Fujifilm FinePix XP10 Review

4.0
June 25, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

44 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 zebarnabe

For this price range…. awesome camera ...

8:45 pm - Saturday, June 26, 2010

#2 payment protection insurance

my big issues is waterproof to 10 feet ... I don’t expect to use it for scuba, but even free diving or fun snorkeling can go deeper than 10 feet ... I shall stick with Canon D10 which is waterproof to 33 feet

7:46 am - Tuesday, June 29, 2010

#3 Michal

After a few days of usage (in sea water) I have noticed damaged to black rubber buttons on the camera back. It looks like it is made of some layers (transparent, black, white) and those layers go away. I have seen it on some picture on internet, so I suspect it is common issue.

8:30 pm - Monday, July 19, 2010

#4 Lou

I echo point Michal made.  Had camera in ocean for a few days snorkeling.  buttons on back wore through in a couple of places (bottom of video button and top of zoom buttons).  a bit of condensation appeared behind LCD.  guessing water leaked in through those “wear” points.  Camera would not function until condensation evaporated some.  Up to this point was very happy with camera… underwater videos and photos of very acceptable quality, especially so given price. 

Just sent camera back to fuji for warranty service.  will see how it goes….

9:59 pm - Tuesday, July 20, 2010

#5 Rob

Used my camera for the first time in the ocean also and it leaked.  It stopped taking photos and the screen was all messed up until it completely dried out.  Now there are waterspots on the lcd.  I am sending it back to Fuji, looks like they are going to repair it.

Pretty bad though that it cant even handle a few feet of water taking pics of my kids.

8:18 pm - Friday, July 23, 2010

#6 ron

this camera is a piece of shit! takes great vids but as for a point and shoot, every photo is blurry! I am returning it!

1:47 am - Tuesday, September 7, 2010

#7 doris

I was given this for birthday present in June, but did not use till our Aug holiday. Unlike other comments, it did well under water (in swimming pool) and took good shots, but on land at night it is terrible, completely unpredictable when using auto mode, shots dark, blurry - absolutely awful. I endup having to check every picture I took and re-take over and over. I have taken it back to shop, who have sent it to Fuji, but I really don’t want this camera, I want a quick, clear point and shoot ! Funnily enough, my young son has the WP (model below this one)which I borrowed this weekend, and it is brilliant ! Thought upgraded model would be better. Am waiting to see what Fuji say, shop I got it from won’t exchange now because it is over 30 days since purchase.

1:13 pm - Tuesday, September 21, 2010

#8 Carole

Bought 1 in June. All the paint came off after it was used under water. Then the screen went black and it died. It was returned to Fuji and replaced with a new one that doesn’t work properly either. If you take a picture you have to turn the camera off and back on again in order to view it. Contacting Fuji today to request a full refund. Does not live up to the hype!

7:39 pm - Monday, September 27, 2010

#9 Lewis

had the wp model which broke in 1 month just been sent this new one bit worried by the negative responses suppose I should just throw it off the balcony and get it over with? Why get my hopes up its a good cam?? Hammer to the LCD screen?

5:29 pm - Friday, December 17, 2010

#10 iain blanks

don’t buy this camera!  Used it once in the sea in no more than two foot of water, was very impressed, the next day it let in water and died.  Now we can’t capture the underwater images of our once in a lifetime honeymoon to the Maldives. ? not very happy.

6:54 am - Thursday, December 30, 2010

#11 eegee

Blurry photos. Flash takes ages to respond. I wonder why you didn’t notice anything “bad” with this model during your quality test…

9:54 pm - Thursday, January 13, 2011

#12 zebarnabe

eegee,

It actually doesn’t look too bad when considering the price…. but then again ... it should already point to something wrong with it, specially for it’s rugged capabilities :/

I’m still looking for a camera to offer to my sister… it must be indestructible (she kills rugged gear fairly easy >_>)... this is not…

10:49 pm - Thursday, January 13, 2011

#13 APerry

Here’s some stuff I think you should know about XP10. First of all, make sure all lids are closed PROPERLY before you submerge. It’s not hard but one mistake and a water proof camera is done. Second, if you take it in salt water, rinse it off with fresh water within a few hours if not immediately. ANYTHING you take in salt water needs rinsing or it WILL ruin. Why would a camera be different? Next, make sure you use class 10 SD card so videos save fast. Finally, keep a lens cloth to wipe the lens…dust and dried water droplets don’t ‘automatically’ get removed. These are a few ideas to make a very usable and inexpensive (now <$120 bucks) worth while. Basically, this camera takes good underwater shots, great bright light and sun shots, great vidoes. It has a slow flash time…always flashes twice with the picture taken on the second flash (sport scene mode will speed this up a tad). If flash is not used then picture is taken instantly. Pictures in low light are difficult to get. I have to use sport scene mode and keep camera still. It takes to much work to get a good shot in low light. I see my friends kodak take good shots in low light real easy; but theirs isn’t waterproof is it? The XP30 should be available soon. I am hoping it will fix the low light ans slow flash issue (Why does it need two flashes anyway)

3:48 am - Saturday, February 19, 2011

#14 melissa

I bought this camera with the advice from a Black’s Photography store rep for a trip to Niagara Falls. I am very much so less than impressed with this camera. It takes blurry shots in day light, and even worse ones in low light. I have NEVER spent $200 on a camera before and have always had much better quality than the XP10 offers.

8:12 am - Sunday, February 20, 2011

#15 zebarnabe

melissa,

Aside from the real resilience issues of the camera to water and dust (that aren’t that good, even if you take good care of it), what you describe was simply due to user error.

Yes, image quality it’s not good on this camera, but blurry shots are due to movement during exposure, you need to stay still, and that’s tricky if you’re swimming or on a boat… If you were complaining about noise, yes .... even at ISO 100 noise it’s visible on this camera… in low light you’ll increase ISO setting putting more noise on the pictures.

If you are seeing defects on the taken pictures by checking them on a computer at pixel level, I suggest you print them on a small size and check if those defects are visible.

I borrowed my camera sometimes, it’s a 1000$ camera, and people think that it does all the job for them, true is, most of the shots other people take with it are blurry, simple because they don’t know how to hold the camera properly (I often decrease exposure time to 1/125s or less when handing the camera to someone else).

Also, this camera costs 140$ or less (some places have them at 120$), 200$ was just a rip-off…

But yes, XP10 is not the best water/dust/shock resistant camera for its price, however it’s probably the cheapest :[

2:54 pm - Sunday, February 20, 2011

#16 Jess

I was so impressed with this camera when I bought it over the summer. I got it speicfically for the wedding I was going to and the road trip home. Niagara falls was a stopping point and we were definately in the ocean during the wedding. It worked fine then, it was just a little slow.

Now after a little more use, the screen keeps freezing up. I can’t review any of my pictures anymore unless I hook it up to the computer, and this is so inconvenient. Even when I can view the picture and attempt to delete it, the camera freezes with the deleting image and I have to remove the battery to fix it. Barely.
I thought this was a smart buy, but now I want my money back.

10:21 am - Monday, February 28, 2011

#17 APerry

Hopefully camera hasn’t gotten wet inside or suffered too much impact damage. I think it’s spec’s should read “can toss onto your bed or let rattle around in your glove” more than ‘drop resistant to X amount of feet’. And as for water proof…I think this cam is awesome for using during rain when others put their camera away. I did use it in about 4 feet of water in the Gulf (and was sure that all flaps/covers were closed and rinsed off the salt immediately). So, barring this possible damage, what I would do if I was you, Jess, is format my SD card if not replace it all together with class 10. If that didn’t work I would see if there is a way to flash/reinstall software by checking Fuji’s website. Anyone have any other ideas?

12:50 am - Wednesday, March 2, 2011

#18 moi

it works well…

9:55 am - Friday, March 4, 2011

#19 Shane

One whinge only: after two days’ walking with the camera in my pocket, the screen has infinitessimal scratches, almost invisible, but hellish if in bright sunlight. Otherwise excellent value for money providing you didn’t buy it for serious underwater use - but come on: what did you expect at the price?
Could APerry please explain what the class 10 SD card does? I am, probably like most here, uninitiated in the dark art of digital photography - my first camera was a Box Brownie and I find it difficult to come to grips with cameras that don’t have a reel of real film!

10:26 am - Wednesday, March 16, 2011

#20 APerry

Class 10 means the speed of the card basically. On every card you buy you will see a tiny little number on it, usually in a small circle. If you buy from Office depot, Wal mart, best buy etc, they usually sell class 4 or maybe 6. You can’t tell unless you look at the card itself. Shopping on amazon or other internet shopping should allow you to see the class and, importantly, pay a lot less. From what I’ve read, the faster the class, the faster videos and pictures are saved to the card. I don’t know if it matters once inserted into your computer for Transfer but I would think that it does. I think class 10 is fastest out right now…it’s what I have. Hope this helps.

5:27 pm - Wednesday, March 16, 2011

#21 APerry

I have been using my camera more recently during gatherings at my home and at friends homes. Well, I have to say, that inside pictures are almost impossible to get, and I know this camera pretty well. My wife got a new point and shoot digital and the same pictures from same angle etc on hers are beautiful and XP10 are always garbage. So, if you are planning on buying this camera, please be sure you understand this camera is great for outside and under water, not for inside. Outside pics are great, and I love not worrying bout rain or dropping. Keep in mind the report Shane just made about micro scratches…I haven’t noticed yet and keep in my pocket for most of my journeys. Make sure you don’t have keys or change in your pocket if your camera is going in!

5:36 pm - Wednesday, March 16, 2011

#22 Shane

Thanks APerry, I’ll be out to buy a class 10 SD card forthwith.

9:55 pm - Wednesday, March 16, 2011

#23 John

The image quality is so poor I just don’t use it. Very disappointing at any price. Basically, its not too much to say, it doesn’t work.

6:44 am - Friday, March 18, 2011

#24 Joeygoat

I am awaiting delivery of the XP10 I purchased to replace my Kodak Easy Share camera (model M1033/HD).  The Kodak has developed a problem that as soon as I turn it on, it turns itself off.  I have purchased a new battery, but this did not correct the issue.  I am an old school photographer, and still use my Canon A-1 with 35 mm film, which I develop myself.  I just want a camera that I can capture the odd photo of the garden or my dog.  I am not expecting Canon A-1 quality pictures from the XP10.  I paid $129 US for the XP10 camera, case and an 8GB class 10 memory card.  I feel this was a fair price for what I plan to use this camera for.

12:10 am - Sunday, April 10, 2011

#25 Scooby

This camera is sweet for the money
I bought it sept 2010 used in Maldives diving every day great for stills and video when light is good ,don’t expect it to perform like an slr, sensor is too small.

Very happy with this compact ,I did look at the canon as well but I saved a £100 and did not regret the choice.

10:54 am - Tuesday, May 3, 2011

#26 Steve

I bought this camera because i live in hawaii and i snorkle all the time in shallow reefs.within a week my camera will not take pictures any more and i rinsed it off every time after use in salt water.it still takes videos but i would rather have still shots.any suggestions would be apreciated

8:18 pm - Sunday, June 5, 2011

#27 APerry

I would remove and inspect battery and sim card for any moisture. Also open all rubber covers and check for any signs of water intrusion. When rinsing off only use low pressure (like from a normal kitchen sink) water and your hands. High flow from spicket or high pressure from a nozzle would intrude into device. I would try and do a warranty exchange. I haven’t heard of reisntalling firmware, has anyone else? Do you hear any rattling around inside when you shake it? Are shallow reefs <10’? Sorry about your camera, maybe some of this will help.

2:30 pm - Monday, June 6, 2011

#28 Paul

I bought this camera because I wanted a very small point-and-shoot camera that does HD video that I could carry with me every day in my pocket.  A previous point-and-shoot camera got damaged by a water balloon; another did not stand up very well to being dropped.  I do not expect to take it scuba diving; I do expect it to survive a canoe trip or even a water balloon.  The HD video, 5X zoom, decent image quality, and features are on par with other non-rugged cameras in this price range.  It’s not a DSLR; there is shutter lag, and the small lens combined with the small sensor means some blurry shots in low light, but that’s easily corrected with choosing the right setting and using a tripod (a mini pocket one works fine), along with the 2 second delay.  As easy as it is to use, I found it worthwhile to spend time with the camera and learn how to shoot with it to get some very nice pictures.  It’s become my fearless daily travel companion.

4:12 am - Tuesday, July 5, 2011

#29 Allah Nawaz

i bought this camera but can u help me? i hav one problem i can’t manage this problem.. the problem is when i captured the pic at the night in outdoor this will show black black in lots of lite… plz help me how i manag it plz plz plz!

10:35 pm - Friday, July 8, 2011

#30 Janice

Camera takes great video, but that’s all I’m happy with. We were on a fishing trip in the ocean with not much wind but the quality of the still shots was very disapointing. The zoom is blurry every time I use it. It’s frustrating to try to take zoomed in shots of wildlife and then have to delete them all because of poor quality.

11:58 am - Wednesday, August 10, 2011

#31 Pitahead

I got this camera before a snorkeling trip & it worked great- both underwater & out of water. About 10 months later, took it on San Francisco vacation and sadly most of our photos from that trip are useless. The flash is super slow & will only work on one setting-the one where it takes 2 in a row which is pointless since most kids, animals, etc move in the time it takes to take a second photo. Flash does not work on auto or any other settings. Also, my bright outdoor photos where no flash is needed are blurry- even on the non moving objects. You push the button & sometimes it takes 5 seconds for camera to respond. It’s impossible to review the photos outside because you can’t see the screen due to glare. When the flash does work- it takes forever! Inserted a new SD card & battery & gave it one more chance at my Grandmother’s 90th birthday party. Video worked but all photos- after taking the photo it would say “storing… storing… storing…” then turn itself off. Half of the photos didn’t even get saved. Again, no flash on most shots. I’ll keep it for underwater but I’m done with this camera. There is no viewfinder also which is a negative. Pulling out my old cannon.

4:16 pm - Tuesday, December 20, 2011

#32 Amy

I got this camera right before a trip to Costa Rica. It worked fine once, but when I charged the battery it wouldn’t turn back on. Everything is in properly and the case is locked, but now I’m in CR and can’t take any pictures! Has anyone else had the problem where the camera just didn’t turn on?

7:08 pm - Sunday, April 8, 2012

#33 jana

every shot is blurry - i see that this is not a new comment/observation regarding this camera.  i am so disappointed in fujifilm.  of course, i thought it was a setting and returning the camera is no longer an option.  my own fault for not having more confidence in my opinion that this camera is awful, takes awful pictures & has ruined many memories…should have returned it straight away.

5:41 pm - Tuesday, April 17, 2012

#34 Carol

I received this camera as a gift. Most of the pics I take come out blurry. It is soooo frustrating. I have never had a problem with any camera before. I will be going back to using my old camera.

3:25 pm - Friday, May 18, 2012

#35 alexis

i got this camera for my birthday…the lady at the store said it was an amazing camera and that it took really good pictures…well that was somewhat true. Taking night shots is basically pointless on this camera…even if you put it on the special night shot mode…i haven’t taken it underwater cuz i read everyone’s comments and most of them are bad so i’m too scared to. it takes AMAZING pictures when its sunny out. it makes my skin look nice and almost Photoshoped so that is a good thing. The self timer setting is really good too but when it’s just normal light out the pictures can get blurry. some people said it was because you were shaking too much when taking the picture but i was barley shaking the camera at all. my camera before never had this problem (it was a canon). also the rubber part where the setting buttons are started to come off and i didn’t even put this in the water because apparently people were having this problem when there camera was getting wet…overall the camera is only OK but if you want to take intense photography pictures don’t use this camera….this is only for like hanging with friends and taking silly pictures kind of thing…it’s a good small camera and it comes in a lot of cute colors. My camera before was better though…it was a pink small thin canon and it had a lot of settings that were better..but the good thing about this camera was the fact that you could easily find the settings even though i personally didn’t think the setting made a difference to anything…ESPECIALLY night mode

10:46 pm - Thursday, June 14, 2012

#36 RON MASKELL

I am a novice when it comes to cameras I just need to point and shoot, so far pleased with the results but on a sunny day I cant see the image on the screen, is there some adjustment I haven’t discovered?

3:15 pm - Friday, June 29, 2012

#37 Dimi

I have the camera more than a year. It works perfectly. It has endured everything that I have thrown to it, from snorkeling in the sea, swimming with it in my pocket for hours, cycling with it on the mountain, kite surfing, rowing!
The pictures are excellent under water and over water too!
I am very pleased with it and would definitely recommend it!

4:32 am - Thursday, August 23, 2012

#38 Gemma

Brought this camera last yr as a ‘crap im goin on hoilday in 2 days’ panic, it was a ex display one so wasnt really expecting much from it…. its amazin!! used it everyday for a week in Egypt, in the pool and in the sea!! pictures and videos are really good!!off on holiday to lapland soon so was just wondering had anyone used it in the cold?!

11:34 pm - Wednesday, September 19, 2012

#39 Cynthia

We bought this camera in Jan ‘11 and it worked great until this past August.  Now, if the SD card (8GB, class 4) has very much on it, I can’t review pictures - it just locks up and I have to remove the battery to get it going again.  Did a little test recently, when the card had about 1.8GB of pics/video and locked up when trying to review.  Deleted all but about 1.5GB of the data, and review functions fine.  Any thoughts?  My next step is to reformat the card and see if that helps.
Thanks in advance!

6:05 pm - Wednesday, November 14, 2012

#40 Cynthia

Gemma - we used ours earlier this year while skiing in Vail and it worked great.

6:06 pm - Wednesday, November 14, 2012

#41 Maria

I have had my one since Christmas 2010. It is great at taking pictures under-water and over-water, but since about autumn 2011 there’s been a buzzing noise louder than my voice so it is impossible to understand what I am saying in my videos. Does anyone know what the cause is? (here is one of my videos with this camera: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E5Vq57encz8 (the sound goes at 0:09) Thanks for reading!

2:16 pm - Monday, December 31, 2012

#42 Wizbird

If I had it to do over again I would not buy this camera.  It takes poor photos Inside, underwater and in poor light.  However I have specific use for the camera.  I boat, fish and wade fish. I use it when I don’t trust using one of my more expensive cameras around water, sand , rain and as long as light is decent, I get decent photos and have been for the last three years.  It has limitations but serves a purpose for me.

2:49 am - Monday, June 17, 2013

#43 Sacha Fermor

Have had the camera for two years now and am ready to go on holiday when I noticed that the screen is completely blank. Can’t see if there are any photo’s or cannot change my settings. Not sure what the problem is and if it can be fixed. Very annoying.

10:40 am - Friday, December 20, 2013

#44 David Featherstone

Received this camera as a gift.  Pro - good outdoor photos.  Cons - takes poor indoor pics regardless of setting; often must push “on” button more than once to get it to turn on (aggravating especially for “spur of the moment” photos).  Do not use this camera for more than surface snorkeling.  My camera died on recent trip - might have been 5 m down instead of 3 m but regardless there is not much of a safety factor.  If you’re really interested in using a camera for snorkeling, I don’t recommend this one!

5:26 pm - Thursday, February 13, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 720p, 12 megapixel, 5x zoom, 2.7 inch LCD, waterproof, dustproof, shockproof, freezeproof, fujifilm xp10, Fujifilm FinePix XP10 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry