Fujifilm FinePix S2800HD Review

4.0
January 24, 2011 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

16 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Vitaly

I think I’d not buy it.

11:36 pm - Monday, January 24, 2011

#2 David

Good grief! Those sample shots are shockingly bad.
I hope Fuji’s recently announced “upgraded” S series cameras, that also have a 14 megapixel sensor, perform better than this.
http://www.photographyblog.com/news/fujifilm_finepix_s4000_s3200_s2950/

9:37 pm - Wednesday, January 26, 2011

#3 Too many pixels on a tiny little sensor

I’m amazed…just how did they manage to make the image quality so bad?

10:02 pm - Wednesday, January 26, 2011

#4 dimitryushakov

hi,i had a brief look at this camera,fifnt seem
too impressive,my kodakeasysharez740 is much
better,delivers pretty good pictures,if it were to
have a second digital camera, this would a dslr
plus interchangeable lens plus a decent flash
this would be a kind of upgrade any kind of bat-
teries always need a backup, ii am more for classic cameras like canon nikon line
thanks for showing data on fuji 2800
dimitry, goiania, goias, brazil

2:55 am - Thursday, February 24, 2011

#5 Alexandr

Buy FinePix HS20EXR, and you will not loose your money!

10:44 am - Wednesday, March 2, 2011

#6 Alan

I bought the S3200 variant.  To rate this camera as 3.5 for photo quality, is to imply that it’s above average.  That couldn’t be further from the truth. At full auto “SP” mode, landscape photo’s are over-exposed.  Best to use program mode and push the exposure down a few notches when required. Colours though are fine in ‘chrome’ mode. Vibrant and true to life. Sad thing though is, even though it appears to use the same lens as the HS20, with a steady hand, and even at wide angle, the shots from this camera are a tragedy.  Soft edges at best.  Blurry left 1/3 of frame at worst. Smudgy looking details on a computer screen is the norm.  And it’s not just me.  Google it.  The Nikon L120, even without semi-manual modes (same price or a fraction more in many countries) is a far, far, far, far better choice.

3:10 am - Wednesday, April 13, 2011

#7 Darren

I think the review is very fair on this camera although the images they took were shockingly bad , i myself am a amateur and purchased this camera a few weeks ago from ebay , now i have to say that me being a first time photographer my images with this fuji are a better standard than the competition models images , grab a look an flickr and see what you think , i think this camera is the beans especially with the price tag
http://www.flickr.com/photos/61038280@N03/

9:47 pm - Wednesday, April 13, 2011

#8 Jorn

My review:

The comments made on the panorama mode is not correct. The camera produces excellent panorama pictures with great resoloution, typically
4896 × 1 248 pixels, and are easy to make without a tripod.

The still photograps are OK, but the first impression is like an inexpensive compact camera like the test says, it’s important to learn all the functions in the camera, then you can get some decent pictures, still this is not an DSLR.

Like many compact cameras you can hear the zoom while fiming, however i found the video quality to be better than most compact cameras.

My verdict: An inexpensive all in one camera, with nice video and great panorama mode, picture quality is average, but with nice colors. I bought this as a backup camera to use in situation where i can’t or am afraid to damage my DSLR. This cameras are so inexpencive so i must say it’s a bargin.

10:46 am - Monday, May 16, 2011

#9 kai hidate

I am a bit disappointed with this item. but I can also learn about the photographer of this item

10:05 am - Monday, June 27, 2011

#10 Kevin

I received this camera as a gift. I would never have purchased it. The 2800HD is a maddeningly poor camera. I find it beyond slow, with limited manual capabilities, and one that produces poor picture quality.  It appears that Fuji spent more time making it look nice than making it work better.  Cannot wait to upgrade to a more sophisticated DSLR model that possesses real manual settings, better lenses and image quality and speed.

9:48 am - Tuesday, October 18, 2011

#11 (:

I have this camera. When ever I try to take pictures on the Macro/Super Macro setting, it shows up perfect before the shutter is pressed, but when looking back at it through the rest of my pictures, every Macro/Super Macro has a very dark tint to it. How can I fix this?

1:54 pm - Sunday, January 15, 2012

#12 Prabodh

FujiFilm S2980 is the upgraded version of this.
Buy with confidence from http://www.colophotoshop.com

5:34 pm - Thursday, August 23, 2012

#13 Mark E

The image quality is variable, sometimes awful, sometimes OK. Don’t expect it to be sharp all over the frame, ever. The autofocus is unbelievably slow. But I have managed to get some good pictures out of it. The colours are pleasing to the eye, in my opinion. So it’s not all bad. Good thing it’s cheap though.

3:43 pm - Tuesday, July 30, 2013

#14 alex

Its on special in South Africa at the moment, at R 1000 (+- US$ 100— at that price I think it may be a good bargain? Obviously Fuji are clearing out all their unsold stocks!!!

4:30 pm - Monday, September 2, 2013

#15 Steve

For the money your not going to get much better.
The people that complain have to understand this is not a DSLR,It’s a Bridge camera.You need to spend a lot more to find something better.

8:27 pm - Sunday, September 8, 2013

#16 Graham Block

I have been into photography for 50 years and a ‘Fuji digital fan’ for 10 of those. IMHO I highly rate the quality of the pictures I’ve taken, my current camera being the S2750. Went out into the park yesterday and having set the camera to only 3 megapixels, small image, Fine quality, I’m blown away by the image crispness, including handheld shots with 18x telephoto c/w image stabilization.  As with all my past 10 years pics I still have no complaints about Fuji picture quality. What weren’t the reviewers correctly doing to damn the quality? As for cropping etc, isn’t that for the professionals with cameras costing 5x as much?

5:17 pm - Monday, February 17, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 720p, hdmi, super-zoom, 14 megapixel, fujifilm, super zoom, 18x, s2800, Fujifilm FinePix S2800HD Review, s2800 hd, s2800hd

Tracker Pixel for Entry