Casio EX-H15 Review

4.0
April 28, 2010 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

28 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 John

I’m waiting for the more interesting Casio FH100 review…

1:55 pm - Wednesday, April 28, 2010

#2 kelsci

I have been looking over a number of casio models on the net. One thing that I can say is that overall their cameras shoot very nice color pictures.  On this model reviewed, the sample pictures overall fell into this realm along with something I call “image liveliness”, a desireable look to have on your photos and the same on high-def televisions.  In audio, the term would be “presence”.

3:19 pm - Wednesday, April 28, 2010

#3 Tim

I think this camera has the most amount of value for money out there. Online prices start at around €200 (around 175 pounds). In my opinion it should have scored 5 instead of 4 points on this point.

Furthermore the picture quality blows the Panasonic TZ10 out of the water. Especially if you consider the TZ10’s pricetag of € 300 (260 pounds).

Also, like Kelsci said, the colours of pictures taken with Casio cameras are pleasing to the eye.

5:08 pm - Wednesday, April 28, 2010

#4 kelsci

Thank you Tim. I have not seen pictures from the TZ10 but my brother owns the TZ5 which I think was rated “essential” here on Photographyblog. I thought the pics from that camera were quite good yet I like the pics from the Casio better perhaps because the Casio takes pictures that are more natural with fine color rendition where the TZ5 takes a “souped up snapshot.  It would be interesting to see a 720P video from this Casio model. The small amount of 720P video that I have seen from the TZ5 was quite astounding. The only thing missing from this Casio model is stereo recording but stereo recording can be a whole other ballgame since I have delt with that realm during the vhs linear stereo and hi-fi portable era.

6:16 pm - Wednesday, April 28, 2010

#5 Jason

I don’t have any personal experience with this model but a friend of mine has it and he loves it.

10:41 am - Thursday, April 29, 2010

#6 sd card

I bought a new EX-H15 yesterday afternoon and has been picking away like crazy, My results were very good so far, compared to my old EX-Z750. All pictures are clear out a bit, which is nice too considering all the features are best.

10:48 am - Thursday, April 29, 2010

#7 kai

seems all casio cameras can not zooming during video. they defintely need work on this.

11:55 pm - Friday, April 30, 2010

#8 Robert

Woah. The noise filter on that thing is *ugly*. The grass even in the ISO 64 samples retains virtually no details at all. If a camera produces strong noise filtering artefacts like that even at ISO100 and below, this clearly means the sensor is too small and/or the noise filtering is too strong. The results are *way* outperformed by e.g. MFT even at ISO 1600+, and the pixel size ratio is ‘only’ 8:1 (meaning that the Casio at ISO 100 should be able to perform comparably to ISO 800 on MFT). Sorry, but I will never understand how crap like this can get decent ratings.

8:18 am - Monday, May 3, 2010

#9 zebarnabe

Panasonic TZ7 beats this camera easily in image quality department… (and since it’s an old camera is quite cheap now)

8:19 pm - Monday, May 3, 2010

#10 James

I’m also waiting for the Ex-FH100 review!

12:09 am - Tuesday, May 4, 2010

#11 Tany

erm,....kai the H15 is able to zoom during making videos. The video can get a bit blurry, but the images are stil great. 

I for my part must say that the H15 is absolutely worth the money that it`s being sold for. XD

11:05 pm - Wednesday, May 5, 2010

#12 misch

Hi
I bought the H15 for Euro 229 last week. The few pictures I took since then are excellent, due to bad weather I did some indoor shootings of my little son and the photos are great.
The videos also are very good although you hear the noise while zooming.
The only thing I don’t understand is that the exposure times with flash are quite long between 1/40 th and 1/15.?
But great camera for the money, I’m looking forward to testing it under good and decent weather conditions.

1:33 pm - Friday, May 14, 2010

#13 Jerry Schneir

I bought the H10 and returned it since the screen was not usable in bright light. The H15 is usable is a very good camera. So far my battery still shows a full charge and i have shot about 700 images. My only complaint is the review time after the picture is taken. It is only about 1 second long which for me is far too short. I think the noise reduction that takes place whenever the lighting is not perfect does negatively impact shot to shot time. I bought my camera, tax included for $239 which is very good. An excellent value. It is one I am recommending to my photo students (seniors) who don’t want fiddle with aperture and shutter speeds.

9:02 pm - Sunday, May 16, 2010

#14 Bassem

Awesome camera, great pics. I was looking at the Sony DSC-H55, but the camera was bulky and cheaply built.  I have taken pictures outside and inside with the Casio h-15 and the pictures are amazing.  The premium auto mode is amazing.  It can detect grass, faces etc and automatically adjusts the aperture and flash for the best possible picture.  I even had people ask me if I touched up the pictures, but told them the camera did it automaticaly.  Go out and get an H-15, it’ll makes you look a professional photographer.

1:30 pm - Thursday, June 3, 2010

#15 JM

Hi, is the H15 available in the US? I can’t find it in camera stores here.

4:44 pm - Wednesday, June 23, 2010

#16 Jerry Schneir

I bought my H15 at Samys Camera for $239.  They have a web site you can check out.

11:58 pm - Wednesday, June 23, 2010

#17 JM

Thanks Jerry, but according to their website Samys only have the H10 now.

7:56 pm - Thursday, June 24, 2010

#18 hudson

Bought a brand new Casio EX-H15, made 75 pictures in various lighting conditions with no flash, and every picture has a small white spot in the same location.  Defective right out of the box.  Totally unacceptable.  I should have bought the Samsung.

9:33 pm - Thursday, June 24, 2010

#19 zebarnabe

@hudson

That might happen with any camera you buy… requires quite some bacd luck, but usually stores have a 15 day return policy for those cases… i hope you have it ;p

9:30 am - Friday, June 25, 2010

#20 Jerry Schneir

As someone has already posted, there are always some faulty cameras out there. From what I have seen from my students, the faulty cameras are very rare. One thought comes to mind, have you taken a close look at the lens to see if some foreign object is lodged on it?

I have now shot well over 250 images since my last posting, and am very happy. For those who have talked about the over processed images, i.e., noise reduction, just take it off the premium auto. This speeds up the processing and reduces the in-camera noise reduction.

Jerry

4:15 am - Saturday, June 26, 2010

#21 jose javier

the camera functions are ok, and operates quite good at dark conditions….but…it is not enough. the zoom is not usable at 10x ( wood has the aspect of plastic) and if you look at detail, this effect appears in all photos. I have a 4mp camera with more accurate images, because it seems casio uses a string filter or the lens are very bad. I have made some test using casio ex-h15, canon ixus 200 is, and two kodak :m580 and an old ls743 (4mp). The best accurate is given by kodak, followed by canon. The kodak camera is bad at night, but good quality of lens ( schneider) . what type of lens uses casio??? they are really bad!!!

12:36 pm - Thursday, September 2, 2010

#22 zebarnabe

@jose javier,

Looking at the samples those 14MP are really not resolving such expected detail… given the chromatic aberrations, lens are not quite to the point (i suspect they also lack resolution resolving power)...

Given the noise reduction/image smearing/mushiness, either jpeg processor or sensor are doing something wrong…  those 14MP look like 5-6MP ... but for a 200$ camera not all is bad.

In photographyBlog i found it a great way to compare detail resolving power when they test red eyes, the 100% crops really tell a story .. :)

Quite a drastic comparison:
EX-H15:
http://img.photographyblog.com/reviews/casio_ex_h15/flash_on1.jpg
S95:
http://img.photographyblog.com/reviews/canon_powershot_s95/sharpen2.jpg

4:16 pm - Thursday, September 2, 2010

#23 Jon

I own a casio EX-Z1200 and just bought the H15 expecting a better shot with the extra MP’s.. boy was i wrong.
its awful in comparison. the images look washed out regardless of mode, best shot, premium or manual.. in full daylight a pic taken on the z1200 and the h15 of the same place clearly shows the new model isnt up to scratch. ive actually sent samples to Casio showing them the difference. clear edges on one and pixel bleeding on the other.
The camera cant seem to take crisp lines and in some shots is actually having problems focusing.
If you have no interest in blowing up portions of your pics then the camera is sound but if your looking to get in to some of the detail. in my opinion, forget it. the samples on this site reflect the results im getting. hopefully Casio will issue a firmware update.. if its a fault that is.

10:26 pm - Sunday, September 5, 2010

#24 alcor

Ottima fotocamera. I difetti secondo me sono:
- il rumore digitale piuttosto evidente
- tempi di scatto lunghi con il fash (in interno utilizza quasi sempre 1/15 di secondo)

12:51 pm - Thursday, September 23, 2010

#25 Ujwal

Hi guys, I am not an expert in camera reviewing but I just hope that my review can help someone planning to but this model.

I bought this camera today. The clarity of the pictures is very good. The 3” LCD screen is excellent (it has 4 adjustable brightness levels).
****There is a strange noise during zoom adjustment. This is very strange and irritating. I am not sure whether mine is a defective piece or this is the problem with all Casio EX H 15 cameras..

Some of the missing features are “Panorama”, “Smile Detection” and “Face Recognition”. But it has so many other amazing features to compensate for the missing features.

The best part is the price of this camera.. its very competitive (14,000 rupees or roughly 300$)

Accessories which I got with the camera : 4Gb memory card, Camera carry case / pouch.

I also got a free gift with the camera.
Casio mini keyboard Model : SA-47.

7:57 pm - Saturday, December 11, 2010

#26 Andrew

I bought the H10 and is very good.  Can anyone tell me what is the improvement in H15 except it is just more pixel by calculation and some software feature upgrade. In Macro mode, it has been down-graded. Should H15 is better camera to buy as I got the H10 already?

Tks…

4:04 am - Monday, March 21, 2011

#27 Jerry Schneir

One of the differences between the two camera models is the resolution of the LCD. The H15 is far better than the H10. The rest of the changes are not major.

Jerry

5:58 am - Monday, March 21, 2011

#28 kelsci

While the sample pics looked impressive to me from this camera, I found the videos downloaded on youtube taken on this camera to be very less so impressive.  They seemed to have a lack of color and sharpness which just does not figure to me against the sample pics taken here.

10:19 am - Monday, March 21, 2011

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, wide-angle, 720p, 14 megapixel, travel-zoom, travel, 10x zoom, casio h15, ex h15, ex-h15, Casio EX-H15 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry