Fujifilm X-S1 Review

4.5
February 9, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

138 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Falk

How about the video capabilities? Not tested? The HS"X"0 models had issues with keeping the focus correct during video mode or after a slight zoom-in or out.

3:42 pm - Thursday, February 9, 2012

#2 infin1te

excellent image quality? not according to my eyes. is it me or most of the pictures look unsharp when zoom into them? colours and clarity look washed out in all pics. maby is this why we dont see noise until 800 iso(noise reduction)???and how can you say that iso 3200 is usable even in small prints. look the obvious noise in ‘‘man with crutches’’ pic. how exactly would you use this photo?
im strict but image quality is not excellent. its not even very good according to me. it just good and certainly wouldnt pay 900$ for this image quality.

4:13 pm - Thursday, February 9, 2012

#3 John

Nice review. One question though.
Have you checked the settings of the Video?
Because the bitrate is ONLY 14Mbps, extremely low for HD.
Can you please recheck it, maybe there is a setting for high quaility.

4:24 pm - Thursday, February 9, 2012

#4 Mountain Michael

As a user of the Fuji S100FS for the last 4 years, I’m really interested in learning more about this camera.  The S100FS is an excellent bridge camera.  I shoot landscapes, and I manually “stich” my images together in Photoshop.  Using from 5-15 pictures to capture a landscape, I print images that are 13"x39”, and I could print larger.  The S100FS has been a great camera and provides excellent detail.  I’m interested in the Higher ISO the X-S1 would provide, as well as video, zoom, and other features.  For the money, the S100FS was also $799 and worth every penny to me.  The X-S1 provides so much more, and even though pricey, go look at the prices of comparable lenses if you’re looking for a DSLR body for $799.  Due to this, I’m seriously considering the X-S1 as a step up, and it would be a good future backup camera for the day I can afford a higher end DSLR.

5:29 pm - Thursday, February 9, 2012

#5 YOAV

DID YOU TAKE IN ACOUNT WHEN COMPARING PRICES TO DSLRS THE RANG OF THE LENS AND HOW MUCH LENSES FOR SAME RANG WILL COST YOU?

5:51 pm - Thursday, February 9, 2012

#6 Christian

Hello, (Google translation)
I live in Switzerland and I bought this Fujifilm S1-X a week ago. I am deeply disappointed by the picture quality, the development is slow and imprecise. The images are still blurry and lacked sharpness. The video is also bad. I will sell this device as soon as possible!

5:58 pm - Thursday, February 9, 2012

#7 Warren Lyons

Like I thought, too much camera for the 18 year old looking to post bikini shots on facebook and not enough for the naturalist on assigment for Smithsonian magazine.  Will suit bridge camera users willing to pay a premium price, lug around a heavier camera, and give up some reach at the long end in return for better IQ, as well as would be DSLR/kit lens buyers willing to give up some IQ in return for the zoom

8:32 pm - Thursday, February 9, 2012

#8 gaston

The new sample images aren’t impressive in terms of IQ
IMO Canon SX40 is better in IQ. More details, better color rendering. and its price is half of that of XS-1, never mind the size and weight

8:34 pm - Thursday, February 9, 2012

#9 Fotofan

The images in this review are of extremely low quality.  It is very hard to see how the reviewers can be impressed by such an overpriced, under performing camera.  There are SOOO many options at this price point, the Fujifilm camera simply cannot compare.

10:34 pm - Thursday, February 9, 2012

#10 Peter Frailey

I crossed this off my list on page 1, when you pointed out that autoISO only works in Auto mode.  If it won’t work in Aperature, Shutter, or P mode (and preferable evenin Manual mode) its of no use to me.

Or did I misinterpret?

Peter F.

10:45 pm - Thursday, February 9, 2012

#11 ZliKriticar

This is far superior camera than Canon SX40. Just SX10 was worth working with, others (SX20, SX30) were just worse and worse.

12:54 am - Friday, February 10, 2012

#12 niel

the price is to much for a super zoom camera

8:16 am - Friday, February 10, 2012

#13 Joey Wilson

This is the shape of things to come.  A no compromise, all-in-one like this, will become the norm over time.  This will evolve to where there will be no appreciable advantage to interchangeable lenses, save for professional use .  DSLR’s will become the view cameras of the day, specialist pieces for very demanding applications.

Build somethng like this with a truly software driven / updateable processor, settle on a standard for megapixel/resolution that’s practical (do you REALLY need 36 mp?), and a suitable lens range and perfect viewfinder, why would you need anything else?  Plus, you never have to worry with cleaning the sensor !!

Fuji is ingeniously mining a market with the X Cameras that everyone else has ignored.  At least with the XPro, you’ll finally be able to get a deal on a LEICA !

11:26 am - Friday, February 10, 2012

#14 Krishna

I don’t understand how judges are giving 4.5 for this picture quality…it’s very poor…and images are distorted, no sharpness…. Fuji should improve the quality…i think it’s better if they concentrate more on CSC….

3:57 pm - Friday, February 10, 2012

#15 kita

Great image quality (especially dynamic range, shadows looks great). Hmm, looks even better than most mid-class DSLRs.

4:40 pm - Friday, February 10, 2012

#16 Robert

As i have seen , the pictures are unsharpless , specialy with the wide angle (sorry, i am french talking) . For such price i found it not acceptable !

4:52 pm - Friday, February 10, 2012

#17 Mitchel

What a camera, i want it

5:27 pm - Friday, February 10, 2012

#18 zebarnabe

I think the biggest compromise on this camera are the lens ... but what would one expect from such massive zoom lens…

The smudgeness, lack of sharpness, blurriness, mushiness, or whatever you may want to call it, seems related to the lens or it’s correction than the sensor noise reduction, there is a certain lack of contrast and saturation as well.

If it justifies the price tag? Hmmm, if you want all in one package it is hard to get any better, but for that price there are many options that are a lot better. If they had put something less ambitious on the front of the sensor :/

8:07 pm - Friday, February 10, 2012

#19 tonysturn

I have been (and I still am) an avid fan of the fujifilm HS20. 
For over six months now, I found it to be a great camera and done all I needed,(that was once I discovered the manual mode).
But people move on, and I think I’d gone just about as far as I could with it,and I wanted something with just a bit more IQ without giving up the versatility of the superzoom and the full manual control.

Well I think Fuji must have heard me .. Enter the X-S1..           

I received mine yesterday and at the moment I’m “happy man”.
It’s more or less still the HS20,  “but on speed”,
all the shortcomings (or quirks as I call them) of the hs20 seem to have been sorted,

the viewfinder, (now great)
the burst mode ( now continous,  and it can also use100 ISO,(not limited to 200 minimum like before)
the slow focusing, (much faster now)
the slow write speed if you used burst mode ( much faster ,not a problem)
The image quality (noticably more refined)
you can also use the full ‘12mp’ so you have that extra crop factor
and there are many things I’ve probablly forgot to mention

Well I only got it yesterday, and I’m still getting to grips with it (the buttons and switches in different places)

but you can see a few pics I’ve taken at this link
http://www.flickr.com/photos/tonysturn/sets/


So far it’s all good, and no negatives ...
 
  Tonysturn ..

9:14 pm - Friday, February 10, 2012

#20 Tonysturn

I have been (and I still am) an avid fan of the fujifilm HS20.
For over six months now, I found it to be a great camera and done all I needed,(that was once I discovered the manual mode).
But people move on, and I think I’d gone just about as far as I could with it,and I wanted something with just a bit more IQ without giving up the versatility of the superzoom and the full manual control.

Well I think Fuji must have heard me .. Enter the X-S1..

I received mine yesterday and at the moment I’m “happy man”.
It’s more or less still the HS20, “but on speed”,
all the shortcomings (or quirks as I call them) of the hs20 seem to have been sorted,

1- the viewfinder, (now great)
2- the burst mode ( now continuous, and it can also use100 ISO,(not limited to 200 minimum like before)
3- the slow focusing, (much faster now)
4- the slow write speed if you used burst mode ( much faster ,not a problem)
5- The image quality (noticeably more refined)
6- you can also use the full ‘12mp’ so you have that extra crop factor
7- more IS0’s to choose from in manual mode
and there are many things I’ve probably forgot to mention (will try to update as they come to mind)

Well I only got it yesterday, and I’m still getting to grips with it (the buttons and switches in different places)

but you can see a few pics I’ve taken at this link
http://www.flickr.com/photos/tonysturn/sets/

So far it’s all good, and no negatives ...
Tonysturn ..

8:40 am - Saturday, February 11, 2012

#21 Paul

Another disappointing and expensive camera from Fuji after HS10, HS20! Blurry images, noise even at ISO 100. A device that the poor quality of the Fuji presents him as an alternative to DSLR. Even we take the suckers???

11:08 am - Saturday, February 11, 2012

#22 Daniel

1.Image quality is poor;
2.Very noisy;
3.Pictures are blurry;
4.Colors are washed;
5.Weighs more (920g);
6.Too expensive;
I would not ever buy this camera. Sorry Christian already made ??the mistake of buying it.

12:29 pm - Saturday, February 11, 2012

#23 Ben

What a great camera, seems to be the best one with such a sensor quality. Especially the fine details are really impressive, very dynamic range. To compare it with other models? Not possible with such a soom and the new sensor. So this X-S1 as a bridge camera is the only super-zoom on the market, built massive - so this is also an aspect why it “feels” expensive.

2:17 pm - Saturday, February 11, 2012

#24 Mino

Joey Wilson: You are so wrong with “not cleaning the sensor”. Even compacts are very prone to this problem, zoom lens work like vacuum cleaner. The truth is, compacts have much more problems with dust because it is imposiible to clean the dust from sensor in comparison with DSLR and CSC. I can tell you, nowadays lot of compacts will have dust on their sensor in time, say… one year. Especially Panasonics are very prone to it. And my little Samsung has also three very big dust spots.

6:08 pm - Saturday, February 11, 2012

#25 Warren Lyons

Utterly amazing how PB readers seem to either love or hate the XS1.  For whatever it’s worth, it might not be worth twice the price of my Canon SX40, but those pictures posted by Tony were, in my opinion better than anything else I have seen taken by a bridge camera.

9:41 pm - Saturday, February 11, 2012

#26 Peter

I agree with you Warren, I’ve been thinking about buying this camera for a long time ,I like the whole idea of a super-zoom with a big sensor, but on seeing the poor quality image samples in this review and others on the net I was put off,that was until I saw tonysturn images,they completely restored my faith in the camera,he shows what can be done with it,some beautiful images, now I’m very excited about buying mine.

11:42 pm - Saturday, February 11, 2012

#27 Sergio

Picture quality seems good to me. The big problem is the presence of specular highlights (Orbs) that appear in some conditions. I didn’t find at this site pictures, but there are others sites were this problem is easily noticeable. It should be a very good option without orbs. If Fuji could not find a solution, I prefer Panasonic FZ150

11:50 pm - Sunday, February 12, 2012

#28 tony

As usual a lot of negative comments above. If you want a great camera with great image quality then you can not go past the X-S1. Had mine for over 2 weeks and LOVE IT.Ihad the Sony a33 and the slight drop in iq is not that noticable,not when you have a fully weathersealed camera with a long zoom, great iq,optical image stabilisation and faster than all bridge cameras out there.As far as price if you want quality you have to pay for it.

7:24 am - Monday, February 13, 2012

#29 Paul

Without being malicious, but the photos Mr. Tonysturn are resized (1094x694), probably processed, without EXIF. Nothing striking. Sorry

1:02 pm - Monday, February 13, 2012

#30 tony

Hi, no need to be sorry. I have checked a lot of photos in the reviews on this site and i haven’t seen a striking photo yet.This includes DSLRs, so they are not much good as far as portraying the real IQ.Cheers.

1:46 am - Tuesday, February 14, 2012

#31 Alf Smith

ORBS !

6:36 am - Wednesday, February 15, 2012

#32 webber

Most of the negative comments are from the canikon lot getting worried.I too thought up the idea that,as fujifilm now has no dlsr,they should produce a bridge camera with a focal length of around 600-800mm,quality optics with good build quality and some weather sealing,not to mention good feature set and larger sensor.the camera has all i need and plan to try it out soon,it would have to be genuinely poor for me not to buy.I feel strongly most of the negative comments should be ignored…

2:00 pm - Thursday, February 16, 2012

#33 John

Google translate
Fuji tries, fails unfortunately. X-S1 does not stand out at all. I do not adversely affect anyone, but I think it’s better not to throw money out the window.

7:29 pm - Thursday, February 16, 2012

#34 Alex

Mr. Tonysturn many thanks for your wonderful birds in winter. I see that you took from this camera as much as it could be taken. May be it is interesting not only for me - full enough EXIF info could be seen from Original size picturs.

11:52 am - Friday, February 17, 2012

#35 Doug Sinnott

How any one can say that the image quality of this camera is terrible?
What planet are these people from?
If Mark Goldstein’s images are “blurry”,or “unsharp”,perhaps some new glasses are required by certain people!
Mark always gives a fair and balanced review,in my experience,and if he says,after extensive use “in the field”,that the image quality is excellent,and after looking at his pictures,I’ll take his word for it.
He has tested many cameras over the years,and if he says the images produced by this superb new camera are great,then I’m sure they are.
The same contributors probably slag of all cameras that aren’t either Canon or Nikon DSLRs,but in my long experience of DSLRs and Fuji and Panasonic Superzooms,when comparing A4 prints,there’s very little difference in the quality,and the bigger sensor,(and viewfinder!),amongst several other improvements on the new Fuji will all of the previous HS20’s shortcomings.
My HS20 can produce some great pictures even so,but I think the XS10 looks to be the ultimate all-in-one,and,once the price drops a bit,I’ll get one!
Thanks,Mark Goldstein,for a great review,concise,and informative,as always!

2:13 pm - Friday, February 17, 2012

#36 ontologico

to all the people of this thread.

You can view the 1:1 size of the photos taken by Mr. Tonystrun just by clicking the link “Large Size” under each image.
It seems to be non so difficult, isn’t it?

3:33 pm - Friday, February 17, 2012

#37 vladimir

I know there is an invasion of mirrorless photographic market with exceptional qualities, but I know I will not resist the acquisition of new XS1. I have a S100FS takes excellent photos and I believe that the XS1 is actually an evolution of the S100FS to the sensor is the same size although improved, if kept proper proportion xs1 believe will be exceptional.

12:06 am - Saturday, February 18, 2012

#38 vladimir

Although the XS1 is designated as belonging to the new line of premium fuji X for me it is an evolution of the S100FS S200EXR and shot photos with exceptional S100FS and be maintained for proper proportion to xs1deverá be an excellent camera to the sensor has the same size 8.8 mm x 6.6 mm, here in Brazil is not for sale but when you’re going to get one. Just do not understand even the pretense of fuji with HS30EXR looks like it will clash with the xs1 except for the sensor that is a little smaller and so far no review any photos and video test, I’m crazy to compare with hs30exr xs1 .

1:06 pm - Saturday, February 18, 2012

#39 John

I saw Mr. Tonystrun photos. Noise, noise, noise. Even at ISO 100. And software “picnik.com. Hilarious.

3:35 pm - Saturday, February 18, 2012

#40 vladimir

Although belonging to the line x xs1 premium fuji for me it is an evolution of the S100FS is S200EXR until the sensor has the same size 8.8 mm x 6.6 mm, if the ratio is maintained believe that this camera will be spectacular both in pictures as video is expected to see. Just do not understand what you want with the fuji hs30exr looks like it will clash with the xs1 except for the sensor that is smaller in hs30exr. Both are robust, superzoom has a number of similar items, I’m curious to see who will do better HS30EXR XS1 fuji or two will be one of mine.

10:43 pm - Saturday, February 18, 2012

#41 vladimir

Although the XS1 is within the X Series premium fuji I understand it as an evolution of the S100FS is S200EXR until the sensor is the same size 8.8 mm x 2.2 mm, robust, superzoom, if the ratio is maintained over the S100FS is S200EXR will probably be an excellent camera. Just do not understand what you want with fuji HS20EXR seems that clashes with the XS1 except for the sensor that is smaller, I see the reviews of HS30EXR certainly one of the two will be mine.

12:58 am - Sunday, February 19, 2012

#42 Ben

It should be better to discuss the photos, which are posted here in this review. In my eyes absolutely outstanding for a super-zoom camera.
I cannot see any other camera with such a picture quality. This Fuji beats with its great functions and good built quality all other cams with a zoom factor mor than 20 - at least right now. I´ll get mine next week.

Many thanks for this great review!

1:47 pm - Sunday, February 19, 2012

#43 Dennis Patterson

@Sergio: You will find the orbs from the faulty sensor on photo no. 30 . Look for the white blobs (reflections) on the front of the cars to the right. Pixel peeping I know, but it is there - faulty sensor…

http://img.photographyblog.com/reviews/fujifilm_finepix_x_s1/sample_images/fujifilm_finepix_x_s1_30.jpg

11:07 am - Monday, February 20, 2012

#44 Andrew

A travel camera, that and nothing more. Good for amateurs, not for professionals. It’s foolish to compare Fuji X-S1 with a DSLR. Greetings enthusiasts bigger zoom.

11:41 am - Monday, February 20, 2012

#45 Sergio

Thank You Dennis. The orbs are actualy there. Unfortunately the Achilles’ heel of this great camera. I think this problem can’t be solved by software. Probably it’s a CMOS problem.

10:34 pm - Monday, February 20, 2012

#46 faptastic

Orbs plus lens droop: http://i.imgur.com/STBTW.gif

Deal breaker Fuji!

HS20EXR has served me well but my next camera is looking to be a DSLR either 600D or D5100, not the X-S1 I was so looking forward to.

8:30 pm - Tuesday, February 21, 2012

#47 Swoosh

@ Mark Goldstein


Great X-S1 review sir! Gave me a complete info about the camera
and been thinking seriously about buying one BUT, what im so
interested to see are the digital super zoom capabilities of this
camera and its image quality, since Fujifilm has specially
emphasized that X-S1’s focal length can reach up to 624mm AND by
adjusting the digital zoom to 2X means that its focal length can
now REACH 1200+mm right? And Fujifilm also said that by adjusting
the digital zoom of the X-S1 to 2x while fully zoomed there’s no
loss of image quality. How true is this sir? Could you post pics
where an image was taken at its longest focal length and the
intelligent digital zoom set to 2x???...

In addition, since the X-S1 is capable of taking pics up to
52X using the intelligent 2x digital zoom. Does adjusting the
digital zoom to 2x (for example) will automatically include a
metadata for the image(s) taken where the focal length of the
image INCLUDING the digital zoom setting is already included?
OR, just the lens focal length only excluding the digital zoom
setting data? Meaning, although an image was take at 624mm and
with 2x digital zoom (resulting in 52x total zoom) still when
you look at the image’s metadata it will only say
Focal Length: 624mm?

Any info regarding this would be highly appreciated. Thanks a
lot for the good review and more power to you sir.

2:50 pm - Friday, February 24, 2012

#48 Swoosh

@ TonySturn

Nice pics sir, hope i could do some super zooming too like that when i buy the X-S1. :-)

2:56 pm - Friday, February 24, 2012

#49 zebarnabe

Swoosh,

Digital zoom doesn’t add more detail to a photo, it is just a crop and resize of it.

No matter what Fujifilm says, digital zoom will not maintain the resolve power expected for a full resolution photo (and will actually enhance any defect in the picture).

If you have the RAW format, you can achieve the same digital zoom on a computer by cropping and rescaling.

Sensor wise the orbs seem to be a firmware issue when the luminance curves are applied, though I’m not entirely sure it will be solved in the future.
The only issue I see with this camera (aside from the price and the said orbs) is the lens performance, but with such a massive zoom it is not that bad.

Fujifilm should have made something with less zoom (something between 10 to 15 times) and a brighter aperture.

9:45 pm - Friday, February 24, 2012

#50 Dokikik

Thanks for this wonderful review - but is this really true:

“Once the burst is completed, it takes over fifteen seconds for the camera to clear the buffer, during which you cannot take another picture.”

As far as I know the X-S1 like the X10 can shoot and store in parallel, so you can continue shooting while the camera is storing data - or not?

5:36 am - Saturday, February 25, 2012

#51 Donnie Biggs

What’s wrong with Fuji? The IQ is no better than Canon SX40 (if not worse)!

5:01 pm - Sunday, February 26, 2012

#52 Donnie Biggs

Maybe its because they get final resolution by interpolation 6—>12Mp which is common for Fuji

6:01 pm - Sunday, February 26, 2012

#53 Darryl

I bought one and I love it!!
Excellent picture quality.
What a great camera (I also have a Nikon D300)
Darryl

8:07 pm - Tuesday, February 28, 2012

#54 Albert

1. Poor white-balance in artificial light
2. Weak Eye-Start sensor
3. Poor preview coverage
4. Not Exposure-Priority
5. Wrong Live-Histogram
6. Limited shutter-speed above base ISO
7. Strange occasional blooming
8. Off-center tripod mount
9. Sticky buttons

8:22 am - Wednesday, February 29, 2012

#55 zebarnabe

10. lens barrel bends down on it’s own weight when fully out (and it is made of metal… if it was plastic it would probably break)

It’s far from perfect… though ... it has PASM modes so I’m not entirely sure what you mean in point 4…. doesn’t it have exposure compensation manual control?

Point 6 is really weird as well.

Point 7 is prolly the most serious, the so called ‘orbs’, it is always better to under expose if there are bright light sources on your framing…

5:38 pm - Wednesday, February 29, 2012

#56 Donnie Biggs

Mmm… some white orbs here
http://imageshack.us/f/525/bbbhm.jpg/

12:33 pm - Saturday, March 3, 2012

#57 André

Bought it a week ago and I’m thrilled. Use to have a Panny FZ50. This one is so much better. The EXR Auto settings are awesome. I love this camera! A true multi purpose camera for all occasions.

6:48 pm - Saturday, March 3, 2012

#58 Michael James

Funny how these so called experts review a camera without using it for what it good for. Basically they said the same thing about the fujifilm finepix s100fs and yet it produces great images. There is a reason the S100FS has the knickname of “THE LEGEND”.
Now they come out with the X-S1 and here another so called Expert that is in love with ultra expensive cameras puts it down without going out into the real world and do a proper test. Get out there and use it for a week or two then come back with a review that is proper. Use it for a week and i am sure you will be hooked like i became hooked with the S100fs.

4:49 pm - Friday, March 9, 2012

#59 Warren Lyons

18 year old boys looking to post spy shots of MILFs in Bikinis will buy a Canon SX40 or wait until the Nikon P510 (1000mm at the long end) comes out.  Those working for Audobon Magazine will use a pro level DSLR.  In between these two extremes, there as a large audience for whom the XS-1 will float their boat

5:03 pm - Friday, March 9, 2012

#60 SUBRAMONIAM

I got this at an exchange offer that ran in the UAE last week. Love the fit and finish. Seems like a dormant volacano like it’s namesake (Mt. Fuji) with lots of features pent up inside. May not be compareable in IQ to my SONY A580 but seeing TONY’s Flickr I think I must learn to use this camera.

One thing all reviewer’s write is the price and say you could get a mid-range DSLR for X-S1’s price. But with a DSLR like A580 or d5100 one has to get a decent 18-200 lens and a 200-500 tele plus a macro to reach the range offered by XS-1!! Cheapest 200-500 tele lens would be about $1000 and another $800 for a macro and a 18-200 lens. So $1800 for lenses alone and maybe $700 for a decent body.  That way isn’t XS-1 value for money. And the convenience of carrying around.

Using it with flash I found even at long end there is no shadow of lens!! Macro is quite good. Have to try out fully but I think I slowly would shed my DSLR.

6:23 pm - Tuesday, March 13, 2012

#61 Bill Coats

Why does everyone insist on comparing a bridge to an SLR? We don’t compare volkswagon beetles to mercedes, both cars, both at opposite ends of the spectrum. Compare the xs1 to ANY other bridge camera and it is easily the “mercedes” of the bunch. It is NOT an slr, so stop comparing it to one.

2:39 am - Thursday, March 22, 2012

#62 vladimir

I’m with you Bill, I think the cameras should be compared within the same level.

10:26 pm - Thursday, March 22, 2012

#63 SUBRAMONIAM

+1 Bill. I was driving to that in my comment.

My X-S1 is giving very good results
http://www.flickr.com/photos/64618899@N04/sets/72157629217920220/

My A580 is sleeping now.

And for lens wobble or lens sag story it is BS. I checked mine. Yes, not measurable ~1mm or so. If you own a telephoto zoom with the barrel extending check that. It also has ~1mm of so called ‘Sag”. I feel what folks are writing is after mounting the hood. The hood has a good play of 2mm or so. If you lift at the hood that play also will show up and you get 3-4mmm ‘lens sag’. I don’t think Fuji engineers are so foolish not to think of this when they design the lens.

4:20 am - Friday, March 23, 2012

#64 Jaroslaw

I wanted to replace my old Panasonic FZ-50 with the new Fujifilm X-S1 so I have bought it. And sold it after one week. I made some RAW pictures using both cameras and compared them. The overall image quality were worse than in FZ-50! Although pictures were more sharp in the center of the image, they were very blurry and unsharp in the rest of the area, especially on the edges. The noises were less visible in X-S1, but after developing JPEGs from RAWs the quality of FZ-50 images was much better (sharpness!). To obtain the sharpness from RAWs of the X-S1 that was close to the one I have obtained from FZ-50 RAWs I had to use the 100% of detail enhancement, 100% of outlines and 0% of noise reduction. In result the image was almost as sharp as FZ-50 jpg (the edges still unsharp of course) but the noise started to be visible.

In fact when you watch resized pictures on the 1024/768 resolution monitor you will not notice these defects: http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.361021110599245.90040.100000740789064&type=3&l=7ad58db64b

My conclusion: very good camera for those who just want to produce jpegs straight from the camera and do not care the details. If it was my first camera, I think I would love it, but being able to compare it with my own, old Panasonic FZ-50 I have just sold it.

http://krokus.tpn.pl/wenta/

6:45 am - Thursday, March 29, 2012

#65 Peter

I don’t understand this review and especially readers comments. In at least 2 other review sites the X-S1 got 5 out of 5 and editors choice which included IQ. Although this review gives it high marks, its obvious that many readers did not agree!!

Yet, my X10 seems to show superior IQ to the X-S1. I think this must be down to the lens more than anything else. Did PB get a duff camera for the review or was there a firmware issue that could have resolved the ‘poor’ IQ?? Hmmm.

Peter

9:05 am - Monday, April 30, 2012

#66 Doug Sinnott

To Jaroslaw,
To compare your old FZ50 with the XS1 is to compare chalk with cheese!
The FZ50 has a much smaller sensor,is much slower to use,and,although good in it’s day,and is just out of date now.
The XS1 is faster to use,is better made,has a better lens,a better viewfinder,better,and bigger, EXR sensor,(I could go on!),and a much,much better rear screen.
Plus it can produce much better prints,especially at higher ISOs, than the old FZ50,(I’ve owned a few Panasonics,as well as an FZ50)
To send it back after one day is ridiculous,how can you really try the camera out in so short a time!
Do you actually make any prints,or do you spend your life peering at images on screen?
There’s lots like you on these forums it seems!
THE XS1(and the HS30),are great “all in ones”,but you need to have them longer than one day to do them justice,and explore their full potential!

If you spent less time

8:16 am - Wednesday, May 2, 2012

#67 Peter

I use my X10 mostly for Jpegs, but my PP programme really does extract lots of detail, plus you can use the EXR technology to great effect. The X10 has the same sensor, EXR, processor as the X-S1 and pictures from both cameras are more or less identical.
Fuji are well respected for exhibiting superb colours.
Just to put the other side of the argument, read Ephotozine’s review of the X-S1
I would love the X-Pro1 but its out of my reach, however, good news, Fuji said they are working on a more affordable CSC, with electro/optical finder and a kit zoom with primes to follow.

Lastly, perhaps the huge focul range of the X-S1 zoom lens was just a step too far for top optical quality to be maintained at all settings, at these ranges, some compromises must be made.

Peter

8:56 am - Wednesday, May 2, 2012

#68 Finn Ritz Jørgensen

Last weekend I had my Nikon D3100 w. 18-105 Nikkor and a friends X-S1 to play with. I took only JPEG of highest quality indoor and outdoor. Up to 400ISO the X-S1 can match my Nikon. I can see no immediate difference. Outdoor in backlight on 24mm I sometimes saw a violet shade in the center. Shading the lens further with my hand eliminated the flaw. At 40mm and beyond it was gone. On a monopod the long zoom was easy to handle and produced some nice bird shots. The X-S1 is NOT a point and shoot camera for beginners. It is an exceptional enthusiast camera. I want one!!!

5:31 pm - Tuesday, May 15, 2012

#69 thygocanberra

@Finn Ritz Jorgensen
How did it go above ISO 400 ?
How does it compare?

I also imagine the X-S1 was about the same weight as the 3100+18-105, how about the feel - looks like it would be a similar size?

1:50 pm - Friday, May 25, 2012

#70 Finn Ritz Jørgensen

The D3100 with 18-105 and the X-S1 are very close in weight and size. The bulid quality of the Fuji is exellext. The lens is first class. I can email photos of the same subject taken with both cameras at ISO 400 and 800.
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address). I still want an X-S1 for sure but I’m waiting for Fuji to deliver the new sensor. On the other hand I’ll also keep my Nikon. If I should only have one camera, Ill go for the Fuji.

8:59 pm - Friday, May 25, 2012

#71 Peter

I’m waiting for the new Fuji interchangeable lens camera. Rumoured to be an interchangeable lens version of the X100. Not to be confused with the XPro-1. They also have a zoom coming out for this camera.

I should imagine your pics on the Nikon 3100/18-105 are sharper with better detail than the X-S1?

7:15 am - Saturday, May 26, 2012

#72 Ivan H.

Those comments by individuals who state that the sample images are not sharp must have a problem with their computor or their eyes.
I wonder how many actually own the X-S1?.
This is a great overall camera rivaling DSLR’s priced under $1,000 (plus lenses).
I use this camera on my overseas trips and leave my Canon D 7 ( and lenses) at home.

6:48 am - Tuesday, May 29, 2012

#73 Dennis

#19 Tony Sturn
#61 Bill Coats
#66 Doug Sinnott

You guys got it right. Its not an SLR,
and who wants to pack all those lenses?
Wow, I wish I could get shots like Tony’s…

4:09 am - Monday, June 4, 2012

#74 Bill Boats

That’s right Dennis, who wants to tote lenses. I currently have ans s200exr which I love. I am trying to decide whether to keep it and get an xs-1 as well or to sell it to offset the cost. Maybe keep it for a while till I’m sure the xs-1 is all I want it to be. I am still experimenting with all the manual controls. there are so many settings and possible combinations it would take months to try them all. Even a “pro” who knows what the settings are would have to take 1000’s of shots to evaluate the camera. Looking at your shots at 2000% zoom to see if there is any “noise” is just stupid, who cares! Did you take the pic you wanted? does it look like you thought it would? Yes? Great! No? Take another one with different settings! That, to me, is half the fun of photography, and last I knew this is supposed to be enjoyable.
  So to all you pixel peepers, stop looking at 6 pixels, and start looking at PICTURES.

12:39 pm - Monday, June 4, 2012

#75 Peter

Bill

Totally aggree with your comments, my only concern is the lens not the pixels. The lens has a good performance but not the sharpest knife in the drawer, this may show up on crops for printing. Having said that the images I have seen look fantastic and the colours [Velvia] are truly sumptuous. I had a look at some of my 35-mm Velvia slides and Fuji X-S1 colours are spot on, they are identical.

Peter

3:36 pm - Monday, June 4, 2012

#76 Dennis

A 30 power zoom that also does macro and wide angle surely has to have a few limitations, but the majority of us weekend photographers really don’t care and probably can’t see the difference anyway. Looking on the Internet, Fujinon lenses are used in most television cameras for broadcasting, most megapixel camera phones have Fujinon lenses and they are also used in space for many satellites. In today’s march towards incredible technology, the trend in everything is lighter and smaller but with all the features;  so its only a matter of time until all the camera makers concentrate on manufacturing cameras with one lense that does everything and is easy to pack around. How else are we all going to transport our camera along with our IPhone and/or Laptop, a Kindle reader, an IPad, a GPS system, an IPod, and all the other new stuff that will come out this Christmas??

4:55 pm - Monday, June 4, 2012

#77 doug sinnott

Dennis,
I think the Fuji zoom is great!
Very little wide angle distortion(if any!)and the range is fantastic.
The thought of lugging around my old 18-200 Nikon lens leaves me cold now,and the macro is not a patch on the Fuji!
A lot of the critics have probably not even tried out a modern superzoom,especially a Fuji HS30,they’d be surprised how versatile they are.
And the prints are great too!

7:33 pm - Monday, June 4, 2012

#78 ezyernie

EXR is the biggest problem with fujifilm cameras. It can’t handle solid colors in large areas of the picture. When I blow up a picture the “solid” areas look like many tiny brushstrokes, like a van gogh painting. When there is detail in manual mode, it can be stunningly accurate, but the EXR is always on, to blur edges and soften color changes in may cases. There is apparently the least EXR effect when operating in (M)anual mode.

When processing the EXR generated photos, it is often difficult to shrink those photos to sizes manageable by non-fotogs. detail is lost or distorted by most popular software. I have not found the RAW pics to be much better.

4:43 am - Monday, June 25, 2012

#79 Peter Bower

I can’t say I have come across this with my X10.

I always thought the EXR mode had to be selected in the menu for it to be in operation.
So you are saying that the EXR mode is always on but at different levels depending on what you have selected. I mostly use AP or P and never seen any colour blotching or blurred edges when I check 100% crops.

7:58 am - Monday, June 25, 2012

#80 Doug Sinnott

Peter,
You’re right!
The EXR mode is not on in all functions,it has to be selected,(I usually leave the camera in EXR Auto!).
And I’ve certainly had no problems with my images,or large prints.
I’ve been impressed with the images from from my HS30,and the longer I use this camera,the more I like it!
And I’m no beginner,having been a keen amateur for 50 years!

1:53 pm - Monday, June 25, 2012

#81 Peter

Doug

Like wise, started on a Zenit E in the 60’s and worked through a few SLR’s to end up with a Canon EOS 50 kit, then sold the lot for my first Digicam, a Oly E-510 which I use occasionaly. I still have a couple of Minolta’s a X-D7 and X-500 which are still used. I was a big fan of Kodachrome and Fujifilm. Fuji are a clever lot because the ‘Velvia’ mode on my X10 produces identical picture quality/colours to a roll of Velvia 50.

I tend though to shoot more in ‘Astia’ which is not so vivid. I run the X10 on a medium/weak noise filter setting to help preserve detail, regular sharpening and most other things on default. I usualy try to not go above 800 ISO and mostly stay at 200 for a touch of increased dynamic range. Most other things I do in PP.

100% crops show excellent sharpness and edge definition [if you want to pixel peep]and the colour depth is superb. Admittedly, the pictures are not quite as razor sharp as my Nikon D5000 but every body I know loves the Fuji colours.

Where I think Fuji excel is in landscapes, they just take your breath away for richness and depth of colour.
Peter

4:37 pm - Monday, June 25, 2012

#82 Doug Sinnott

Hi Peter!
I started with a second hand “Halina 35X Super”,which cost me £5,but was an all metal 35mm camera,but got me hooked on photography.
I then moved on to a Zenit E,with the super sharp Helios F2 lens,with a manual diaphragm.I had these for years,with various lenses,and got into developing and printing(black and white,of course!)in a big way.
After part-exing my Zenit,for a Dixon’s Chinon CE4,which was a big improvement,and various others over the years,my last film SLR camera was a Canon 50e.
My first digital(after swearing I would never “go digital”!)was a second hand Fuji S602 zoom bridge camera,which was a state of the art camera in the 90s,with all that vivid “Fuji” colour,and although only 3MP,it was expanded to 6Mp via the Fuji Super CCD sensor,and which produced some nice,sharp A4 prints.
After I downloaded my first pictures on my desktop,I knew I wouldn’t go back to film,(although I still have all my Canon and Nikon SLRs)as being able to see your pictures on your computer screen,within minutes of taking them,was a revelation,after all those years of film!
I have owned quite a few Fuji’s since,latterly all the HS series,and also tried Panasonic FZ superzooms,but the HS30 is definitely the best of the bunch.
At big blowups on screen(100% and over)a DSLR is better,we all know that,but at normal print sizes,(A4/A3) the difference,in my view,is only marginal,and is outweighed by the versatility and sheer convenience of the HS30.

7:45 pm - Monday, June 25, 2012

#83 Peter B

Hi Doug

Its always fascinating to hear other people’s photographic history. I had a Fuji HS10 for a short while and chopped it in Part Exchange for another bit of kit. Looking back at the pics I took of local landscapes, I regretted selling it, so I got the X10. Have you considered the X-S1, the price has dropped quite a bit.The bigger sensor realy is an improvement.

The Fuji HS30 EXR gets good reviews but the HS20 was a backward step from the HS10.
If you are into landscapes and you don’t want to carry a heavy DSLR kit, the Fujifilm bridge cameras must be the best choice. Olympus are renowned for their superb Jpeg IQ and colour, but the Fuji is in my opinion just as good if not better.

Is there any way of getting your E Mail with publishing it on this site?

Cheers
Peter

8:50 am - Tuesday, June 26, 2012

#84 doug sinnott

Peter,
Yes,the XS-1 looks a superb piece of kit,but I’ve also got a Panasonic G2 DSLR,which has a similar sensor,and the images are very similar,so I’m happy with my HS30.
That’s not to say if a used XS-1 came up,I mighn’t be tempted,but certainly not at the moment!
I’ve spent enough on cameras(and cars!) over the years,I suppose,,and,now I’m retired,there’s other priorities(my wife tells me!),but,you never know!
Doug.
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

9:56 am - Tuesday, June 26, 2012

#85 BRIAN

SO HAVING READ ALL THE COMMENTS !!!
IS THE XS1 WORTH THE MONEY NOW AT AN AVERAGE PRICE OF £500 OR NOT?
there seems to be so many conflicting points of view from rubbish to fantastic .I have to admit its the same with most review comments though .
Now it is July is it likely we will see a new xs2 or a Hs40EXR next year ?

4:45 pm - Sunday, July 8, 2012

#86 Bill Boats

I have an s200exr, great camera for what it is. I was thinking of trading up to the xs-1. Last weekend I had the opportunity to “fiddle about” a bit with a friends Canon T2i, what a difference. I know they are two different breeds, a bridge vs a DSLR, but at the $800 for the xs-1, or even $600 the HS30 EXR I can get a brand new T2i with the admittedly average 18-55mm kit lens ($600) and add a Canon 75-300mm lens ($800), 35mm equivalent 480mm! Not quite the zoom, but the images are exeptional. I have balked at the lens change option in the past, and still am undecided, but the quality of bird images I got with the Canon was stunning… So do I buy the T2i with the kit lens, and spend a little extra and get a great quality 50-25mm lens? Or buy another bridge. Hmmmm…decisions.

6:28 pm - Sunday, July 8, 2012

#87 doug sinnott

We all know a DSLR will give you a better ultimate image,BUT you have to look very closely!
But think of the extra cost,extra weight,fiddling around changing lenses,and you still won’t have the extreme reach of the superzooms such as the excellent XS-1,and also the cheaper HS30!
Really you’re going over the same old ground,people pick a good superzoom as it combines great versatility and images,it’s a lot more portable and compact than a similar DSLR kit,and,importantly,it’s certainly a lot more affordable to Mr Average.

8:01 pm - Monday, July 9, 2012

#88 Peter

Bill & Doug

In a way you are both right and you make some good argument for and against.

The Fuji X-S1 is the complete deal, no other lenses needed or expensive extra filters and lens hoods to fit those other lenses.
On the negative side, it weighs in at over 800g and its bigger than most DSLR’s.However, the build quality is superb.

I do feel that the zoom range was a tad over optomistic, yes, leave the 24 wide but not so far on the tele end. They may have got better optical performance. This was the remark made about the X10 with a shorter zoom range, it was optically better because of less zoom compromise, but not by much.

In a way I prefer the picture quality of my X10 [same sensor and processing engine as the X-S1] over my Nikon,I can’t put my finger on it but the pictures are a pleasure to look at with some of the best colours I have seen.I borrowed a X-S1 for the day and the whole experience was far nicer than using my old Nikon D5000

8:31 am - Tuesday, July 10, 2012

#89 Doug

Peter!
You’re right about Fuji colour!
Starting with my S602z years ago,I have noticed Fuji pictures have a nice vibrancy about them,whether is a “Super CCD” sensor,or the latest “EXR” chip.Fuji seem to have the knack of capturing all the colours in an image,and improving on them,the difference is plain to see when comparing images.
The latest Fuji premium X series compacts,like your X-10,are certainly a step up for Fuji,a match for Leica in many ways,and superbly made,but still with that “Fuji Colour”,as you have commented on!

6:41 pm - Tuesday, July 10, 2012

#90 john

Bad photographers blame there camera

8:21 pm - Tuesday, July 10, 2012

#91 Bill Boats

So I had the chance play with an XS-1 the other day. Great camera. Tremendous zoom, nice color. I also was with a friend who had a Canon XSi with a Tamron 18-270mm lens on it with me. It provides about a 15x zoom (same as the s200exr I own). We created our own real world test. Walking in the woods and shooting wildlife, mostly birds, flora and fauna in macro, and general fun time memory shots of our hike. The Canon blew the XS-1 out of the water. Focus speed and accuracy were comparable, but it ends there. We both agreed that to make the outing a fair comparison we would leave the cameras on full auto, and let’s face it, 90% of the cameras in these two classes will remain there most of their lives. The Canon, 4 generations of the Rebel series old and with a 40% larger sensor and nearly identical 12.xx megapixels clearly takes sharper pictures. For $400 I can buy an XSi (New) and for another $500 the Tamron 18-270mm lens (for birding anything onver 300mm becomes unuseable without a tripod on a walk where handheld is the style of the day. I have been a diehard bridge camera supporter for many years, and love my s200exr, but now it seems that the DSLR guys are figuring out that a do-all lens might just be a good thing, and I think the bridge community will soon begin to lose the higher end portion of its market. It has lost me.

4:28 pm - Sunday, July 29, 2012

#92 Dennis

It would be nice if Bill could post a few photos from each of the cameras in use on his walk in the woods. Then we could judge the quality for ourselves.

A few photo examples might dispel the chance of PEBKAC or ID-10-T errors which often occur.

5:42 pm - Sunday, July 29, 2012

#93 Finn Ritz Jørgensen

Two weeks ago I purchased the X-S1 and I love it! I still have at lot to learn about this camera. I also have a Nikon D3100 with Nikkor 18-105 mm (a jewel wrapped in plastic), and I have compared of course. The X-S1 is NOT, I repeat NOT a DSLR, but a bridge camerais doing extremely well. See for yourself:
http://fotos.finnritz.dk/#5.0.
All pictures are JPG best quality. If you click the “I” button on top you’ll se basic EXIF data. Later in September, back home from Canada, I’ll upload more photos. As a curiousity: The album “USA” on my site is Panasonic Lumix TZ7 only! The Fuji X-S! sensor is double and latest tech.

7:11 pm - Sunday, July 29, 2012

#94 sandrogsp

After several trial and errors I found that the best setting for me is “colour M-high” and “sharpness M-High”
This way the pictures are noticeably nicer, just out of the X-S1 : no need of post-processing.
It might sound strange ..... but I also found out that setting the picture resolution to “medium” leads to slightly better images !

8:27 am - Wednesday, August 1, 2012

#95 Chris Munden

Re the settings on the X-S1. I found setting the noise filter to medium/low and sharpness at medium or medium/low gave a bit more detail and definition.

A little noise reduction and sharpening in PP brings the pictures up to a very high quality in Jpegs. As yet, I have had no reason to alter the colour balance on any picture mode. In ‘vivid’ mode, which is a Fujifilm Velvia reproduction and spot on in my book gives some of the best colours especially for landscapes I have ever seen and I thought Olympus Jpegs were the best for that.

8:54 am - Friday, August 3, 2012

#96 Finn Ritz

Thanks to sandrogps, Chris and a few others for entries here that are useful and make sence. The crap pollution here has finally stopped. I use sharpening medium high and will look into the noise reduction setting. Thanks for helping me to get the best out of the X-S1!

11:54 am - Friday, August 3, 2012

#97 Finn Ritz

I found out that in macro mode the lens will focus as close as app. 20 cm up to just over 200 mm tele. Very useful and very nice to know! The manual doesn`t mention this.

7:40 pm - Monday, August 13, 2012

#98 sandrogsp

recently I settled down with the following settings:
1 - despite the name and the docs, I found the Astia film simulation to be the best. Velvia gives skyrocketed colors, Provia is “wishy-washy” . Astia is the best (IMHO) .
2 - as for the noise at high Iso, I am using “low noise reduction” , in other words: don’t mess with my pictures, I’ll take care later.  And indeed later I use Neat Image. It’s great !  Now I get Exr SN-reduction 3200 Iso *totally* noise free pictures, even when enlarged.
Neat image is totally different from other noise reduction programs I tried before.  Instead of simply “smearing” the noise (as other programs do), Neat Image can be trained to distinguish and separate signal from noise .  The results are astonishing.

5:55 pm - Tuesday, September 25, 2012

#99 Peter

There have been one or two complaints that images at certain zoom settings lacked definition and were not that sharp.

Can this be remedied in PP?

6:22 pm - Tuesday, September 25, 2012

#100 Finn Ritz

Just home from Canada. My Fuji X-S1 was one of 3 cameras I had with me. A selection of the Fuji photos can be seen: fotos.finnritz.dk. Album name: Fuji X-S1 in Canada. All taken in JPEG. I’m very satisfied with the camera indeed. Comments are welcome.

4:53 pm - Thursday, September 27, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, wide-angle, manual, super-zoom, RAW, fujifilm, cmos, 24mm, 10fps, finepix, fuji, 7fps, 26x zoom, sensor, xs1, xs-1, x-s1, Fujifilm FinePix X-S1 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry