - Tuesday, February 10, 2015

#7 albertina

Many underwater digital cameras possessed optional lenses. Do not hesitate to bring in these lenses to your underwater digital camera set. Macro lenses will certainly aid you catch tiny factors without acquiring stunning as well as as well close your topic.

9:04 pm - Friday, March 27, 2015

#8 Irma

Unlucky me, my Canon powershot D30 leaked after the second day of snorkeling in september. Before this trip I used it for 6 days when snorkeling in the Read Sea. I just got a new one from theq warranty. I suppose the leaking point was the other slot with the cable connectors, not the box for a battery. I do not need cable connectors, I can transfer the photos from the memory card. It would be one leaking point less. However, I liked my Rea Sea photos a lot. Let’s hope I works next sring.

1:21 pm - Thursday, October 15, 2015

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, 1080p, hdmi, 12 megapixel, beginner, 5x zoom, 1080i, waterproof, shockproof, GPS, dustproof, freezeproof, powershot, action, weather, weather-proof, canon d30, canon powershot d30, d30

Tracker Pixel for Entry