Fujifilm FinePix S200EXR Review

4.5
October 16, 2009 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

74 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 milan

Thanks for your very prompt review!I will be wait your reviews Canon G11 and Pentax Kx .

9:29 pm - Friday, October 16, 2009

#2 Wes Mason

nice Camera…I prefer Canon though.

4:00 am - Saturday, October 17, 2009

#3 wedding photographer bedford

A really great looking camera and cheap too. Nice.

8:11 am - Saturday, October 17, 2009

#4 Gennadii

???? ?????? 370 ?????? ?? ???? ???????...
? ??? ? ????? ??????...

1:37 pm - Saturday, October 17, 2009

#5 Richard

Fuji have done really well, I think, to have rapidly introduced two new cameras sporting the EXR sensor, following the revolutionary F200EXR (which I own and much appreciate) - and in both cases (the F70EXR and now the S200EXR)they have added features and operating controls which are better than on the 200. So although it’s the sensor which is the USP in all these three cameras, readers be aware: the two newer cameras have been improved all-round, and are very, very impressive!

3:48 pm - Saturday, October 17, 2009

#6 Rock Bourgow

Thanks for this first very complete test.
I am very interested to buy this bridge camera for christmas because i like the result in is HDR photo and is great possibility to use it at high ISO ( 800 ) with a minimum in noise.
I have a Panasonic FZ30 who is perfect at 80 Iso but deliver little noise at 100 Iso and more at 200 and up.

3:12 am - Sunday, October 18, 2009

#7 James Wright

How does it compare with the S100FS? Just wondering.

6:35 am - Sunday, October 18, 2009

#8 Gareth Jones

Looks like a very nice camera, but once more there’s that bridge camera compromise of the small sensor. Time and again bridge cameras are marketed as an alternative to a DSLR with the only difference being the fixed lens, but every time the marketing blurb fails to mention the small sensor. You will never get the same results with a smaller sensor.

Yes I know that they couldn’t make this camera with a larger sensor for the same price, but the uninitiated don’t know that and could be fooled.

12:43 pm - Sunday, October 18, 2009

#9 flo

Is made in China ?

4:24 pm - Sunday, October 18, 2009

#10 Rock Bourgow

You know that you can print a 11x16 po. with this type of small sensor Fuji EXR and nothing is wrong or noticeable for a human eye.I always do that with my bridge Panasonic FZ30 at 80 ISO. If you’re not a pro who done large large print it’s not so important to use big SLR (single lens reflex) sensor.But if you always done big cropping of your photography it’s sure that is a problem to use small sensor.For a normal use and a medium experience in art of taking photos i think that this type of bridge sensor is very adequate for non-pro photography.

5:01 pm - Sunday, October 18, 2009

#11 Gareth Jones

@Rock Bourgow

The size of the sensor is about much more than the resolution. For example there are issues with depth of field. Let’s say you want to take a head and shoulders portrait where only the subject is in focus. With a large sensor you can achieve this from a relatively close range. With a tiny sensor the much shorter focal length will give a much greater depth of field and therefore make the effect impossible to achieve. Unless of course you can stand much further away and use a longer lens, often not an option when shooting indoors or for intimate shots in crowd situations like candids at weddings.

And lets not get into things like increased noise from an over populated sensor.

5:31 pm - Sunday, October 18, 2009

#12 Burns

Where are the RAW files ?? (links error)

5:46 pm - Sunday, October 18, 2009

#13 Rock Bourgow

@ Gareth Jones

I think you do a mistake with the depth of field.

If the combination of your camera and lens give a real focal lenght of 40mm on a big or a small sensor you will have the same short depth of field at an aperture F4 and more depth of field at F8 and more at F11.

When you use pocket camera you don’t have the real focal lenght and aperture and it is the reason why the depth of field is always very great.

When a bridge camera tell you is a 33mm to 430mm you have a real number for the combination and assembling of the camera and lens.

May be other person can confirm this !

I’m checking the price for the Finepix S200 ERX
here in Quebec Canada and if my friend who is a resellers give me a good discount i will take it in next week.

8:59 pm - Sunday, October 18, 2009

#14 Gareth Jones

@Rock

Sorry I think you misunderstood me. To get a particular field of view on a smaller sensor the required focal length will be shorter, and therefore the depth of field for the same aperture will be greater.

9:46 pm - Sunday, October 18, 2009

#15 Mark Goldstein

Apologies, the RAW files are now working.

9:20 am - Monday, October 19, 2009

#16 mihaitzateo

Just curious why this camera from Fuji (s200exr) did not received 5 stars for image quality while s9100fd (s9600fd) from Fuji received 5 stars?

9:41 am - Friday, October 23, 2009

#17 Tomaz

@Rock and Gareth Jones

Fuji’s using software tricks to achieve a SLR-like aperture performance by taking multiple shots and combining them together. To me it didn’t work very well, but anyhow, while it’s not SLR, it does come pretty close for most people.

@flo: Yes.

@James Wright

Apart from screen at the back they look almost identical. Lens are nearly identical and experience a similar level of CA, which isn’t so nice to look at, but then again no worse than Canon EOS400D rubbish kit lens.

There’s the flash socket missing at the bottom below the lens also, but looking at both in front of me I can’t find any other differences. Except maybe S200 doesn’t take XD card… seems slot is different.

The big difference of course is the EXR sensor and associated ease of use.

Personally I must say that I am enjoying the S200, the way it handles and feels in the hands, though I would not make default settings to ISO 1600, Large size and Normal quality of JPGs like what Fuji did.

Just my 2 cents…

5:26 pm - Friday, October 30, 2009

#18 Nos

Fujifilm FinePix S200EXR - Image Quality: 4.5

Canon PowerShot SX20 IS - Image Quality: 3.5

What do you base image quality on? Have you taken a closer look at people’s hair in the sample images of both cameras?

5:44 pm - Saturday, October 31, 2009

#19 ????

???? ? ???????? ??????????? ?????? ??? Fuji. ? ??? ???? ?????????? ??? ?????????? ? ???????????? ??????. ?????, ?? ?????????? ???????? ? ?????? ?????????. ?????, ?? ???? ???????? LCD ??????. ?????? ? ?????? ??????? ?? ??????.
????? ?? ????????? ?????, ??? ? ?? ??????? ? ????? ?????????? ????????.
???? ??? ? ????? ????? ???????? ??????? ?????? ? ?????? ?????????? ???????. ???? ?????????? ? ??????? ??? ? ??????????? ??????.
?????...

5:16 pm - Sunday, November 1, 2009

#20 Funky Monkey

@Nos

Theres a lot more to image quality than things like hair detail. Dynamic range, chromatic aberations, exposure accuracy, yada yada yada. They all matter, but you have picked on one small aspect of image quality to try to justify your argument.

11:26 am - Monday, November 2, 2009

#21 Nos

By “hair detail” I meant Resolution which is one of the most important parts in an image. Those things you mentioned (except yada yada yada) can be fixed in Photoshop.

I was thinking about buying this camera (that’s why I found this website) but I start having second thoughts every time I see a picture that looks like an oil painting probably due to the heavy noise reduction applied to it.

11:24 pm - Monday, November 9, 2009

#22 Funky Monkey

Nos, if you really believe that you can, for example, increase dynamic range in photoshop then words (almost) fail me. If your image is lacking in highlight and shadow detail then you can’t put it back in photoshop. Photoshop can only work with what you give it, it can’t add detail that was never recorded.

Sorry, but to claim that resolution is the most important factor of image quality is to miss the point of years of development of photographic technology.

7:13 pm - Tuesday, November 10, 2009

#23 Derek

Roger Payne editor of Photography Monthly (Britain) has just completed in the December issue, tests between the S200EXR, Lumix FZ38 and the Canon SX1, and the S200EXR came out on top. So much so he has decided to take it with him on his forthcoming trip to New York.

10:05 pm - Thursday, November 19, 2009

#24 PAT

S200EXR use a smaller sensor than S100FS (Nearly 10% less). But results seem to be as good for the two cameras. Is it right??? Is it due to EXR technologie, comparing to super CCD technologie used with SF100S ?
I used S100FS since a few month, and i am wondering if i keep it or if i’d better change it for the S200EXR…
Please Mark Goldstein, could you compare these to cameras and tell us what’s the best?

Thanks from Patrice (Paris-France)

8:05 pm - Monday, November 23, 2009

#25 J. Deleuze

Come join the Fujifilm S200exr group on Flickr.com   Let’s see your pics.

3:48 pm - Wednesday, December 2, 2009

#26 JohnL

The S200EXR seems almost ideal, I just wish the 14.3 zoom range started wider, ie 28-400 or better still 26-370.

7:49 am - Thursday, December 3, 2009

#27 Iris

I am considering between S200 and Coolpix P90. Which one is better? I am most concerned with image quality.

11:32 am - Wednesday, December 23, 2009

#28 Petrolbonce

If you are most concerned with image quality then you are on a hiding to nothing with a super zoom bridge camera. There are two things that will mess with the image quality; firstly there is the tiny sensor; and secondly there is the enormous zoom range of the lens.

Having such a huge zoom range will tempt some people towards these cameras and away from an entry level DSLR, but that enormous zoom range will compromise image quality. Now I’m not saying these are bad cameras, far from it. They are very good cameras for what they are, but don’t be fooled into thinking that they will produce excellent image quality.

If you want the best image quality for your cash you can find a DSLR for a similar price. The Olympus E-420 is around at the moment for less than £300 and while it only comes with a 3x zoom lens you will get much better image quality than either the S200 or P90. While an entry level DSLR will cost significantly more there are always offers around, such as that Olympus. And don’t forget that with a DSLR you can continue to expand your collection of lenses, with a bridge camera you’re stuck with the one lens.

If you’re looking at spending the thick end of three hundred quid it really is worth considering a DSLR.

11:47 am - Wednesday, December 23, 2009

#29 AColourfulGuyDrowning

Hi Photography Blog,

Based on this review, as well as some other research I did, I recently purchase a Fujifilm S200 EXR. I’m glad I read the review before I did as I could not be happier with the camera.

Yeah, it’s a little bulky. However, when I wave it around to gain entry to some high profile party, concert or other event, people take me very seriously and let me right in! ;)

If nothing else, the S200 EXR serves as a good prop! ;)

Please do keep up the good work and I’ll be reading you!

2:40 pm - Saturday, December 26, 2009

#30 Andy

S100FS S200EXR Please Mark Goldstein, could you compare these to cameras and tell us what’s the best? Thanks from Andrey (Russia)

9:53 pm - Friday, January 8, 2010

#31 Rock Bourgow

I got this new one camera for $440.00 can.in FEB 2010
I have read many reports and test on web for knowing and understand how to utilize it, because the manuel for this camera is very cheap compare to the top quality of camera.
I have done some test in interior church with no flash and use a good tripod , and the result is superb in the mode SP SCENES who take 4 photos and combine in one for the max luminosity in dark and low light situation.
It’s a complex camera for poeple who have not already use a bridge camera because this model have many and many menu options. But if you want the best bridge with a very minimum noise st 800 iso, you are in business.
I have also a canon 50D and Canon 400D with many good IS lens and i am very please to see the very good optical quality of this fuji s200 EXR.
but remember this, it’s a camera for poeple who are not affraid to read test and reviews like this excellent web site,photographyblog.com, because the manual don’t done the job for understand all options.

7:24 am - Wednesday, February 17, 2010

#32 sixs

What about comparison of s200exr and s100fs?

1:55 pm - Sunday, February 21, 2010

#33 UGK

#28 Petrolbonce,
You are spreading disinformation. Those entry level DSLRs that cost about little over £300 usually come with a kit lens that produces images that is INFERIOR to the top bridge cameras like the s200exr.
Its only when you spend £100s more to buy proper lenses for the entry level DSLR, that you notice better image quality. Therefore the £300 for a DSLR is very misleading.

10:42 pm - Tuesday, March 2, 2010

#34 Rock Bourgow

Re: 28 and 33 comments

UGK is very clear and right in is comment for answering to Petrolbonce no 28 comment.
If you want a better optimal quality sharp image like the pro lens yous should pay over $600.00 US big dollars just for the lens.
With this fuji fine pix S200 EXR you have a very very good sharp image quality and a large variety of focal lens.
For the price it’s now the best assembling for optic quality and less noise sensor in the actual market of bridge.
It’s the best semi-pro camera, re. quality/$$$ on the market.This bridge camera beat all the entry level SLR ( single lens reflex ) on the market.
If you don’t want to always change the focal lens on your camera and recolt dust on your sensor it’s the better choice you can done.
See my photos in interior church an covent with no flash and high iso.
http://picasaweb.google.com/photosrockbourgault/CouventDesSoeursGrises#  and http://picasaweb.google.com/photosrockbourgault/MontrealEgliseMarieReineDuMonde#

2:22 am - Wednesday, March 3, 2010

#35 CBarker

There is so much rubbish written about image quality and sensor size by those who have spent 1000s on a DSLR and dont like to addmit they didnt need to. I find this camera perfect for 90% of my pictures as i only print upto A4 90% of the time. Use ISO up to around 400 and you can go as big as A3! I have a Nikon D300 that i find i am using less and less due to the quality of the results and the versatility this camera offers.

1:02 pm - Saturday, March 6, 2010

#36 TheElephant

@CBarker

There is so much more to the size of your sensor than the resolution of your images. Newbies always seem to think that a higher pixel count is all that matters, at long last however the market has caught on to the fact that adding pixels for the sake of more pixels is a dead end.

One issue with a high pixel count on a small sensor is that the lens may not be able to resolve down to the level of detail that the sensor can capture. This is often evident in cheap cameras with a high pixel count.

A smaller sensor will *always* be more prone to noise than a larger sensor for the same resolution. For the same resolution a larger sensor will have larger photosites and therefore capture low light better. This isn’t just about noise in low light photography, but noise in shadows. A larger sensor will suffer less noise in shadows and produce better shadow detail and therefore a better effective dynamic range.

A larger sensor will always give better control over depth of field than a smaller sensor. Faking a bokeh electronically is never the same as achieving it optically.

So there are four things that will always be better with a larger sensor.

In short, and to paraphrase, there is so much rubbish written about image quality and sensor size by those who scrimped on their equipment and don’t like to admit that it was a mistake. With cameras, as with most things in this life, you get what you pay for.* Pay more, get more. Don’t be seduced by high pixel counts and massive zoom ranges until you’ve tried a large sensor.


*This holds true as long as you steer clear of a lot of Leica branded equipment.

1:29 pm - Saturday, March 6, 2010

#37 Clive Barker

Think your missing my point about image quality. It is obvious that a larger sensor is capable of producing better results but it gets to a point when your paying for something you do not need. It has always been the case. I remember David Bailey saying he used to inlarge 35mm contact prints so the photo editers who insisted on medium format thought that was what he was using!
After 20yrs in the phographic business I can asure you most people could not tell the differance between my pictures taken with my S200EXR and my Nikon D300.

9:17 am - Monday, March 8, 2010

#38 TheElephant

Clive, Your comments would hold true were it not for the fact that my Sony A200 cost less than the S200EXR. OK so the zoom range of the Fujifilm is much larger than the 3.9 times of the kit lens with the Sony. Although that would be more than offset by the distortion and chromatic aberations produced by the Fujifilm.

The fact that Fujifilm attempt to correct exltronicall for the shortcomings such as depth of field control and dynamic range proves that they accept the shortcomings of the camera in those areas.

I have met many people who have bought bridge cameras and been disapointed with the image quality when compared to that produced by friends DSLRs. Yes there are subjects where you won’t be able to see the difference, but there are many where you will.

And as for Bailey; isn’t this the man who advertised the trip 35 as being every bit as good as a pro-level SLR?

7:18 pm - Monday, March 8, 2010

#39 CBarker

I think you make my point for me when you say ” distortion and chromatic aberations produced by the Fujifilm” What test did you undertake for find this out? They are just not that bad! Have you acually used this camera? I have always used SLR’s and DSLR’s and believed myself that the image quality on the modern bridge cameras would not be good enough but was very supprised by the results when i acually used one. There are many reasons to buy a DSLR rather than a bridge camera but image quality below ISO400 on A4 prints isnt one of them. I really do believe that a lot of comment are from people who have not even used or looked at the results of these cameras?

12:57 pm - Tuesday, March 9, 2010

#40 Rock Bourgow

This Fuji Fine Pix S200EXR is a bridge camera who can done the usual photography for 95% of poeples in traveling, reception, children and family photos etc…the EXR and SP dial mode can done a perfect automatic job for most situation you can meet.

Very very good resolution for 11 x 16.5 inches and less format pictures.

I you want to done some creativity mode you can use the others dial select mode or use a SLR camera mount with very good $$$ lens.

I’m member of 2 photographies club and i also use semi-pro SLR Canon 50D and 400D with many sharp and $$$ lens for club contest photography.But you know it’s combersome and heavy to carry this full materials.

Week after week i’m very very amaze for the super capability of this Fuji bridge S200EXR camera and now this camera follow me everywhere for the normal day and night photography inside and outside.

The real question is .... What You Want ? A very good photography for souvenirs or always a number one contest winner photo.

When i use this excellent Fuji bridge i have only one object to carry for a 30.5 mm to 436 mm focal lenght and it’s light. When i shoot for contest photography i should travel 3 or 4 lens and two camera bodies in a full heavy backpack.

The Fuji S200 EXR is a first choice for a bridge camera with full long focal range and very good resolution sharp picture with a minimal noise in rought situation of low light. It’s the best technical improvement for the bridge camera.

6:26 pm - Tuesday, March 9, 2010

#41 ugk

There is one other marketing trick people need to be weary of: The all inclusive cheaper lens for entry level DSLR. They are the Tamron 18-200mm variety. They will cost under £200. The images they produce is not significantly better than a good bridge camera.
Therefore you can buy an entry level DSLR like Sony A230 and a tamron lens approaching £500. And the results are not significantly better.
There are some much better quality ‘all inclusive lens’ but they start at £450 and go much higher.
And ofcourse you get even better images with a selection of fixed point lenses (but the hassle of more equipment and spending even more money).
I know some expert photographers who dont use all inclusive zoom lenses. They have a fixed point lens for each distance and a top of the range body to go with it. They make it very clear that zoom lenses ruin quality.
So DSLRs are no joke, they are a very slippery slope.
With a really good compact camera, most ordinary human beings can get more than they need.

1:59 pm - Sunday, March 14, 2010

#42 Confuscious

Boy am I confused by so many arguemnts for and against formats. I use a Finepix S8000fd and a HP something or other cheap and nasty plastic compact, can’t see a lot of difference even on my HD monitor, or up to A4 in print.

My daughters are both taking up photography and I wanted to buy them a Canon DSLR to compare with my old EOS film camera which sits on the shelf looking very lonely, I have looked at the 1000D, 55OD and glanced at Sony, Nikon and others.

What I want is to allow my teenagers to be creative, to test their imagination, to be proud of the photos they take and of course to do well in their exams.

Given that some of you use both frmats yet like this reviewed camera enough to use it every day it makes me wonder why I should waste money on a DSLR.

Any help appreciated

8:36 am - Tuesday, March 23, 2010

#43 Rock Bourgow

For Confuscious

If yours teenagers are fine with costs materiels photographics and they can use other mode than auto,  buy for them goods bridge cameras like this fuji S200 exr with UV and polarizing filters, a cobra flash and good tripod or monopod and a camera bag.
In future if they really like the art of photography they can transit toward DSLR camera.

this fuji camera can do the job for teenagers creativity at reasonnable cost.

5:30 pm - Tuesday, March 23, 2010

#44 mario castillano

its an exciting DSLR camera but I can not give an honest review without laying my hands on it.I hope you can send me a sample that I can write honestly about.Here’s my e=mail add: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

8:45 am - Friday, March 26, 2010

#45 CWheeler

The convenience of the bridge camera is highly underrated, especially if you are an adventure photographer traveling light in the back country.

Anyone who uses a dSLR, and is honest, knows that they’ve missed shots simply because they weren’t always willing to stop and change the lens yet again, or haul some specialized accessory from their pack.

There is also another reason to invest in the bridge camera; dSLRs are changing at a rapid pace, so your $1,000+ investment is rapidly outmoded by new sensors and electronics in short order. If you really want to use the “best”, you’ll be working a second job just to keep up with the pixel peepers.

Buying a less expensive bridge camera could allow you to get all the great shots now, instead of being constantly disappointed with the dSLR that doesn’t quite offer all the cutting edge features you imagine you really need.

Finally, given the margins that big companies are making on the higher end dSLRs, you are also probably getting much better value for your dollar with the less expensive bridge camera. As long as you’re getting photos you’re proud of, the rest is just academic.

9:57 pm - Sunday, March 28, 2010

#46 Lennard Belangel

i love it i will buy one cheap and good specs

10:12 am - Friday, April 23, 2010

#47 mario castillano

I’d like to address this to the manufactures of Fujifilm Finepix S1800 12 mp with 18x zoom and 3 inch LCD: As one of the many expert authors of ezine articles, it is our way not to write half truths about any gadget that people crave for a long time and to that end I would prefer if you could send me one good sample that I could report of.

    Many thanks in advance.

.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

1:13 am - Saturday, April 24, 2010

#48 AHS1957

@Rock:

Thanks for the link to the church interior photos.  It’s very useful to have actual photos to examine when considering the purchase of a new camera.

6:21 pm - Saturday, May 29, 2010

#49 Rock Bourgow

It’s a real pleasure if it can help you in your choice AHS 1957.
Fuji have now finished to produce this S200 EXR and have no project to done a future EXR with amilioration like a super 30X zoom or full HD video.
Poeple of Fuji company have said to me it’s because the type of captor who have change ???
Then if you don’t want a rupture of stock it is preferable to buy it in the next two months.
I repeat this for anyone who want the best brigde on the market with an automatic function who done the job for 90% of my photography and may be 100% for you. Buy one and take your photos with just the obligation to compose your shot and fire…the shot will be very very good at 99% of your total shooting.

7:29 pm - Saturday, May 29, 2010

#50 AHS1957

@Rock:

Thanks for the advice.  Just ordered one.  From Amazon.  Not the lowest price but I feel more comfortable with Amazon than with some others.

8:05 pm - Saturday, May 29, 2010

#51 Fady Refaat

I have this camera
and I DO BELIEVE IT’S THE BEST OVER THERE!
the picture quality is just perfect, and the controls, and the usability, and the functionality and the entire camera performance is outstanding! I feel like a have a true DSLR!!
I believe it’s the best and I will truly think a lot before getting a new one!

1:49 am - Tuesday, August 31, 2010

#52 Warren Lyons

As a recent convert to digital photography, I think this camera fills a real void in the marketplace for someone looking to spend between $300 and $500.  In this price range most of the choices are huge megapixel/megazoom models with tiny sensors and so-so optical quality, or a premium compact such as the canon powershot G11 with its great optics and build quality, but only a puny 5x zoom and 10 megapixel resolution.  This model seems to hit the best compromise of specs and quality in this price range

1:36 pm - Tuesday, September 28, 2010

#53 Trevor

So one of the main reasons we’ve been looking at DSLR cams is because of their ability to take pictures with little to no reload time between pictures. What is this like with this style of bridge camera? We want to be able to capture pictures one after another without having to wait 5-10 seconds like we do with our current camera (just a P&S camera from Kodak). Can anyone help me figure this out?

3:29 pm - Sunday, November 28, 2010

#54 Hagen Photo

Can anyone help with how to handle the Raw Files (.raf) They don’t seem to open in Photoshop CS3

3:36 pm - Sunday, November 28, 2010

#55 Serge

Probably the worst bridge camera ever made.

Bad image quality (looks like oil painting), low dynamic range (almost every shot from S200EXR has under- or overexposed parts), cheap lens (any DSLR kit lens are better), low battery capacity etc.

RAW files from S200 are not supported by popular imaging software like Adobe Photoshop, Lightroom or Capture One.

I’d rate this camera a 2 out of 5, mostly for awful image quality and incorrect color handling. Not recommended to buy.

5:22 pm - Sunday, December 5, 2010

#56 Gareth

Well I’ve seen some trolling on here before, but Serge, you take the biscuit.

What a pointless post. Bad image quality? Really? Well how come none of the sample images look like an oil painting?

RAW files not supported in Photoshop? Really? Well how come those sample RAF images open in my copy of CS5?

Incorrect colour handling? Sorry, but the colours are absolutely fine. Again check the sample images.

So we can assume from this that you don’t know how to use Photoshop and you don’t know how to use a camera. Why are you posting on a photography site if you can’t do those two simple things?

7:53 pm - Sunday, December 5, 2010

#57 Serge

@Gareth

>>Well how come none of the sample images look like an oil painting?

Try zooming to 100%.

>>RAW files not supported in Photoshop? Really?

Really. S200EXR .RAF files aren’t supported in any version of Photoshop, including CS5. And they’ll never be supported, since the camera now is long discontinued.

>>Incorrect colour handling? Sorry, but the colours are absolutely fine.

I’m sorry, dear sir, but you’re obviously got a problem with your eyes. I suggest you to check your vision immediately.

I repeat: purchasing S200EXR is a good way to waste your money. Get Canon 1000D or Nikon D3100 instead of this crap.

1:49 pm - Monday, December 6, 2010

#58 Spartacus

Let’s see then, you’re saying the RAF files won’t open in CS5 when they do? Do you even have a copy of CS5 to test?

Zoom 100%? So you’re a pixel peeper rather than a photographer. It figures.

And why are you comparing a bridge camera with much more expensive DSLRs? To equip either of those cameras with a lens of similar zoom range as the Fuji would cost several times the price of the Fuji. Yes if money was no object then people would probably buy the Nikon or Canon with a monster zoom, or better yet several lenses. However most people live in a world where money is limited and spend as much as they can afford on a camera. When somebody is spending every penny they can afford on a camera telling them that they should spend several times more is entirely pointless.

Now stop trolling and go and do something productive. Like maybe learn to author a decent image rather than obsessing over individual pixels.

7:32 pm - Monday, December 6, 2010

#59 Serge

Ok. Try opening first RAF image from sample gallery in Photoshop CS5. I have the Photoshop CS5 Extended with all updates installed (Camera Raw v6.3 release candidate).

You’ll get the following message:

“Could not complete your request because the file appears to be from a camera model which is not supported by the installed version of Camera Raw.”

Read this:

http://forums.adobe.com/thread/726830?tstart=0

>>And why are you comparing a bridge camera with much more expensive DSLRs?

Much more expensive? Canon EOS 1000D costs almost the same money now and provides superior quality and sharpness even with kit lens (18-55 IS).

1:14 pm - Tuesday, December 7, 2010

#60 Jimmy

“Much more expensive? Canon EOS 1000D costs almost the same money now and provides superior quality and sharpness even with kit lens (18-55 IS).”

That’s a crock. The 18-55 zoom givers you a 3x zoom range. In order to compare like with like you need to look at the cost of a 1000D with a lens of the same zoom range as the Fuji. Find that brand new at the same price as a bridge camera and then post the link on here.

10:47 pm - Sunday, December 12, 2010

#61 AnKo

just bought this cam last friday coz its price dropped (PhP14800 or USD336), i only started learning photography last sunday but i can already conclude that this cam is superb for its price and class…

http://www.flickr.com/photos/ankonim/5359551619/lightbox/

4:57 am - Tuesday, January 18, 2011

#62 jj

hey so i have had my fujifilm fine pix s200 for 4 months now and i love it . it takes amazing photos as well as user friendly . i found that you get a lot for a very cheap price . i use it for my photography as well . i would recommend anyone who is thinking about getting it to get it its worth the money

9:56 am - Friday, March 18, 2011

#63 jessy

i have had my fujifilm fine pix s200EXR for 4 months now i wasn’t sure at first if i wanted it or if it would be any good but after i read reviews and bought it i found that it takes amazing photos and its very user friendly as well .also has great battery time on it . i would recommend this camera to everyone its worth the buy

10:08 am - Friday, March 18, 2011

#64 IAmACamera

@jj you will get a lot for a little money if you buy a camera that has been out of production for quite a while. Not that I’m criticizing your choice. I find that the camera market changes so fast that buying last year’s camera at a massive discount is an excellent way to buy the best you can afford.

4:51 pm - Friday, March 18, 2011

#65 Randall Haugen

This is a great bridge camera,I think it takes just as good as pics if Not Better than the Canon SXi W/kit lens.

If you dont care about HD Video You Cannot go wrong.

7:49 pm - Friday, May 6, 2011

#66 MonkeyMan

Hi

Sounds like a fab camera except that it looks like you cannot use the EXR on any of the manual (A/S/M) modes.

I was thinking of buying one (most likely secondhand, now) but can anyone tell me - from experience - the answer to the following questions?  I downloaded the manual but it is not the most informative!...

I notice from the S200EXR’s manual that it doesn’t allow ‘dynamic range bracketing’ unless CCD-RAW is ‘off’:  does this mean that dynamic range selection, itself - regardless of the bracketing - is unavailable to RAW files?

I can imagine that it will depend upon how RAW files work with the S200EXR:  if they really are ‘raw’, in the strictest sense, then I guess that would be a barrier if the 200% or 400% dynamic-range-enhanced shots are a composite image of two ‘samples’ combined.  Is that how it works, or is the huge range of shades instead compressed into a lesser overall scale, to be export-able as a RAW file?

I dunno - the manual gives clues to this maybe not being possible, without actually stating it unequivocally (as far as I can see).

Ultimately, what I’m asking is:-
Does any customisation to the Dynamic Range setting in the Shooting Menu for most or all shooting modes (e.g. 200%, 400%, auto) have any affect upon the the resulting RAW files, when shooting in RAW or RAW+JPG?

5:26 pm - Monday, May 30, 2011

#67 N.

Is there nobody left out there with knowledge of / enthusiasm for these S200EXRs? All I’m getting from this is ‘stick to Canons’!

11:27 pm - Monday, June 27, 2011

#68 Randy Moore

I have been using Fuji Digital Bridge Camera’s for the past 12 yrs.
Starting with the 4 mp S4000,9mp S9000,6mp S6000 and my
S200EXR i’ve had for 2yrs.All of these camera’stook amazing
photo’s with the S200EXR at the top. I am in the process of
returning the entry level Canon EOS T3 12mp with 2 lenses.
I had heard so much talk about how a entry level DSLR would
wipe the floor with any P & S Bridge Camera.Well after taking both camera’s out to my scenic spots and shooting I made up my mind in the first hour of shooting that the Canon T3 was not the camera to replace my S200EXR.

2:07 am - Friday, September 30, 2011

#69 fleetwoodflyer

had mine for almost 3 years and love it. bought for under £200 brand new. i love fuji cameras they are easy to use plus good results

2:04 pm - Monday, November 14, 2011

#70 paolo77

Now,  ACR had supported S200EXR RAW files.
We can get a better IQ from using Adobe Program.

11:07 am - Wednesday, December 28, 2011

#71 doug

I have really enjoyed using this camera. 6000 shots later and still enjoing it!

It has a really good shutter click.

The manual zoom ring is a joy to use.

The EVR view finder is much better than the big screen, and really added to usability.

It does not support manual focus, only auto which can be locked.

thanks Fuji!

10:23 pm - Friday, March 9, 2012

#72 GEOFF PLANT

had my 200exr for 2yrs now and i love the results i get. saves keep changing lenses for different shots. the only lens i have purchased to add to the camera is a 4.5 fish eye and it works great. overall GOOD CAMERA

1:48 pm - Tuesday, April 3, 2012

#73 MyFreefish

Hi, I have been reading all the comments so far on this site, and I must say that in amongst all the arguing there are a lot of people who seem to be comparing apples with oranges. A bridge camera is not a DSLR, and so should not be compared with it. Of course a DSLR with high quality lenses will take superior pictures to a bridge camera, simply because of the larger sensor. A larger sensor has larger photosites which can take more light without bleeding into adjacent ones, causing problems with image quality. That is a given. But that is not the big problem that it used to be with improvements in sensor design. Some of these “tiny” sensors that DSLR owners scoff at are in fact capable of amazing results now.

What do you want out of a camera? And what do you want to put into it in terms of $$$? And what is the visible difference in the end result in terms of image quality? What are you happy with? Does every photo need to be a world-beating masterpiece in terms of whatever? Technical perfection is not always the most important aspect of an image. What about artistic value? Or personal meaning? Or the message it conveys? Or the quality of the composition? Who actually wants to enlarge their photos to 30” x 20”?

Most people cannot afford to spend upwards of $1000 - $2000 to purchase such a high end DSLR kit. And they probably don’t want to either. The difference in picture quality is no longer all that much as it used to be, as these bridge cameras are getting better all the time. How many people want to enlarge their photos more than A4? And even a crop from a good bridge camera photo can now be enlarged to A4 with still good results. I know this as I have done so myself. If you want to spend all that money, and want to carry all that heavy equipment, and want to have to change lenses, etc. etc. then go an buy a DSLR.

But if you just want to enjoy photography without all that hassle, and just want to carry one piece of equipment (2 pieces if you use a tripod), then buy a bridge camera.

I personally believe the lifecycle of the DSLR is limited and coming to a close in the not too distant future anyway. Just too expensive, too heavy, too much hassle, and too small a market (and a shrinking one) as compared to the bridge camera market, which is growing at an exponential rate. This amateur market is where all the money is to be made, as millions of these people are buying into bridge cameras at a phenomenal rate. Much of the physical technology in a DSLR is ‘last century’ technology, what with flipping mirrors, having to change lenses, small zoom ranges, and is fast becoming a thing of the past. And then there is the nuisance of cleaning dust off sensors, having to carry all this bulk around, setting it up each time you want to take a photo, and so on.

So there is no use in arguing about all this. Just get a camera which is right for you and be happy. We don’t have to impress others with our choice of camera. Rather, let us enjoy our hobby and go out and take great pictures.

When I go out on a photo shoot, I take two things: My Fujifilm S200EXR and my tripod which I use for most of my photos. That’s it. Easy. The results of my photography with this equipment is just amazing. This camera is just so versatile and capable, with everything from full auto, to full manual, including manual zoom and focussing, EXR modes, scene modes, intelligent TTL flash (including a hot shoe for external flash). It has shutter priority, aperture priority, full manual, full auto with program shift, with quick access buttons to white balance, ISO, focussing modes, metering modes, fast continuous shooting, bracketing, EV compensation, etc. etc. What more could I need?

I can shoot RAW if I want to, and have done many times. My ACDSee 5.0 program can work with the RAW files no problem. But the Jpegs produces by this camera are usually so good that often I don’t bother with RAW. The only gripe I have with this camera is that the wide end of the zoom is not wide enough at 30.5mm. I would like a 24mm or even wider. But you can’t have everything.

1:14 pm - Friday, June 8, 2012

#74 Zombie

Nix

2:19 am - Saturday, June 9, 2012

Entry Tags

12 megapixel, super-zoom, 2.7 inch LCD, fujifilm, finepix, EXR, s200exr, Fujifilm FinePix S200EXR Review, 14.6x zoom, s200 exr

Tracker Pixel for Entry