Casio EX-G1 Review

3.0
February 17, 2010 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

14 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Fernando

I’ve had a great experience with Casio Cameras before.
Great Post

http://www.alexanderjamesstockphotography.com

3:53 pm - Wednesday, February 17, 2010

#2 NoelArmourson

Will there be a firmware update for units marketed in the U.S. to allow movie clips longer than 10 minutes (EU standard)?

9:20 pm - Wednesday, February 17, 2010

#3 NoelArmourson

According to the information in the manual, the American version records movies up to a maximun filesize of 4 GB.  There is a YouTube movie setting with a 10 minute limit.

3:09 am - Thursday, February 18, 2010

#4 Liz

Nikon have a new D3S and apparently this video was made using it. Video people! Check it out. http://vimeo.com/9337388

5:26 am - Thursday, February 18, 2010

#5 camping food

Just got one for my daughter for X-mas. Wow smaller than I thought. Had to wrap it so I couldn’t really check it out. One thing I noticed is that it sure doesn’t take the knob much of a turn to pop the SDHC Mini card door. It is well protected but I could see a gloved hand popping that baby. I really expected some kind of interlock button. Maybe I missed it, and it will all be clear when I get to spend a little more time with it, or my daughter does.

7:16 am - Thursday, February 18, 2010

#6 Eddie

This camera gets an average rating from you.
But with 2 stars for IQ it is below average.
I rarely see this low rating for IQ in your reviews.

1:00 pm - Thursday, February 18, 2010

#7 Louis DeBarraicua

What about a higher ISO for murkier waters?  Otherwise, nothing really new here.

http://www.barracudavisuals.com

7:25 am - Friday, February 19, 2010

#8 discount pet coupons

I bought this camera as soon as it came out for x-mas and although i haven’t tested the durability, everything else is really great. Picture quality is good, lcd screen is clear, software layout is fairly easy to use, and so on. The thing i was really surprised by is how many picture options there were even though this is a tough camera; it really feels like casio took their exilim series camera (which i love) and stuck it in metal casing, which is probably exactly what they did. Further inspection on the rugged quality is required for a complete review for me though, we’ll see how it holds up in Brazil. Overall, i would suggest this camera to anyone, even if they don’t really need a tough camera its always good to be prepared even though it may cost more.

8:09 am - Friday, February 19, 2010

#9 Jess

Nikon have a new D3S and apparently this video was made using it. Video people! http://vimeo.com/9337388

1:18 am - Monday, February 22, 2010

#10 Winona

Got this EX G1 camera last first quarter 2010. Looks tough but not that really tough. Used it underwater for less than 5 feet deep in less than an hour. The camera gave in. LCD panel is not functioning or not working anymore. Water entered the camera eventhough compartments were tightly sealed.

2:33 am - Tuesday, April 13, 2010

#11 J-K

I bought this camera on vacation in Hawaii and it died after snorkeling with it for two short (about 10 min.) sessions… After the first one I could already see fogging on the inside of the lens. The battery and memory compartments both looked like they were sealed. Thankfully I bought it at Costco (who has a great return policy), and got my money back the next day. They said they had a lot of returns, especially because the memory compartments is ridiculously easy to open by accident (didn’t happen to me though).

1:16 am - Tuesday, May 18, 2010

#12 Vanessa

I´m so disappointed with the quality of the pictures of this camera!! I bought it to replace my 6 year old compact, 6 Megapixels, but I´m going to continue using it.
This camera is for kids to play in the water, but adults that don´t want blurry and foggy images, better don´t buy it. And the video quality is terrible. Looks like if you were in the foggy London all the time, even in the sunniest day.
I WANT MY MONEY BACK!! ?

4:52 pm - Saturday, January 29, 2011

#13 Darius Bautista

In My Opinion Still one of the best Waterproof Cameras all round, being past or current Waterproof Camers(2011)... Used to own an Olympus Underwater Camera and it eventually went downhill as well as Malfunctioned after 1 water visit, may have been the water or software but afterwards everything came out all pinkish hued… My boss also bought a Canon Underwater Camera but it too alas suffered underwater and left her waitting 3months for it to work again… BUT the Casio G1, been to 2 Beaches and now 6 Pools(all day and some nights) and still taking clear and watertight pictures, so i’ll stick with my Casio G1 thankyouverymuch, but may only change if they come up with an upgraded or far superior Casio G1-styled Camera… Mayyybe :D

4:48 pm - Saturday, August 13, 2011

#14 Photo art on canvas

My friend had one of these cameras last year and loved it. She said the photos were crisp and the colours really good. I didn’t get to have a go with it but I’ve seen some of the pictures and they looked really good - good enough to be printed on canvas or acrylic.

3:17 pm - Wednesday, August 24, 2011

Entry Tags

12 megapixel, waterproof, dustproof, shockproof, freezeproof, 3x zoom, 2.5 inch LCD, casio, ex g1, ex-g1, Casio EX-G1 Review, exilim, exg1

Tracker Pixel for Entry