Fujifilm X-S1 Review

4.5
February 9, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

140 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#101 vladimir

I thought your photos spectacular, very good finnritz, shame that here in Brazil we do not have to shoot landscapes with snow look good.

8:04 pm - Thursday, September 27, 2012

#102 Ade

I played X-S1 for months then i have many great images, comparable to my old Sony Alpha 350 DSLR.

The color is so “Fuji style”,very acceptable for far end zoom. Fast focus, noise handling far more better than my old Alpha. I just use it for taking wedding photos. No doubt about it.

And the most importance is, when i take a trip inside the jungle at south of Java, Indonesia with a small group of photographers, just bring small bag contains X-S1, 2 battery (for backup), 2 memory cards, Lens Cleaner and 1 Fujifilm F42 Flash with 8 Sanyo Enelop Battery, my dry clothes, and also bring a Sirui folded tripod.

And look for the other photographers, so bulky their bag, and heavy. Contain at least 3 lenses, 1 flash and bla bla bla. OMG !!! Only for camera !!! The clothes and tripod take a place in another bag. You want to take picture or house moving, dude? :D Every 600m they asked for stop taking rest because of the weight. -___- 

The result is i can take so many great macros (thanks to Super Macro capability), panoramic, moments, candid (when the other felt tired because of their bag’s weight, their face is so funny ^^) when in process to the destination, and off course the landscape view that we are looking for.

10:41 am - Friday, September 28, 2012

#103 Paul Edwards

I think Tony Sturns photosets are enough to make me buy this camera (if i had the geld$£) 

all the moaners and wingers who couldn’t be bothered to read their manuals and set the camera up should go and look at Tony’s photos on flickr - fantastic!

well done Tony

http://www.flickr.com/photos/tonysturn/7855909700/in/set-72157629247383045/

9:54 pm - Saturday, October 13, 2012

#104 Mark Riley

Had this camera for 7 weeks now and have enjoyed every minute using it! My DSLR is almost redundant! In fact I think the only way to improve it would be to have f2.8 througout the zoom range-then this would be a cracker!!

And regarding image quality? Well, yes, it may not quite be up there with DSLR images (remember you need expensive glass for excellent image quality-we have been in a recession and not everyone can afford to do this!). But speaking as a complete amateur, the XS-1 is a great camera and fun to use, and the image quality is good-and I have been even quite pleased with low light and high ISO experimentation! I have found the autofocus to be fast and accurate, there is also the very usable manual focus if you need it-and the super evf!

The no-brainer now is the price-below £450 now. I wonder if that factor now makes this an even better camera than the review suggests! Oh, and also had a photo published in local paper so well pleased!!

Sometimes you can criticise something without actually appreciating what a good thing you actually have.

1:55 pm - Wednesday, October 31, 2012

#105 Muhammad

I guess the guys that made the review does not know how to take photos !! look at real sample photos from the xs1 in this url :

http://www.fujifilm.com/products/digital_cameras/x/fujifilm_x_s1/sample_images/

really wonderful:D

1:24 am - Tuesday, December 4, 2012

#106 Bill Boone

I have to really laugh at some people. Where did they get their Photography Education? Out of a Carcker Jack Box? This is a very accurate review, written by some very highly skilled and informed people. I have been in the Photography Arts for 45 yrs. and have had some of the best equipment money can buy, but most important, I KNEW HOW TO USE IT!! It kills me, that when someone says how great the coverage (Image Quality) was of the Olympics, or last nights football game was, and then turn around and make evalutive statments about the IQ of the Fuji XS 1. Do you know that the lens for this camera was a spin off of the same lenses that are used for the coverage of those events they just raved about? The XS 1 is by far…by far… the best “All in one camera” your money can buy. If you want to go the DSLR road, then by all means, do so. I sold all my SLR (FILM) equipment years ago. If I said the amount, I too would be ashamed of myself. I got tired of all the “Sales Gimmics” in the industry today. Yes there are some things this camera is not capable of doing, but let me tell you this; No matter how much money you have,“YOU CAN’T BUY A GOOD GOLF SWING” Get it?? How many times have you read in the paper, or seen on the news, where a young kid was in an accident with his new Corvette that he “Just got as a graduation Gift”?? Reason? He simply was not qualified to be behind the wheel of that car!! I really laugh when people ask me; How do I get the calender to work on my cell phone? People spend lots of hard earned (Or Not) cash on the “Newest, and best, and wonder why it (No matter what it is) won’t perform like the “Add” said it would. People are lazy by a little thing that is a “LEARNED PROCESS”. They found out that it easier to ask someone else to do it, instead of “READING THE BOOK FOR THEMSELVES”. I see people all the time, that have the best Nikons, Cannons (Had lots of them)Olympus, Minolta etc…etc.. and have no idea what a Pixel is, or where the name comes from. Please don’t ask them where, or how, a pixel gets its color from. God forbid! These same people, should go out and spend $3000.00 on a set of Golf Clubs, then go to the golf course or better yet, go to the local Country Club, and play with some “Real Golfers”. They would most likely wonder what all the laughter was about after the round at the bar? But, maybe again, they just wouldn’t get it. SAD!! Seriously, if you want to talk the talk, then at least R.T.F.B (It came with your camera.., it’s called “THE MANUAL”. Oh…I forgot we were discussing camers. Sorry about that! I wonder why the big production boys in Hollywood,and the ones who film world events, like the Olympics, or “MONDAY NIGHT FOOTBALL”, don’t use anything but “Fuji Lenses”?? I know for a fact that Nikon, Cannon, Panasonic, etc..make really fine glass, and they are all really great. I end this buy saying this: “Before you get in the game, read the rules, read some history of the game, take some instuctions. At least, find out how many yards are on a football fied, or where the first tee is, so you won’t totally embarrass youself.(If your wondering, yes I own the Fuji XS 1, AND my fees are $145/hr. I have a waiting list of customers, and use this camera only.)  Thanks, Bill Boone. PS: Thanks for a wonderful review. Great Job!!

6:51 pm - Friday, March 15, 2013

#107 Kim

Haven’t read anyones comments about using the manual focus on the Fuji X-S1. I like the price & size of the camera and am seriously thinking about purchasing it. With the auto digitals I have owned, none can focus on moving objects like Loons on a lake or birds in a tree. It doesn’t seem to know what you are focusing on. So I’m thinking of purchasing this camera. I don’t want to deal with changing lenses like in my old 35mm days or carrying a big bulky camera. Also I really liked the flip screen in the Canon digital I have but no longer works, but I can’t manual focus that camera. Fuji does have a flip screen but unfortunately it doesn’t flip to all angles. Would you recommend this camera for it’s manual zoom usage?

4:11 pm - Monday, June 3, 2013

#108 Paul Edwards

I do not agree with what was said earlier about the Fujifilm Finepix HS10. Mine has taken some VERY clear sharp images on a recent trip up to London and I have even won competitions with it!

As far as the Fuji XS-1 is concerned I think it is a very fine and well built camera. Like all bridge cameras it dont work straight out of the box - it has to be set up..

It does have one fatal flaw though, sadly, this is what we could call ‘lensflop’ for want of a better word.The fact is that when zoomed right out the lens moves up and down in its mount, this is a real pity, this is not something I read on the internet , I was in Dixons travel a few days ago and actually held a sample in my hand , zoomed it out and sure enough it moves around in its mount, real pity..

I would recommend anyone who wants to see what these cameras can really do that they pay a visit to Flickr and search for various cameras and samples of their output in the various galleries therin.PE

My granddaughter taken by the HS10
https://plus.google.com/photos/107193621487464636258/albums/5674285579141207329

https://plus.google.com/photos/107193621487464636258/albums/5691583327489848177

https://plus.google.com/photos/107193621487464636258/albums/5644955424395865921

5:10 pm - Monday, June 3, 2013

#109 Finn Ritz

My X-S1 is one year old now. I have taken over 2000 pictures with it. No white orbs. No lens problems. I have not noticed any reduced performance over the zoom range. I also have a Panasonic TZ25 ( same sensor as the Panasonic flagship FZ200). The Fuji’s double sensor size makes a huge difference. I shoot jpg and RAW simultaneously to have the best for post processing. I also have a Nikon D3200/Nikor 18-105. For a safari or whatever and only one camera could be carried, the Fuji would go. The price has dropped too. Great value for money.

6:57 pm - Monday, June 3, 2013

#110 Douglas Sinnott

I have now had my XS1 for 6 months now,taken hundreds of pictures,in all conditions,and have to agree with Mark Goldstein,who has always provided fair and balanced reviews,that the XS1 is the closest thing by far to the perfect “all in one”,and the larger sensor does produce better images,under all conditions,than any other “bridge” camera.
I have been a keen photographer for 50 odd years,and have
owned and used DSLRs,and various Panasonic,Fuji,and one or two Canon compact,and superzooms,and the XS1 is a great mix of features,a great lens,and produces great results.

6:32 am - Monday, June 10, 2013

#111 Frank

X-s1 and X100 are two excellent cameras.  I have them both.  My complaints are that the rubber on the x-s1 is a little sticky, and the x-100 is hard to hold.  These negatives are about as important as those who fault these cameras and then compare them to those costing $7K or more.  Canon and Nikon owners just don’t want to admit that they spent too much on lenses, have to worry about having the right focal length (or they buy a second body), dust on their sensor, and the weight of all their glass in the bag.  One of these days people will let go of their large lens envy.  Or maybe not.

5:44 pm - Saturday, July 13, 2013

#112 Allen

Ok, I did months of research to find out which camera would give me pretty much what I wanted, and if it didn’t I would learn to work with it.  I chose the X-S1.  It had to be ordered from another related store, as the NH camera store didn’t have one available.  The store owner indicated that he was very happy with Fujifilm’s customer service and they go out of the way to make their customers happy.  Upon paying for the purchase, I noticed the camera serial number; it started with 14.  From research on line, an unhappy customer from Amazon indicated that he had received his X-S1 and there was a sensor issue; any serial number less than serial number beginning with 22, had this issue and he was told by Fujifilm that Amazon shouldn’t have sold that camera at all.  The manager said that I had a 1 year warranty so not to worry if there was a problem.  I was skeptical, but thought that maybe not all sensors were bad, and I would give it a try.


Upon getting it home, I discovered a required clip to hold the battery into the battery charger, was missing and couldn’t be charged (without being creative and finding a way to do it).  I called and was told that a replacement would be sent.  In sending emails to Fujifilm and calling them directly, I got more info on the sensor issue and replicated the problem indicating I had a bad sensor.  I contacted my store again, and told them of the problem.  They called customer service and was told that I should not have been sold this camera.  He then contacted the local rep for a replacement.  Week after week I called to find out when my replacement would come in.  The manager indicated that he had talked to the rep, he had left numerous messages for the rep, and he was then calling daily and leaving messages for the rep. Finally after 3 weeks of waiting (and it could have been 4), I returned the camera for refund, and will NEVER buy a Fujifilm related product again.

The above being said, I have the following comments on the camera itself.  I am coming from a Canon Powershot Pro 1, and prior to that, SLRs cameras with multiple lenses,etc.  (I have 49 years of experience with cameras)  The clip for the battery charger is required because Fujifilm is using the same battery charger for two different sized batteries.  The clip is easily lost, and the charger is not a nice convenient plug into the wall unit as Canon has.  You will have have to carry around several feet of cord for the charger - again, unlike that small compact feature from Canon that will fit into a pocket or camera bag and take up little room.

I do miss the fully articulating lcd screen as I really use the view finder more, and since the screen cannot be flipped around, the screen contacts one’s face and needs frequently cleaning.  (would be an issue for other cameras with the tilting lcd screen)

The macro feature seems to be similar to what is currently available on cameras now - must be in wide angle to get close and to focus properly, which means small items like minerals, coins, stamps, insects, etc. you are right on top of the item, casting a show, and more importantly, a small item with a wide angle of 24mm is still a small item.  My previous camera could still zoom in when in Macro or Super Macro.  (perhaps this is the unfortunate norm now)

The images are supposed to have really good resolution at lower ISOs, but when I looked at photos I had taken, they didn’t seem to be as sharp as the Canon which was only 8MP.

Unless I overlooked settings in the software, when downloading photos, it placed them into a folder with the download date, not when the photos were taken, which was my preference.  I also had multiple applications opening for the download of photos - the true app for download, but also a direct connection to the camera would open up allowing download from there too.  Unlike other software that I had seen, I was not able to select photos to download - it was either none or all.  Also, deleting the photos from the camera was not what I was expecting - the software didn’t allow me to go and view the pics on the camera and delete all or just what I wanted.  The option for download was download all images (nothing selectable) and leave the images on the camera, or download images and delete them from the camera as well.  Personally, I like to insure the photos have been downloaded prior to deleting any images.  I learned this in the past - don’t delete until one insures the images were downloaded and are fine…  (perhaps the software could be tweaked to get what I wanted, but I did look and spend some time, but never found the toggles or selections for these features)

One of the major issues I found with the camera, is that I do frequently point the camera straight down towards the ground, because I am standing over something that I want to photograph.  The lense has an issue, as when you are pointing it down, the lense barrel starts to move towards the ground due to gravity and therefore, it is zooming in while you are trying to take a photo.  So, one is preparing to take the photo, the zoom is where one wants it, the hand is removed from the zoom and finger is getting ready to depress the shutter button 1/2 way, and the image one sees is becoming larger because it is zooming.  Fujifilm doesn’t have a mechanism to apparently only zoom when a person is rotating the barrel only, and not just pointing it downward.  All one has to do is to turn the camera so it is pointing downward, and you can watch the lense start it’s downward zooming..

3:42 pm - Saturday, July 20, 2013

#113 Finn Ritz

Above Allen is complaining about zoom creep. This is normal for at lot of zoom lenses. Many have a lock at the wide setting to prevent that. The X-S1 lens will not creep set to wide.
Macro is working from 24 to 200mm on my X-S1. The manual does not mention this. With all the manual settings available and RAW capture, the X-S1 is a winner in the super zoom segment for the experienced user. Photgraphy has been my hobby for 60 years.

6:00 pm - Saturday, July 20, 2013

#114 JohnTar

Hold on, folks! Firstly IF you’re looking at the sample photos taken and displayed on this site, you’re looking probably at your very own monitor or computer screen which almost certainly will not be set up to give a perfect rendition of the samples (unless of course you’re a professional photographer/picture editor, when your criticisms will be much more sensible and not such rantings as appear here), the upload to the Internet will also leave something to be desired.

The majority of the heavy critics on this thread don’t own the camera and, in the main, say they will not buy it - HOW can that therefore be “fair” criticism..? You are all judging the camera’s value on a small sample of photos shown on a computer monitor, which, of course, can never fairly assess the quality of the printed item no matter how good the photographer.

I have owned my X-S1 now for just over six months, I also own a HS20 and owned a HS10 until I gave it to my daughter. I have been happy with all of the cameras, but the big step up for me is the X-S1. I don’t want to hump a bag full of lenses around with me at age 70 no matter how good the quality of the camera so a DSLR is out of the question - and I can’t afford to. I know that I’ll never be a “professional” photographer but love the hobby, do Photoshop editing, have Lightroom 5 and OnOne Perfect Photo Suite 7 and dabble with all three editors. As for the critique of the video capabilities of the X-S1: does anyone REALLY buy a bridge camera or a DSLR to expect to take good quality videos..? The professional assessment of the upside, and few downsides, of the X-S1 in this review are fair comment as far as I am concerned, and I LIKE having and using this camera!

11:59 pm - Saturday, July 20, 2013

#115 shiv

I cant understand how some say that its image quality is poor
It looks pretty amazing for a bridge camera
So good infact, that i am thinking of selling my Nikon D3100.

5:59 pm - Thursday, August 1, 2013

#116 JohnTar

I have a follow-up to my comment No.114: I read that Fujifilm had updated the firmware for the X-S1 from the initial 1.00 to 1.01. The update improved the camera lens operation in response to a few issues that some owners had complained about apparently. I also read an updated review on another Internet site where a reviewer, who had previously given the X-S1 a 5-star rating, had re-reviewed and really slammed the camera. Part of his put-down was to do with similar cameras he had reviewed long after the introduction of the X-S1, comparisons thereof, and the firmware update. HE was subsequently “slammed” by other reviewers and owners, apologised (rather ungraciously), and noted his previously excellent review as mitigation.

I had had no noticeable problems with my camera, but decided that I should upgrade the firmware anyway. I downloaded the upgrade program onto my laptop, connected the camera and sat back to watch the magic commence - it didn’t! I tried again - again nothing happened. I went onto a forum (several forums actually), and eventually on a Fujifilm camera owners site found what I hoped might be the answer to my problem: apparently problems did exist with some of the lenses on early models of the X-S1 (those with a serial number prefix “14”, anything over “21” or “22” is fine; mine was a “14” prefix number).

I was instructed to contact Fujifilm in the UK, where I live, by email. On the 21st. July at about 1am I emailed Fujifilm UK and advised them of my problem. Later that day I received a response email from Fujifilm apologising for the problem and advising me that packaging materials, postal charges prepaid, would be sent to my address and that I should return the camera to them for repair. The following day the packaging arrived, and I promptly packed the camera and sent it off to Fujifilm the same afternoon. Amazingly, the camera was returned the following afternoon with a brand new lens (there was a small knick on the original lens which wasn’t there any more…), and updated firmware (I checked!).

Apart from being delighted with the service from Fujifilm that I cannot in all honesty compare with ANY that I have received before. (For instance: I have an issue with Hitachi currently over an item of theirs that I need advice about, but have been passed onto an Internet technical site linked to Hitachi that can only deal with my problem by telephone, and the calls will cost £1.53 (about $2.50) per minute - crazy!) And although I never did notice that anything was wrong with my X-S1, I now KNOW that whatever it was has been fixed! Top marks to Fujifilm and my continuing enjoyment of my top-grade camera…

7:34 pm - Thursday, August 1, 2013

#117 gargankit

The unavailability to manually control the movie recording feature makes this expensive camera less powerful.

2:47 pm - Saturday, November 23, 2013

#118 JohnTar

In response to gargankit, in comment #117, I have to point out that very few cameras of this type are designed to give the sort of quality recording that a full-blown video camera will provide. In fact, very few cameras of ANY type, other than video cameras per se, will allow for video recording perfection - even some video cameras lack the ability to manually control picture output being totally automatic in operation!

2:52 am - Tuesday, November 26, 2013

#119 JohnTar

In an add-on to the comment #113 above by Finn Ritz in his response to Allen about “lens creep”, I have also noticed that when the camera is pointed directly up or downwards a physical lens creep occurs, however, this happens with many long-zoom lenses both fixed and interchangeable. With the X-S1 when the lens is set at full wide-angle (collapsed all the way into the lens barrel) and pointing downwards, this “creep” does not occur as there is a locking effect on the lens barrel. In any other partial movement towards the telephoto ranges, pointing up or down, the creep will occur.

At this juncture though a question I must ask of Allen is when he points his camera in either of these directions - directly upwards or downwards - how often will the camera lens not be supported by his hand when he actually takes a photo, and therefore the lens barrel not be held firm by his fingers gripping around it..? Even allowing for operation of the buttons on the rear left of the camera body (with the fingers of the right hand quite easily), and the monitor screen set in a viewable position, it is possible to hold the lens against the gravity-caused creep in a fixed position. I have had no problem in doing this.

With all due respect to Allen and the genuine issues that he raises, I must state that there are a lot of nit-picking complaints being made against this camera and its manufacturer; “faults” that sensible handling and usage of the camera, and perhaps even that slightly lesser expectations of the camera would remove from the critique. And, of course, there are those who either have favourite manufacturers like Canon and Nikon who naturally can “do no wrong” in their eyes. worst of all are those operating on hearsay and those who haven’t bought or even tried the X-S1 but feel that they have a right to criticise its specifics..!

3:38 am - Tuesday, November 26, 2013

#120 Dave

I’ve had the camera for about a month now and I am still ecstatic!!!!!!!!!!!!
Its amazing. Learning more and more about what it will do and never cease to be surprised.
Particularly delighted about image quality and the “gadgets”.

7:34 pm - Saturday, December 21, 2013

#121 Shivakumar

I got the XS1 for £260
Clearance price
A steal at that price
Its ideal for people who like to take photos of wildlife

 

11:15 pm - Sunday, February 9, 2014

#122 Shivakumar

My photos using the X-S1
On a wildlife safari in Southern India

https://picasaweb.google.com/102918847254950644794/SouthernIndia#slideshow/5974016067565125186

10:12 pm - Sunday, March 2, 2014

#123 Shivakumar

Take a look at the photos taken by a professional using the X-S1 on safari

http://fujifilm-x.com/x-s1/en/gallery/africa/

10:34 pm - Sunday, March 2, 2014

#124 Imigen Rotten

Hmmmm… Sadly after viewing the sample images there can be no doubt this camera which promised so much does in deed appear to take soft and blurry images. Probably why the price has halved in the last 12 months. So much then for the 12 mega pix and 2/3 sensor which does not appear have any great advantage over larger mega pix and smaller 1/2.3 sensors.

9:10 am - Sunday, March 30, 2014

#125 Finn Ritz

Imigen Rotten.
I do not know who you are and what sample pictures you refer to. The X-S1 takes exellent pictures. I can mail you - and anybody interested - some samples
wich will once and for all demonstrate, that the image quality is top class. The X-S1 lens i superb!!! King of superzoom! Who id rotten?

9:31 am - Sunday, March 30, 2014

#126 Finn Ritz

I forgot my e-mail address above. Here it is
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
Remember:Many sample photos on the Internet are compresed and of poor quality.

10:22 am - Sunday, March 30, 2014

#127 Imigen Rotten

My dear Finn.
So your saying that the images that have been posted here and elsewhere are not soft or even fuzzy, or are you saying they are but given the limitations of the sensor size and lens quality etc, are acceptable. Well frankly that’s just not good enough. We live in an age of constant development and small tweaks to the speed of focus and file saving are all well and good, but the ultimate test is all about IQ and the more the better.

11:08 am - Sunday, March 30, 2014

#128 Finn Ritz

I do not compare super zoom cameras to full frame or other sensor sizes. Within the small sensor segment the X-S1 is a top level camera. I have 3 cameras. I teach Digital Photography. My experience goes 60 years back. I do have some experience and due to my teaching my knowledge is quite up to date.

12:52 pm - Sunday, March 30, 2014

#129 Finn Ritz

Let’s make it clear. In the end the pictures matter.
In his book “Behind Photographs” Tim Mantoani says:
A camera, like a guitar, is only a box with a hole in it. Until it comes into the hands of a true artist, it will not make music but only noise.
The Fuji X-S1 is king of superzoom capable of taking great photos, and at the price you can find it to day it is a steel. Not to forget: It is NOT a DSLR but a 2/3” sensor 12 Mpix camera - with a superb lens.
In my gallery I have an album:“Forskellige fotos”
Pictures no. 6 7 8 12 13 14 16 18 19 20 29 31 32 34 36 38 40 41 42 44 45 47 48 49 50 52 54 55 57 59 63 65 66 68 69 71 74 80 82 86 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 98 99 100 are X-S1 photos. Click “Details” for EXIF data. My gallery: http://www.fotos.finnritz.dk
Enjoy.

6:52 am - Monday, March 31, 2014

#130 Imigen Rotten

Gallery link not working.

8:35 pm - Monday, March 31, 2014

#131 Finn Ritz

Very strange!!

try:

http://fotos.finnritz.dk/#!home

Google autofill is adding the elements after /

I can also mail photos if I get an e-mail address

10:13 am - Tuesday, April 1, 2014

#132 Imigen Rotten

Yes emailed link is working now.
Very nice photos but they still look a little soft.
Be interesting to know if they have been sharpened or are straight from the camera. Are the RAW images any better.

1:30 pm - Tuesday, April 1, 2014

#133 Finn Ritz

picture no. 54 is a RAW file processed in Elements 11. The sun is behind the trunk and the dynamic range i very high. Not bad for a small sensor. Otherwise it is a mix og JPG out of the box and JPG/RAW in Elements. In the Fuji album pictures 3 and 4 demonstrate the zoom range.
All pictures look great on my 24” Dell Ultrasharp 2412 IPS monitor which I use for photo editing.

7:42 pm - Tuesday, April 1, 2014

#134 Imigen Rotten

I managed to get my hands on a brand new Xs1 and it is bigger and heavier than I was expecting. I was also very disappointed especially after reading the comments posted here most of which are full of praise. I stead of ranting on about the short comings, I have simply copied the comments I found posted on Amazon which I found to be most fair and accurate.

The camera is seriously heavy. In fact, it is almost as heavy as my Pentax K-30 with 50-200 lens attached! The Panasonic FZ38 weights almost nothing in comparison. Unfortunately, the grip isn’t as good as Pentax’s one as the handle isn’t as big. As a result it is nearly impossible for me to use the camera single-handedly. Not that it is a major issue though as I tend to use both hands when taking pictures,

After several days of test shots (one day I even took all three cameras (this Fuji, Pentax K-30 and Panasonic FZ38) for a comparative photoshoot session) I came to conclusion that Fuji is vastly inferior to either of these cameras in MY shooting scenarios. As usual, YMMV.

Pros:
Excellent articulated screen - it is bright and very sharp.
Rubberized body althoug some buttons feel cheap.
Manual zoom - precise and quick.
Low noise sensor - It is still noisy by SLR standards but in Bridge camera world this is the best sensor I’ve seen, noise-wise.
Excellent built-in flash.
No dreadful “white orb” or “lens droop”.

Cons:
- Autofocus. This camera got the most lousy autofocus system I’ve ever encountered. It typically took me several attempts to make the camera auto-focus on all but the very contrast objects, At full telephoto the autofocus system is completely unusable - I never managed to get it to focus on anything, so I had to back down a little bit to make it work.

- Manual focus. I don’t even know where to begin… The electronic manual focus ring on my camera feels a bit loose but this is not an issue. However, it normally take 10-15 full rotations to get it anywhere near focussing area. And then I’ll miss it because the actual area is very narrow. To make it work, I’ve developed a technique which helps somewhat:
1. In manual focus mode press AE/AF Lock and if you’re lucky the autofocus will get you closer to focussing range,
2. Press Fn2 and the focussing area will take entire screen so that it is possible to fine-tune the focus.
This works most of the time but anyone who ever used a ‘proper’ manual focus on a SLR will probably laugh at this.

- The lens stabilization simply doesn’t work. Anything longer than 1/15s (handheld) will produce blurry picture. As a contrast, Panny can easily handle 1/8s handheld.

- Colours reproduction isn’t as life-like as Panasonic or Pentax (although Pentax tend to oversaturate colours somewhat). The Fujifilm, however, produces washed-out picture (not that it can’t be fixed in post-processing).

- Image detalisation is quite low for this type of a sensor, which is really surprising.

All in all, the camera goes back as I feel that it doesn’t answer my needs.

9:52 pm - Wednesday, April 2, 2014

#135 Imigen Rotten

I forgot to add… Lens stabilization just doesn’t work which only makes the soft IQ even worse.
White objects tend to get blown, so you will need to shoot in RAW, forget JPGs.

10:51 pm - Wednesday, April 2, 2014

#136 John Tar

Must have got a duff X-S1 then, Imigen..! Funny that most of us on this thread don’t seem to be having the mess of major problems that you are experiencing (not, of course, including those people criticising the camera who do not even have an X-S1, and don’t intend to purchase one, it seems…). I certainly don’t find that the quality of the functioning or output my X-S1 suffers from any of the negative issues that you’re finding and, as I’ve already stated, my problem with the lens inherent with the early production batch of X-S1’s was soon rectified by Fuji-UK. Strange though that you find no fault with the “lens droop” that several on here have complained about: yes, there IS a very slight drop in the lens on my camera, but it hasn’t had any impact on any of the photos that I’ve taken, and others have pointed out that slight “droop” occurs even on very expensive Canon and Nikon long-range telephoto lenses when out to their fullest extent…and, as Finn so rightly states, the X-S1 IS a super-zoom after all.

I must admit, Finn, that I rather breached my earlier undertaking not to go lens-crazy…I purchased a Canon EOS700D recently..! It came in a dual lens package and I purchased a further wide-angle lens just afterwards. They were all at a very good price and, as the 700D is top-of-the-range for the basic consumer friendly Canon DSLR, I was sorely tempted… Am I going to get rid of my X-S1 as I’m greatly pleased with the 700D..? NO, of course not: both cameras fit into a space in my world of photography (along with the Fuji HS20 which now sadly sits in its lonely little bag). My only experience of DSLR photography was many years ago with a Pentax 35mil film job, so the 700D (which is very light even with any of its lens on) gives me an added string to my bow. Maybe one day I’ll even become as good at photography as you guys..!

2:45 am - Thursday, April 3, 2014

#137 Finn Ritz

Just a few comments to entry # 134.
Autofocus works fine if it is set up correct in the menu. So does the image stablizer over the entire zoom range. I’ve had the camera for 2 years and bothered to read the manual. Lots of useful information there!
To get the best out af any camera RAW files are a must.

6:30 pm - Sunday, April 6, 2014

#138 Paul Edwards

I dont think the day is far away when some manufacturer, Sony, Fuji, Nikon, or Canon, or some unknown, will bring out a bridge camera formfactor with a full sized DSLR sensor. Such a camera with,say, a 24 - 1200mm will be unbeatable. Id go as far as to say that DSLR + lense sales will drop overnight. On safari or that trip to Vietnam, no more lugging DSLR bodies and a multitude of heavy lenses around when you can carry one camera that does it all complete with Wifi to transmit your images straight to the net via your smarphone and remote-control too. Im just surprised it hasnt happned yet. I just hope when it does that they can manage to keep the prices affordable.

As far as the X-S1 is concerened ALL Fuji bridge cameras HAVE to be set up. AS soon as I read someone saying ‘Oh the pictures are terrible, out of focus, noisy,’ I know they havnt bothered, they DO NOT operate at thier best striaght out of the box friends. take my advice and dont exceed 400ISO its around that mark that bridge cameras start to get a little noisy. Look in the menue and try setting it to 400AUTO . Its a very usefull setting. I have an ordinary Fuji HS10 and I have won competitions with it. PE

8:11 pm - Tuesday, April 22, 2014

#139 sir liong liem

I agree with sir abdullah vladimir jr, Fuji x s1 is much better than canon eos m. I bought fuji x in nicaragua and lost it in kenya, and then i purchased samsung nx 1000 in south dakota ( navajo digicam store ), and it was stolen in srilanka @macan tamil hotel & resort. This morning i called a friend o mine a tokyo guy named tokizumo, i asked him to send me a brand new ‘mirrorless’ nikon

9:20 pm - Saturday, June 21, 2014

#140 vladimir

I just thought of acquiring a spectacular in all aspects, including the EXR mode that does everything alone, sharp images, film with excellent quality, very good in low light, 360 ° panorama, FUJI is to be congratulated, is a bridge SINE EQUUS.

10:06 pm - Saturday, June 21, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, wide-angle, super-zoom, manual, RAW, fujifilm, cmos, 24mm, 10fps, finepix, fuji, 7fps, 26x zoom, sensor, xs1, xs-1, x-s1, Fujifilm FinePix X-S1 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry