Fujifilm FinePix F600EXR Review

4.0
December 1, 2011 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

14 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Woodlander

I am not a Fuji owner, but there something I don’t understand. All the EXR camera reviews I have read miss the point concerning noise. Clearly they go for higher resolution at Fuji, so if you downsize the images they look as sharp or sharper compared to the competiton. Also, SN mode now gives 8MP, very good resolution for a low noise mode, these pics look better than 10 or 12 MP sample pics at ISO1600 taken with higher-ranked travell zooms in reviews. And SN mode is not just for taking pics with no flash in low light conditions. You can use the flash, just like with other cameras. Or?

7:24 pm - Thursday, December 1, 2011

#2 pat

This camera makes the most sense yet of ANY of Fuji’s 1/2 EXR cameras.  The price is right and so is the market.  Cool camera.

8:40 pm - Thursday, December 1, 2011

#3 Vladimir

What I don’t understand is why most of the sample pictures taken in bright sunny day are using high ISO 400 or so? It will be enough to set ISO at 100-200. I have Fuji Z800EXR and face the same problem: if you set ISO to auto the camera tends to use the highest ISO possible (not always but frequently).

10:26 pm - Thursday, December 1, 2011

#4 andy clad

Lots of features and toys, but for image quality disappointing. Its a real shame that this appears to be marketed as a boys toy bells and whistles super mega pixel must have.
For the money you cant really complain, which will soon drop even more.
But for the amateur photographer whose wanting to put maybe image quality first, I would say that in my opinion, you would probably be advised to look elsewhere. I’m a fan of Fuji cameras, (X10 please Santa),but my trusty F70EXR has better image quality compared to the composition of some of the review pics on here.

10:58 pm - Thursday, December 1, 2011

#5 paolo77

How to Shoot an EXR Camera

http://kimletkeman.blogspot.com/2009/10/fuji-f70exr-how-to-shoot-it-mkii.html

Thank you

10:51 am - Friday, December 2, 2011

#6 Bee Jay

I agree with andy. I think the camera looks great, but just like the F300,500,550EXR, IQ lets it down badly. Even at base ISO it still looks less defined than many other cameras. At 800ISO + it’s a real downhill trend. I don’t expect SLR performance obviously, but Nikon’s S9100 has far better quality images & Canon’s SX220/30HS far out perform the Fuji. And given they’ve both been out for a while, you can buy them for less than the F600. Same old same old I’m afraid, all talk and little trousers.

5:40 pm - Friday, December 2, 2011

#7 Warren Lyons

Based on the images seen here, the best way to shoot this camera is with a 357 magnum

4:13 pm - Saturday, December 3, 2011

#8 Richard Olpin

This is my third Fuji compact, having previously owned an F200EXR and an F30 (Amazing little camera) before that. 

Far and away the biggest disappointment for me is the ridiculously slow start-up time.  Only a handful of images on the card and yet it’s taking 8-10 seconds to start up.  Totally unacceptable for a compact. I’ve lost so many potential shots sitting waiting for it to get going while the moment was lost..

This one’s going on Ebay for xmas. Last Fuji I buy I’m afraid.

2:05 pm - Sunday, December 4, 2011

#9 Victor Kapas

I took a few minutes to process a couple of the raw files, and I would be happy with the quality. Not bad at all for a pocketable camera with 15x zoom.

9:45 pm - Monday, December 5, 2011

#10 Andy

I’m thinking of getting this camera as I though the f80 was a really interesting concept.

Can anyone who actually knows how to use the EXR sensor to it’s full potential tell me if the f550/600 is any good and what the RAW files are like

Thank you please.

12:46 pm - Tuesday, December 6, 2011

#11 Richard Udy

Like Richard Olpin I too had a problem with long startup time (about 9 secs), but it turned out to be the SD card.  Guess I forgot to format it.  Once the card was formatted the startup time was down to about 2.5 secs.  Apart from that I’m very impresses with the features, particularly the clarity of long lens photos.  Also not sure about the stories of GPS eating up the batteries - I’ve left it on continuous all day with no noticeable drain on the battery.

10:48 pm - Saturday, January 21, 2012

#12 Richard Olpin

As a follow up to my earlier comment. I discovered the source of the slow start up times.

I found that the camera is very sensitive to anything on the SD card other than exactly what it expects to find, which seems to result in it taking forever to start, presumably as it needs to re-index or ‘repair’ the card.

i.e. if you take the card and put it in a card reader to transfer files, (which is essential if you are a Mac owner as Fuji’s own archaic software is not compatible with the latest version of OS X) then it is essential to properly eject the card from your desktop machine rather than just disconnecting it.  Now, I’m very careful to empty the trash and properly eject the card and the startup times have now become negligible.  Much happier now.

11:59 pm - Saturday, January 21, 2012

#13 fiqqer

As mentioned the default setting for ISO is too high.  The first thing to do with any of these EXR cameras is to change the default setting to 200 or 400.  It is easy enough to change this to higher if needed, but really if you neeed higher choose the special night time mode.  The pictures come out far better than the sample photos this way.

5:46 pm - Monday, April 2, 2012

#14 Tom MacFarlane

I bought this camera and set the stills at 8mp.

I found the quality excellent, RAW was a bonus.

However, video was a different matter.

It lost focus whether I was zooming or not when I was filming wading birds on the shoreline.

Did I have a faulty camera. The reply to my review on Amazon suggested not.

8:48 pm - Tuesday, April 24, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, 1080p, 16 megapixel, travel-zoom, fujifilm, travel, GPS, finepix, 8fps, 15x, 15x zoom, f600exr, Fujifilm FinePix F600EXR, Fujifilm FinePix F600EXR Review, f600 exr

Tracker Pixel for Entry