Fujifilm FinePix F70EXR Review

4.5
September 29, 2009 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

32 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Cesare

Hi, I read the review of the F700EXR and I wonder if my camera was a fault product ! It’s difficult to share the positive advices about the F70EXR, the camera I had (past)  tend to overxpose , the corners at 27 mm and also at the max tele are soft, the Pro Focus Mode does not works at all , the Pro Low Light Mode works better but you need a static subject as this system need to take 4 shots in sequence. The PF is in my opinion unacceptable.  In short: I sold yesterday (that is the reason why I wrote ” I had” ) the FujiF70EXR , I rather prefer my Fuji F200EXR and if I need a bigger ratio of the zoom I use my Panasonic TZ7 that have a more simple SW, easy bracketing, and also a bracketing for the 3 different sizes 4/3 3/2 16/9 ).
The only real positive point of the F70EXR is the size and the weight , really impressive for a camera with a 27/270 mm.

3:19 pm - Tuesday, September 29, 2009

#2 Glenn Fernandes

The Fujifilm FinePix F70EXR is the ebst choice for photographers. The look is very decent and is very comfortable to hold in hand and shoot videos. The image quality is satisfying. I like the face detection technology. Overall, its great, worth buying.

6:31 am - Wednesday, September 30, 2009

#3 Packaging USA

Yah! I have used it have a Very decent picture quality, even in low lighting situations; useful Pro Low-Light and Focus modes; compact chassis; good color reproduction.

10:24 am - Wednesday, September 30, 2009

#4 IA

Cesare,

i have not played with this camera, but i share some of your disappointments - i am still to see the F70 compared AT 27 - 28mm in low light (not high iso, good light) to the ‘real’ competition, which i believe at presently to be : F200, F100, LX3, TZ7

11:10 am - Wednesday, September 30, 2009

#5 F70 owner

I think the author should revisit the EXR Mode section of the image quality page. The example images suggest the SN/Low Noise has much more noise/less detail in the shadows (look at the crops) than the HR or DR modes.

This is of course not the case. I suspect the camera has chosen a higher ISO for the SN shots. It’s possible you’ve also fixed the resolution and maybe this has a detrimental effect in EXR Mode, though I haven’t tested that myself. Either way those example images could be misleading.

8:28 pm - Wednesday, September 30, 2009

#6 DVR

I would suggest Fugi to fire its product designers and find somebody to put some inspiration into the design of the cameras. The F70EXR, F200EXR are both great cameras when it comes to the picture quality, but the design is astonishingly BORING and lackluster. Probably the folks at Fuji don’t understand that for a compact camera the look is extremely important. If those camera have a look’n'feel of Canon’s IXUS series coupled with the image quality Fuji has, this would be a real bestseller.

12:44 pm - Sunday, October 11, 2009

#7 CPC

I bought the camera 3 weeks ago and I used it to take photos at New York city on my vacations. The pictures are very good in spite of my lack of experience with the camera (I bought in NY). The only thing that bothers me is the the place the flash is, I was used to hold the camera with my right hand and I had a lot of problems when I was taking pictures with flash because my fingers would get in the way.
It’s a great camera at a great price!

11:35 pm - Friday, October 30, 2009

#8 koko

THis is not prefer compact cam. I Still can’t find one in the market (with long zoom, compact, high quality picture, good in low light).
When compare I would compare SX200, CX2, ZS3, ZR1. For long zoom lens (8x, 10x, 12x) picture quality isb’t as good as 3x, 5x.
So far i really enjoy the pictures from FX70.
like the zoom range 27-270mm, very comapct and useful. Also happy with the price. If spend the money to buy pana ZS3 though it has some features i like, i would go for semi-pro, not not a compact zoom.

4:49 am - Saturday, October 31, 2009

#9 Cesare

.

8:40 am - Saturday, October 31, 2009

#10 smallfreak

@koko
You won’t find that any time in the future. You just have to obey physics.

You can have
high sensitivity with low noise but big pixels (either big chip = big case = big lens = DSLR or small chip with small case and small lens @2-3MP)
You can have small case = small chip with high “resolution” (MP) but only with low sensitivity and much noise.
You can have a big zoom range but at the expense of more imaging problems (fringing, distortion, vignetting, blur,..).
You can have a great lens, tack sharp, fast, distortion free - but you just have to take 1 (one) focal length, like the famous 50mm on the SLR.

Everything any manufacturer of a truly small camera can do is to disguise the noise by applying more or less succsessful “de-noising” i.e. removing detail from the image.

I’m looking for a good 4-6MP pocket camera instead which almost automatically would produce less noise and much better sensitivity.

http://6mpixel.org/

You simply can’t trick physics.

4:36 pm - Friday, November 6, 2009

#11 PJ

I bought an F70 2 months ago after owning an F30 for about 3 years.
At first I was a bit disappointed and thought the F30 was a better camera but after getting used to the F70 and its menus and options I am very pleased with it. the pic quality is generaly fantastic for a cheap compact camera and after a 2 week trip to Bali the only complaint I have with it is that I still haven’t found the backlight setting. I have come to the conclusion that there isn’t one, which is a pain in the ass,. but I think maybe using face detection will compensate for that with human subjects?

5:57 pm - Thursday, December 17, 2009

#12 elijah

during the day the camera takes very good photos on EXR mode.at night low light i dont trust exr auto, it puts iso so high hence reducing photo quality.i ve tried to set HR iso auto[400]and with compensation its great..also SN auto[800] produced relatively good photos..another selling point of this camera is pro lowlight mode very good.another good thing is at night you can use night [tripod]very good with slow red eye flash,if your hand is steady you can also use this mode without tripod and indoor and night pictures r great.i ve found camera very good but you need to study it first.remember high iso does not mean better quality infact the lowest iso in camera called iso base give best quality…if you can take photos not eceeding iso 400 unles on pro lowlight mode…this camera will reward you.

1:33 pm - Saturday, December 19, 2009

#13 anakjovo

Oh hell, I never thought, getting an affordable compact camera that does overal jobs well, small/light enough for travelling can takes so much efforts i.e. reading & comparing the tech data, and reviews. In the end, I’m thinking of getting a Fujifilm FinePix F70EXR. Would I regret it????

7:29 am - Wednesday, January 13, 2010

#14 Lev

EXR mode is very useful. I have this camera 7 days, it’s very nice and userfriendly. Makes great shots in dark places.

5:05 pm - Saturday, January 16, 2010

#15 Jarkko

I’m gonna fetch 1 tomorrow. The reviews are the best in this class.

11:03 pm - Thursday, January 21, 2010

#16 moien

please help me,
I am in Iran and all 70EXR is “Made in China”
and 220$
I want know all 70EXR is” Made in China”?
or available Made in japan? us?
this price is good?
sorry for my english!

8:54 pm - Friday, January 29, 2010

#17 jen

Should I buy this camera or a canon SX200

10:24 pm - Friday, January 29, 2010

#18 Jarkko

Jen
Definitely this one. The sx200 has worse pic quality, can’t zoom while filming. Not saying that video is good in this one.

I think the choise is between this and panasonic tz7. Pic quality->go for this. Video->go for panasonic.

1:21 pm - Saturday, January 30, 2010

#19 moien

jen,
jarkko says correct.
in image 70exr>sx200
in video 70exr<sx200
but for me image is important.and I select 70exr.

12:31 am - Sunday, January 31, 2010

#20 Nina

Would you all recommend this camera over the Ricoh CX1? I’ve seen some mixed reviews but this one is cheaper than the Ricoh and quite a few people have said the F70’s image quality is better. Advice please? Thanks x

9:46 pm - Monday, February 1, 2010

#21 Mikeule

I’ve read a lot review. F70EXR is a good.
I’ve bought it and GREAT deception. Image are noisy, lack of sharpness even in EXR quality mode. My canon Powershot A95 was better in term in quality.
Impossible to zoom an image, because too destroy.
It seems like a picture paint (Monet).
I’ve read too that’s possible that my cam is bad. I hope that, because I’ve found very beautiful photos done with it.
I must contact my reseller to do an exchange
:-((((((((
ps : it’s true that’s this cam is a little bit too complex to use for a newbie

2:02 pm - Monday, February 8, 2010

#22 Nadira

I just bought my first Fuji F70EXR, after doing some test shots I discovered whenever I am in the EXR setting I would hear clicking/creaking noises -which last a few seconds. Is this normal of the F70? I don’t hear any noise when I am in Auto setting.

10:34 pm - Sunday, March 21, 2010

#23 op

Saying that this is 23mm thick is a filthy lie. It’s probably that from the narrowest point but around the lens ( ~50% of the area) it’s about 5mm thicker.

I almost bought this from the web but luckily went first to see it live.

I’d wish that the reviews wouldn’t just repeat the marketing phrases but do this kind of simple measurements themselves.

5:39 pm - Tuesday, March 23, 2010

#24 askhjc

I have owned an F70EXR for about 6 months now and have to say I am disappointed with the results. I have tried changing settings, recommended on the web and still cannot get decent results. I traded up from a Panasonic FZ7 and must say that I used to be really pleased with the pictures. I am particularly disappointed because I bought the F70exr based on the expert reviews. I am not saying it is a bad camera, but I believe the rave reviews from experts are overrated.

3:49 pm - Tuesday, May 4, 2010

#25 Cesare

askhjc. if you glance at the post number 1 you will see my advice , negative as yours.

3:54 pm - Tuesday, May 4, 2010

#26 slimfreak

I owned a F30 before, and I am very happy with the F70 now. Better dynamic pictures, nicer colours, usefull features and much more zoom. In low light not as good as the F30, but still much better than its competetors. Use the right ISO-settings to get the best pictures. Best value for money in its class-range.

9:00 pm - Tuesday, May 4, 2010

#27 salvador

I have the F72 version of this camera, bought last year on the basis of other “expert” rave reviews of the F70.  I wish had seen the sample images in your Blog before then because they show unacceptable levels of noise at ISO 800 and above.

My Canon Ixus 100 IS produces much cleaner images at these higher ISOs but unfortunately lacks the extra wide angle and zoom range of the F70/72.

I could not honestly recommend this camera for low light conditions.

11:55 pm - Sunday, June 20, 2010

#28 jonny

I have the f70 for six months now and I really like the photos that I took with it, specially in wdr mode. This camera have some issues with purple fringing in high contrast scenes, otherwise is a must have point and shoot.

12:48 am - Saturday, July 17, 2010

#29 avole

Apart from the noise which is too high in low light, the main problem of an otherwise OK camera is the lens. Frankly, any camera that displays this much flare and image washout with even a hint of backlight is not acceptable.

6:03 pm - Tuesday, November 9, 2010

#30 Bijesh

Hey guys,

I uploaded few pics taken with my f70 in picasa. Pls have a look. Any comments are welcome.

http://picasaweb.google.com/bijukris/JurongBirdPark?authkey=Gv1sRgCK7iw-CFssKY-QE

Regards,
Bijesh

5:59 am - Monday, January 3, 2011

#31 Anton

It would be nice to find a good resource on how to use this camera. I get impression that using EXR mode is like using AUTO but a little better. Many people say that you need to learn this camera to get better pictures then just leaving it in EXR mode.

4:20 pm - Wednesday, July 6, 2011

#32 mg

fuji f70 exr. it was fine till it broke. 16 month old. “turn off and turn on again” message repeatedly. fuji said it would be £80 to fix. asda, where it was bought did not want to know. so much for sale of goods act saying things should last a reasonable time. this camera must have been used for about 6 weeks out of 16 month. now looking at panasonic for a change.

6:57 pm - Thursday, September 29, 2011

Entry Tags

compact, wide-angle, beginner, 2.7 inch LCD, fujifilm, 10 megapixel, prosumer, 10x zoom, f70exr, f70 exr, Fujifilm FinePix F70EXR Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry