Canon PowerShot S110 Review

4.5
November 21, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

8 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 andyclad

Wow. Well done to Canon for this little gem. Much more refined than the s100.
The handling of noise is great for a small sensor. The lens may not be the quickest, but the increase of ISO to compensate for low light isn’t going to be a problem here. I still own a sx220hs, and even though it handles noise quite well (much better than my xz-1), the CA from the lens and the poor metering lets it down badly. This canon has coped superbly with the overcast white sky, nothing overblown or washed out. Crisp detail is shown with the brickwork and cloud cover. Again the leaf pic looks interesting because of the lack of CA.A much improved lens.
Thank you Mark for including the Brixton Costa pics. For me this has become a real reference point over the last couple of months. The s110 handles the low light, high ISO and importantly captures great shadow detail without smearing everything.
People, don’t be to disappointed with the raw pics. Remember, these are direct from the chip and haven’t been cleaned up and processed by the camera on board software, which has to really work hard with such a small sensor.
I’m really looking forward to giving this one ago. Its just a shame that the battery capacity lets it down a bit. Cheers for your review.

9:47 pm - Wednesday, November 21, 2012

#2 Hubo

Night Shot image not found!

9:27 pm - Thursday, December 6, 2012

#3 Dave

Sorry Canon, the RX100 is the new best in class. You waited around too long and made no real changes from the S90 to S95 and S100.

9:15 pm - Friday, December 7, 2012

#4 Nith

I can’t view sample images. I keep getting “403 forbidden” error.

4:19 am - Tuesday, December 25, 2012

#5 Sveyo

Great review, Mark :) Canon PowerShot S110 is a very nice pocket camera. Some extra zoom would be nice though, it is quite expensive for just 5x optical. I think there are some more capable cameras for $350 out there. 
Here is a quick unboxing video of the PowerShot S110
http://forconsumers.blogspot.com/2013/01/canon-powershot-s110-camera-unboxing.html

10:29 am - Thursday, January 10, 2013

#6 Elie Boujaoude

My colleagues and I bought 3 S100 cameras about 6 months ago. we were extremely satisfied with the image quality & the matchless convenience.

I used my camera really well travelling to Italy, Sicily, Dubai, Lebanon and other places. I shot about 3000 images and a few short movies.

However, the lens unit on my camera failed about a month ago for no reason at all. The same happened to one of my colleagues camera today even though she hardly used her camera.

Canon should pay more attention to the lens mechanism issue that caused many people to stop buying their products even though the image quality is really good. Reliability is a great issue!!!

I am so reluctant to advise anyone to buy the S110 if there is no assurance that the lens mechanism has been revamped.

2:13 pm - Sunday, January 27, 2013

#7 fred

Actually I am using since 20 years DSLR camera.When S100 came on the market I stopped using DSLR with its heavy gear.So we bought(my wife&I ) 2 S100 cameras 2 years ago.With an interval of 3 months the lens units are clamped without any reason during our last Patagonian and France journeys resp.—So no camera for the rest of our vacation (10 days)—-.We are told in my home town Istanbul by the authorised service,this can unfortunately happen by certain serial#‘s.The lens units are repaired without any payment.But since that time we don’t travel any more without a reserve camera.Photograph quality is excellent but we do no more trust to its lens mechanism.Now I will think twice before buying a new Canon Camera.

3:44 pm - Monday, April 15, 2013

#8 Mark

You have to wonder if the lens error will carry over to the S120 coming out in October 2013.  This has been going on since the S100 release, so this problem is still going on since the recall of serials numbers starting with the S100.  This is the main reason I have been hesitant of buying any of the S-lines, maybe the Sony RX 100 is the one to buy. I think the S110 and S120 (preview online) are great cameras but who wants to deal with a lens error later on the down the road.

2:35 am - Monday, September 16, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, 1080p, wide-angle, 12 megapixel, hdmi, 5x zoom, manual, wi-fi, touch-screen, RAW, wireless, touch screen, touchscreen, prosumer, touch, wi fi, gps, HDR, s110 review, canon s110, Canon PowerShot S110 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry