Canon PowerShot G12 Review

4.5
October 27, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

77 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 wyoming

i still can’t see the point of this kind of camera.
i started to do photo with a old beirette it has a fixed 40mm lens, only manual controlls and dimensions similar to this canon. but i bought it for a piece of cake and it does photo of the same quality of a 1000$ film camera.
but why should you buy a g12 or a p7000?
you can buy a s90 or a ex1 or a wb2000 and save 100-200$ you have similar performances and can put the camera in a poket.
or you can spend the same money on a micro 4/3 and have back better pics and interchangable lens.
who needs an optical viewfinder? who needs a hotshoe?

5:04 pm - Wednesday, October 27, 2010

#2 John Cantrell

My G11 takes reasonably good pictures, but is a disaster ergonomically.  The back right panel of buttons and wheel is esp. egregious.  Difficult to pickup camera with right hand and not engage one of the functions.  Infuriating to find you took a few shots with closeup mode on just because you were in a hurry to get them and grabbed for the camera with your right hand.  Happens all the time. Bad. Zoom control prehistoric,too… ‘way few steps.

5:16 pm - Wednesday, October 27, 2010

#3 Marshall

I agree with John that unless the G12 has solved the horrible ergonomics I’m just not interested. My G11 is virtually impossible to pick up without activating a control. The only alternative is to hold it like a fragile teacup by the edges and keep pinky fingers extended. No joke. I find that the controls are 1) too close together, and 2) far too easily activated inadvertently/randomly.

9:39 pm - Wednesday, October 27, 2010

#4 Laura Wright

Im looking for a simple to use camera that can be used as a cam corder also. Im tired of toting 2 objects and IVe heard they have these now. The one Ive found so far is the Cannon G12. Its just basically going to be used for family use as a sinlge parent. any suggestions or websites would be great considered.

12:53 am - Thursday, October 28, 2010

#5 C.Y.Leow

Still using my G9 and filming all my wife’s line dancing with it, great video quality! Don’t think I will upgrade to G12 ;)

9:25 am - Thursday, October 28, 2010

#6 Arthur

Looks fantastic. The only drawback for me is the only 5* optical. Is this teleconverter/ adapter that magnifies further by 1.4 a solution? Does it affect photo quality or other functions?
Thanks for letting me know.

2:25 pm - Friday, October 29, 2010

#7 dzign

Laura,

I would definetly take a look at the canon s95 as it’s cheaper and more pocketable.. Have fun ;)

http://www.photographyblog.com/reviews/canon_powershot_s95_review/conclusion/

4:32 pm - Saturday, October 30, 2010

#8 gfelsman

I purchased a G12 and have had it for a week. I did notice a quirk when using the flash on a black object. It seems to leave a yellow tinge around the black image.

Any ideas what may cause this?

5:55 am - Monday, November 15, 2010

#9 JP

I’m looking for a replacement for my trusty old G6 which now seems a bit archaic (its 5 years old !).
Have to say I am a bit put off this G12 by the comments above about the ergonomics of the camera and not being able to hold it without engagaing the function buttons.

11:57 am - Monday, November 22, 2010

#10 Jimmac

I am so very tired of people writing to denigrate the size and accuracy of th eoptical viewfinder on this and several other point and shoots.  I started my professional career some 53 years ago using a Leica “standard”  This little guy only had a very basic optiacl finder which was no more accurate than that on the G11 and now the Nikon P7000.People like me adapted and were able to get very fine images by compensating mentally with the errors of a non reflex finder.  Just take a look back and see some of the wonderful work of the 50s, 60s etc eras pros.

Sometime we just have to work around the foibles of our equipment and be thankful for what we have got.

1:06 am - Thursday, November 25, 2010

#11 Shirish

Ihave a G10 and just love it. Great results I use it as a point and shoot nothing much. If you start expecting handling like a pro DSLR that is a bit too much I feel just enjoy it. Looking at the G12 specs currently may look if the price drops or better discounts.

6:14 pm - Friday, November 26, 2010

#12 Steve

If you cannot pick up the G10/11/12 without activating a control - then you obviously have it turned on before you pick it up, which means you just put it down without switching it off and then picked it up some seconds later.
Where is the problem??  Personally I have zero issue with the placement of any of the camera buttons or dials.  And I love the design.  I have the Canon leather case for it and carrying it around is a pleasing experience.
The comments by Jimmac re the viewfinder are spot on.
In point of actual fact, shooting video clips in FULL SUNLIGHT is a breeze because of this optical viewfinder - I use it often and trust it.
At the end of the day, it’s like any other tool - learn to use it

2:47 am - Monday, November 29, 2010

#13 John Cantrell

2Steve…

You obviously don’t hike very much with the camera on a strap around your neck in cold weather.  You might understand better.  I’m an 58-year-old very experienced photographer.  The G11 takes generally nice pictures for an inexpensive digital but the ergonomics suck and the zoom behavior is inexcusable.  Even my little Sony T100 has a better designed interface (more efficient, less sensitive to mishandling).

4:47 am - Monday, November 29, 2010

#14 Steve

Two months have passed since your original post and you still have it? If you dislike it so much why not put it on eBay and let someone else enjoy using it.
I’m a year your junior and think the camera is a cracker ;)

4:59 am - Monday, November 29, 2010

#15 div

To gfelsman:
I have exactly the same problem :-(. Both Canon support and service conceal or downplay the problem :-(
I am unsatisfied and disappointed.

8:00 pm - Friday, December 10, 2010

#16 div

Answer from Canon support:

...On our opinion, it is not on any fault. This effect is when shooting in automatic mode is relatively common. The reason is that newer generations of digital cameras like the G12 used in comparison with older cameras higher ISO sensitivity thus achieved that the shots are more light. With older cameras are part of the frame outside the flash range (eg around the object and background) at a lower ISO darker, more significant is the part where the flash ranges. This effect is considered neutral and cold, and therefore in recent years, Canon has decided to use in the automatic mode higher ISO value. Images are both lighter and have warm tones…

My comment: warm tones are OK, but yellow shadows are not OK :-(

3:13 pm - Monday, December 13, 2010

#17 STYX

I agree with those, who likes optical viewfinders. Its so cruel, that nowadays you can’t get compact with OV, besides near any camera has turnable LCD, which is real pain in straight sunlight. Im not talking about overhead shots with STRAIGHT horizon, etc. OV+/or turnable lcd is must be.

7:01 pm - Monday, December 13, 2010

#18 C.Y.Leow

div,that answer from “Canon Support” don’t make much sense! Those were not their exact words are they??

8:51 pm - Monday, December 13, 2010

#19 kat

i need your opinion guys, i want to buy a camera that has great IQ especially in low light..what are your suggestions? is the canon G12 the right camera for me? im not totally into photography, i just want to take pictures wit my friends and go to concerts.tnx.

11:39 am - Sunday, December 26, 2010

#20 Chris

I am constantly hitting the flash button my mistake changing it form auto to off

3:20 am - Friday, December 31, 2010

#21 Doug Crompton

In your review of the Canon G12 under “Sharpening”, you say “You can change the in-camera sharpening level if you don’t like the default look”.  I took a quick look through the manual and couldn’t find instructions on how to make this change.  Could you please point me in the right direction?

Thanks

10:48 am - Monday, January 3, 2011

#22 Meiki

Not a comment about the G12 but about Canon’s misplaced buttons e.g. horrible ergonomy : I bought a nice little IXUS 105 - as I said - nice and little - had lot of fun with - but to grab it had to be very careful with no more than two fingers ! One day by taking it out of the pocket I incidently pushed the On/Off button (see “Top of the camera” in http://www.photographyblog.com/reviews/canon_digital_ixus_105_review/product_images/) - and here she went - objective tried to drive out while still in the pocket - clack , clack , clack - no more nice little IXUS ...
Seller and Canon refused to accept it as a warranty case because of “wrong handling by the user”

9:51 am - Tuesday, January 4, 2011

#23 Photofred

As a professional photographer (for 17 years) I was looking for an easy to take small digital camera. Because I’m using the Canon EOS top camera’s (1D and 5D mrk II) with great satisfaction I went for the G12. It seemed the right camera for my needs. I must say that I am rather disappointed by it’s performance. Poor image quality, bad ergonomics and rather expensive for this level of quality.
There must be better camera’s for less money around.

3:18 pm - Friday, January 14, 2011

#24 C.Y.Leow

Sorry mate, I mean sorry Fred; as a professional photographer (for 40 years) I say you are wrong! First of all you are disappointed because you expect the G12 to be as good as your heavy neck breaking pro DSLR! I have gone through 4 Gs through the years and the G12 is the best yet, features for features; even compare to other P&S. Go an read my blog!

9:57 pm - Friday, January 14, 2011

#25 Arthur

ABE’s of Maine offers a Nikura 58mm 2* lens adapter that they say can increase zoom about 2.5 times.
Does anyone have experience with this?

4:34 pm - Saturday, January 22, 2011

#26 Steve

>>In short, it’s a horrible camera. Avoid it.

I strongly suggest that you not only take your own advice but also avoid posting personal rants.
There’s is no softness of focus on my model so you must have a faulty unit, also if you think *micro-seconds* equates to *slow*, then you must drinking far too strong coffee too often, or you are simply a bad photographer.

Your feedback is non-objective and non-constructive, do us all a favour and stay away from the G series and stay away from this review..  please.

10:56 pm - Sunday, January 30, 2011

#27 C.Y.Leow

Someone has to tell him off! Good on you Steve!

11:03 pm - Sunday, January 30, 2011

#28 Ruth Duckworth

Hello, everyone.

I was wondering how this latest model compares with the G9.  I have the latter and absolutely love using it for landscape and macro (just as an enthusiast), but I find that it is too slow for fast moving subjects and low light (ie. concerts). 

Does the G12 go any way to addressing this and does the image quality suffer as a result?

Thanks!

4:23 pm - Friday, February 4, 2011

#29 JFC

Speaking for the G11, besides the half-second or more shutter delay in most circumstances (longer in dim light), the focusing is not even as good as my pocket Sony T100.  By that I mean both speed of acquisition and accuracy of focus in dim light.  On the other hand, the sensor noise characteristics (same as G12, I think) at higher ISOs are surprisingly good for such a small sensor.  For dim light I use Tv at a suitable hand-holdable shutter speed and select Auto ISO. Works better than nothing.  If feasible (and you have enough time to do so), you could manually focus to the hyperfocal point for the focal length you intend to use.  Also, if you are sweeping the camera to compose a moving target, you might try setting IS to panning mode, or even off.  I have found that disabling review helps speed things up also.

5:26 pm - Friday, February 4, 2011

#30 Ruth Duckworth

@ JFC

Thanks very much for the reply.  I’m going to try a couple of the things you’ve suggested with the G9 and then have a good think about the G12.

11:19 pm - Friday, February 4, 2011

#31 Fotocourses

A client recently had one of these on one of my photography courses. I had a G9 and while and loved it but you couldn’t use it in low light - too much noise an anything higher 100 iso.
The new camera has a better layout but smaller sensor and as far as I could see little improvement in low light.

12:53 pm - Saturday, February 26, 2011

#32 cyleow

Hello Fotocourses,
Your comment “as far as I could see little improvement in low light.”
How can you say that without testing? The sensor in G9 and G12 are WORLD APART!
G9 is useless from ISO400, G12 at ISO 1,600 still usable.
If you do not know why Canon used a “SMALLER” sensor, please go and find out before you shoot off! Duh!!

1:22 am - Sunday, February 27, 2011

#33 Sills

I have a Canon G10 which produces excellent photos. The only draw back is the size. Its not exactly easy to put in your pocket. As this is the case with the G12 I wont be upgrading. When will Canon bring out something similar to the Olympus Pen or Sony NEX?

3:05 pm - Thursday, March 10, 2011

#34 David

I bought this camera this morning and am 95% happy so far. My store’s warranty allows a 5-day return policy and I have decided NOT to use it, I want to keep this camera. I am a bit shocked though now at how much sheer disinformation and blatant falsehoods I read on the web while I was researching this camera that I now confirm to be absolute rubbish, to the point that I am convinced there must be an astroturfing campaign. Contrary to one claim I saw, the G12 does remember settings when turned off and on. I am also impressed at its performance in low light settings, and took some great shots of the wife :). Macro / extreme close-up photos look excellent. Photos from around a meter or two away, e.g. typical casual portrait type snaps, the quality is not quite as good as I would have wanted (but I gathered that already from my research).

There are NO, and I repeat NO ‘ergonomic problems’ whatsoever, I used it the whole day with no problems, going to town manhandling it, and not once did I click something I shouldn’t have, and I have found the controls and user interface and zoom PERFECTLY intuitive. Granted, I have some experience with this sort of camera, but still, I have found the user interface and ergonomics exceeding my expectations.

One disappointment: Cannot change zoom while busy filming video. Also, can’t shoot RAW in Auto mode - but that seems easy to mostly work around. Batter life looks very decent so far.

I know there are cameras in a similar price range that can give somewhat better image quality, but only if lacking in other features (e.g. video). I am not a pro photographer but someone starting a family, with a limited budget, and investing in one camera that should last me at least five years and give me decent family and travel snaps and videos, so I was looking for a good ‘all-rounder’ - something that ‘does everything, and an OK job of it’ - a jack of all trades camera - and so far the G12 fits that bill very well. I know it’s not DSLR quality etc. but dragging around and changing lenses etc. is not my style and doesn’t fit my budget.

My BIGGEST ‘wish’ is that the image quality were a bit better on ‘typical’ portrait / social type shots. But, I know this isn’t a DSLR. The G10 apparently had a bigger sensor and on some of the G10 samples, it really shows, so it’s a pity they seemed to go backwards there. I am a little over-obsessive about quality though, wanting quality I can’t afford, but 90% people will not see any problem, especially not for the role this camera is for. On the whole though, my pics have mostly been better than expected, based on my research. Also, there really are few or no cameras at or below this price range, offering better quality images (or not without sacrificing some other major functionality) .. I did a LOT of research before buying, studying hundreds of sample images of many cameras. That said, I do get the impression Canon no longer have a real major lead over their competitors in this section of the market and need to work a bit harder .. time was, buying Canon was a no-brainer, these days, it’s not so clear-cut anymore.

If you have and love your fancy DSLR then you are probably going to be disappointed by the image quality. But then HELLO you can’t buy a Volkswagen beetle and expect it to perform like a Porsche. This is a point and shoot, and it never claims to be more than that, nor is it priced like a decent DSLR, it’s much cheaper than even the lowest ‘semi-decent’ DSLR’s. It’s basically a “high-end point and shoot” not a “low end DSLR”, and for that purpose, I can see I’m going to be very happy with it.

There is no ‘softness of focus’ problem. I also saw a claim that RAW mode photos were blurry, this also turns out to be false(or perhaps a problem with a specific camera), as RAW mode photos look perfectly good to me - ‘slightly better’ than the JPEG’s - basically like the JPEG’s without the JPEG artefacts.

The G12 may be a little on the big and heavy side but I don’t mind something a little big and heavy in my pocket.

10:48 pm - Tuesday, April 19, 2011

#35 C.Y.Leow

If you had read my blog http://cyleow.blogspot.com/2010/12/canon-g12-best-of-g.html
you will see I fully agreed with your comment ;)

11:25 pm - Tuesday, April 19, 2011

#36 Tonyinaus

I read somewhere that a book had been written on how to use the Canon G-12.  Does anyone have info on this after-market publication?

Thanks

10:59 pm - Tuesday, April 26, 2011

#37 gene aker

I’ve been using film cameras—in all formats—for decades—and digital for the last 10.  I got the g12 as a travel camera and alternative to a Rolleicord and Nikon—I still use both.  I did a good bit of research on the high-end compacts. I’ve had the g12 for about a month. Think I"ll take it travelling in the coming year.  Like all digital camera—- I struggle with the menu/scrolling interfaces.  But no single camera is best in every shooting situation.  The g12 seems well thought out for a digital camera. I will report back after some further use.

1:49 am - Saturday, May 21, 2011

#38 Mark

Having come from a Nikon DSLR to the G11 and G12, I have found these to be fantastic cameras. The G12 in particular, is an awesome street and landscape camera. Yes you will sacrifice some features, quality, and speed, but there are many workarounds that are easy to use and very effective. I use custom settings and this has made a big difference in situations that once were near impossible with the G12.

I find the G12 to be a very complex camera that has the ability to make very good photos. It is the only P&S I have ever used that gave me hope for an alternative to the DSLR, in fact it has become my replacement camera. I print 8X10 and larger and have not been able to tell any noticable between the G12 and my Nikon D90,(so far), but time will tell.

My only complaint has been action shots, but I am getting very close to getting what I want. I shoot very little action and sports, so I knew going into the G11/12 this may be an issue. But for every problem there is a solution, and the action setting on the G12 seems to be a viable solution, as of now. 2 more track meets and the upcoming soccer season will determine whether the G12 will get the job done or not.

So far the G12 has been everything I had hoped, it has allowed me to travel lighter and still come away with good quality photographs.

7:50 am - Monday, May 23, 2011

#39 Tony

Yes, I am struggling a little with the action shots as well, but I have found the sweet spot for this camera is close-up or macro.

You said that you use custom settings for your landscape.  Can you give me some suggestions?  I am still on a steep learning curve.

ts

9:10 am - Monday, May 23, 2011

#40 Geoff.

In my opinion,the G12 is a great camera,it takes a bit of time to get the best from it,image quality is great for a compact,the camera can snap away with little input,or be pleasantly involving.
Great macro,landscape & candid machine.Depth of field is the let down on portraits,this applies to any compact,but you can work round this,either in camera or in editing after.
I have no problems with the ergonomics,and have large hands,and so fail to understand the critics in this area.
It is a very good camera,and I would recommend it to anyone as top of its class,well developed,versatile,with great image quality.

5:11 pm - Thursday, May 26, 2011

#41 Mark

@Tony, sorry for the delay, I just saw your question about custom settings. I have CS1 set up for street/grab shots and CS2 set up for landscape. I will post a link tomorrow when i get back home that will have in detail the set up of Custom settings I used. I cant take credit for the information, as this link was given to me. I just followed the steps for street shooting, then used the information to set up my landscape settings to my preferences. I do not have my camera with me now, but tomorrow when I return, I will post my landscape settings as well. You can use those as a starting point and adjust them to best fit your shooting preferences. Good luck and happy shooting.
Mark

9:20 am - Friday, May 27, 2011

#42 Gene Aker

I am a little sympathetic with G 12 and other camera bashing comments.  We all wish little cameras performed like big cameras.  We like little camera weight, but hate their size.  Hey, here are some:  I totally hate it that my Super Graphic press camera lacks the swings and tilts of my 4x5 Tachihara;  I hate it that my 35mm negatives suck compared to my 120 negatives. 
But you know what really burns me?  I hate it that my G 12 isn’t a phone!  My Android Incredible shoots nice pictures;  but why can’t I call my wife from my G 12?  Canon, come on.  Get up to speed!

6:41 pm - Friday, May 27, 2011

#43 Tony

Thanks Mark, I will look forward to seeing your setup.

ts

1:52 am - Saturday, May 28, 2011

#44 Mark

@Tony -
This is the link that I followed for the custom settings- http://lifespy.wordpress.com/2008/02/12/setting-up-snap-shooting-mode-on-the-g9/

Be aware that the site is specifically for the G9, but i found that the set-up for Custom settings is almost the same, and the settings seemed to work well for both my G11 and G12. There are some differences, but I was able to make it work for my cameras with no problems.

For CS1 my settings are the following:
This is for the function button
DR correction- Off
WB- AWB
My colors- Off
BKT-Off
Continous shooting
Flash at “0”
ND filter off
Aspect ratio- 4:3 10 MP
JPG
L

Menu settings are:

AF Frame - FlexiZone
Digital Zoom - Off
AF- Point Zoom - Off
Servo AF - Off
Continuous AF - Off
AF assist beam - On
MF Point Zoom - On
Safety MF - Off
ISO Auto settings - set to 400 max and standard
Spot AE Point - Center
Safety Shift - Off
Review - Off
Custom Display - all checked
Reverse display - on
IS Mode - Shoot only
Converter - None
Then I saved those settings to CS1

I followed the suggestions from the above referenced site and then made some tweaks to fit my shooting style. I set custom colors on CS2 using the sugggestions form the site for landscape shooting.

Both CS1 and CS2 are used in MF and I have CS1 set to f/4.5 and set the distance to just a notch below 10 ft mark. This is for grab/street shooting. CS2 I change the f-stop depending on what i am going to shoot. I use DOFMaster to make these calculations, I highly recommend DOFMaster.

Hope this helps some and you can use these as a base or starting point to get your custom settings dialed in to your shooting style.

Mark

6:26 am - Sunday, May 29, 2011

#45 Mark

@Tony -
I posted a long and detailed response for you, but the site says it needs to be approved, as it thinks it may be spam. It is not, but had a link that may have been the culprit. The site is legitimate and hopefully the post will appear in a day or two. If not, I have a secondary email I will post, can email me and I will give you the information I posted here. Sorry, I hope the post appears, it has good information on custom settings that was helpful to me, and I think will be helpful to you as well.
Mark

6:34 am - Sunday, May 29, 2011

#46 Tony

Thanks Mark for your help, I will look forward to getting the info.  If you need to just send an e-mail to .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

ts

8:15 am - Sunday, May 29, 2011

#47 Zoltan Arva-Toth

Tony,

Mark’s comment has been approved. As it appears with the original date/time (6:26 am - Sunday, May 29, 2011), you’ll need to scroll up a bit from here. :)

10:09 am - Monday, May 30, 2011

#48 Tony Sullivan

Mark thanks for your help.  The settings that you sent as well as the web-page has given me some fantastic information.  My camera is now a much better camera for me than before.  I think it has already been said that the G-12 is a great camera but takes a little while to get the best out of it.  From my estimation it is not all that user friendly, at least not for a beginner. But as I learn I am becoming more and more satisfied with the capabilities of the G-12.

I do recommend for the beginner that they take a photography class when they first purchase the camera, that is what I am doing and it makes a vast difference.

Thanks for everyone’s help.

Tony

4:20 am - Saturday, June 4, 2011

#49 Ky

I dont know where some of you guys are comming from, the Canon G12 all said and done is a great compact point and shoot camera and great if you want to compose something special and small enough to fit in your pocket of your cargo pants,(let’s face it most of us wear these at some point)
I have to add my G12 does zoom in and out when taking video.

5:34 pm - Tuesday, June 21, 2011

#50 Tonyinaus

Mark,

Just another quick note.  I had my G-12 set up for street shooting according to the notes on the webpage that you sent.  I saved it into C1 and everything worked fine.  NOW, I have adjusted some things and returned to save to C1 and the camera will not save the manual focus.  This is something I would like to have.  Any ideas?

TS

11:54 am - Tuesday, July 5, 2011

#51 Chis Berry

I went and bought one today - after trying out several “competitors” for about a week.
When it comes to Canon cameras, I must say that there are some models that I’m a huge fan of.
The love affair started with the A20 back in 2001. I was so impressed with the results that a family member that I helped buy the camera for got with zero experience, that I saved up and bought the A40, then A80 and then A95 as they came out.
The A95 has been with me longest and the others have all been handed down. The A95 had the Sony sensor bug and I decided to treat myself to the S3-IS while it was in repairs. Now the A95 has died (Dropped by kids after 7 years - but I think my wife finally had it with it)
Anyway, back to my story. My factors for buying a camera are as follows (and in no order of preference):
1. I Like Canon - the interface and the time it takes me to learn how to use something is valuable to me so something that is intuitive to me - having used a lot of canon cameras is important.
2. Decent zoom - I still have my s3-is which I might replace when it dies - or I might go DSLR.
3. reasonably small size. Midget cameras are cute but lack the gravitas of the occasion - which makes you want to do better.
4. something that works very well
5. something that works well with my metz remote flash (these are the dog’s nuts)
6. a retractable lens on a body not much bigger than the A95.

I can’t say that I’ve put it through it’s paces in a day but it’s all familiar. The colour balance is what you’d expect from a canon. The exposures are all a tiny bit low… work around it as it’s set for standard operation and for you to take control.
Where I know things get out of control is low light photography. It’s not an SLR but can you push the boundaries of operation in normal circumstances?
What I’m talking about is catching the moment at home, at night with the fluorescent energy saving lighting.
It’s good. Focus is sharp, with my external TTL flash it works 100%. I get great results at ISO80 at night - what’s not to like about that?
Daytime modes are going to be easier than before, and at 10MP, this camera’s better than fine.

cb

8:33 pm - Wednesday, July 20, 2011

#52 Tony Sullivan

I think you will like it!

8:40 am - Thursday, July 21, 2011

#53 Mary485

Have heard there is a replacement due out soon for the G12, possibly called the G13.  Anyone know the specs yet?

1:04 am - Friday, July 22, 2011

#54 Lao Tuo

I love the G12 ergonomics - its very handy to be able to assess proper lightening and fix it (the * button), compensate exposure and be in control of ISO - all via conveniently located buttons. Add the two scroll wheels - and I don’t know anything coming close to it. I also have the S95 - quite bit slower, lens is obviously more of a compromise and despite its satisfactory quality, this shows. Of course, both don’t compare and compete with DSLRs, and I don’t believe were meant to.
Reading previous comments - your mileage may vary.

4:20 pm - Sunday, August 21, 2011

#55 StuArt

Recently bought this camera, my first quality camera. I love it, it takes great pictures and once I have really mastered it, as I’m a beginner, it will take amazing shots I’m sure.
However, I found this site whilst looking for some help, I used the camera for the first couple of weeks after I purchased it and then CRUNCH, my Transcend 16gb SDHC card crashed and corrupted all my pictures, fortunately with the help of a local IT shop I recovered almost everything (the subsequently died during reformatting. So the reason I came here is for advice on which card to buy next, any sugesstions would be very much appreciated.

10:53 am - Friday, September 9, 2011

#56 Dror

Just got my new g12 and was amazed that ther is no info displayed on the viewfinder.
This is a major disadvantage for any enthusiastic user.

1:08 pm - Sunday, September 25, 2011

#57 Tony

Dror,

Could be you are in the Auto mode.  Switch to the creative modes and you will get much more info.  Also, push the DISP button on the back of your camera for a LOT of information.  But a not of caution!  Push it once you get the information, push it twice and you have a black screen.  Push it once again and you are back to normal.

I have had my G-12 for six months and am in the midst of a holiday and I think I could not have had a better camera.

Enjoy your G-12

Tony

5:08 pm - Sunday, September 25, 2011

#58 dror

Tony
i’m talking about the viewfinder and not the LCD
There is no info at all on the viewfinder in the G12

4:07 pm - Monday, September 26, 2011

#59 Tony

Sorry, the G-12 dosen,t have info in thw view finder.  That’s one of the diadvantages of not having a dslr.

Tony

4:43 pm - Monday, September 26, 2011

#60 Emily

I know very little about photography- would this camera be too complex for me? Bear in mind i would be very, very keen to learn all about its features from the manual if i bought it. I am struggling to form an opinion on the G12, there seem to be extremely mixed opinions of it. I just can’t see how canon could go SO badly wrong, like some of you are implying. I think it looks excellent, but i guess we will se…

8:08 pm - Thursday, November 17, 2011

#61 tony sullivan

I think the G12 is a great camera.  HOwever, I would recommend that you take a photography class to learn how to use the controls.  Don’t take just a point and shoot class take a class that will teach you about the creative controls.  That is what I did and I am glad of it and having a blast with my G12. 

But, let me say if you don’t want to take the class there is no need buying a G12.  There are a lot of point and shoot cameras on the market that can do as good if not better than the G12 when it is in the automatic mode.

The reason that I wanted the G12 was because of the manual controls and the quality of the lens.  I have been pleased with both.

Tony

9:53 am - Friday, November 18, 2011

#62 Riicckk

I have had several Powershot G’s in my time, and now have a G12. This version, like all the previous one’s do give very soft image results straight from the camera. Anyone who has just come from a Panasonic with a branded Leica lens will know what I mean. If you want pin sharp pictures, this is not the camera for you.
However if you come out of the ‘auto all’ settings, and do some menu tweaking then you can get some of the sharpness back. The detail is all there; it just looks too smooth.
Forget auto and program mode: set the camera to AV or Manual, keep the ISO under 400, increase the sharpness in the My colours menu, and it behaves like a totally different camera.
DO NOT use any of the icontrast or shadow features, as these seriously degrade the image.
Pity one can’t control the level of noise reduction; this is a serious omission on this level of camera. Even on a Panasonic TZ10 travel zoom, which incidentally could take ‘better pictures’ than the G12 under the right conditions, has the adjustable noise reduction settings. 
Overall however the G12 is the better camera, mainly for its bigger sensor, and lower noise at elevated ISO settings, BUT it is not perfect.
To Tony Sullivan: if you want a camera with a superior lens go with Leica or Panasonic branded Leica. they beat Canon out of the water for image quality.
Canon, give me some SHARPNESS…....

1:57 pm - Saturday, November 19, 2011

#63 JIm Miller

All very excellent comments..thanks for the custom settings Tony..and the G9 link!

7:43 am - Wednesday, February 1, 2012

#64 George de Bruin

I bought my new G12 about a year ago.  Excellent camera although it is not very easy to use. I need some good training before I will be able to take good shots.  I recently obtained a book by Jeff Carlson “Canon Powershot G12; from snapshots to great shots” which is a good “manual” for beginners. I just love my G12 and can recommend it to everone who feels serious about photopgrahy.

3:30 pm - Monday, April 9, 2012

#65 Tony Sullivan

I think you will really enjoy your G12, I know I have.  There are some things that you cannot do, it is weak in sport or action shots.  But it is so strong with portraits, sunsets and landscapes.  I would also recommend taking a short dslr photography course to acquaint you with the manuel controls. 

Have fun!

Tony

9:36 am - Tuesday, April 10, 2012

#66 Martin Houlton

I find the sharpness on the G12 is fine in RAW format, of course then all the sharpening is done in software on the PC.

8:41 pm - Tuesday, April 17, 2012

#67 Stu Morris

I had my G12 stolen about 3 months after buying it, I loved it and have been trying to save to buy a new one ever since, it was my first serious camera and so I was completely gutted by the loss. However, now there is the G1X and I think I might have to save harder to buy that instead. I am desperate to start taking photos again and I was wondering if waiting to save enough to buy the G1X was actually worth it over just settling for the G12 which I loved before. Even though I only had it a short time I was able to enter the Sony World Open Photography Comp this year and win a commended photo spot in the expo, so I know it’s a great camera and now I just want to get started again. What should I do?

11:22 pm - Tuesday, April 17, 2012

#68 Martin Houlton

Stu Morris, I don’t think saving up for the G1X is worth it. I would suggest the choice is not just between the G12 and G1X. How about getting a proper DSLR? For example, you can get the Nikon D3100 Digital SLR Camera 18-55vr Kit for under £400 ($642 US). A DSLR would be much better for creative use if you want to enter competitions.

10:06 pm - Thursday, April 19, 2012

#69 Martin Houlton

Stu Morris, correction the Nikon D3100 Digital SLR Camera 18-55vr Kit is $549.00 US. This being the World Wide Web, I don’t know where in the world you are. :)

6:52 pm - Friday, April 20, 2012

#70 cobia5

G12 is the best point and shoot I have owned. We have owned it for about a year now. I usually shoot with DSLR (Canon D60), although my wife likes the simplicity of point and shoot. She has no desire to learn about the functions or how to take better pictures, just simply point and shoot. She moved from film to digital in 2006, and this is her 4th point and shoot camera (Sony & Canon). The G12 is by far the best point and shoot we have owned for picture quality. We mainly use it for vacations and family outings, especially when I do not want to lug a heavy DSLR & equipment around. I like the convenience, versitilty and speed of the G12. It offers great manual control if you would like to expand your photography creativity. In my opinion, the G12 is the best point and shoot, compact camera on the market today.

11:28 am - Sunday, July 22, 2012

#71 Tony Sullivan

Glad you like the G12.  I had really enjoyed mine, however, one day I would like to step up to the D60 as you have.  But, until then its the G12 and my SX 40.  Together, there is very little that I cannot do.  Tony

12:24 pm - Sunday, July 22, 2012

#72 Shirish Shete

You are right the G12 is a really good camera. I recently upgraded to the Canon G 1X the results are really good except the close up range. the camera otherwise produces amazing colours and pictures. It is not very pocketable though.
Shirish

6:22 pm - Sunday, July 22, 2012

#73 charlotte Parker

Hi guys, Im looking for a camera that i can carry around with me for day to day life instead of my DSLR just so i’ve always got something handy. Im not looking for a replacment, just something to take pictures with when im on the move and cant lug around my DSLR. I was really excited about buying this camera, but after reading so many negative reports I dont know what to do.

ANY SUGGESTIONS WOULD BE GREAT PLEASE?! IM SO CONFUSED AS TO WHAT TO DO?!

10:18 am - Monday, August 27, 2012

#74 Tony Sullivan

As for me, you can’t go wrong with the G12. Yes, you can get something smaller and different, but you will be hard pressed to get something better.  Tony

11:28 am - Monday, August 27, 2012

#75 sameer

Canon G12 is one of the best Camera,every picture captured on Canon G12 is fantastic,it takes couple of days to get use to all the functions and settings and once you are able to set the modes,you can take any difficult shot with ease,even the Macros are great
Overall I rate this camera a 9.5/10

5:09 am - Wednesday, November 7, 2012

#76 Tony Sullivan

I agree.  I have had the G12 for over a year now and love it.  The landscapes, the macros, the casual people shots are amazing. 
I have just switched to using RAW rather than JPEG and also impressed.  The Canon Photo Professional software gives you so many options to process the RAW images.

Enjoy your G12

10:26 am - Wednesday, November 7, 2012

#77 don

btw,, it is very easy to zoom while shooting video with the G11 and I assume G12 also, you just have to make sure it is set to ‘Standard’ and not ‘Color Swap’or Color Accent’ during shooting.  A fine camera.

7:51 pm - Saturday, March 9, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, compact, wide-angle, 720p, hdmi, 5x zoom, dslr, 10 megapixel, prosumer, 2.8 inch LCD, vari-angle, optical viewfinder, powershot g12, canon g12, Canon PowerShot G12 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry