Fujifilm FinePix Real 3D W1 Review

4.0
October 1, 2009 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

33 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 néné

you can easily convert the photos and video with this free softs at this adress :
http://stereo.jpn.org/eng/index.html

It’s possible to convert in the fuji format and viw photos or videos in anaglyph in your computer

11:38 am - Thursday, October 1, 2009

#2 kurth

I didn’t see anything on ADV 2D Tele/Wide simultaneous shooting ?

11:13 pm - Thursday, October 1, 2009

#3 Carl Watson, New Zealand

It’s rather a shame a proper stereographer wasn’t asked to do this review. It displays little knowledge of stereoscopy.This camera is a great introduction to the world of 3D photography.As for viewing, the free SPM programme, converts the mpo files into proper stereo pairs effortlessly.Also the free SMM for the video side of things. It is not perfect, but a great start into 3D digital cameras.

10:18 am - Friday, October 2, 2009

#4 Brian David Phillips

While I agree that it would be nice to see a stereographer’s opinion in this medium, I think the review is worthwhile as a non-stereophotographer’s take on the beastie that is the Fuji Real 3D W1.  Those of us who’ve been shooting 3D for years can only judge the camera from the perspective of someone who knows the field.  Honestly, while WE will want the beastie, that doesn’t mean others will.  We would keep shooting 3D with twin rigs and arcane equipment regardless.  We want the Real 3D and are excited to see it produced, but we’re not the real test of the thing as a successful market, just as a niche satisfier.

3:16 pm - Friday, October 2, 2009

#5 Andrew Fear

Hi

Just a comment for the reviewer.  There is a system for viewing the 3D picture MPO files on your computer, with 3D Vision.  We just updated our photo viewer to display the files in full 3D.  You can even adjust the parallax live to create a custom effect.

Please feel free to contact me at NVIDIA is you want to see a demonstration.

5:30 pm - Friday, October 2, 2009

#6 Alison Scott

As others have said, there are lots of options for viewing .mpo files other than the camera and Fuji viewer. In particular, most people can ‘free-view’ stereo pairs in the cross-eye format without any special equipment. 

This is not the first 3d consumer camera; there were several very successful models in the 50s. It is the first production 3d digital camera (several small makers already retrofit 3d to existing cameras)

6:56 pm - Friday, October 2, 2009

#7 David Starkman

As already mentioned, there are many OTHER ways to view the MPO 3D image files, and it is a shame that Fujifilm have chosen not to expand their market by not offering information, or software, for other viewing options. The best current FREE software which will allow viewing in MANY formats is StereoPhoto Maker (URL: http://stereo.jpn.org/eng/stphmkr/ ). It is PC only. Convert the MPO files to side-by-side JPG pairs, anaglyphs (for viewing with Red/Cyan 3D glasses), Interlaced for 2D/3D monitors such as the Zalman Trimon range, and even DLP 3D TV formats, for the over 1 million 3D-Ready DLP TV’s that have already been sold. (The DLP TV’s further require an IR Transmitter and LCD 3D glasses). Not to mention the ability to make side-by-side pairs on standard cheap 4"x6” prints, or classic Stereo Card format (3.5” x 7” printed on 5"x7” paper), which may be viewed with low cost stereoscopes, such as viewers from http://www.loreo.com. The MPOs should also eventually be viewable on virtually any of the flat screen 3D TV’s that are currently being worked on by several of the manufacturers. Hope that adds some info for anyone interested in other viewing options.

7:07 pm - Friday, October 2, 2009

#8 Jas Paris

I am traveling in Tokyo, and just played with this camera and the monitor at Bic Camera (one of the larger Tokyo Camera stores) and I find the camera and monitor just great!  The video’s really do jump out at you, though the 8” monitor is a little small.  The system reminds me a little of the DIDIK 3D tv experimental tv systems of the late 1970’s which also used lenticular screens in front of monitors and a two lens configuration being recorded on some large format video tape of the time.  The Fuji 3D camera is selling for list price here, which is about $1100 for the two together.

11:34 pm - Monday, October 5, 2009

#9 Mandeno Moments

It’s good to see something brave and different from a camera manufacturer.

However, I am amazed that the reviewer says that the images are of “above average quality”. IMHO the image quality is awful, even by compact camera standards. E.g., at ISO 100 there’s no detail in hair (it’s just a smudge) and luminance noise is clearly visible (grey/black speckles).

I have a Canon compact that shows more hair detail and (sometimes) less objectionable luminance noise at ISO 800. The Canon’s ISO 400 is streets ahead of the Fuji at ISO 100.

For comparison with the Fuji, have a look at an ISO 200 shot from my Canon carry-everywhere compact:
http://mandenomoments.zenfolio.com/favourites/e14bb5849

This was shot with sharpening set at -1, and all I’ve done in editing is tweaked Levels and Curves, as well as adding a bit of sharpening.

7:36 pm - Tuesday, October 6, 2009

#10 wechseljahre

I have a Canon compact that shows more hair detail and (sometimes) less objectionable luminance noise at ISO 800. The Canon’s ISO 400 is streets ahead of the Fuji at ISO 100.

6:32 am - Monday, October 12, 2009

#11 Joe

I just bought this camera and love it.  I’ve been doing stereo photography for a while now and the W1, while not by any means perfect, has a range of capabilities previously unavailable.

This camera isn’t for everyone obviously - especially for those looking for something that has superior 2D performance.  But that isn’t the point, is it?

I’ve been showing it to friends and co-workers and they are completely blown away by it.

3:06 am - Friday, October 30, 2009

#12 Mark

Please post some sample mpo images that you took with this camera. As written above, they can be viewed with nVidia’s 3D Vision. I’m interested in the camera but would like to see some output files for myself.

-Mark

4:06 am - Thursday, November 5, 2009

#13 Chris

Great vest pocket f8 & be there stereo. Have tried out MPO files in stphtmkr & get a single 6Mb jpg - 3Mb ea L & R - plenty to play with.
BUT….the only MPO files I found fom the camera were on the Akihabara review site - and are these ever crap!!! Where can I fing a good example MPO from the camera that I can play with to convince me to press the “buy now” button? Fuji - you are invited to post a link, too!

5:02 am - Thursday, November 5, 2009

#14 David Starkman

There is a chat group for the camera at http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/fuji3d/ . There is a photo section where you can see photos that have been posted, and you can read comments by current W1 owners.

11:11 am - Thursday, November 5, 2009

#15 Carl

The W1 is a remarkable camera and a big step in the photo world.Synchronously operating shutters to capture action is giant step forward in motion analysis.  The advanced 2D lets you get exposure really right.  As a point and shoot it is producing sharp shots far more often than other digitals I’ve used. The digital files can be printed as gorgeous anaglyphs. The non 3D prints from are really excellent. The 3D movies are a cut above what you get from a common point and shoot. The advanced 2D for panoramas is easy. The synchronous shutters lets slave flash solve a lot of complicated lighting problems. 20 MP of image does wonders with noise reduction, a built noise mask at the start to work from. The “chrome” setting produces a image that looks a like ektachrome. Worth every penney I put in it!

10:26 pm - Wednesday, November 11, 2009

#16 Colin Davidson

There is a brand new way to view 3D photos on your computer and share them online without needing any glasses using http://www.start3d.com.

You simply upload the .mpo files created and the site magically turns these into “Piku-Pikus” that show the 3D effect on your 2D monitor. 

The REAL 3D W1 is brilliant 3D camera, particularly for action shots where you get this matrix-style effect of having time stand still.  My favourite Piku-Piku is this one:

http://www.start3d.com/5450832250/0022/5553271811543416

You can also upload stereo pairs of jpg images if you don’t have the fuji camera, but I highly recommend getting this camera as it is a really easy way to capture great action shots.

1:56 pm - Sunday, December 13, 2009

#17 James

Hi there

http://www.totally3d.co.uk is new site geared for all things 3D wether they be cameras, gadgets or films. Check out our site and let us know what you think.

J

10:46 pm - Monday, January 18, 2010

#18 Vsevolod

Latest version of STOIK Imagic 5.0.4 (http://www.stoik.com/imagic) can split MPO files such as made by FujiFilm FinePix Real 3D W1 into standard JPEGs, generate stereo pairs (JPS, PNS), and anaglyphs. STOIK Imagic is free, but some advanced features will require purchase of activation key after initial 30 days. Splitting of MPO into JPEGs is available in free version.

10:24 am - Tuesday, January 19, 2010

#19 Paul Barbieux

The Fuji FinePix 3D W1 take very good 3D pictures but… I’m very disapointed by the lenticular prints from Fujiprint in Japan.

These prints are very expensive and the result very bad : the result is not the same as on the screen of the camera, and I don’t understand why ?!

I believe that they try to “smooth” the 3d (progressive lenticular), and it’s not a good idea.

If someone has an explanation, welcome !

But don’t spend a lot of money to order a lot of pictures : try only 4 or 5 prints…

2:46 pm - Tuesday, February 2, 2010

#20 David Starkman

It is problematic to create a good lenticular print from only 2 images. Ideally a computer is used to interpolate in-between images to create more than two viewpoints to creat the lenticular. I understand that Sofmotion http://www.softmotion.com/ is offering better quality lenticular prints than Fuji. However, the best answer is to use the free StereoPhoto Maker software (web search to find the download location) to create side-by-side images on 4"x6” prints or classic 3.5” x 7” prints on 5” x 7” paper. Yes, these require a stereoscope to view, but the images are sharp and much more rounded than in the lenticular prints - even the best of them.

6:05 pm - Tuesday, February 2, 2010

#21 Derrick

Been reading this with interest, but be buggered if I can understand the jargon in heree, what ever happened to simple speak (for the people who dont understand it)
I just bought the camera, its on charge at present, I bought the viewer as well
i thought it wasnt a bad price, but I’ll have to see how the photos turn out, before I can make any views known
All my cameras are fuji, Z1, Finepix 9500, never had any problems with any of them, compact, easy to use, this seems pretty much the same
I’l probably give it a try printing a couple of pictures out, just to see if the 3d image is visible there
Now for everyone that speaks the jargon, give some of us a translation, because I dont have a clue what the hell you are on about
I like KISS (keep it simple, stupid)

6:47 pm - Saturday, March 13, 2010

#22 Frank Straford

I bought a FinePix Real 3D camera in November last year to update my film stereo camera that I have been using for decades and found that it suffered from fogged left-hand images under high contrast lighting conditions.  The camera was returned to the local Fuji repair centre and was replaced with a new unit which suffers the same problem but worse.  As a stereo photographer for many years I am not impressed with the photographic quality of the Fuji unit.

8:01 am - Sunday, March 21, 2010

#23 HxA

I just bought my FinePix 3D camera last month and I have no regrets with it. I have the photo hobby from 40 years and I grew up with many generations of film (from that amazing Russian “Start” photo-camera to one of the last generation Nikon film camera in 1997 or so). Then I was among the first people that experienced digital photo-cameras in Japan (when all the other use to say in reviews that digital cameras are toys that will never concur on this earth the film camera because the lack of resolution!!!) and now I’m among the first people with a 3D camera unit, an industrial one. I like to see everything with my own eyes and I like to give a try to novelties and to the new technologies. I played with 3D pictures before with home made devices and different ad-hoc procedures and I must say that Fuji 3D is the child of the next generation of “memories”. It’s a real pity that the magazine’s articles are made by 2D photographers that have no idea about what means 3D world, they always compare everything with 2D high or low end, professionals or semi DSLRs. IT’S ABSOLUTELY WRONG! It’a a bad approach, 3D has nothing to do with 2D, it’s like to compare an expensive car with a cheap helicopter! I would never exchange a flying machine with a super-car. In the same idea I would newer exchange my 3D point and shoot camera with my colleague’s new Canon 5D Mark II camera because it’s simply a 2D camera and that’s all, doesn’t matter how sophisticated is it. It’s something that belongs already to the past, something that will slowly disappear, like the film cameras and like the gramophone, tapes and vinyls. This is the human progress with or without our will. By the way, I recommend you to buy an at least dual core2 duo computer with an at least nVidia 8800 card, then a 120 Hz monitor like Samsung or ASUS + 3D kit from nVidia and I’m sure that you will forget about the 2D photography that started to die in September 2009.

12:38 pm - Wednesday, March 24, 2010

#24 rick

what kind of an idiot is taking 2-d “sample”-pictures with a 3d-camera??????

11:10 am - Saturday, May 15, 2010

#25 Bret Me

Got it from Fujifilm direct last week and it’s been absolutely fun. It’s heavy, but the 3D effect, while far from perfect, is just amazing. Often, though, I do need to play around with the parallax control a bit, and subjects at different distances would show up differently. Anyway, just an amazing toy. Probably not the best $600 I’ve ever spent, but I’m having so much fun and absolutely no buyer’s remorse.

8:33 pm - Thursday, June 10, 2010

#26 Derrick

Have to be really honest, if I had the choice again I’d pass on this,

Can’t print the pictures, only place to view them in 3D is on the camera or viewer (which rather limits the audience)

Can’t view them on a PC or laptop in 3D, they cant be posted and viewed on any website in 3D

Most expensive waste of time I have ever bought

Its another gadget that will be consigned to the bottom of the wardrobe

But in time, it will end up on ebay, I reckon (unless anyone here wants it, used once on holiday, viewer used twice)

8:50 pm - Thursday, June 10, 2010

#27 Derrick

Well, I tried the movie set up on this, tried it on a 3D TV, not impressed at all

I suppose it wuld be fine if there was another way of viewing the pictures rather just on the camera or viewer

Its on ebay now

9:13 am - Saturday, June 12, 2010

#28 Cy Cheaze

Is there any way to view the 3D video besides the camera’s own LCD?  Is there no means to connect it to an existing HDTV and (perhaps with goggles) see 3D video?  Does any consumer software exist to edit the video and create a 3D Blu-ray?  Does any PC software exist to play the (raw or edited) 3D video on a PC with an orindary 2D display and (with glasses) allow one to see 3D?

Derrick, how did you “try” the video on a 3D TV?  By what connection or means?

4:27 pm - Friday, June 25, 2010

#29 Derrick

Hi Cy Cheaze
        I used the cables that came with it (my TV can act as a PC monitor as well

I couldnt find any other way of viewing the pictures apart from the camera and screen, which was what REALLY disappointed me

I mean, lugging that screen into work to show off pictures, not really

I suppose the camera has its uses, but really its another gadget, expensive, practical no

I had a card in the screen, a card in the camera, but never found a way of topping off each card (filling it up) and they were 4Gb cards, but you can take a lot of photos, probably not all on one holiday, so you have to leave em on the card until next holiday
Impressed with the pictires, not impressed with the limited uses though

4:40 pm - Friday, June 25, 2010

#30 DDDaavid

Hi Cy Cheese,

There are lots of ways to view the 3-D images, other than the on-screen display. Fujifilm has just introduced the Fujifilm HDP-L1 Player and Remote (about $60 at Amazon.com, $50 at Newegg.com) which allows playback directly fromt he SD card to any of the new 3-D HD TV’s (not the older 3-D ready DLP TV’s), and 2-D if it is not on a 3-D TV. However, using free software called StereoPhoto Maker (google it) you can convert the 3-D images to side by side pairs or anaglyphs (red cyan glasses format) that can be viewed on any computer monitor. Side by side pairs can be viewed with a cheap viewer called the Loreo Pixi viewer (google it). Side by side prints can also be made with the software for viewing with the Loreo Lite viewer. The software also supports viewing on a 22” Zalman 3-D monitor that uses circular polarized 3-D glasses.

5:42 pm - Friday, June 25, 2010

#31 Cy Cheaze

If one loads the the HDP-L1 player with an SDHC card with 3D files shot with a W1 to an existing 2D HDTV, does one see 2D images or only a blur?  Does the player allow for generation of images on a 2D TV that, perhaps with polarized or colored glasses, one can see 3D?  The software sold to see 3D on an ordinary PC monitor “works” if one uses the cyan-red specs.  Does the HDP-L1 offer a similar mode, or require a 3D HDTV?

The fact that the 3D movie mode has only 640x480 resolution is a bit of a drawback, since any appeal of 3D will be diluted if the image looks grainy on a large HD screen.  The other problem is that, if the ability to share 3D video widely is still maybe a few years ahead, in the meantime one would want at least to be capturing 2D in HD.  2D in SD today, with only a hope of wider sharing the results in 3D in SD perhaps by 2013, would not be a great way to record an important 2010 event.

I see that Aiptek is to release a 720p 3D camcorder priced at $150.  Presumably, other firms may follow.  The questions are whether any provide better software, whether the output might be compatible with the HDP-L1 adapter-player, and so forth.  Were Fuji to announce a W2 with 3D HD video, that might be an encouraging sign that the firm will protagonize the 3D modes for another year.  Presumably, the HD 3D would have to employ an h.264 or AVCHD format to economize disc usage.  Would the HDP-L1 be ready for that?

For a while, Fuji had a great niche with 1/1.8” CCD compact cameras, which performed well in low light, but then “went herd” and fit its S10 with a little 1/2.3” sensor.  The W1 is a sort of Roddenberry departure from the herd, but to thrive in a 2D world is tough, like a sphere on paper.

3D videomaker vets pleas opine: is the art tough, even with high-end devices?  For instance, would a ball game or street parade in 3D be pretty much impossible?  Is 3D best either for a single central object at about 10’ / 3m distance?  Is the choice with 3D video either “in your face” (until you tire) or little at all?  Is there any sort of “soft 3D” that might enhance an outdoor shoot without becoming annoying or entailing continuous focus or resolution problems?  Does a a 3D videocam demand careful scene set-ups and controls, making it unreliable as a P&S travel companion?

2:13 pm - Tuesday, June 29, 2010

#32 DDDaavid

To Cy Cheaze and all. You have so many questions you will get more, and faster answers if you join the Yahoo chat group for Fujifilm W1 camera users. Go to http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/fuji3d/ to sign up. This is the best place to get and share technical information about this unique camera. I think the HDP-L1 will only show 3-D images on one of the new 3-D TVs (not the older DLP 3-D ready TV’s). To show other formats on a normal new model TV you’ll need a computer or laptop with HDMI output, and StereoPhoto Maker software. This will allow the images to be converted to anaglyphs (red/cyan 3D glasses) on the fly, or even to the format that older 3-D ready DLP TV’s used (with LCD glasses).

5:33 pm - Tuesday, June 29, 2010

#33 virtual tour

Fujifilm finepix is good camera…..

6:20 am - Wednesday, October 17, 2012

Entry Tags

10 megapixel, 3x zoom, 2.8 inch LCD, 3D, stereoscopic, 3 dimensional, Fujifilm W1, W1, Fujifilm FinePix Real 3D W1 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry