Casio EX-H10 Review

4.0
July 22, 2009 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

46 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Robin

If you were able to take some noise-free and satisfactionary images at ISO 80-200, why don’t you show ‘em? I really doubt, that most people will be happy with that cam. I rather think, they’re buying it because of some technical specs and didn’t do any comparisons.
This is not why I’m commenting. I’m commenting because I suggest you to write a little bit more objective. At least there are many samples and people may get an idea of this cam themselves. That’s what I like. But do you as a reviewer really see noise free pictures? Or do you even see details and a proper image quality - with any settings? I don’t.

6:17 pm - Wednesday, July 22, 2009

#2 JHM

I don’t agree with you on that. I think the review is fair. The comparison against the TZ7 is fair. The only point in the conclusion is value for the money, this is personal. If you are looking for a compact camera with a good zoom for some average pictures and you don’t give too much on the video mode, than this camera is the camera for you.

Good review, I was looking forward to reading. Because your great review here I bought the TZ7.

JHM

9:20 am - Saturday, July 25, 2009

#3 Len

Thanks.

I have been looking for a hands on review since June 11.

One question:  Is there a way to set the flash to default to OFF so that I can be sure it is off when turning the camera on or changing modes without having to check? I like to shoot in environments where flash is inappropriate or intrusive and I hate it when I inadvertantly send forth the light.

3:21 am - Monday, July 27, 2009

#4 James Salter

I bought the H1O before reading this review and im glad I did as it is a great camera.  I have just got back from Africa and I took my new H10.  I didnt need to charge it for the whole three weeks I was there.  It took some amazing shots with the zoom and the slimness of the camera was great for fitting in my bumbag.  I would recommend this camera to anyone!

9:47 am - Wednesday, July 29, 2009

#5 NSB

I actually compared the Casio H10 and Panasonic TZ7 side by side in store, and went for the H10 in the end. It’s definitely slimmer and lighter, and I’ve been really happy with the results so far. Haven’t had to recharge the battery yet, and I’ve had the camera for around 3 weeks (and been using it pretty intensively). I’m a very happy customer!

10:40 am - Wednesday, July 29, 2009

#6 acfava

where can i buy this thing?????

12:32 am - Friday, July 31, 2009

#7 Jeff

I see this camera listed for $300 on the Casio website products page, but I cannot find anyone selling it online (including Casio).  Does anyone know where I can buy it online?

2:52 am - Friday, July 31, 2009

#8 Joep Fruman

When it was just out, there were no user reports to be found. I decided to buy the camera on specifications and see what I could get. Big (!!) disappointment. The picture quality was horrible and the video was very bad as well. I took it back to the shop the next day and bought the TZ7 instead. What a difference that makes, I’m a happy guy now with my TZ that I use when I don’t use my EOS.

Perhaps it was just the first batches of Exilims, otherwise I don’t understand the positive review above (it was really bad)...

2:44 pm - Monday, August 3, 2009

#9 Len

Still wondering whether anyone who has actually looked at it knows whether there is a way to set “flash off” as a default that won’t return to “flash on” when changing modes or turning off the camera, either with software controls or a hard switch.

Thanks in advance.

3:36 pm - Monday, August 3, 2009

#10 jmh

Really would like to see a close and personal review between the DCM ZS3 and this EX H10.  Leaning towards the DCM ZS3, but this looks and sounds tempting.  I’ve been satisfied with Casio Exilims in the past.

5:30 am - Wednesday, August 5, 2009

#11 Joep Fruman

@jmh

As you can see above, I had the Exilim first and now the Panasonic. There is a very small chance this particular Exilim was a bad batch from the factory (you never know), otherwise the Panasonic is much better ! What is for sure better regardless of the good batch/bad batch is the video quality and sound and the fact that you can use the optical zoom during your shoot. Also I found the overall build quality a big difference. The Panasonic feels like a decent robust camera, the Exilim is a piece of light plastic in comparison. On the other hand course the Panasonic is more expensive. It’s up to you…

8:38 am - Wednesday, August 5, 2009

#12 jmh

I haven’t had very luck with Panasonic products over the years which makes me leary with spending $400 on one of their cameras.  But with all the praise they seem to get for this camera line, it’s kind of hard to ignore.  After I wrote the comment, I had made up my mind to get a DMC ZS3 model.  This Exilim is tempting though, especially with saving a hundred bucks.  I prefer Leica versus canon lenses anyway.  Thanks for the response.

8:16 pm - Wednesday, August 5, 2009

#13 Jeff

I have a Panasonic TZ3 which is excellent, except it’s just a few mm too thick to pocket easily & slightly too heavy.

The Casio appears to fix both these problems.

8:02 pm - Saturday, August 8, 2009

#14 kaitara

Where can i buy this camera online?

3:53 am - Sunday, August 9, 2009

#15 jmh

From searching on the Web, I have found, Dell, Crutchfield, Vanns, Tristate, BHPhoto, Adorama, Amazon, 17th Photo, Buy, JR, and others.  Price seems to be around $400 which is why I had an interest in this Exilim.  $100 cheaper, lighter, and smaller.  But this time, I’ve decided to prioritize picture quality and just deal with a larger and heavier camera.

10:23 am - Sunday, August 9, 2009

#16 Joep F

Exilim is lighter, but really not that much smaller.

10:49 am - Sunday, August 9, 2009

#17 Johnson

Casio camera’s only perform well in bright light. It has been like this for ages. For this I prefer them over Panasonic camera’s, because the places I travel to are always bright and sunny. Panasonic’s colors are always dull (I always think the pictures have been taken in Russia).
Lastly the H10 is smaller, the battery lasts forever (don’t need to take a charger) and it’s cheaper…..

For me, an easy decision.

Oh, and it’s exclusive…..everyone else is carrying a black TZ7. Call me an idiot, but I hate having something everyone else has, even if it’s marginally better overall.

2:25 pm - Sunday, August 9, 2009

#18 Joep F

I made my comparison in bright daylight and stick to my findings that, unless the Exilim was an exemplary failure (bad batch in the factory), the Panasonic was the better camera. Indeed it is true that the battery on the Casio will last for a longer time and that it has less weight, but that’s basically all I can say in favor of the H10. If I had some more Exilim’s to compare I would have known for sure if they were all inferior in quality, but I have to base my experience on the camera’s I have tested. Personally I would rather have a good quality camera and perhaps carry around an extra battery , than having to accept inferior pictures and movies. I think the TZ7 is still a good compromise in that respect in terms of size, weight and quality until something better enters the marketplace. That won’t take long for sure, but the H10 is just not there yet (otherwise I would have kept it). That doesn’t mean the Panasonic is perfect of course, I have my wish list. Interesting to see what the real Tz-killer will be in the near future…

8:04 pm - Sunday, August 9, 2009

#19 manfred

I owned the Lumix TZ-5. But had to sell it because it was so frustratingly slow. On/off, focussing, zooming, review etc. Beautiful camera though, and built like a tank. But I really don’t know why it seems to always get good scores!

11:32 am - Wednesday, August 12, 2009

#20 Rick

Yeah. The TZ are built like a tank, and act like one: cumbersome, slow…
The TZ always misses action shots, so what’s the use of good optics?
I’m also eagerly awaiting a really good wide zoom camera. Their getting closer all the time….

11:37 am - Wednesday, August 12, 2009

#21 Jane

Bought the H10 today at Costco for $269.00

5:25 am - Thursday, August 13, 2009

#22 dehgcjk

http://www.lovepattinson.com

6:52 am - Thursday, August 13, 2009

#23 Cspar

I havent seen this at any retail stores here in CO yet. Costo, as mentioned above, doesnt have it here.

I was looking at the Pani ZS3 (TZ7) is nice, but 2 things that have me concerned are the size/ weight and customer service complaints. Some posters said their new camera had issues with the LCD. Pani cust service told them they would replace their new cams with refurbished for $135. So you get a 90 warranty for your weeks old $535 camera ($400 plus $135).

I had an issue with my Casio EX-Z750 which was fixed and returned under warranty, no worries.

7:01 pm - Tuesday, August 18, 2009

#24 jmh

I can relate to Panasonic’s waranty service issues.  I have been 100% against buying anything from Panasonic, having had previously purchased 2 products from them in the past.  A DVD player and a portable DVD player.  Both had problems within 90 days and I was infuriated with the fact that I had to pay the shipping charges plus service charges for repairs.  After seeing how much the total costs were for repairing what I considered new products, I would have been better off just buying new ones.  This is what scares me, with outlaying $400 for one of their cameras.  I see me kicking myself in the rear wondering if I will ever learn.  I do have to admit though, the positives comments seem to far outway the negatives with their cameras.  So I’m still tempted with taking the chance and purchasing one.

10:04 pm - Tuesday, August 18, 2009

#25 RTG

In CO you can find the H10 at Mike’s camera stores.  The lower Costco price is nice, but Mike’s includes classes for only $299.  Great deal for my wife whose a novice.

11:57 pm - Saturday, August 29, 2009

#26 Bob

I just got the H10 from Amazon sight unseen.  Preferred it over canon & panny for following reasons: can focus manually for tough shots or zero shutter delay; smaller than a wallet - I only take pics with the camera I choose to bring along - this is an easy pocket fit, fast shutter response - has a fast focus option with very low delay at cost of occasional mis-focus.  So far I like it - have not done critical image analysis (but see imaging resource). Yes, the flash can be set to stay off when camera is cycled on and off.

9:14 pm - Wednesday, September 9, 2009

#27 okazuya

i bought this camera n the result = best i ever had ,, before than ( dygicam)

7:33 pm - Friday, September 11, 2009

#28 AMMMM

Have this camera and like it very much, but…..
when I burn the HD (1280x720) video files to DVD
- using NERO 9 - the picture hang/stop.
Anybody know how to deal with this problem ?

1:38 pm - Monday, September 14, 2009

#29 casio is far beter than any other cam

Casio colour output is just real others not. That all. If you want record the event all other cam will do and if you want to reprduce the real colour only casio can. Not even Canon or Nikon. Rest doesnot matter. Enjoy Casio…..

10:56 am - Sunday, September 20, 2009

#30 Nicolò Cardobi

Hi to everybody.

I have one simple question… what are the menu languages included in the EX-10?

There is regional differences whithin the model?

I already look in the pdf manual, and there is only how to change the language, not the options available, regardeless what manual i download (Italian, north america and so on…).

Thanks a lot!

Best regards.

P.s.: please, if there is somebody that own this product tell to me in which state you bought the camera and what are the options available.

10:08 am - Sunday, September 27, 2009

#31 Ju

I had a TZ7 for a month or so before it disappeared at a festival, and now I want another camera, but not a TZ7 as that would be defeatist and boring. So I’m looking around, and it’s true (as said above) the colours on this Casio are great, and I love the low light/high contrast solution. The TZ7’s are ... musty, or as above, ‘Russian’ ...Soviet Russian. The video seems better than the photos - and with its zoom and good stereo, makes the TZ7 the obvious choice if video’s your main thing. It’s undeniably well-built and worked flawlessly for me. But I want something else…. might have to wait, but of course I can’t really… so maybe this is the answer.. suggestions?

4:25 pm - Wednesday, September 30, 2009

#32 Manfred

I finally took the plunge and bought the Casio H10 blind on internet. Amazing piece of kit. And what a huge amount of negative nonsense about this camera circulates around the net. But then, I don’t use it for filming… Pictures are razor sharp. Very fast response:, on/off, focussing, shutter: you won’t miss many foto opps. (As opposed to the lethargic Panasonics). It can be configured to an extreme degree. You can choose to keep nearly any adjustment in memory. There is even manual focus. In fact you can make 999 extra personal scene modes. I only made one: saturated, hi contrast black and white. At iso 100 there is virtually no noise. At 400 there is not so much noise as smearing artifacts. Best results were on 8MP, 100 iso, Fine quality, sharpening +1, Extra dynamic compensation.
Drawbacks: Macro is 7cm and hidden in a menu: too bad. You can keep macro on all the time, but it slows down far focussing. When switching to playback, the lens retracts quite soon, resulting in unnecessary retracting /extending when checking an image.

3:52 pm - Wednesday, October 14, 2009

#33 Lasse Babba

Funny story - the rather well-known Uschold Digi­taltechnik in Munich did a proper test on some 10 cameras looking at shutter speed, clarity, distortion etc. The Casio was the best and the Panasonic clearly was the worst. As they put it just because it says Leica on the lens (which isn’t even a proper Leica lens, just manufactured under license) people tend to assume that it has to be the best. Obviously it’s not.

8:50 am - Sunday, October 25, 2009

#34 Ed Kelly

Here’s what dpreview say’s about the panny’s.

As we’ve mentioned earlier Panasonic was the manufacturer that ‘invented’ the compact superzoom segment a few years back with the original TZ (Travel Zoom) 1. As a consequence Panasonic has had the longest experience in designing and making this type of camera and it becomes evident when having a closer look at the latest generation of TZ models (now called ZS in the United States) which are arguably the most mature cameras in this test.

The image quality of both cameras is up there with the very best in almost any shooting situations, be it bright daylight or low light conditions. As we’ve written throughout this review the gap between the best and worst is in terms of image quality is fairly narrow but the Panasonics have the slight edge over the competition at low ISOs producing images that are consistently sharp and detailed across the frame. At higher sensitivities none of the cameras in this comparison can cut the mustard but the ZS1 and 3 are simply not quite as bad as some of the competitors.

The sensors of the two cameras are not identical but looking at the output they must have a very similar design and unsurprisingly the image processing produces near identical results. The only obvious difference that we could spot is the ZS3’s occasional tendency towards a slightly warmer white balance than the ZS1.

All the electronics and optical elements of the camera are wrapped up in a solid all-metal body, there is a good selection of external controls and the menu structure is intuitive and straightforward. The ZS cameras handle well and are easy and fun to use.

The ZS3 is currently just over a $100 more expensive than its ZS1 sister model which is easily justified by the larger and higher resolution screen (which is much better than the ZS1’s) and the HD video mode. As a customer that leaves the choice with you. If video is not a priority and you can live with a standard resolution, smaller screen you get, with the ZS1, a camera that is very similar to its bigger brother at an attractive price point.

Overall the two ZS cameras offer the best image quality and the most balanced mix of features, build quality and design in this test and are therefore both easy recommendations. If you are looking for a take-anywhere camera with a super-flexible zoom range they should be your number one option.

4:45 am - Sunday, November 15, 2009

#35 marnix

I also have the Casio EX-H10
And in good light the pictures are good.
I also have the panasonic,the pictures are also good,but I find the pictures to blue and in most cases to dark to.
I think this small cams are all in the same boat.
small sensors,and small lens.
but I prefer the casio,it is sadly thrue abouve iso 200 the fun is over when you view at 100%
but for traveling,most of the time in good light,the diference is very smal.

And the person who ask if you can set iso start at 64 when you boot up the cam,No it is not possible,the cam start always in auto mode,but when you shoot,in normal light or good light,the cam pick always iso 64,one exeptional is when you zoom to mush the camera iso go up.
when you zoom back to wide de camera drop iso back to 64
have fun with this cam.

10:36 pm - Sunday, December 6, 2009

#36 JeePee

Hello. Does somebody know if this camera has an orientation sensor? It not indicated in the specs on the casio site and on dpreview.com it’s set to ‘unknown’. Thanks

10:53 pm - Tuesday, December 15, 2009

#37 Ronald

Can anybody please explain why the conclusion of this review differs from this test (In German)
http://www.chip.de/artikel/Casio-Exilim-EX-H10-Digitalkamera-Test_37993522.html

And here you can read the total test:
http://www.chip.de/bestenlisten/Bestenliste-Digitalkameras—index/index/id/546/

The image qualitaty of the EX-H10 is in this test much better that of the DMZ-TZ7????

9:54 pm - Sunday, January 10, 2010

#38 Bobbi

I just bought this camera from Costco (Kanata, ONT) for $289. I love it. I don’t know much about cameras, so I had to trust in the opinions of others. I just knew I wanted the best. And pink, but Costco oly carries black. I let you know in a year if I have all of the problems I had with my Canon!!

1:04 am - Friday, February 5, 2010

#39 Bob

To #37:
Thanks for pointing this out. Seems also that the much praised Panasonic TZ7 might have inferior picture quality when compared to its predecessor TZ5 and others.

2:02 pm - Sunday, February 28, 2010

#40 seo firm

This well-made little camera is amazing, and after considerable research and comparison shopping, I feel that the EXH10 was the perfect choice for me. It’s a terrific automatic “point and shoot” camera, (which my wife loves) but it also has plenty of manual controls such as white balance, sharpness, color saturation, ISO speeds, focus, etc.

7:04 am - Friday, March 12, 2010

#41 manfred

For having tried all possible cameras I would conclude this: The TZ series has the best lens. And so excellent image quality. But the TZ are slow, so you miss a lot of pics.
The Casio H10 is fast! It focuses and snaps fast. But the image quality is poor, too much noise reduction resulting in “watercolours” even at 100 iso. 24mm wide angle lens really takes in much more than TZ 25mm. Ricoh is also much faster than Pany.
So I’m waiting for the new Casio FH100! Maybe it will have the best of all worlds…

1:15 pm - Sunday, March 14, 2010

#42 Ned

I’m thinking if buying this EX-H10 camera.
How is the Video quality is it 30fps or less ?
I read somewhere that it was 15fps.  I have been eying a ZS3 to buy from the US for apprx $240.  I’m a bit torn between the ZS3 and the Casio

10:04 pm - Tuesday, March 16, 2010

#43 Vitas

I had my good old ultracompact Sony DSC-T9 which was the fastest and most handy camera I have ever seen, but I thought the photos are not so good in comparison to photos from my friend’s new cameras, so I bought Exilim EX-H10 because it had good reviews and also won over 10 another cams in a test.
I am slightly disappointed though :-\

- The image is visibly blurred on the left and right sides (which was not on my Sony)
- continuos shutter speed is not very impressive as it can do roughly one image every 2.5seconds no matter the resolution. My Sony can take 3 6Mpix picture serie in 3 seconds…
- it has troubles focusing when taking pictures of cloudy sky as they always seem blurry (you can see much more details by your eyes then the camera captures on the pictures)
- the image on the display almost never looks like what you actually get photographed! Especially in the evening or artificial light! I see the room, compensate the exposure to have it a bit darker, take a shot and then it is much brighter then what I want it to be (and then what is realistic) and what I saw on the display when I shot! Also the colours are often very different on the photo then on the display before you shoot. Just now I photographed a sun between clouds and it looked good on a display although the photos were all strangely into the yellow/brown. Setting the white balance to tungsten preset fixed it (why?) The same color problem happens when you shoot snow scene in the winter evening and street lamp light or in an artificially lit room.

I don’t have much experience with other cameras except that Sony ultracompat, so some of my complaints may be a bit irrelevant since all the cams may be behaving that way, but still I am very curious how the newest Panasonic would handle the situations I think Sony has a problem with. Unfortunatelly I will not buy it just to test it :-]

9:28 pm - Friday, May 28, 2010

#44 Greg Fester

I am at a loss to understand how camera ratings are assessed as recommended when the image quality is calculated as 3.5 stars, the equivalent of 7 out of 10?  Even allowing for all the bells and whistles of any particular camera its main purpose surely is to produce the best image possible. A recommended award should at least be 4 stars (80%)

9:41 am - Tuesday, July 27, 2010

#45 Jack

Just bought EX-H10 in New York store for $115. and after reading comments have decided to charge the battery and give it a try. I plan to use it on a trip to Europe for mostly outdoor pics.

11:29 pm - Saturday, May 14, 2011

#46 sylvia

my ex-H10 after taking picture it say Busy please wait so I can’t take another picture for a few seconds

2:02 am - Tuesday, April 17, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, 3 inch LCD, review, 720p, 12 megapixel, 10x zoom, casio, exh10, ex h10, Casio EX-H10

Tracker Pixel for Entry