Carl Zeiss Vario-Tessar T E 16-70mm f/4 ZA OSS Review

March 21, 2014 | Mark Goldstein | |

Your Comments

9 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 DRO

I’ll own this lens next week, gonna shoot with it on my trip to Indonesia april 2nd! Maybe I’ll post a small review after it.

12:47 pm - Friday, March 21, 2014

#2 Cynthia McIntyre

Like all Zeiss lenses I am certain it is fantastic!

3:05 am - Saturday, March 22, 2014

#3 David Blanchard

I have this lens and use on a NEX-7. I put an order in for it the minute I heard about it. Took almost three months to arrive. Nice piece of work.

There are a few pics on my flickr photostream, but most of the HDR ones were done with this lens. It was an HDR workshop.

8:38 pm - Monday, March 24, 2014

#4 Michael Anderson

Plan on getting this as soon as my A6000 ships from BHPhoto as my first lens for all around use. Then get the ultra wide zoom and a 50mm 1.8 prime I’m guessing.

10:36 pm - Thursday, April 3, 2014

#5 lc1

I love this lens. It’ s not petfect with some softness in the corners , but in general it prpvides very good photos. I have this lens and the E 50/1,8 OSS on my A6000. I use the 50 mostly for portraits with a very good bokeh and the Vario Tessar for all the rest. All togheter is less than 1 kg.  with a very good quality. I use the 6000 more than my A99 ..

10:47 am - Friday, August 8, 2014

#6 gama

sample images are all soft

9:18 pm - Friday, February 27, 2015

#7 Cesar

I have been reading customer complaints abour QA on this lens. Anyone here had any issues with Bad lens?

6:11 pm - Tuesday, April 14, 2015

#8 BobS

I’m also scrambling to get user-feedback on this lens. The form-factor and potential (Zeiss) make it very attractive, but I’ve heard enough so-so feedback that I’m not yet willing to pull the trigger.

8:01 pm - Tuesday, April 14, 2015

#9 Ben

Does anyone know what the focus motor type is?

3:19 pm - Thursday, June 4, 2015

Entry Tags

review, samples, images, test, lens, zoom, standard, alpha, f4, Sony, e-mount, nex, kit, e-system, Carl Zeiss, nex-7, 16-70mm, 16-70mm oss, Sony 16-70mm review, Carl Zeiss Vario-Tessar T E 16-70mm f4 ZA OSS Review, Carl Zeiss Vario-Tessar T E 16-70mm f4 ZA OSS

Tracker Pixel for Entry