Canon PowerShot SX130 IS Review

4.0
November 12, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

113 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#101 Kelly

Hi…I have the Canon powershot sx130IS and love it however, I can’t figure out the best setting for indoor/outdoor sports.

When I use manual and set shutter to 1/2000 it’s great to capture/still the movement, but the pics are dark…how do I take them and still have them captured in natural light?  The kids/pet setting works only for relatively low motion type activities - I really need something faster, any suggestions?  THANK YOU!

10:48 pm - Sunday, February 26, 2012

#102 abhilash

Hey! I heard quite a few people complaining about the battery life. Apart from the rechargeable batteries can a AC adaptor, like Canon ACK 800 Power adapter, can it be used?
So if you buy that, you would not require a charger right? Just a couple of non-alk batteries is required i guess. please help. I am on a trip and nothing to click with and a lot to click at! :)

6:52 am - Sunday, March 11, 2012

#103 Emad

Kelly

try to increase the ISO and decrease the aperture

=============
abhilash

I am using NIHM rechargable battaries (Energizer), and it’s very great,, you can’t use AC adapter.

10:43 am - Sunday, March 11, 2012

#104 Emad

Kelly

try to increase the ISO on 1600 and decrease the apreture


————-

abhilash

AC adapter cannot be used with camera,, I am using rechargable NIHM energizer batteries and it’s very very great

10:45 am - Sunday, March 11, 2012

#105 SpartyGirl

I’m debating on purchasing this camera or the Kodak Z990.  I read some reviews for this camera on Amazon and a few people complained about dust inside the lens.  Some say that the lens isn’t sealed correctly.  Has anybody ran into this issue?  Was it a bad few batches?

6:16 pm - Wednesday, March 14, 2012

#106 Epicurus

I dont understand how some people can say that quality of photos is bad! I had a lot of different cameras and this one is the best. For some photos friends didnt believe that i made thinking i just downloaded from internet. All compliments for the Canon and this model!

9:53 pm - Tuesday, April 3, 2012

#107 vik

My canon lens is full of dust… i hold it in holster. in makro photographing dusts are very visible..
How can I clean it or fix this problem?

9:20 pm - Monday, April 30, 2012

#108 ajay arya

buying it today. if found best i am your complimenter or its a ####### shit

11:19 am - Saturday, May 26, 2012

#109 Adam

The reviewer has no clue. Why instist on f/8? It killed the sharpness both ways - by diffraction and higher iso. That makes no sense.

9:59 pm - Monday, August 6, 2012

#110 Flora

This is decent all around camera. Picture quality is dependable and poor picture quality is almost always due to my error. Two recommendations: First, do not use the low light setting, learn the camera and shoot manually. As with most point and shoots low light setting cranks up the ISO and results in grainy pictures. Second, carry LOTS of batteries. I have tried all types of batteries and no matter what this camera really uses a lot of juice. If you’re not willing to shell out some money for batteries don’t buy the camera.

This is a great camera for the novice. I started using auto and getting some very respectable pics. As you progress it also allows you to utilize the manual setting and have more control over your shot. No, it’s not a DSLR but you get what you pay for. For a P & S it’s a great little camera and not a huge investment.

1:59 pm - Saturday, November 24, 2012

#111 Kaitlin Bockman

I am having a lot of trouble getting action shots that aren’t blurry. I’m not familiar with photography at all but I’d really like to get some action shots. The kid and pet setting still takes blurry pictures! What is the best setting for taking action shots? Please help!

10:39 pm - Saturday, February 1, 2014

#112 Rajan

Hi Kaitlin - You can try using manual mode and set the lowest shutter speed possible. For action shots you will need good light so also set the flash to fire.

11:29 pm - Saturday, February 1, 2014

#113 prvn

i wnt to buy this cam..but i hv one confussn for this..hv this cam vedio recording or wt typ battery option or dis cam have sound recording wid video.

11:31 am - Sunday, March 30, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 720p, 12 megapixel, beginner, super-zoom, travel-zoom, travel, canon, prosumer, powershot, 12x zoom, sx130is, sx130 is, Canon PowerShot SX130 IS Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry