Fujifilm FinePix XP30 Review

4.0
April 20, 2011 | Matt Grayson |

Your Comments

27 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Peter

You are being very generous, I owned one for a week before sending it back.
It was terrible on all fronts.

7:51 am - Thursday, April 21, 2011

#2 ruslanio

agre with Peter.
piece of shit camera ?.
really dissapointed.
thanks for review - never will buy this one)

4:45 pm - Saturday, April 23, 2011

#3 Teddy2k

Just this past weekend, I went for a hike and was planning on having the GPS set to “Permanently On”, but it wouldn’t keep a satellite lock for more than a couple of seconds and I ended up turning the GPS completely off out of sheer frustration and to save on battery usage.  Granted, this was under tree cover, but it seems to have problems even on a clear and sunny day.

I realize that Fuji doesn’t make GPS products like Garmin, but so far, the GPS on this camera is a huge FAIL.

Since I’m past the return period with the retailer, I’ll have to contact Fuji to see what they have to say.

9:19 am - Sunday, April 24, 2011

#4 Ian Dunsford

I took this camera on holiday to Istanbul a few weeks ago.  It (the camera not Istanbul) was awful.
It took an age to get a GPS lock.  The internal clock also lost about 40 mins a day.  The lack of a lens cap meant that I got a lot of dusty pictures (partly my fault).
I had read lots of good reviews about this camera.  But they all read like press releases.
I took this camera back to the retailers as faulty.  It did not do what it said on the tin.  I don’t think I’s ever buy a Fujifilm again.

11:33 pm - Wednesday, April 27, 2011

#5 zeljk

Heloo from Serbia!
Look, when I by camera I need camera not GPS :)
So, underwather photos? Any samples? I dont care about GPS - I care about photos or video, or - photos or video from wather
Sory on my bad English

2:13 pm - Friday, April 29, 2011

#6 giovanni

I bought this camera, I have the same problems with the GPS localization, I just got a call from fujifilm today to get a new one of the same model, because I thought that it was a camera problems, but after your comments I’ll try to have another camera model… I hope to get it.

regards

11:09 pm - Monday, May 30, 2011

#7 deon

NOT WATERPROOF. 10 cm in kiddies pool will ruin it, and get jessops london to refuse a replacement because i threw the box away - !
avoid. jessops and fujifilm.

12:54 pm - Monday, June 27, 2011

#8 Carl

Wev been looking for a tough camera and saw the xp30 before it came out.
We did some research and the reviews were quite mixed.
We have a canon Eos450 image quality photos.
We just needed something for when on holiday and near the sea.
So far i have found the picture quality quite good if using the correct setting.
And we had to try the camera under water as this was a main reason for buying.
So in the hot tub we went.
I tried all settings for under water no problem at all very clear and crisp.
Also video was good.
I also left the camera on at the bottom of the tub for 30 mins with the bubbles on and no problems at all
Only thing i found was
When zoomin in and out when videoing you can hear the focus , not sure if you can stop this sound.

But overhaul not a bad camera for the price and image quality is ok ,
Granted there could be better for image quality but for an all round camera it gets the thumbs up from me

9:28 am - Tuesday, June 28, 2011

#9 Rich

I bought this camera today after reading some good reviews and doing some research.  When I first turned it on (probably because I was not being patient enough) i missed selecting the on setting on the gps.  I can’t seem to figure out how to get to the gps settings now that i have had the camera on for a bit to turn it (the gps features) on.

Thanks from Canada

4:42 am - Tuesday, July 19, 2011

#10 Yannick

Don’t buy this camera. Mine was not waterproof at all even at 1meter deep!! I got some Water inside the product. Not working anymore
Pictures I took was not good quality too
I waste 140 euros. And the worst thing was That my sd card get destroyed by oxydation so I lost all my vacation pictures

From France

8:56 pm - Thursday, August 18, 2011

#11 Abela

Bought this camera for Tortugas underwater and bright sunny days pictures are awesome. Crisp clear beautiful. Night or indoor pictures are awful!!!!!! I tried every setting they come out yellow or blurred or both!! Sent it back to Fuji for almost $300 we need an all around camera.

9:29 pm - Monday, August 29, 2011

#12 deniz

this is the worst camera i’ve been used. I returned it next day after i seen the pictures on the screen. the pictures are worser then the ones that i took with my 1.3MP webcam!!!
no need to comment for the videos which are even worser!!!
sorry Fuji guys but you are killing the brand!!! please continue to manifacture film rolls as you did and was the best!!!

9:21 am - Saturday, September 10, 2011

#13 Gary Sultana

when I put the damn camera in the water i got a black screen twice!!!! (because they gave me a new one after the first black screen) and indoor and night images are very bad my cell phone can take better pics and now i am getting a new camera because the store gave me a credit note (camera got black screen on 3-4 cm depth)

1:19 pm - Tuesday, September 13, 2011

#14 Jenni

I had the xp20 camera… was very excited to be able to take underwater pictures without the need of waterproof housing!! Soooo, off i went to Kenya, first dip in the sea to trial my camera, at a depth of approx 15cm my camera died…. didnt even turn on!

I got out of the sea, thinking the battery had drained, but no… i opened it up and half of the indian sea came out of the battery compartment… GUTTED!!!

I took it back to Jessops as it was under warranty, after 5 weeks, they ended up replacing my xp20 with an xp30. We’ll see how that one goes… bath tub here it comes!!!

10:28 pm - Wednesday, October 26, 2011

#15 Anna Lupton

After hours of trying to see where the USB goes on the camera I cant find it and dont want to be heavy handed with it . The disc I got with it just jams my computer. Please help I need to take photos off. I am so disappointed as I had a Sony Cybershot for 4 years till I drop it in some water. Got a B….Samsung and it has lasted 6 weeks due to being in my husbands pocket when he has been out shooting-pheasants not photos and so I got this camera yesterday then read all yoru bad reviews on it

12:06 am - Thursday, November 3, 2011

#16 Peter Roberts

Bought one because of the good )press release) reviews.  GPS takes about a minute to lock on.  Haven’t tried it under water yet but not game to after reading other reviews.  Picture quality is abysmal.  I bought to replace my Canon A640 which takes fantastic photos, but the videos have lost there colour.  Think I’ll take it back for a refund or another Canon.

12:59 am - Saturday, November 19, 2011

#17 martin

Big disappointment.

My expierence:

* camera is not dust-proof
  In dust the shutter and zoom button got stuck

* camera is not water-proof
  see other comments

* camera is not scratch-proof
  After 2 month the LCD display has more scratches than
  my 3 year old ipod touch.

* camera is not scratch-proof
  I am too afraid to use it, but the testers had already problems…

* Startup-time is super-slow (my 6 year old starts faster.
* Pictures are only useable in bright sunlight (ISO 100) - forget it in ISO 200 or less light.
* battery is empty after 150 photos (turnerd off all not necessary features)

12:43 am - Wednesday, December 7, 2011

#18 P Boudinot

The GPS a this camera is a disaster.

12:11 pm - Saturday, December 31, 2011

#19 jimmy

i cant find the port on the camera to plug it in on the computer i searched the camera and no where could i find a port to plug it in

3:05 pm - Saturday, December 31, 2011

#20 cc

The wife bought this without asking me first. So far I am not impressed.

The camera tends to bias badly to yellow in low light without the flash. IF the flash illuminates the entire scene the photo looks decent, but if not the unilluminated areas are biased yellow and sometiems blurred. Have not found any results from the anti-shake as it has not cured the limited movement in the camera in several shots.

USB port is non-standard (you HAVE to use their _short_ cable) for which there is no excuse in this day and age. When connected, the system does not recognize it as a drive so I guess you HAVE to use their software (again, no excuse in this day and age).

2:37 am - Tuesday, January 17, 2012

#21 Eddie

Dont bother buying this…ruined our holiday…1 foot deep in the water and that was it….screen turn black…..Never mind the shock proof and and others…...if they say its waterproof,,it should be water proof….:(

2:11 am - Thursday, February 16, 2012

#22 Kevin

This camera worked for 1 day and battery drained. I am in Cabo San Lucas and had to buy a charger here that says the battery is charged but the camera wont turn on. What a joke. The pics I did talk out side were pretty good though. The USB cables suck. You should be able to plug it into your computer to charge it but the connection does not recognize that you have plugged it in. Im taking it back when I return to BC.

5:04 pm - Thursday, April 19, 2012

#23 Jessi Thurts

Hello from Cadereyta (Mexico)
Playing in the pool during spring brake vacations… one accidental drop within the kids pool and that was it. Battery copartment opened, water in… lost my memories… my suggestion, try other options…

1:27 am - Monday, April 23, 2012

#24 tunca

I got this camera a week ago for mostly underwater pictures. Every time you open the lid of the battery/sdcard section, you HAVE to make sure that it’s perfectly closed by using your nail to push the little thing to its position. I did so and waterproof worked perfectly. I tested it under sink first then in Indian ocean (south beach, Dar es salaam, Tanzania). I think the best video I ve ever recored was the one recorded here: started recording while stand at the beach, camera facing to myself then walking into the water and finally swimming with it. Awesome! One thing that I don’t like is that since you’re using it under sun, sometimes a drop of water stays on the lens while taking picture when you get out of the water. Some of the pictures were blurred because if the dried water marks. That means one should wipe clean the lens after getting of the water.
It’s not an professional camera but I love it. Swimming with it was awesome.

9:26 pm - Monday, May 21, 2012

#25 Carla

I dont test the water proof yet. After i do it. But the gps don locale never, ever search and nothing. I am brazil and the weather is very good ever without clouds. I will test water now. By

9:58 pm - Wednesday, September 5, 2012

#26 Cheyl

Very disappointed.  First time used underwater - perfect - so off to Fiji for some snaps Camera dies after 7 snaps at less than 1 metre. On return to Australia, store got Fuji to replace camera.  8 months later saved enough to return to Fiji - you guessed it - camera died after 12 shots Store are going to give me credit and I will upgrade to a different brand!!  Just about to contact Fuji (when I calm down) and tell them of my dissatisfaction with the XP30

8:19 am - Friday, October 26, 2012

#27 Patrick

This camera has a few major faults:
. the GPS finds it very difficult to get a satellite fix: you can be waiting ages and often you don’t get a fix at all
. battery life using the gps is rubbish (compared with my Garmin Edge 705)
. battery door is fidley and requires a two step process to close
. software and buttons are confusing

Pictures seem OK for a camera of this type, and you can always fix pictures on the computer these days.

Unfortunately I discovered the faults too late to return it so I am stuck with the camera. Each time I use it I shall be wondering how a reputable company like Fujifilm could have produced a camera whose principal selling feature - its GPS - is implemented so badly. And I certainly will never buy another camera from this maker.

4:11 pm - Friday, November 23, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 720p, 2.7 inch LCD, 5x zoom, 14 megapixel, waterproof, dustproof, shockproof, freezeproof, fujifilm xp30, Fujifilm FinePix XP30 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry